Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-11, 13-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fritz et al (U.S. Pub. 2019/0336990) in view of Suga et al (U.S. Pat. 4,628,330)
Regarding claim 1, a liquid discharge module comprising: a nozzle plate (1) including a first face (Figure 1); a second face opposite to the first face (Figure 1)
A nozzle hole (2) through which a liquid is discharged from the second face, the nozzle hole including at least two different inner diameters between the first face and the second face (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0061-0062, 0073-0074)
A housing including a liquid chamber (the housing surrounds the liquid chamber 3)
Facing the first face of the nozzle plate; and communicating with the nozzle hole (Figure 1; Abstract; Paragraphs 0062-0063)
The housing supporting the nozzle plate (Figure 1)
A valve (8, 10, 11) in the liquid chamber, the valve to contact the first face of the nozzle plate to form a sealed portion between the valve and the nozzle plate to close the nozzle hole (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0064-0065, 0074-0076)
wherein the valve includes: an elastic seal to elastically contact the first face of the nozzle plate to form the sealed portion; and a needle (9) supporting the elastic seal at a leading end of the needle adjacent to the nozzle hole (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0063-0074)
A mover (9) to move the valve in a contact separation direction between: a contact position at which the valve contacts the nozzle plate; and a separation position at which the valve is separated from the nozzle plate (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0063-0074)
Suga discloses a valve and sealing structure wherein the sealing structure (123, 124) will form a closed state and control flow resistance for the ink passage (116) wherein the seal structure includes a recess facing the nozzle plate (Figure 7(a); Column 6, Line 57 – Column 7, Line 19)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Suga into the device of Fritz, for the purpose of recording at a high recording sped with a simplified construction (Column 2, Lines 38-41)
Regarding claim 3, Suga discloses a valve and sealing structure wherein the sealing structure (123, 124) will form a closed state and control flow resistance for the ink passage (116) wherein the sealed portion is outside a largest inner diameter of the nozzle hole (Figure 7a; Column 6, Line 57 – Column 7, Line 19)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Suga into the device of Fritz, for the purpose of recording at a high recording sped with a simplified construction (Column 2, Lines 38-41)
Regarding claim 17, Suga discloses a valve and sealing structure wherein the sealing structure (123, 124) will form a closed state and control flow resistance for the ink passage (116) wherein the recess includes a tapered shape (Figure 7(a); Column 6, Line 57 – Column 7, Line 19)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Suga into the device of Fritz, for the purpose of recording at a high recording sped with a simplified construction (Column 2, Lines 38-41)
Regarding claim 18, Suga discloses the mover comprises a piezoelectric element (Figures 9a, 9b; Column 3, Lines 32-67; Column 7, Line 41- Column 8, Line 5)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Suga into the device of Fritz, for the purpose of recording at a high recording sped with a simplified construction (Column 2, Lines 38-41)
Regarding claim 19, wherein the first inner wall and the second inner wall meet at an obtuse angle (Figure 2)
Claim(s) 4-8, 13, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fritz et al (U.S. Pub. 2019/0336990) as modified by Suga et al (U.S. Pat. 4,628,330) and further in view of Chen et al (U.S. Pub. 2006/0028508)
Regarding claim 4, Fritz discloses wherein the nozzle hole has: a first inner wall having: a first inner diameter
A first length in the contact separation direction; and a second inner wall (angled wall) having: a second inner diameter larger than the first inner diameter (Figure 2 discloses a nozzle consisting of a plurality of sections of different diameter and length)
Fritz does not expressly disclose a second length longer than the first length in the contact separation direction; however, Chen discloses a nozzle outlet wherein a second length longer than the first length in the contact separation direction (Figure 2B; Paragraph 0022)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Chen into the device Fritz as modified by Suga, for the purpose of implementing ejection operations through the nozzle
Regarding claim 5, wherein the first inner wall extends in a direction parallel to the contact separation direction; and the second inner wall is inclined toward the first inner wall at a predetermined angle and connected to the first inner wall (Figure 2 discloses a nozzle consisting of a plurality of sections of different diameter and length)
Regarding claim 6, wherein the first inner wall is closer to the second face than the second inner wall; and the second inner diameter increases toward the first face (Figure 2 discloses a nozzle consisting of a plurality of sections of different diameter and length)
Regarding claim 7, wherein the first inner wall and the second inner wall extend in a direction parallel to the contact separation direction (Figure 2)
Regarding claim 8, wherein the second inner wall is closer to the first face than the first inner wall (Figure 2)
Regarding claim 13, Fritz discloses the sealed portion on the first face is disposed away from the nozzle hole on the second face (Figure 2)
Fritz discloses the claimed invention except for the sealed portion on the first face is disposed away from the nozzle hole on the second face for a predetermined distance equal to a sum of the first length of the first inner wall and the second length of the second inner wall. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the sealed portion on the first face is disposed away from the nozzle hole on the second face for a predetermined distance equal to a sum of the first length of the first inner wall and the second length of the second inner wall, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of having the sealed portion on the first face is disposed away from the nozzle hole on the second face for a predetermined distance equal to a sum of the first length of the first inner wall and the second length of the second inner wall, for the purpose forming a space for the sealing member to be properly positioned with the nozzle plate
Regarding claim 20, Chen discloses the second length is longer than the first length (Figure 2B; Paragraph 0022)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Chen into the device Fritz as modified by Suga, for the purpose of implementing ejection operations through the nozzle
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fritz et al (U.S. Pub. 2019/0336990) as modified by Suga et al (U.S. Pat. 4,628,330) and Chen et al (U.S. Pub. 2006/0028508) and further in view of Takahashi et al (U.S. Pat. 5,451,993)
Regarding claim 9, Fritz as modified by Suga and Chen does not expressly disclose the second inner wall is closer to the second face than the first inner wall; and the second dinner diameter decreases toward the first face. Takahashi discloses it is known in the art to use a nozzle structure where the second inner wall is closer to the second face than the first inner wall; and the second inner diameter decreases toward the first face (Figure 5 discloses a nozzle exit wherein the second inner diameter is larger near the exit; Column 4, Lines 19-31)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the angled walls as taught by Fritz with the teaching of the second inner wall closer to the second face as taught by Takahashi, for the purpose of enabling the ink droplets to be ejected in a correct direction by suppressing the fluctuation of their flowing direction
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fritz et al (U.S. Pub. 2019/0336990) as modified by Suga et al (U.S. Pat. 4,628,330) and Chen et al (U.S. Pub. 2006/0028508) and further in view of Wallsten et al (U.S. Pub. 2014/0354739)
Regarding claim 10, Wallsten discloses the nozzle plate (12) comprising two components (14, 16) having inner walls (Figure 1; Paragraph 0034)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of nozzle plate assembly as taught by Wallsten into the device of Fritz as modified by Suga and Chen, for the purpose of increasing the ejection amount during an operation
Regarding claim 11, Wallsten discloses wherein the first component (14) and the second component (16) are joined to each other to form a single unit (12) (Figure 1; Paragraph 0034)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of nozzle plate assembly as taught by Wallsten into the device of Fritz as modified by Suga and Chen, for the purpose of increasing the ejection amount during an operation
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fritz et al (U.S. Pub. 2019/0336990) as modified by Suga et al (U.S. Pat. 4,628,330) and further in view of Wallsten et al (U.S. Pub. 20014/0354739)
Regarding claim 14, Wallsten discloses wherein the housing has a side wall (12) defining the liquid chamber (18); and an end face (16) joined to the first face of the nozzle plate around the liquid chamber, the side wall has a projection adjacent to the end face of the housing; and the projection projects towards an interior of the liquid chamber (Figure 1; Paragraph 0034)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Wallsten into the device of Fritz as modified by Suga, for the purpose of increasing the ejection amount during an operation
Regarding claim 15, Fritz discloses the liquid discharge module according to claim 1; however, Fritz does not expressly disclose multiple liquid discharge modules. Wallsten discloses multiple liquid discharge modules (Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 0031-0037)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Wallsten into the device of Fritz as modified by Suga, for the purpose of increasing the ejection amount during an operation
Regarding claim 16, Wallsten discloses a head holder holding the liquid discharge head to move the liquid discharge head (Figure 1; Paragraph 0031)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Wallsten into the device of Fritz as modified by Suga, for the purpose of increasing the ejection amount during an operation
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON S UHLENHAKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 March 13, 2026