DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, line 2, “layer, has” should read “layer has” without the comma. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the porometer" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no previous mention of a “porometer” in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the mass ratio being 0.0001 nor more than 0.001" in line 4. The phrasing of this limitation makes the bounds of the claimed mass ratio unclear. For examination purposes, this limitation has been interpreted to refer to a mass ratio range of not less than 0.0001 nor more than 0.001.
Any claims dependent on the above claim(s) are rejected for their dependence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono et al. (U.S. 2019/0085470) in view of Yang et al. (U.S. 2015/0354074).
Regarding claim 1, Ono teaches an electrolysis cell (see e.g. Paragraphs 0016 and 0113, cell of electrochemical reaction device) comprising:
a cathode configured to be in contact with a reducible gas and to reduce the reducible gas (see e.g. Figs. 1-2, cathode 23 contacting gas containing second substance to be reduced via flow path 243; Paragraph 0014, lines 4-6, and Paragraphs 0023-0024 and 0038);
an anode configured to be in contact with an electrolytic solution containing an oxidizable substance and to oxidize the oxidizable substance (see e.g. Figs. 1-2, anode 11 contacting liquid electrolytic solution containing substance to be oxidized via flow path 14; Paragraph 0014, lines 1-4, and Paragraphs 0017 and 0022), the anode containing titanium (see e.g. Paragraph 0018, lines 1-7, and Paragraph 0113, lines 2-5, anode substrate comprising Ti); and
a separator separating the cathode from the anode (see e.g. Figs. 1-2, porous separator between cathode 23 and anode 11; Paragraph 0060), wherein:
the separator includes a porous membrane (see e.g. Paragraphs 0066-0067, porous separator body acting as membrane);
the porous membrane gives a first pore size distribution, the first pore size distribution having a first peak top in a range of 0.008 to 0.45 µm, encompassing the claimed range of the present invention, with a specific example of 0.1 µm, falling within the claimed range of the present invention (see e.g. Paragraph 0100, lines 7-12, and Paragraph 0113, lines 12-15, given average fine pore size values at which a pore size distribution peak would be present).
MPEP § 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”
The first pore size distribution being “defined by a first graph having a first horizontal axis and a first vertical axis, the first horizontal axis representing first pore sizes of through holes of the porous membrane, the first pore sizes being determined by the porometer, the first vertical axis representing a pore size flow distribution of pore volumes corresponding to the first pore sizes” is not a positively recited element of the claimed electrolysis cell, but instead a method of evaluating a property of the porous membrane of the electrolysis cell. Ono teaches the porous membrane having an average pore size of 0.008 to 0.45 µm, with a specific example of 0.1 µm (see e.g. Paragraph 0100, lines 7-12, and Paragraph 0113, lines 12-1), which would therefore exhibit a pore size distribution peak at said average pore size values, regardless of the particular evaluation method.
Ono does not explicitly teach the porous membrane having an ISO air permeance of not less than 0.8 µm/Pa*s nor more than 150 µm/Pa*s, but does teach the desire to preferably keep movement of gas between the anode and cathode through the separator small (see e.g. Paragraph 0067, lines 6-11).
Yang teaches a diaphragm cloth, i.e. separator, for use in an electrolyzer (see e.g. Abstract) formed with an average pore size preferably less than 5 µm, encompassing the pore size of Ono, and a venting quality, i.e. air permeability, or 1.5 L/cm2/min or less measured at 3 KPa, equivalent to 83.3 µm/Pa*s or less, overlapping the claimed range of the present invention, to ensure stable and high gas-tightness of the diaphragm/separator for a long term and prevent gas from passing therethrough between an anode side and a cathode side (see e.g. Paragraphs 0010 and 0049).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the porous membrane of Ono to have an air permeance of 83.3 µm/Pa*s or less as taught by Yang to ensure gas-tightness of the membrane for a long term and prevent gas from passing between the anode and cathode. MPEP § 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”
Regarding claim 2, modified Ono teaches the porous membrane giving a second pore size distribution, the second pore size distribution having a second peak top in a range of 0.008 to 0.45 µm, overlapping the claimed range of the present invention, with a specific example of 0.1 µm, falling within the claimed range of the present invention (see e.g. Ono Paragraph 0100, lines 7-12, and Paragraph 0113, lines 12-15, given average fine pore size values at which a pore size distribution peak would be present). See MPEP § 2144.05 I as cited above.
The second pore size distribution being “defined by a second graph having a second horizontal axis and a second vertical axis, the second horizontal axis representing second pore sizes of the porous membrane, the second pore sizes being determined by a mercury intrusion method, the second vertical axis representing log differential pore volumes corresponding the second pore sizes” is not a positively recited element of the claimed electrolysis cell, but instead a second method of evaluating a property of the porous membrane of the electrolysis cell. As stated above, Ono teaches the porous membrane having an average pore size of 0.008 to 0.45 µm, with a specific example of 0.1 µm (see e.g. Ono Paragraph 0100, lines 7-12, and Paragraph 0113, lines 12-1), which would therefore exhibit a pore size distribution peak at said average pore size values, regardless of the particular evaluation method.
Regarding claim 3, modified Ono teaches the porous membrane being an organic polymer porous membrane (see e.g. Ono Paragraphs 0069-0069, porous separator comprising PTFE or other organic polymers).
Regarding claim 4, the limitation of “when the cell is operated at a current density of 200 mA/cm2 or more for 1000 hours or more, the operated cell has titanium in at least one pore of the porous membrane” is a conditional/contingent limitation as well as a statement of intended use. MPEP § 2114 states “"[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does."…A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.”. Further, MPEP § 2111.04 II states “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a system (or apparatus or product) claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur. The system claim interpretation differs from a method claim interpretation because the claimed structure must be present in the system regardless of whether the condition is met and the function is actually performed.”. Modified Ono teaches all the structural limitations of the claimed anode as stated above, and particularly teaches titanium being present in the anode in contact with the porous separator (see e.g. Ono Figs. 1-2, anode 11 comprising Ti, e.g. Ti mesh, contacting porous membrane 30; Paragraphs 0018 and 0060, and Paragraph 0113, lines 2-5), which would therefore be capable of dissolution into pores of the separator upon extended operation, as described in paragraph 0024, lines 1-4, of the instant specification.
Regarding claim 5, the limitation of “an amount of the titanium in the at least one pore is defined by a mass ratio of a mass of any titanium compounds in the at least one pore to a mass of carbon in the organic polymer porous membrane, and the mass ratio is 0.0001 or more when the mass of carbon in the organic polymer porous membrane is assumed to 1” is a further limitation of the conditional limitation under an intended use of claim 4 (see MPEP §2114 and MPEP § 2111.04 II as cited above). As stated above, modified Ono teaches the structural limitations of the claimed anode as stated above, and would therefore be capable of dissolution into pores of the separator in the claimed amounts upon extended operation depending on particular operating parameters.
Regarding claim 6, modified Ono teaches the anode having a porous substrate (see e.g. Ono Paragraph 0018, lines 1-4); and the porous substrate containing titanium and at least one element selected from nickel and iron (see e.g. Ono Paragraph 0018, lines 4-7, substrate comprising an alloy of Ti and Ni and/or Fe).
Regarding claim 7, the limitation of “when the porous membrane is divided in half thickness into a first porous part adjacent to the cathode and a second porous part adjacent to the anode, a mass of any titanium compounds in the second porous part is larger than a mass of any titanium compounds in the first porous part” is again a further limitation of the conditional limitation under an intended use of claims 4 and 5 (see MPEP §2114 and MPEP § 2111.04 II as cited above). As stated above, modified Ono teaches the structural limitations of the claimed anode as stated above, and would therefore be capable of dissolution into pores of the separator in the claimed relative amounts upon extended operation depending on particular operating parameters. Furthermore, at least in terms of dissolution and diffusion of the titanium from the anode resulting in the presence of titanium compounds in any pores, as described in paragraph 0024, lines 1-4, of the instant specification, it would be expected for the mass of titanium in the portion of the membrane, i.e. second porous part, against the source of said titanium to be larger than the further portion of the membrane, i.e. first porous part, at least during some period of operation.
Regarding claim 10, Ono as modified by Yang teaches the first peak top being 0.008 to 0.45 µm, with a specific example of 0.1 µm (see e.g. Ono Paragraph 0100, lines 7-12, and Paragraph 0113, lines 12-15, given average fine pore size values at which a pore size distribution peak would be present regardless of evaluation method, as described above in the rejection of claim 1), and the ISO air permeance being 83.3 µm/Pa*s or less (see e.g. Yang Paragraph 0010, lines 9-11, and Paragraph 0049, 1.5 L/cm2/min or less measured at 3 KPa), overlapping or falling within the claimed ranges of the present invention (see MPEP § 2144.05 I as cited above).
Regarding claims 11 and 15, modified Ono teaches the second peak top being 0.008 to 0.45 µm, with a specific example of 0.1 µm (see e.g. Ono Paragraph 0100, lines 7-12, and Paragraph 0113, lines 12-15, given average fine pore size values at which a pore size distribution peak would be present regardless of evaluation method, as described above in the rejection of claim 2), overlapping or falling within the claimed ranges of the present invention (see MPEP § 2144.05 I as cited above).
Regarding claim 12, modified Ono teaches the reducible gas including carbon dioxide (see e.g. Ono Paragraph 0023), and the oxidizable substance including water or a hydroxide ion (see e.g. Ono Paragraph 0017).
Regarding claim 13, Ono as modified by Yang teaches the ISO air permeance being 83.3 µm/Pa*s or less (see e.g. Yang Paragraph 0010, lines 9-11, and Paragraph 0049, 1.5 L/cm2/min or less measured at 3 KPa), overlapping the claimed range of the present invention (see MPEP § 2144.05 I as cited above).
Regarding claim 14, modified Ono teaches the first peak top being 0.008 to 0.45 µm, with a specific example of 0.1 µm (see e.g. Ono Paragraph 0100, lines 7-12, and Paragraph 0113, lines 12-15, given average fine pore size values at which a pore size distribution peak would be present regardless of evaluation method, as described above in the rejection of claim 1), overlapping or falling within the claimed ranges of the present invention (see MPEP § 2144.05 I as cited above).
Regarding claim 16, modified Ono teaches the cathode having a surface disposed on the separator; and the anode having a surface disposed on the separator (see e.g. Ono Fig. 2, anode 11 and cathode 23 respectively in contact with faces 30a and 30b of porous separator 30; Paragraph 0060).
Regarding claim 18, modified Ono teaches the porous membrane including a fluorocarbon resin, polyethylene, polypropylene, or cellulose (see e.g. Ono Paragraphs 0069-0069, porous separator comprising PTFE or other fluorocarbon resin, or the other listed materials).
Regarding claim 19, the limitation of “an amount of the titanium in the at least one pore is defined by a mass ratio of a mass of any titanium compounds in the at least one pore to a mass of carbon in the organic polymer porous membrane, the mass ratio being [not less than] 0.0001 nor more than 0.001 when the mass of carbon in the organic polymer porous membrane is assumed to 1” is a further limitation of the conditional limitation under an intended use of claims 4 and 5 (see MPEP §2114 and MPEP § 2111.04 II as cited above). As stated above, modified Ono teaches the structural limitations of the claimed anode as stated above, and would therefore be capable of dissolution into pores of the separator in the claimed amounts upon extended operation depending on particular operating parameters.
Regarding claim 20, modified Ono teaches an electrolysis device (see e.g. Ono Paragraph 0016, electrochemical reaction device) comprising:
the cell according to claim 1 (see e.g. Ono Paragraphs 0016 and 0113, cell of electrochemical reaction device);
a gas supply configured to supply the reducible gas to a cathode flow path of the cell (see e.g. Ono Figs. 1-2, source of gas containing second substance to be reduced supplied to flow path 243 on cathode side; Paragraph 0038 and Paragraph 0116, lines 3-5); and
an electrolytic solution supply configured to supply the electrolytic solution to an anode flow path of the cell (see e.g. Ono Figs. 1-2, source of electrolytic solution supplied to flow path 14 on anode side; Paragraph 0022 and Paragraph 0116, lines 1-3).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono in view of Yang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kofuji et al. (U.S. 2020/0270756).
Regarding claim 8, modified Ono teaches all the elements of the cell of claim 1 as stated above. Modified Ono further teaches the cathode having a porous substrate including carbon fibers (see e.g. Ono Figs. 1-2 porous conductive layer 23a formed of a carbon paper or carbon cloth, i.e. carbon fibers; Paragraph 0030, lines 1-2, and Paragraph 0031, last 2 lines); a diffusion layer disposed on the porous substrate (see e.g. Ono Figs. 1-2, additional porous conductive layer/mesoporous layer contributing diffusibility below reduction catalyst layer 23b supported on porous conductive layer 23a; Paragraph 0032, lines 1-11); and a catalyst layer disposed on the diffusion layer (see e.g. Ono Figs. 1-2, reduction catalyst layer 23b supported on surface of mesoporous layer; Paragraph 0032, lines 3-7). Modified Ono does not explicitly teach the catalyst layer having a bulk density of 0.1 g/cm3 or more and less than 0.6 g/cm3.
Kofuji teaches a cathode catalyst layer for a carbon dioxide electrolysis cell (see e.g. Paragraphs 0014 and 0020), wherein the catalyst layer has a thickness of preferably 5 to 100 µm and weight per area of preferably 0.1 to 5 mg/cm2 to realize high efficiency (see e.g. Paragraph 0035, lines 1-6, and Paragraph 0036, lines 1-6), resulting in a bulk density of 0.01 to 10 g/cm3, encompassing the claimed range of the present invention (see MPEP § 2144.05 I as cited above), with a specific
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the catalyst layer of modified Ono to have a thickness of preferably 5 to 100 µm and weight per area of 0,1 to 5 mg/cm2, resulting in a bulk density of 0.01 to 10 g/cm3, as taught by Kofuji to provide high efficiency.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono, Yang and Kofuji, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Schwarz et al. (“Effects of Electrode Support Structure on Electrode Microstructure, Transport Properties, and Gas Diffusion within the Gas Diffusion Layer”, ACS Omega, 2022).
Regarding claim 9, modified Ono teaches all the elements of the cell of claim 8 as stated above. Modified Ono does not explicitly teach the porous substrate with the catalyst layer and the diffusion layer having a bulk density of not less than 0.1 g/cm3 nor more than 0.7 g/cm3. Ono does however teach the diffusion layer being a microporous layer disposed on the carbon fiber-composed porous substrate (see e.g. Ono Paragraph 0031, last 2 lines, and Paragraph 0032, lines 1-7).
Schwarz teaches gas diffusion layers for gas phase electrolysis (see e.g. Abstract) each comprising a base carbon fiber layer and a microporous layer (see e.g. Fig. 1 and Page 29832, Col. 1, lines 8-11), the total gas diffusion layers having basic weights ranging 90 to 140 g/m2 and reported thicknesses of 235 to 420 µm, resulting in a bulk densities ranging from 0.30 to 0.44 g/cm3 (see e.g. Table 1). In combination with the teaching of Ono as modified by Kofuji above of the catalyst layer having an area density of 0.1 to 5 mg/cm2 and thickness of preferably 5 to 100 µm (see e.g. Kofuji Paragraph 0035, lines 1-6, and Paragraph 0036, lines 1-6), the total bulk density of the porous substrate with the catalyst layer and the diffusion layer would be 0.24 to 0.59 g/cm3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the porous substrate and diffusion layer of modified Ono to comprise one of the gas diffusion layers described by Schwarz with basic weights ranging from 90 to 140 g/m2 and thicknesses ranging from 235 to 420 µm, resulting in a total bulk density including the catalyst layer of 0.24 to 0.59 g/cm3, as particular suitable examples of gas diffusion layers composed of microporous layers disposed on base carbon fiber layers for use in a gas phase electrolysis system. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono in view of Yang, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Inoue et al. (JP 2013249510 A, citations based on translation).
Regarding claim 17, modified Ono teaches all the elements of the cell of claim 3 as stated above. Modified Ono does not teach the cell having a titanium oxide in at least one pore of the porous membrane, but does teach the desire for the porous membrane to be hydrophilic (see e.g. Ono Paragraph 0066, line 1).
Inoue teaches a diaphragm, i.e. separator, for electrolysis (see e.g. Paragraph 0001) comprising a porous body (see e.g. Paragraph 0006, lines 1-3), wherein a metal oxide, such as titanium dioxide, is included in the porous body, including in the pores thereof, to provide the porous body with excellent wettability, i.e. hydrophilicity (see e.g. Fig. 3, metal oxide 21 shown inside pores of porous body 20; Paragraph 0007, lines 5-6, Paragraph 0023, lines 1-2 and 7-12, Paragraph 0026 and Paragraph 0061, lines 38-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the porous membrane of modified Ono to comprise a metal oxide such as titanium dioxide in the pores thereof as taught by Inoue to provide excellent wettability, i.e. hydrophilicity, to the porous membrane.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakai et al. (WO 2023038116 A1) discloses a carbon dioxide electrolysis tank comprising a hydrophilic porous diaphragm disposed between an anode and cathode, the porous diaphragm preferably having a pore diameter of 0.2 µm or less, with specific examples of 0.1 µm, 0.03 µm and 0.2 µm.
/MOFOLUWASO S JEBUTU/Examiner, Art Unit 1795