DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “actuation mechanism” in claim 1 and 15, “biasing member” in claims 3 and 13, and “sapling retrieval apparatus” in claims 10 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the sapling tray" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 12, its dependence on indefinite claim 11 renders the claim itself indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moon et al. (CN116369009A). Moon et al. discloses a sapling gripping head for a transplanter with a support frame 12,13,15,18; a sliding frame 12,13,14,17 slidably coupled to the support frame; a plurality of gripping units comprising a first fork 19 coupled to the support frame and a second fork 19 coupled to the sliding frame; and an actuation mechanism 2,9,10,11,4 configured to slide the sliding frame 17 relative to the support frame 18.
Regarding claim 6, Moon et al. discloses that the first fork 19 is normal to the support frame 18 and the second fork 19 is normal to the sliding frame 17.
Regarding claim 8, Moon et al. discloses a gap (not numbered) defined between the first fork 19 and the second fork 19, the gap is configured to hold a sapling (paragraph [0068]).
Regarding claim 9, Moon et al. discloses that the number of gripping units are equal to the number of saplings in a row of a sapling tray arranged on the transplanter (paragraph [0068]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al., as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Moiddin et al. (20210015027). Moon et al. discloses all of the claimed subject matter except for a sapling retrieval apparatus coupled to the sapling gripping head, and a controller configured to regulate the actuation mechanism.
Moiddin et al. teaches for a sapling gripping head 205 for a transplanter and that there is (claim 10) a sapling retrieval apparatus 200 coupled to the sapling gripping head 205, and (claim 15) a controller 180 configured to regulate the actuation mechanism, wherein (claim 11) the sapling retrieval apparatus 200 controls a position of the sapling gripping head 205 relative to the sapling tray 190, and (claim 12) the position of the sapling gripping head 205 is selected from a sapling pick position, a sapling drop position, and a rest position (paragraphs [0049] and [0050]) for the purposes of planting saplings accurately.
Since Moon et al. and Moiddin et al. are both in the same field of endeavor the purpose disclosed by Moiddin et al. would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Moon et al. It would have been obvious at a time before the invention was effectively filed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the sapling gripping head of Moon et al. to include a sapling retrieval apparatus coupled to the sapling gripping head, and a controller configured to regulate the actuation mechanism, wherein the sapling retrieval apparatus controls a position of the sapling gripping head relative to the sapling tray, and the position of the sapling gripping head is selected from a sapling pick position, a sapling drop position, and a rest position for the purposes of planting saplings accurately.
Prior Art
Prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure for showing other transplanters with sapling gripping heads.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7, 13, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The improvements comprise that (claim 2) the actuation mechanism comprises a linear actuator (claim 3) the actuation mechanism further comprises a biasing member biasing the sliding frame against the support frame and the actuation mechanism slides the sliding frame against the force of the biasing member, (claim 4) the first fork further comprises a pair of fingers, (claim 7) the support frame further comprises a slot proximal to the first fork and the second fork moves within the slot, (claim 13) the second fork further comprises a biasing member placed between the second fork and the sliding frame, and (claim 14) the actuation mechanism is a linear solenoid actuator.
Contact Information
/THOMAS E LAZO/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3745
July 15, 2026