DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)& (a)(2) as being anticipated by Song (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0046162, hereinafter Song).
With respect to Claim 1, Song discloses a battery system [see fig 5 unless otherwise noted] comprising:
at least one pack [130] in which an all-solid-state battery cell is sealed [para 4 indicates solid state; sealed via heat shrink film in para 24]; and
a sensing unit [220] configured to sense deformation of the at least one pack due to change in internal pressure of the at least one pack [para 66 shows general operation of the sensing unit; para 8 indicates that the swelling is caused pressure],
wherein the at least one pack includes a portion [145; fig 6 shows expansion] formed to be expandable as internal pressure of the at least one pack increases.
With respect to Claim 2, Song discloses that the at least one pack includes a plurality of packs; and the sensing unit is configured to sense deformation of each of the packs [Each 130 is monitored via pairs of optical transmitters and sensors 224/226 to check for swelling; fig 6].
With respect to Claim 3, Song discloses that the sensing unit is configured to sense deformation of the at least one pack, in a non-contact state with the at least one pack. The optical sensors [226] are known to operate without contact.
With respect to Claim 4, Song discloses that the sensing unit [220] includes an imaging unit [226]; and the sensing unit is configured to detect deformation of the at least one pack, based on an image of the at least one pack imaged by the imaging unit [The light received at 226 determines the deformation, para 66 and figure 6.].
With respect to Claim 9, Song discloses an abnormality sensing method for a battery system equipped with an all-solid-state battery cell [para 4], the abnormality sensing method comprising: preparing a pack in which the all-solid-state battery cell is sealed; and sensing deformation of the pack due to change in internal pressure of the pack [deformation determined via 220, see para 66 and para 8 indicates swelling due to pressure] wherein the at least one pack includes a portion [145; fig 6 shows expansion] formed to be expandable as internal pressure of the at least one pack increases.
With respect to Claim 12, Song discloses that the portion has lower rigidity than portions of the at least one pack other than the portion. See figure 6 and para 63, 145 designed to split first.
With respect to Claim 13, Song discloses that the sensing unit includes an imaging unit [226]; and the sensing unit is configured to sense the deformation of the at least one pack based on an image, imaged by the imaging unit, indicating that the portion is expanded. The plurality of light sensors 226 can be considered to be a low resolution monochrome image.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song.
With respect to Claim 10, Song discloses a battery system comprising: a pack in which an all-solid-state battery cell is sealed [figure 5 shows multiple cells 130, para 4 indicates solid state]; and sensing deformation of the pack due to change in internal pressure of the pack [deformation determined via 220, see para 66 and para 8 indicates swelling due to pressure] wherein the at least one pack includes a portion [145; fig 6 shows expansion] formed to be expandable as internal pressure of the at least one pack increases.
While Song does not explicitly recite using a processor to determine the deformation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that using a processor to analyze the output of 220 would be the most efficient and reliable way to analyze the digital output of 220
6. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of CN202110437386, hereinafter CN.
With respect to Claim 6, Song discloses that the at least one pack includes an array of packs arrayed in a predetermined direction [clear from fig 5, arrayed in the z direction].
Song uses a series of imagining units, one for each pack, rather than moving one imaging unit along a predetermined direction.
CN shows using one imaging unit that moves to analyze a battery. See page 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that Song could use a single pair of 224/226 and move it to each of the battery packs for the benefit of not needing a plurality of 224s/226s.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Sakai et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0258582, hereinafter Sakai).
With respect to Claim 11, Song does not disclose that
the sensing unit includes a storage device that stores an image of the at least one pack in a state in which the at least one pack is not deformed; and the sensing unit is configured to detect the deformation of the at least one pack by comparing the image stored in the storage device with the image of the at least one pack imaged by the imaging unit, and to determine that the at least one pack is deformed when expansion of the portion is sensed based on the comparison.
Sakai discloses analyzing degree of deformation by comparing images of deformed batteries to images of new batteries [see para 43].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace Song’s rudimentary, binary image comparison with a sensing unit includes a storage device that stores an image of the at least one pack in a state in which the at least one pack is not deformed; and the sensing unit is configured to detect the deformation of the at least one pack by comparing the image stored in the storage device with the image of the at least one pack imaged by the imaging unit, and to determine that the at least one pack is deformed when expansion of the portion is sensed based on the comparison for the benefit of accurately determining the degree of battery deformation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to Claim 5, U.S. Publication No. 2022/0131230 shows that using discharge valves in solid state batteries is known, but no prior art shows sensing deformation of the at least one pack based on the image indicating that the discharge valve is open.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 27 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 6, the applicant argues “as agreed to during the interview, Song fails to disclose “a portion formed to be expandable as internal pressure of the at least one pack increases.” The examiner does not agree with this. Batteries bulging is always due to an increase in internal pressure. Para 14 correlates the deformation to a change in pressure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX T DEVITO/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/SUMAN K NATH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855