DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7 and 8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01 April 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)& (a)(2) as being anticipated by Song (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0046162, hereinafter Song).
With respect to Claim 1, Song discloses a battery system [see fig 5 unless otherwise noted] comprising:
at least one pack [130] in which an all-solid-state battery cell is sealed [para 4 indicates solid state; sealed via heat shrink film in para 24]; and
a sensing unit [220] configured to sense deformation of the at least one pack due to change in internal pressure of the at least one pack [para 66 shows general operation of the sensing unit; para 8 indicates that the swelling is caused pressure].
With respect to Claim 2, Song discloses that the at least one pack includes a plurality of packs; and the sensing unit is configured to sense deformation of each of the packs [Each 130 is monitored via pairs of 224/226 to check for swelling].
With respect to Claim 3, Song discloses that the sensing unit is configured to sense deformation of the at least one pack, in a non-contact state with the at least one pack. The optical sensors do not contact the packs.
With respect to Claim 4, Song discloses that the sensing unit [220] includes an imaging unit [226]; and the sensing unit is configured to detect deformation of the at least one pack, based on an image of the at least one pack imaged by the imaging unit [The light received at 226 determines the deformation, para 66 and figure 6.].
With respect to Claim 9, Song discloses an abnormality sensing method for a battery system equipped with an all-solid-state battery cell [para 4], the abnormality sensing method comprising: preparing a pack in which the all-solid-state battery cell is sealed; and sensing deformation of the pack due to change in internal pressure of the pack [deformation determined via 220, see para 66 and para 8 indicates swelling due to pressure].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song.
With respect to Claim 10, Song discloses a battery system comprising: a pack in which an all-solid-state battery cell is sealed [figure 5 shows multiple cells 130, para 4 indicates solid state]; and sensing deformation of the pack due to change in internal pressure of the pack [deformation determined via 220, see para 66 and para 8 indicates swelling due to pressure].
While Song does not explicitly recite using a processor to determine the deformation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that using a processor to analyze the output of 220 would be the most efficient and reliable way to analyze the digital output of 220
6. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of CN202110437386, hereinafter CN.
With respect to Claim 6, Song discloses that the at least one pack includes an array of packs arrayed in a predetermined direction [clear from fig 5, arrayed in the z direction].
Song uses a series of imagining units, one for each pack, rather than moving one imaging unit along a predetermined direction.
CN shows using one imaging unit that moves to analyze a battery. See page 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that Song could use a single pair of 224/226 and move it to each of the battery packs for the benefit of not needing a plurality of 224s/226s.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to Claim 5, U.S. Publication No. 2022/0131230 shows that using discharge valves in solid state batteries is known, but no prior art shows sensing deformation of the at least one pack based on the image indicating that the discharge valve is open.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 9,410,798 shows analyzing images to determine deformation, but not for a battery.
U.S. Publication 2012/0208054 shows a contact based deformation sensor.
U.S. Publication 2023/0046163 shows using imaging to analyze a battery.
/ALEX T DEVITO/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/JOHN E BREENE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855