DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abraham et al. (US 2024/0147334 A1)(hereinafter “Abraham”) in view of Kim et al. (US 2025/0150874 A1)(hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, Abraham discloses a method by a terminal (Fig. 1: UE 200), the method comprising:
receiving, by the terminal from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message ([¶0036]: the method includes receiving, by a UE, a RRCReconfiguration message comprising a list of LTM candidate configurations to be added or modified, a list of LTM candidate configuration to be released, a measurement configuration for the LTM, and a reference configuration information from a network entity.), wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises:
one or more embedded RRC reconfiguration messages, wherein each of the one or more embedded RRC reconfiguration messages is associated with a candidate cell ([¶0076]:a source gNB provides a RRCReconfiguration message or a candidate cell Cellgroupconfig message per candidate cell for a LTM. Embodiments herein refer to the candidate cell RRC reconfiguration as candLTM-Reconfiguration and the candidate cell cellgroupconfig as candLTM-CellGroup.); and
one or more first identifiers, wherein each of the one or more first identifiers is associated with one of the one or more embedded RRC reconfiguration messages ([¶0112]: in another embodiment, this may be a list of candidate cells (for e.g., cell identifiers or list of indices of candidate cells, candidateLTMStoreList or the like). [¶0167]: the LTM candidate configurations to be added or modified included in the RRC reconfiguration message send by the network entity (100) includes at least one of: an identifier and an OCTET STRING containing the RRC reconfiguration message, where the UE (200) adds the candidate cell. In an embodiment, the LTM candidate configurations to be released included in the RRC reconfiguration message includes an identifier corresponding to the identifier included in the list of LTM candidate configuration, where the UE (200) releases the LTM candidate configuration identified by the identifier.);
performing, by the terminal and based on an embedded RRC reconfiguration message, a first set of operations for the candidate cell associated with the embedded RRC reconfiguration message (Fig. 5, [¶0111]: at step 6, L1/L2 of the UE (200) performs the MAC operation etc. for LTM. Further, the L1/L2 of the UE (200) cancels the applicable MAC procedures and resets applicable counters. Further, the L1/L2 of the UE (200) performs the MAC/RLC reset/PDCP recovery based on configuration. In an embodiment, at step 7, the L1/L2 of the UE (200) sends the RRCReconfigurationComplete to the target gNB L2/L2 104. In an embodiment, at 8, the RRC of the UE (200) sends the RRC reestablishment to the gNB-RRC (102). At step 9, the L1/L2 of the UE (200) stores the candidates based on the configuration.),…;
receiving, by the terminal from the base station, a first downlink (DL) Medium Access Control (MAC) message, wherein the first DL MAC message comprises a first identifier field ([¶0155]: in an embodiment, the LTM controller (240) receives the LTM configuration in the RRC message indicating whether the UE (200) needs to perform one of: the RLC reestablishment and the PDCP recovery during the LTM to the candidate cell. Further, the LTM controller (240) receives the DL MAC CE or the DL L1 message used for triggering the LTM.); and
transmitting, by the terminal to the base station, an uplink (UL) MAC message, wherein the UL MAC message comprises a Buffer Status Report (BSR), wherein the BSR is triggered as a consequence of reception of the first DL MAC message ([¶0034]: the LTM controller is configured to perform at least one operation. The at least one operation includes at least one of: an UL MAC procedure, resets all counters of a beam failure indication or a listen before transmission during the LTM, and cancel a procedure for triggering a BSR for extended reality (XR). The at least one UL MAC procedure includes at least one of: …. a triggered buffer status reporting procedure…).
Abraham does not disclose wherein the first set of operations comprises downlink synchronization. However, Kim discloses wherein the first set of operations comprises downlink synchronization (Fig. 6, [¶0232]: when the UE completes synchronization of a DL signal with the BS and is enabled to receive a control signal, the UE may perform a random access procedure on an initial BWP, may receive an RAR, may request an RRC connection configuration, may receive an RRC message, and thus, may perform an RRC connection configuration (6-10, 6-15, 6-20, 6-25, and 6-30). [¶0502] when the message includes reconfigurationWithSync, and the UE performs a reconfiguration procedure for synchronization (reconfiguration with Sync), a procedure below may be performed.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RRC reconfiguration message, as taught by Abraham, to include an indication to perform downlink synchronization, as taught by Kim. Doing so allows for the UE to correctly perform channel measurement or channel measurement reporting (see Kim [¶0133].).
Regarding claim 2, Abraham in view of Kim discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Abraham also discloses wherein the BSR is triggered based on configuration parameters for BSR comprised in a specific embedded RRC message ([¶0034]: the LTM controller is configured to perform at least one operation. The at least one operation includes at least one of: an UL MAC procedure, resets all counters of a beam failure indication or a listen before transmission during the LTM, and cancel a procedure for triggering a BSR for extended reality (XR). The at least one UL MAC procedure includes at least one of: …. a triggered buffer status reporting procedure….[¶0037] the method includes receiving, by a UE, a RRCReconfiguration message comprising a list of LTM candidate configurations to be added or modified, a list of LTM candidate configuration to be released, a measurement configuration for the LTM, and a reference configuration information from a network entity.).
Regarding claim 3, Abraham in view of Kim discloses all features of claim 2 as outlined above.
Abraham also discloses wherein the specific embedded RRC message is determined based on a value comprised in the first identifier field in the first DL MAC message ([¶0112]: in another embodiment, this may be a list of candidate cells (for e.g., cell identifiers or list of indices of candidate cells, candidateLTMStoreList or the like). [¶0167]: the LTM candidate configurations to be added or modified included in the RRC reconfiguration message send by the network entity (100) includes at least one of: an identifier and an OCTET STRING containing the RRC reconfiguration message, where the UE (200) adds the candidate cell. In an embodiment, the LTM candidate configurations to be released included in the RRC reconfiguration message includes an identifier corresponding to the identifier included in the list of LTM candidate configuration, where the UE (200) releases the LTM candidate configuration identified by the identifier.).
Regarding claim 4, Abraham in view of Kim discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Abraham also discloses wherein the UL MAC message further comprises a Power Headroom Report (PHR) ([¶0031]: the method includes receiving, by a UE, a trigger of a LTM from a network entity. Further, the method includes performing, by the UE, at least one operation based on the trigger, where the at least one operation includes at least one of: an UL MAC procedure, resets all counters of a beam failure indication, a listen before transmission during the LTM, and cancel a procedure for triggering a BSR for an XR. The at least one UL MAC procedure includes at least one of: … a triggered buffer status reporting procedure, a triggered power headroom reporting procedure…).
Regarding claim 5, Abraham in view of Kim discloses all features of claim 4 as outlined above.
Abraham also discloses wherein the PHR is triggered based on configuration parameters for PHR comprised in a specific embedded RRC message ([¶0031]: the method includes receiving, by a UE, a trigger of a LTM from a network entity. Further, the method includes performing, by the UE, at least one operation based on the trigger, where the at least one operation includes at least one of: an UL MAC procedure, resets all counters of a beam failure indication, a listen before transmission during the LTM, and cancel a procedure for triggering a BSR for an XR. The at least one UL MAC procedure includes at least one of: … a triggered buffer status reporting procedure, a triggered power headroom reporting procedure…).
Regarding claim 12, Abraham in view of Kim discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Abraham does not disclose wherein the first set of operations further comprises measuring a Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channel (SSB) of the candidate cell based on a parameter indicating an absolute frequency of the SSB, and wherein the parameter is comprised in the embedded RRC reconfiguration message associated with the candidate cell. However, Kim discloses wherein the first set of operations further comprises measuring a Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channel (SSB) of the candidate cell based on a parameter indicating an absolute frequency of the SSB, and wherein the parameter is comprised in the embedded RRC reconfiguration message associated with the candidate cell ([¶0348]: the BS may configure, by an RRC message (RRCReconfiguration or RRCResume), first channel measurement configuration information with which the UE can rapidly measure a channel and perform reporting when the UE activates a cell. In order for the BS to temporarily many or frequently transmit a channel measurement signal to allow a UE to rapidly activate a cell group (or cell) or rapidly perform channel measurement on a cell, first channel measurement configuration information may include, in configuration information of the cell (e.g., radio resource or Temporary Reference Signal (TRS) or Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) or Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) or Reference Signal (RS)) or information about a transport resource being transmitted (a frequency or time transport resource on which the frequent channel measurement signal is transmitted)…).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RRC reconfiguration message, as taught by Abraham, to include an SSB of the candidate cell based on a parameter indicating an absolute frequency of the SSB, as taught by Kim. Doing so allows for the UE to rapidly activate a cell or rapidly perform channel measurement on a cell (see Kim [¶0348].).
Regarding claim 14, Abraham in view of Kim discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Abraham does not disclose wherein the first set of operations further comprises receiving Master Information Block (MIB) of the candidate cell based on one or more parameters comprised in the embedded RRC reconfiguration message associated with the candidate cell. However, Kim discloses wherein the first set of operations further comprises receiving Master Information Block (MIB) of the candidate cell based on one or more parameters comprised in the embedded RRC reconfiguration message associated with the candidate cell ([¶0220]: the UE may identify control resource set (CORESET) information and initial access BWP information by identifying a master system information block (MIB) or minimum system information (MSI) (5-15 and 5-20). ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RRC reconfiguration message, as taught by Abraham, to include a MIB of the candidate cell, as taught by Kim. Doing so allows for the UE to identify a time/frequency resource for a control signal transmitted by the BS (see Kim [¶0220].).
Regarding claim 15, Abraham in view of Kim discloses all features of claim 14 as outlined above.
Abraham does not disclose wherein the one or more parameters comprised in the embedded RRC reconfiguration message associated with the candidate cell comprises: a parameter indicating a Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channel (SSB) position in burst; and a parameter indicating an absolute frequency of SSB.. However, Kim discloses wherein the one or more parameters comprised in the embedded RRC reconfiguration message associated with the candidate cell comprises: a parameter indicating a Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channel (SSB) position in burst; and a parameter indicating an absolute frequency of SSB ([¶0348]: the BS may configure, by an RRC message (RRCReconfiguration or RRCResume), first channel measurement configuration information with which the UE can rapidly measure a channel and perform reporting when the UE activates a cell. In order for the BS to temporarily many or frequently transmit a channel measurement signal to allow a UE to rapidly activate a cell group (or cell) or rapidly perform channel measurement on a cell, first channel measurement configuration information may include, in configuration information of the cell (e.g., radio resource or Temporary Reference Signal (TRS) or Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) or Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) or Reference Signal (RS)) or information about a transport resource being transmitted (a frequency or time transport resource on which the frequent channel measurement signal is transmitted)…).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RRC reconfiguration message, as taught by Abraham, to include an SSB of the candidate cell based on a parameter indicating an absolute frequency of the SSB, as taught by Kim. Doing so allows for the UE to rapidly activate a cell or rapidly perform channel measurement on a cell (see Kim [¶0348].).
Regarding claim 16, Abraham in view of Kim discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Abraham also discloses performing uplink resource release before the BSR is triggered and after the first DL MAC CE is received ([¶0040]: the method includes releasing, by the UE, a configuration for LTM upon receiving one of: the RRC Release and the RRC Release with suspend config or upon initiating a RRCReestablishment or following cell selection while timer T311 is running. [¶0129]: during LTM, the UE (200) cancels one or more of the following UL MAC procedures such as…triggered Configured uplink grant confirmation…. In an embodiment, this may be performed during LTM completion. In an embodiment, this may be performed after receiving DL LTM trigger for cell switch.).
Regarding claim 17, Abraham in view of Kim discloses all features of claim 16 as outlined above.
Abraham also discloses wherein the uplink resource comprises a configured uplink grant ([¶0129]: during LTM, the UE (200) cancels one or more of the following UL MAC procedures such as…triggered Configured uplink grant confirmation….).
Regarding claim 18, Abraham in view of Kim discloses all features of claim 16 as outlined above.
Abraham does not disclose wherein the uplink resource further comprises Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) and Sounding Reference Signal (SRS). However, Kim discloses wherein the uplink resource further comprises Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) and Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) ([¶0202]: the UE may transmit an SRS or may transmit UL data or may transmit the PUCCH (e.g., SR or preamble for random access) or may perform a random access procedure.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the uplink resources, as taught by Abraham, a PUCCH and SRS, as taught by Kim. Doing so allows for the UE to utilize allocated resources for the transmission of control and sounding signals (see Kim [¶0192] & [¶0201].).
Regarding claim 19, Abraham in view of Kim discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Abraham also discloses stopping an ongoing random access procedure before the BSR is triggered and after the first MAC CE is received ([¶0129]: during LTM, the UE (200) cancels one or more of the following UL MAC procedures such as triggered scheduling request procedure, triggered buffer status reporting procedure, triggered power headroom reporting procedure, triggered consistent LBT, triggered BFR, triggered Sidelink buffer status reporting procedure, triggered Pre-emptive buffer status reporting procedure, triggered timing advance reporting procedure, triggered recommended bit rate query procedure, triggered Configured uplink grant confirmation, triggered configured sidelink grant confirmation, triggered desired guard symbol query, triggered positioning measurement gap activation/deactivation request procedure and triggered SDT procedure. In an embodiment, this may be performed during LTM completion. In an embodiment, this may be performed after receiving DL LTM trigger for cell switch.).
Regarding claim 20, Abraham discloses a terminal (Fig. 6: UE 200) comprising:
a transceiver (Fig. 6: communicator 220; claim 11: a terminal comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor operably coupled to the transceiver…),
a memory (Fig. 6: memory 230), and
a controller (Fig. 6: processor 210 and/or LTM controller 240) coupled to the transceiver and the memory, wherein the controller is configured to cause the terminal to:
receive, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message ([¶0036]: the method includes receiving, by a UE, a RRCReconfiguration message comprising a list of LTM candidate configurations to be added or modified, a list of LTM candidate configuration to be released, a measurement configuration for the LTM, and a reference configuration information from a network entity.), wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises:
one or more embedded RRC reconfiguration messages, wherein each of the one or more embedded RRC reconfiguration messages is associated with a candidate cell; ([¶0076]:a source gNB provides a RRCReconfiguration message or a candidate cell Cellgroupconfig message per candidate cell for a LTM. Embodiments herein refer to the candidate cell RRC reconfiguration as candLTM-Reconfiguration and the candidate cell cellgroupconfig as candLTM-CellGroup.); and
one or more first identifiers, wherein each of the one or more first identifiers is associated with one of the one or more embedded RRC reconfiguration messages ([¶0112]: in another embodiment, this may be a list of candidate cells (for e.g., cell identifiers or list of indices of candidate cells, candidateLTMStoreList or the like). [¶0167]: the LTM candidate configurations to be added or modified included in the RRC reconfiguration message send by the network entity (100) includes at least one of: an identifier and an OCTET STRING containing the RRC reconfiguration message, where the UE (200) adds the candidate cell. In an embodiment, the LTM candidate configurations to be released included in the RRC reconfiguration message includes an identifier corresponding to the identifier included in the list of LTM candidate configuration, where the UE (200) releases the LTM candidate configuration identified by the identifier.);
perform, based on an embedded RRC reconfiguration message, a first set of operations for the candidate cell associated with the embedded RRC reconfiguration message (Fig. 5, [¶0111]: at step 6, L1/L2 of the UE (200) performs the MAC operation etc. for LTM. Further, the L1/L2 of the UE (200) cancels the applicable MAC procedures and resets applicable counters. Further, the L1/L2 of the UE (200) performs the MAC/RLC reset/PDCP recovery based on configuration. In an embodiment, at step 7, the L1/L2 of the UE (200) sends the RRCReconfigurationComplete to the target gNB L2/L2 104. In an embodiment, at 8, the RRC of the UE (200) sends the RRC reestablishment to the gNB-RRC (102). At step 9, the L1/L2 of the UE (200) stores the candidates based on the configuration.),…;
receive, from the base station, a first downlink (DL) Medium Access Control (MAC) message, wherein the first DL MAC message comprises a first identifier field ([¶0155]: in an embodiment, the LTM controller (240) receives the LTM configuration in the RRC message indicating whether the UE (200) needs to perform one of: the RLC reestablishment and the PDCP recovery during the LTM to the candidate cell. Further, the LTM controller (240) receives the DL MAC CE or the DL L1 message used for triggering the LTM.); and
transmit, to the base station, an uplink (UL) MAC message, wherein the UL MAC message comprises a Buffer Status Report (BSR), wherein the BSR is triggered as a consequence of reception of the first DL MAC message ([¶0034]: the LTM controller is configured to perform at least one operation. The at least one operation includes at least one of: an UL MAC procedure, resets all counters of a beam failure indication or a listen before transmission during the LTM, and cancel a procedure for triggering a BSR for extended reality (XR). The at least one UL MAC procedure includes at least one of: …. a triggered buffer status reporting procedure…).
Abraham does not disclose wherein the first set of operations comprises downlink synchronization. However, Kim discloses wherein the first set of operations comprises downlink synchronization (Fig. 6, [¶0232]: when the UE completes synchronization of a DL signal with the BS and is enabled to receive a control signal, the UE may perform a random access procedure on an initial BWP, may receive an RAR, may request an RRC connection configuration, may receive an RRC message, and thus, may perform an RRC connection configuration (6-10, 6-15, 6-20, 6-25, and 6-30). [¶0502] when the message includes reconfigurationWithSync, and the UE performs a reconfiguration procedure for synchronization (reconfiguration with Sync), a procedure below may be performed.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RRC reconfiguration message, as taught by Abraham, to include an indication to perform downlink synchronization, as taught by Kim. Doing so allows for the UE to correctly perform channel measurement or channel measurement reporting (see Kim [¶0133].).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abraham in view of Kim and further in view of Dinan (US 2017/0310531 A1)(hereinafter “Dinan”).
Regarding claim 6, Abraham in view of Kim discloses all features of claim 4 as outlined above.
Abraham in view of Kim does not disclose wherein a format of the PHR is determined based on the configuration parameters for PHR comprised in the specific embedded RRC message. However, Dinan discloses wherein a format of the PHR is determined based on the configuration parameters for PHR comprised in the specific embedded RRC message ([¶0244] a UE may consider UE RRC cell configurations to decide the format of a PHR MAC CE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PHR reporting procedure, as taught by Kim, to include a PHR format indicated by RRC configuration parameters, as taught by Dinan. Doing so allows for the UE to perform PHR in accordance with allocated network resources (see Dinan [¶0244].).
Regarding claim 7, Abraham in view of Kim and further in view of Dian discloses all features of claim 6 as outlined above.
Abraham also discloses wherein the specific embedded RRC message is determined based on a value comprised in the first identifier field in the first DL MAC message ([¶0112]: in another embodiment, this may be a list of candidate cells (for e.g., cell identifiers or list of indices of candidate cells, candidateLTMStoreList or the like). [¶0167]: the LTM candidate configurations to be added or modified included in the RRC reconfiguration message send by the network entity (100) includes at least one of: an identifier and an OCTET STRING containing the RRC reconfiguration message, where the UE (200) adds the candidate cell. In an embodiment, the LTM candidate configurations to be released included in the RRC reconfiguration message includes an identifier corresponding to the identifier included in the list of LTM candidate configuration, where the UE (200) releases the LTM candidate configuration identified by the identifier.).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abraham in view of Kim and further in view of Cirik et al. (US 2024/0056987 A1)(hereinafter “Cirik”).
Abraham in view of Kim discloses all features of claim 12 as outlined above.
Abraham in view of Kim does not disclose wherein the first set of operations further comprises determining a pathloss of the SSB of the candidate cell based on the measuring the SSB. However, Cirik discloses wherein the first set of operations further comprises determining a pathloss of the SSB of the candidate cell based on the measuring the SSB ([¶0167]: the UE may determine the preamble group based on a pathloss measurement and/or a size of the Msg 3 1313. The UE may measure an RSRP of one or more reference signals (e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs) and determine at least one reference signal having an RSRP above an RSRP threshold (e.g., rsrp-ThresholdSSB and/or rsrp-ThresholdCSl-RS). [¶0343]: the (default) pathloss reference signal is SSB 4 indicated by the Pathloss reference RS 0 mapped to the Power control parameter set 2.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the SSB, as taught by Kim, to determine a pathloss of the candidate cell, as taught by Cirik. Doing so allows for the UE to select a reference signal among configured resources (see Cirik [¶0167].).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wallentin et al. (US 2024/0172306 A1) - Reporting Uplink Data Arrival For Deactivated Secondary Cell Group (SCG).
Turtinen et al. (US 2024/0155512 A1) – PHR Procedure for SDT.
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463