DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application claims priority to provisional application 63/452,310 filed 15 March 2023. The priority claim complies with all applicable rules and regulations. Therefore, the effective filing date of the claims will be 15 March 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 01 April 2024 and 28 June 2024 comply with all applicable rules and regulations. Therefore, the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings
No issues have been found with the drawings filed 12 March 2024.
Specification
No issues have been found with the specification filed 12 March 2024.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 11, 14, 16, 18, 19, 20, 22, 23, 25, and 29 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, line 10—“the controller”, lacks sufficient antecedent basis for the claim. In order to overcome this objection, line 10 may be amended to state --a controller--, for example.
Regarding claim 1, line 12—“passwords”, it is unclear as to whether “passwords” is referring to “passwords” of line 5. For examination purposes, “passwords” of lines 4 and 12 will be interpreted to be the same. In order to overcome this objection, line 12 may be amended to state --the passwords--, for example.
Regarding claim 3, line 4—“ASCII”, the acronym should be spelled out at least the first time it is included within the claim.
Claim 18 includes similar language and is similarly analyzed.
Regarding claim 4, line 4—“the web resource”, line 4 should be amended to state --the internet resource-- in order to match claim 1.
Claim 19 includes similar language and is similarly analyzed.
Regarding claim 6, line 3—“a second request for a password”, it is unclear as to whether “a password” is referring to “a password” of claim 1. For examination purposes, “a password” of line 3 will be interpreted to be a different password than “a password” in claim 1. In order to overcome this objection, line 3 may be amended to state --a second password--, for example.
Regarding claim 8, line 3—“the second seed value”, lacks sufficient antecedent basis for the claim. In order to overcome this objection, line 3 may be amended to state --a second seed value--, for example.
Regarding claim 10, line 2—“the personal computer browser” lacks sufficient antecedent basis for the claim. In order to overcome this objection, line 2 may be amended to state --a personal computer browser--, for example.
Regarding claim 10, line 3—“an internet resource”, it is unclear as to whether “an internet resource” is referring to “an internet resource” of claim 1. For examination purposes, “an internet resource” of line 3 and claim 1 will be interpreted to be the same. In order to overcome this objection, line 3 may be amended to state --the internet resource--, for example.
Regarding claim 11, line 2—“the personal computer browser” lacks sufficient antecedent basis for the claim. In order to overcome this objection, line 2 may be amended to state --a personal computer browser--, for example.
Regarding claim 11, line 3—“personal computer browser”, it is unclear as to whether “personal computer browser” is referring to “personal computer browser” of line 2. For examination purposes, “personal computer browser” of lines 2 and 3 will be interpreted to be the same. In order to overcome this objection, line 3 may be amended to state --the personal computer browser--, for example.
Regarding claim 14, line 5—“the erasure” lacks sufficient antecedent basis for the claim. In order to overcome this objection, line 5 may be amended to state --an erasure--, for example.
Regarding claim 14, line 5—“a non-volatile seed table”, it is unclear as to whether “a non-volatile seed table” is referring to “a non-volatile seed table” of claim 1. For examination purposes, “a non-volatile seed table” of line 5 and claim 1 will be interpreted to be the same. In order to overcome this objection, line 5 may be amended to state --the non-volatile seed table--, for example.
Regarding claim 16, lines 12-13—“a pseudo-random character generator”, it is unclear as to whether “a pseudo-random character generator” is referring to “a pseudo-random character generator” of line 4. For examination purposes, “a pseudo-random character generator” of lines 4 and 12-13 will be interpreted to be the same. In order to overcome this objection, lines 12-13 may be amended to state --the pseudo-random character generator--, for example.
Regarding claim 20, lines 1-2—“a uniform resource locator of an internet resource requesting a password in a non-volatile index table”, it is unclear as to whether “a uniform resource locator”, “an internet resource”, and “a non-volatile index table”, are referring to “a uniform resource locator”, “an internet resource”, and “a non-volatile index table” of claim 16. For examination purposes, “a uniform resource locator”, “an internet resource”, and “a non-volatile index table” of lines 1-2 and claim 16 will be interpreted to be the same. In order to overcome this objection, lines 1-2 may be amended to state --the uniform resource locator--, --the internet resource--, and --the non-volatile index table--, for example.
Regarding claim 22, line 1—“a non-volatile seed table”, it is unclear as to whether “a non-volatile seed table” is referring to “a non-volatile seed table” of claim 16. For examination purposes, “a non-volatile seed table” of line 1 and claim 16 will be interpreted to be the same. In order to overcome this objection, line 1 may be amended to state --the non-volatile seed table--, for example.
Regarding claim 23, line 2—“a second pseudo-random number password”, it is unclear as to whether “a second pseudo-random number password” refers to “a second pseudo-random number password” of claim 17. For examination purposes, “a second pseudo-random number password” of line 2 and claim 17 will be interpreted to be the same. In order to overcome this objection, line 2 may be amended to state --the second pseudo-random number password--, for example.
Regarding claim 25, lines 4-5—“an internet resource”, it is unclear as to whether “an internet resource” is referring to “an internet resource” of claim 16. For examination purposes, “an internet resource” of lines 4-5 and claim 16 will be interpreted to be the same. In order to overcome this objection, lines 4-5 may be amended to state –the internet resource--, for example.
Regarding claim 29, line 3—“non-volatile seed table”, it is unclear as to whether “non-volatile seed table” is referring to “a non-volatile seed table” of claim 16. For examination purposes, “non-volatile seed table” of line 3 and claim 16 will be interpreted to be the same. In order to overcome this objection, line 3 may be amended to state --the non-volatile seed table--, for example.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-9, 16, 20-22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez et al. (US 2007/0011724 A1) in view of Bansal (US 2021/0344740 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gonzalez teaches a system, (Fig. 1), comprising:
a personal computer utility, e.g., host computing device 110 (Figs. 1, 2, el. 110), comprising a personal computer controller, e.g., a processor of host 110 (Para. 54), and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing…instructions, e.g., the program monitors the browser installed on the host, and monitoring would automatically take place any time the host device is utilized, and would maintain a file of all web sites being visited (Para. 19); and
a universal serial bus dongle, e.g., mass storage device 100 (Figs, 1, 2, el. 100); MSD 100 takes the form of a USB drive (Para. 52), to generate and retrieve passwords, e.g., in step 966 the OTP generator of MSD 100 generates an OTP value for a particular slot, and in step 968, the OTP value, user identifying information and user secret are submitted to the institution (Fig. 10C, el. 966, 968; Para. 74); client 320 will request and subsequently fetch the OTP value generated by OTP generator 330 (Fig. 3C, el. 320, 330; Para. 62),
the universal serial bus dongle comprising:
a universal serial bus interface, e.g., interface 304 (Fig. 3A, el. 304); MSD 100 takes the form of a USB drive (Para. 52), and
non-transitory computer readable storage medium, e.g., mass storage flash memory 308 (Fig. 3A, el. 308; Fig. 3B, el. 308A, 308B), storing a non-volatile seed table, e.g., logical slots 310A, 310B . . . 310x are located in the secure area 308A, wherein these slots can also be in the file storage area 308B, wherein a slot is a protected logical memory area that is used to store the information necessary to log a user into an institution, wherein this can include the information necessary to generate OTP values, including the algorithms and seed values for each institution (Fig. 3B, el. 310A, 310B, 310x; Para. 58), and instructions, e.g., the controller executes firmware in order to run MSD 100, and this firmware can be stored in the flash memory 308 (Para. 56),
that, when executed by the controller, e.g., controller 306 (Fig. 3A, el. 306), cause the universal serial bus dongle to generate pseudo-random strings of characters via a pseudo-random character generator, e.g., OTP generator 330 (Fig. 3C, el. 330), to be used as passwords, e.g., in step 966 the OTP generator of MSD 100 generates an OTP value for a particular slot, and in step 968, the OTP value, user identifying information and user secret are submitted to the institution (Fig. 10C, el. 966, 968; Para. 74);
this can include the information necessary to generate OTP values, including the algorithms and seed values for each institution (Para. 58);
the user is unaware that the device is seeded for each institution selected, that the seed is used by a complex algorithm to generate a new (OTP) value for each login that is validated along with the user's other information automatically (Para. 80),
wherein the instructions of the personal computer utility, when executed by the personal computer controller, cause the personal computer utility to retrieve a first index value by identifying a uniform resource locator of an internet resource requesting a password in…the personal computer utility, e.g., in step 924, a slot within MSD 100 is then allocated for the selected institution or account, and in step 926 the clients retrieves the device ID from MSD 100, and then in step 928, a unique identifier, which is referred to as the token ID is created from the device ID and the slot ID—first index value-- (Fig. 10A, el. 924, 926, 928; Para. 72);
Figure 5B indicates that the client executing on the host computer receives the <FID> of the selected Financial Institution (FI) and then “GenerateOTP<slotID>”—first index value-- is sent from the client executing on the host computer to the MSD (Fig. 5B);
the client may be active on the host computer and detect when the user accesses a web page within the list of enrolled institutions in order to activate the log on sequence, and the user identity and credentials, and the institution Uniform Resource Locator ("URL") or other form of web address are also ideally already stored on the removable storage authentication mass storage device, and are retrieved for the authentication, wherein if the device supports a number of independent OTP seeds, or even if it supports a number of independent institutions using the same OTP seeds, then the user identity, credentials, and URL are ideally selected from a list stored on the device according to the particular institution to which the person is authenticating (Para. 16), and
send the first index value and a first request for a password to the universal serial bus dongle, e.g., Figure 5B indicates that “GenerateOTP<slotID>”—first index value and request for the password-- is sent from the client executing on the host computer to the MSD (Fig. 5B);
wherein the instructions of the universal serial bus dongle, when executed by the dongle controller, cause the universal serial bus dongle to: retrieve a first seed value from its non-volatile seed table using the first index value received from the personal computer utility, e.g., logical slots 310A, 310B . . . 310x are located in the secure area 308A, wherein these slots can also be in the file storage area 308B, wherein a slot is a protected logical memory area that is used to store the information necessary to log a user into an institution, wherein this can include the information necessary to generate OTP values, including the algorithms and seed values for each institution (Fig. 3B, el. 310A, 310B, 310x; Para. 58);
in step 712, MSD 100 generates an OTP value for each of the selected institutions, wherein each institution may have a unique seed and algorithm for OTP generation (Fig. 7, el. 712; Para. 69), and
generate a first pseudo-random number password via the pseudo-random character generator using the first seed value, e.g., in step 712, MSD 100 generates an OTP value for each of the selected institutions, wherein each institution may have a unique seed and algorithm for OTP generation (Fig. 7, el. 712; Para. 69);
in step 966 the OTP generator of MSD 100 generates an OTP value for a particular slot (Fig. 10C, el. 966; Para. 74).
Gonzalez does not clearly teach a personal computer utility comprising a personal computer controller and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a non-volatile index table and instructions; and
wherein the instructions of the personal computer utility, when executed by the personal computer controller, cause the personal computer utility to retrieve a first index value by identifying a uniform resource locator of an internet resource requesting a password in the non-volatile index table of the personal computer utility.
Bansal teaches a personal computer utility, e.g., UE 101 (Fig. 1, el. 101), wherein the UE may be a computer, tablet, mobile device, or the like (Para. 15), comprising a personal computer controller, e.g., processor 1320 (Fig. 13, el. 1320), and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, e.g., memory 1330 (Fig. 13, el. 1330), storing a non-volatile index table and instructions, e.g., memory 1330 may include any type of dynamic storage device that may store information and instructions for execution by processor 1320 (Para. 80);
UE 101 may further store (at 510) mapping 503 of an identifier (e.g., URL) of application server 103-3 to the received Block ID, in Block ID-application server mapping store 501, which may be a discrete portion of storage resources associated with UE 101, and thus, when receiving authorized requests for cookie information associated with application server 103-3, UE 101 may identify a block, of blockchain system 105, based on mapping information 503 that correlates application server 103-3 to a particular Block ID (Fig. 5, el. 501, 503, 510; Para. 37); and
wherein the instructions of the personal computer utility, e.g., memory 1330 may include any type of dynamic storage device that may store information and instructions for execution by processor 1320 (Para. 80), when executed by the personal computer controller, cause the personal computer utility to retrieve a first index value by identifying a uniform resource locator of an internet resource…in the non-volatile index table of the personal computer utility, e.g., UE 101 may further store (at 510) mapping 503 of an identifier (e.g., URL) of application server 103-3 to the received Block ID, in Block ID-application server mapping store 501, which may be a discrete portion of storage resources associated with UE 101, and thus, when receiving authorized requests for cookie information associated with application server 103-3, UE 101 may identify a block, of blockchain system 105, based on mapping information 503 that correlates application server 103-3 to a particular Block ID (Fig. 5, el. 501, 503, 510; Para. 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez to include a personal computer utility comprising a personal computer controller and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a non-volatile index table and instructions; and wherein the instructions of the personal computer utility, when executed by the personal computer controller, cause the personal computer utility to retrieve a first index value by identifying a uniform resource locator of an internet resource requesting a password in the non-volatile index table of the personal computer utility, using the known method of maintaining mapping information at the UE, wherein the mapping information maps the URL to a block ID, as taught by Bansal, in combination with the association of the financial institution with the slot ID of Gonzalez, for the purpose of maintaining a copy of the index table local to the computer device so as to reduce the amount of processing that would be required at the dongle device.
Regarding claim 5, Gonzalez in view of Bansal teaches the system as in claim 1.
Gonzalez further teaches wherein the instructions of the personal computer utility, when executed by the personal computer controller, cause the personal computer utility to…the uniform resource locator of the internet resource requesting the password…, e.g., the client may be active on the host computer and detect when the user accesses a web page within the list of enrolled institutions in order to activate the log on sequence, and the user identity and credentials, and the institution Uniform Resource Locator ("URL") or other form of web address are also ideally already stored on the removable storage authentication mass storage device, and are retrieved for the authentication, wherein if the device supports a number of independent OTP seeds, or even if it supports a number of independent institutions using the same OTP seeds, then the user identity, credentials, and URL are ideally selected from a list stored on the device according to the particular institution to which the person is authenticating (Para. 16).
Gonzalez does not clearly teach wherein the instructions of the personal computer utility, when executed by the personal computer controller, cause the personal computer utility to store the uniform resource locator of the internet resource requesting the password in the non-volatile index table of the personal computer utility.
Bansal further teaches wherein the instructions of the personal computer utility, when executed by the personal computer controller, cause the personal computer utility to store the uniform resource locator of the internet resource…in the non-volatile index table of the personal computer utility, e.g., UE 101 may further store (at 510) mapping 503 of an identifier (e.g., URL) of application server 103-3 to the received Block ID, in Block ID-application server mapping store 501, which may be a discrete portion of storage resources associated with UE 101, and thus, when receiving authorized requests for cookie information associated with application server 103-3, UE 101 may identify a block, of blockchain system 105, based on mapping information 503 that correlates application server 103-3 to a particular Block ID (Fig. 5, el. 501, 503, 510; Para. 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez to include wherein the instructions of the personal computer utility, when executed by the personal computer controller, cause the personal computer utility to store the uniform resource locator of the internet resource requesting the password in the non-volatile index table of the personal computer utility, using the known method of maintaining mapping information at the UE, wherein the mapping information maps the URL to a block ID, as taught by Bansal, in combination with the association of the financial institution with the slot ID of Gonzalez, using the same motivation as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Gonzalez in view of Bansal teaches the system as in claim 1, wherein the instructions of the personal computer utility, when executed by the personal computer controller, cause the personal computer utility to send a second index value and a second request for a password to the universal serial bus dongle, e.g., Figure 5B indicates that “GenerateOTP<slotID>”—first index value and request for the password-- is sent from the client executing on the host computer to the MSD (Gonzalez-Fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 7, Gonzalez in view of Bansal teaches the system as in claim 1, wherein the instructions of the universal serial bus dongle, when executed by the controller, cause the universal serial bus dongle to: store the first seed value in the non-volatile seed table using the first index value received from the personal computer utility, e.g., logical slots 310A, 310B . . . 310x are located in the secure area 308A, wherein these slots can also be in the file storage area 308B, wherein a slot is a protected logical memory area that is used to store the information necessary to log a user into an institution, wherein this can include the information necessary to generate OTP values, including the algorithms and seed values for each institution (Gonzalez-Fig. 3B, el. 310A, 310B, 310x; Para. 58);
In step 932, an OTP seed is received for the selected institution, and it is then assigned to the allocated slot in step 934 (Gonzalez-Fig. 10A, el. 932; Para. 72).
Regarding claim 8, Gonzalez in view of Bansal teaches the system as in claim 1, wherein the instructions of the universal serial bus dongle, when executed by the controller, cause the universal serial bus dongle to: generate a second pseudo-random number password via the pseudo-random character generator using the second seed value, e.g., in step 712, MSD 100 generates an OTP value for each of the selected institutions, wherein each institution may have a unique seed and algorithm for OTP generation (Gonzalez-Fig. 7, el. 712; Para. 69);
in step 966 the OTP generator of MSD 100 generates an OTP value for a particular slot (Gonzalez-Fig. 10C, el. 966; Para. 74).
Regarding claim 9, Gonzalez in view of Bansal teaches the system as in claim 1, wherein the instructions of the universal serial bus dongle, when executed by the controller, cause the universal serial bus dongle to: transmit the first pseudo-random number password to the personal computer utility, e.g., See Figure 5B—The MSD 100 sends the OTP to the client (Gonzalez-Fig. 5B);
Client 320 will request and subsequently fetch the OTP value generated by OTP generator 330 (Gonzalez-Para. 62);
in step 966 the OTP generator of MSD 100 generates an OTP value for a particular slot In step 968, the OTP value, user identifying information and user secret are submitted to the institution (Gonzalez-Fig. 10C, el. 966, 968; Para. 74),
wherein the personal computer utility is to decode the first pseudo-random number password, e.g., MSD 100 takes the form of a USB drive (Gonzalez-Para. 52);
Client 320 will request and subsequently fetch the OTP value generated by OTP generator 330 (Gonzalez-Para. 62);
Examiner note: Gonzalez discloses sending data over a USB connection. The data has to be decoded from the USB frame in order to be used; and
transmit the first pseudo-random number password to the uniform resource locator of the internet resource requesting a password, e.g., the client may be active on the host computer and detect when the user accesses a web page within the list of enrolled institutions in order to activate the log on sequence, and the user identity and credentials, and the institution Uniform Resource Locator ("URL") or other form of web address are also ideally already stored on the removable storage authentication mass storage device, and are retrieved for the authentication, wherein if the device supports a number of independent OTP seeds, or even if it supports a number of independent institutions using the same OTP seeds, then the user identity, credentials, and URL are ideally selected from a list stored on the device according to the particular institution to which the person is authenticating (Gonzalez-Para. 16);
in step 716, the client connects to the selected institutions, and once connected, the client then presents the information necessary to log the user into the selected institutions, wherein this information comprises the user's identifying information such as his name, account number, or user ID, the user's secret information such as his password or PIN, and the OTP value for the particular institution if the institution is of the type that requires an OTP value for log in (Gonzalez-Fig. 7, el. 716; Para. 69).
Regarding claim 16, Gonzalez teaches a method comprising:
providing a personal computer utility, e.g., host computing device 110 (Figs. 1, 2, el. 110);
providing a universal serial bus dongle, e.g., mass storage device 100 (Figs, 1, 2, el. 100); MSD 100 takes the form of a USB drive (Para. 52), to generate pseudo-random strings of characters via a pseudo-random character generator, e.g., OTP generator 330 (Fig. 3C, el. 330), to be used as passwords, e.g., in step 966 the OTP generator of MSD 100 generates an OTP value for a particular slot, and in step 968, the OTP value, user identifying information and user secret are submitted to the institution (Fig. 10C, el. 966, 968; Para. 74);
this can include the information necessary to generate OTP values, including the algorithms and seed values for each institution (Para. 58);
the user is unaware that the device is seeded for each institution selected, that the seed is used by a complex algorithm to generate a new (OTP) value for each login that is validated along with the user's other information automatically (Para. 80),
retrieving a first index value by identifying a uniform resource locator of an internet resource requesting a password from…the personal computer utility, e.g., in step 924, a slot within MSD 100 is then allocated for the selected institution or account, and in step 926 the clients retrieves the device ID from MSD 100, and then in step 928, a unique identifier, which is referred to as the token ID is created from the device ID and the slot ID—first index value-- (Fig. 10A, el. 924, 926, 928; Para. 72);
Figure 5B indicates that the client executing on the host computer receives the <FID> of the selected Financial Institution (FI) and then “GenerateOTP<slotID>”—first index value-- is sent from the client executing on the host computer to the MSD (Fig. 5B);
the client may be active on the host computer and detect when the user accesses a web page within the list of enrolled institutions in order to activate the log on sequence, and the user identity and credentials, and the institution Uniform Resource Locator ("URL") or other form of web address are also ideally already stored on the removable storage authentication mass storage device, and are retrieved for the authentication, wherein if the device supports a number of independent OTP seeds, or even if it supports a number of independent institutions using the same OTP seeds, then the user identity, credentials, and URL are ideally selected from a list stored on the device according to the particular institution to which the person is authenticating (Para. 16);
sending the first index value and a first request for a password from the personal computer utility to the universal serial bus dongle, e.g., Figure 5B indicates that “GenerateOTP<slotID>”—first index value and request for the password-- is sent from the client executing on the host computer to the MSD (Fig. 5B);
retrieving a first seed value from a non-volatile seed table using the first index value received from the personal computer utility, e.g., logical slots 310A, 310B . . . 310x are located in the secure area 308A, wherein these slots can also be in the file storage area 308B, wherein a slot is a protected logical memory area that is used to store the information necessary to log a user into an institution, wherein this can include the information necessary to generate OTP values, including the algorithms and seed values for each institution (Fig. 3B, el. 310A, 310B, 310x; Para. 58);
in step 712, MSD 100 generates an OTP value for each of the selected institutions, wherein each institution may have a unique seed and algorithm for OTP generation (Fig. 7, el. 712; Para. 69); and
generating a first pseudo-random number password via a pseudo-random character generator using the first seed value, e.g., in step 712, MSD 100 generates an OTP value for each of the selected institutions, wherein each institution may have a unique seed and algorithm for OTP generation (Fig. 7, el. 712; Para. 69);
in step 966 the OTP generator of MSD 100 generates an OTP value for a particular slot (Fig. 10C, el. 966; Para. 74).
Gonzalez does not clearly teach retrieving a first index value by identifying a uniform resource locator of an internet resource requesting a password from a non-volatile index table of the personal computer utility.
Bansal teaches retrieving a first index value by identifying a uniform resource locator of an internet resource…from a non-volatile index table of the personal computer utility, e.g., UE 101 (Fig. 1, el. 101), wherein the UE may be a computer, tablet, mobile device, or the like (Para. 15);
UE 101 may further store (at 510) mapping 503 of an identifier (e.g., URL) of application server 103-3 to the received Block ID, in Block ID-application server mapping store 501, which may be a discrete portion of storage resources associated with UE 101, and thus, when receiving authorized requests for cookie information associated with application server 103-3, UE 101 may identify a block, of blockchain system 105, based on mapping information 503 that correlates application server 103-3 to a particular Block ID (Fig. 5, el. 501, 503, 510; Para. 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez to include a personal computer utility comprising a personal computer controller and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a non-volatile index table and instructions; and wherein the instructions of the personal computer utility, when executed by the personal computer controller, cause the personal computer utility to retrieve a first index value by identifying a uniform resource locator of an internet resource requesting a password in the non-volatile index table of the personal computer utility, using the known method of maintaining mapping information at the UE, wherein the mapping information maps the URL to a block ID, as taught by Bansal, in combination with the association of the financial institution with the slot ID of Gonzalez, for the purpose of maintaining a copy of the index table local to the computer device so as to reduce the amount of processing that would be required at the dongle device.
Regarding claim 20, Gonzalez in view of Bansal teaches the method as in claim 16.
Gonzalez further teaches …a uniform resource locator of an internet resource requesting a password…, the client may be active on the host computer and detect when the user accesses a web page within the list of enrolled institutions in order to activate the log on sequence, and the user identity and credentials, and the institution Uniform Resource Locator ("URL") or other form of web address are also ideally already stored on the removable storage authentication mass storage device, and are retrieved for the authentication, wherein if the device supports a number of independent OTP seeds, or even if it supports a number of independent institutions using the same OTP seeds, then the user identity, credentials, and URL are ideally selected from a list stored on the device according to the particular institution to which the person is authenticating (Para. 16).
Gonzalez does not clearly teach storing a uniform resource locator of an internet resource requesting a password in a non-volatile index table of the personal computer utility.
Bansal further teaches storing a uniform resource locator of an internet resource…in a non-volatile index table of the personal computer utility, e.g., UE 101 may further store (at 510) mapping 503 of an identifier (e.g., URL) of application server 103-3 to the received Block ID, in Block ID-application server mapping store 501, which may be a discrete portion of storage resources associated with UE 101, and thus, when receiving authorized requests for cookie information associated with application server 103-3, UE 101 may identify a block, of blockchain system 105, based on mapping information 503 that correlates application server 103-3 to a particular Block ID (Fig. 5, el. 501, 503, 510; Para. 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez to include storing a uniform resource locator of an internet resource requesting a password in a non-volatile index table of the personal computer utility, using the known method of maintaining mapping information at the UE, wherein the mapping information maps the URL to a block ID, as taught by Bansal, in combination with the association of the financial institution with the slot ID of Gonzalez, using the same motivation as in claim 16.
Regarding claim 21, Gonzalez in view of Bansal teaches the method as in claim 16, comprising: sending a second index value and a second request for a password from the personal computer utility to the universal serial bus dongle, e.g., Figure 5B indicates that “GenerateOTP<slotID>”—first index value and request for the password-- is sent from the client executing on the host computer to the MSD (Gonzalez-Fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 22, Gonzalez in view of Bansal teaches the method as in claim 16, comprising: storing the first seed value in a non-volatile seed table of the universal serial bus dongle using the first index value received from the personal computer utility, e.g., logical slots 310A, 310B . . . 310x are located in the secure area 308A, wherein these slots can also be in the file storage area 308B, wherein a slot is a protected logical memory area that is used to store the information necessary to log a user into an institution, wherein this can include the information necessary to generate OTP values, including the algorithms and seed values for each institution (Gonzalez-Fig. 3B, el. 310A, 310B, 310x; Para. 58);
In step 932, an OTP seed is received for the selected institution, and it is then assigned to the allocated slot in step 934 (Gonzalez-Fig. 10A, el. 932; Para. 72).
Regarding claim 24, Gonzalez in view of Bansal teaches the method as in claim 16, transmitting the first pseudo-random number password from the universal serial bus dongle to the personal computer utility, e.g., See Figure 5B—The MSD 100 sends the OTP to the client (Gonzalez-Fig. 5B);
Client 320 will request and subsequently fetch the OTP value generated by OTP generator 330 (Gonzalez-Para. 62);
in step 966 the OTP generator of MSD 100 generates an OTP value for a particular slot In step 968, the OTP value, user identifying information and user secret are submitted to the institution (Gonzalez-Fig. 10C, el. 966, 968; Para. 74), and
transmitting the first pseudo-random number password from the personal computer utility to the uniform resource locator of the internet resource requesting a password, e.g., the client may be active on the host computer and detect when the user accesses a web page within the list of enrolled institutions in order to activate the log on sequence, and the user identity and credentials, and the institution Uniform Resource Locator ("URL") or other form of web address are also ideally already stored on the removable storage authentication mass storage device, and are retrieved for the authentication, wherein if the device supports a number of independent OTP seeds, or even if it supports a number of independent institutions using the same OTP seeds, then the user identity, credentials, and URL are ideally selected from a list stored on the device according to the particular institution to which the person is authenticating (Gonzalez-Para. 16);
in step 716, the client connects to the selected institutions, and once connected, the client then presents the information necessary to log the user into the selected institutions, wherein this information comprises the user's identifying information such as his name, account number, or user ID, the user's secret information such as his password or PIN, and the OTP value for the particular institution if the institution is of the type that requires an OTP value for log in (Gonzalez-Fig. 7, el. 716; Para. 69).
Claims 2, 17, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez in view of Bansal and further in view of Dischler (US 10,332,171 B1).
Regarding claim 2, Gonzalez in view of Bansal teaches the system as in claim 1.
Gonzalez in view of Bansal does not clearly teach to: generate a second pseudo-random number password in a sequence using the first pseudo-random number password as a second seed value, and generate a third pseudo-random number password in a sequence using the second pseudo-random number password as a third seed value.
Dischler teaches to: generate a second pseudo-random number password in a sequence using the first pseudo-random number password as a second seed value, and generate a third pseudo-random number password in a sequence using the second pseudo-random number password as a third seed value, e.g., the process 300 can use a mathematical algorithm to generate a new password based on the previous password. For example, a one-way hash function (e.g., hash function f( )) can be used to generate a series of passwords starting with an initial seed password (e.g., f(s), f(f(s)), f(f(f(s))), . . . ) (Col. 8, lines 21-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez in view of Bansal to include to: generate a second pseudo-random number password in a sequence using the first pseudo-random number password as a second seed value, and generate a third pseudo-random number password in a sequence using the second pseudo-random number password as a third seed value, using the known method of generating a series of passwords based on the respective previous password in the series, as taught by Dischler, in combination with the password generation system of Gonzalez in view of Bansal, for the purpose of enhancing the security of the system by increasing the difficulty of an attacker being able to reverse engineer the passwords (Dischler-Col. 8, lines 21-40).
Regarding claim 17, Gonzalez in view of Bansal teaches the method as in claim 16.
Gonzalez in view of Bansal does not clearly teach generating a second pseudo-random number password in a sequence using the first pseudo-random number password as a second seed value; and generating a third pseudo-random number password in a sequence using the second pseudo-random number password as a third seed value.
Dischler teaches generating a second pseudo-random number password in a sequence using the first pseudo-random number password as a second seed value; and generating a third pseudo-random number password in a sequence using the second pseudo-random number password as a third seed value, e.g., the process 300 can use a mathematical algorithm to generate a new password based on the previous password. For example, a one-way hash function (e.g., hash function f( )) can be used to generate a series of passwords starting with an initial seed password (e.g., f(s), f(f(s)), f(f(f(s))), . . . ) (Col. 8, lines 21-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez in view of Bansal to include generating a second pseudo-random number password in a sequence using the first pseudo-random number password as a second seed value; and generating a third pseudo-random number password in a sequence using the second pseudo-random number password as a third seed value, using the known method of generating a series of passwords based on the respective previous password in the series, as taught by Dischler, in combination with the password generation system of Gonzalez in view of Bansal, for the purpose of enhancing the security of the system by increasing the difficulty of an attacker being able to reverse engineer the passwords (Dischler-Col. 8, lines 21-40).
Regarding claim 23, Gonzalez in view of Bansal in view of Dischler teaches the method as in claim 17, comprising: generating via the universal serial bus dongle a second pseudo-random number password via the pseudo-random character generator using the second seed value, e.g., in step 712, MSD 100 generates an OTP value for each of the selected institutions, wherein each institution may have a unique seed and algorithm for OTP generation (Gonzalez-Fig. 7, el. 712; Para. 69);
in step 966 the OTP generator of MSD 100 generates an OTP value for a particular slot (Gonzalez-Fig. 10C, el. 966; Para. 74).
Claims 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez in view of Bansal and further in view of Lin et al. (US 2012/0302169 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Gonzalez in view of Bansal teaches the system as in claim 1.
Gonzalez in view of Bansal further teaches …wherein the instructions of the universal serial bus dongle, when executed by the controller, cause the universal serial bus dongle to: send the first pseudo-random number password to the personal computer utility for transmission to the uniform resource locator of the web resource requesting a password…, e.g., See Figure 5B—The MSD 100 sends the OTP to the client (Gonzalez-Fig. 5B);
Client 320 will request and subsequently fetch the OTP value generated by OTP generator 330 (Gonzalez-Para. 62);
in step 966 the OTP generator of MSD 100 generates an OTP value for a particular slot In step 968, the OTP value, user identifying information and user secret are submitted to the institution (Gonzalez-Fig. 10C, el. 966, 968; Para. 74).
Gonzalez in view of Bansal does not clearly teach a switch on the universal serial bus dongle, wherein the instructions of the universal serial bus dongle, when executed by the controller, cause the universal serial bus dongle to: send the first pseudo-random number password to the personal computer utility for transmission to the uniform resource locator of the web resource requesting a password, if the switch on the universal serial bus dongle is activated.
Lin teaches a switch on the universal serial bus dongle, wherein the instructions of the universal serial bus dongle, when executed by the controller, cause the universal serial bus dongle to: direct data flow to the USB dongle or the laptop computer, if the switch on the universal serial bus dongle is activated, e.g., the switch 35 may directs data flow to the USB dongle 30 or the laptop computer 20 by determination, wherein the switch 35 may be a piece of hardware or implemented by firmware (Fig. 4, el. 20, 30, 35; Para. 28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez in view of Bansal to include a switch on the universal serial bus dongle, wherein the instructions of the universal serial bus dongle, when executed by the controller, cause the universal serial bus dongle to: send the first pseudo-random number password to the personal computer utility for transmission to the uniform resource locator of the web resource requesting a password, if the switch on the universal serial bus dongle is activated, using the known method of enabling a switch on the USB dongle to direct the flow of data, as taught by Lin, in combination with the password generation system of Gonzalez in view of Bansal, for the purpose of providing the user with more control over when the USB dongle is being used.
Regarding claim 19, Gonzalez in view of Bansal teaches the method as in claim 16.
Gonzalez in view of Bansal further teaches sending the first pseudo-random number password to the personal computer utility for transmission to the uniform resource locator of the web resource requesting a password…, e.g., See Figure 5B—The MSD 100 sends the OTP to the client (Gonzalez-Fig. 5B);
Client 320 will request and subsequently fetch the OTP value generated by OTP generator 330 (Gonzalez-Para. 62);
in step 966 the OTP generator of MSD 100 generates an OTP value for a particular slot In step 968, the OTP value, user identifying information and user secret are submitted to the institution (Gonzalez-Fig. 10C, el. 966, 968; Para. 74).
Gonzalez in view of Bansal does not clearly teach sending the first pseudo-random number password to the personal computer utility for transmission to the uniform resource locator of the web resource requesting a password, if a switch on the universal serial bus dongle is activated.
Lin teaches directing data flow to the USB dongle or the laptop computer, if a switch on the universal serial bus dongle is activated, e.g., the switch 35 may directs data flow to the USB dongle 30 or the laptop computer 20 by determination, wherein the switch 35 may be a piece of hardware or implemented by firmware (Fig. 4, el. 20, 30, 35; Para. 28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez in view of Bansal to include sending the first pseudo-random number password to the personal computer utility for transmission to the uniform resource locator of the web resource requesting a password, if a switch on the universal serial bus dongle is activated, using the known method of enabling a switch on the USB dongle to direct the flow of data, as taught by Lin, in combination with the password generation system of Gonzalez in view of Bansal, for the purpose of providing the user with more control over when the USB dongle is being used.
Claims 10, 11, 25, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez in view of Bansal and further in view of Cavanagh et al. (US 2017/0011214 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Gonzalez in view of Bansal teaches the system as in claim 1.
Gonzalez in view of Bansal further teaches a single connection utility between the universal serial bus interface and the personal computer browser…, e.g., the program monitors the browser installed on the host, and configures the browsers to carry out all data communications with the Internet/WWW through a specific port that it monitors (Gonzalez-Para. 19).
Gonzalez in view of Bansal does not clearly teach wherein the instructions of the personal computer utility are incorporated in a server hosting an internet resource requesting a password.
Cavanagh teaches a single connection utility between the universal serial bus interface and the personal computer browser, wherein the instructions of the personal computer utility are incorporated in a server hosting an internet resource requesting a password, e.g., a portable password manager device, which may be device comprising computing hardware capable of executing various tasks and processes of a password manager, wherein the terms “password manager device” and “client device” may be interchangeably used hereinafter, wherein the password manager device is a USB device (Para. 28);
the password manager server 102 may be any computing device comprising a processor that executes various software modules associated with the cloud based active password manager system 100 (Fig. 1, el. 102; Para. 35);
the password manager server 102 is configured to facilitate authentication services for authenticating users and devices attempting to access various resources of the cloud based active password manager system 100 (Para. 36);
in order to access the websites via the internet, the user will generally run a web browser software installed on the host computer 108 (Para. 40);
a portable client device 110a plug-in or a software based client device 110b browser plug-in on the host computer 108, the client device is configured to detect when the user has accessed a given website which is in the list of websites to be manager by the user (Fig. 1, el. 108, 110a, 110b; Para. 49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez in view of Bansal to include wherein the instructions of the personal computer utility are incorporated in a server hosting an internet resource requesting a password, using the known method of utilizing a USB device and a cloud-based password manager server, as taught by Cavanagh, in combination with the password generation system of Gonzalez in view of Bansal, for the purpose of offloading some of the password management tasks to a server, thereby reducing processing at the computer.
Regarding claim 11, Gonzalez in view of Bansal teaches the system as in claim 1.
Gonzalez in view of Bansal further teaches a single connection utility between the universal serial bus interface and the personal computer browser…, e.g., the program monitors the browser installed on the host, and configures the browsers to carry out all data communications with the Internet/WWW through a specific port that it monitors (Gonzalez-Para. 19).
Gonzalez in view of Bansal does not clearly teach wherein the instructions of the personal computer utility are incorporated in the operating instructions of personal computer browser.
Cavanagh teaches a single connection utility between the universal serial bus interface and the personal computer browser, wherein the instructions of the personal computer utility are incorporated in the operating instructions of personal computer browser, e.g., a portable password manager device, which may be device comprising computing hardware capable of executing various tasks and processes of a password manager, wherein the terms “password manager device” and “client device” may be interchangeably used hereinafter, wherein the password manager device is a USB device (Para. 28);
additionally or alternatively, embodiments of a cloud based active password manager system may comprise a password manager software module, which may be a software based password manager, wherein the software based password manager may comprise of programs and instructions executed by a host computer, such as a personal computer (Para. 29);
a portable client device 110a plug-in or a software based client device 110b browser plug-in on the host computer 108, the client device is configured to detect when the user has accessed a given website which is in the list of websites to be manager by the user (Fig. 1, el. 108, 110a, 110b; Para. 49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez in view of Bansal to include wherein the instructions of the personal computer utility are incorporated in the operating instructions of personal computer browser, using the known method of utilizing a USB device and a browser plug-in password manager, as taught by Cavanagh, in combination with the password generation system of Gonzalez in view of Bansal, for the purpose of enabling the software to be integrated directly into the browser, thereby eliminating the need for a new program to be installed.
Regarding claim 25, Gonzalez in view of Bansal teaches the method as in claim 16.
Gonzalez in view of Bansal further teaches connecting a single utility between the universal serial bus interface and a personal computer browser…, e.g., the program monitors the browser installed on the host, and configures the browsers to carry out all data communications with the Internet/WWW through a specific port that it monitors (Gonzalez-Para. 19).
Gonzalez in view of Bansal does not clearly teach incorporating the instructions of the personal computer utility in a server hosting an internet resource requesting a password.
Cavanagh teaches connecting a single utility between the universal serial bus interface and a personal computer browser; incorporating the instructions of the personal computer utility in a server hosting an internet resource requesting a password, e.g., a portable password manager device, which may be device comprising computing hardware capable of executing various tasks and processes of a password manager, wherein the terms “password manager device” and “client device” may be interchangeably used hereinafter, wherein the password manager device is a USB device (Para. 28);
the password manager server 102 may be any computing device comprising a processor that executes various software modules associated with the cloud based active password manager system 100 (Fig. 1, el. 102; Para. 35);
the password manager server 102 is configured to facilitate authentication services for authenticating users and devices attempting to access various resources of the cloud based active password manager system 100 (Para. 36);
in order to access the websites via the internet, the user will generally run a web browser software installed on the host computer 108 (Para. 40);
a portable client device 110a plug-in or a software based client device 110b browser plug-in on the host computer 108, the client device is configured to detect when the user has accessed a given website which is in the list of websites to be manager by the user (Fig. 1, el. 108, 110a, 110b; Para. 49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez in view of Bansal to include incorporating the instructions of the personal computer utility in a server hosting an internet resource requesting a password, using the known method of utilizing a USB device and a cloud-based password manager server, as taught by Cavanagh, in combination with the password generation system of Gonzalez in view of Bansal, for the purpose of offloading some of the password management tasks to a server, thereby reducing processing at the computer.
Regarding claim 26, Gonzalez in view of Bansal teaches the method as in claim 16.
Gonzalez in view of Bansal further teaches connecting a single utility between the universal serial bus interface and a personal computer browser…, e.g., the program monitors the browser installed on the host, and configures the browsers to carry out all data communications with the Internet/WWW through a specific port that it monitors (Gonzalez-Para. 19).
Gonzalez in view of Bansal does not clearly teach incorporating the instructions of the personal computer utility in operating instructions of the personal computer browser.
Cavanagh teaches connecting a single utility between the universal serial bus interface and a personal computer browser; and incorporating the instructions of the personal computer utility in operating instructions of the personal computer browser, e.g., a portable password manager device, which may be device comprising computing hardware capable of executing various tasks and processes of a password manager, wherein the terms “password manager device” and “client device” may be interchangeably used hereinafter, wherein the password manager device is a USB device (Para. 28);
additionally or alternatively, embodiments of a cloud based active password manager system may comprise a password manager software module, which may be a software based password manager, wherein the software based password manager may comprise of programs and instructions executed by a host computer, such as a personal computer (Para. 29);
a portable client device 110a plug-in or a software based client device 110b browser plug-in on the host computer 108, the client device is configured to detect when the user has accessed a given website which is in the list of websites to be manager by the user (Fig. 1, el. 108, 110a, 110b; Para. 49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez in view of Bansal to include incorporating the instructions of the personal computer utility in operating instructions of the personal computer browser, using the known method of utilizing a USB device and a browser plug-in password manager, as taught by Cavanagh, in combination with the password generation system of Gonzalez in view of Bansal, for the purpose of enabling the software to be integrated directly into the browser, thereby eliminating the need for a new program to be installed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 12-15, 18, and 27-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record fails to disclose the combination of features as claimed and arranged by applicant when read in light of the specification. In this case, the allowance is based on the combination of the limitations in each claim and not on any single limitation.
Regarding claim 3, the cited references do not alone or in an obvious combination teach “wherein the first, second, and third pseudo-random number passwords are 32-bit pseudo-random numbers, respectively, wherein the first, second, and third pseudo-random numbers are respectively broken into 6-bit values and added to an offset value to generate a sequence of ASCII characters selected from: numbers, punctuation, upper case letters, and lower case letters” of claim 3 in combination with the remaining limitations claim 3.
Claim 18 includes similar limitations and is similarly analyzed.
Regarding claim 12, the cited references do not alone or in an obvious combination teach “wherein the personal computer utility comprises a pseudo-random number generator identical to the pseudo-random number generator of the universal serial bus dongle, wherein the pseudo-random number generators are synchronized, wherein the pseudo-random number generators both start generating numbers with an identical initial seed value, and wherein the instructions of the personal computer utility and the universal serial bus dongle, when executed by the respective controllers, cause the personal computer utility and the universal serial bus dongle to: encrypt and decrypt communications between the universal serial bus dongle and the personal computer utility using a single key cypher based on a rolling key generated by the synchronized pseudo-random number generators in the personal computer utility and the universal serial bus dongle” of claim 12 in combination with the remaining limitations claim 12.
Claim 27 includes similar limitations and is similarly analyzed.
Claims 13-15 and 28-30 are dependent on claims 12 and 27, respectively and therefore, also include allowable subject matter.
Additional relevant prior art:
Da Rocha (US 2023/0017314 A1)—Da Rocha discloses the hardware token 36 further comprises a processor 35′ running the same cryptographic algorithm as the processor 35 of the authentication server 34. The hardware token 36 includes an activation button 38 that, when pressed, causes the processor 35′ to generate a pseudorandom number by way of the cryptographic algorithm on the basis of the seed 32″ and to display the pseudorandom number on a display 37 (Para. 89).
Jass et al. (US 2022/0116390 A1)—Jass discloses the user's login information and public/private key pair may be stored by an authenticator (e.g., a hardware authenticator, such as a USB dongle; a software authenticator on the user's device, such as WebAuthnAPI). Further, when the user arrives at the login screen (e.g., login screen 950) for the service/website, the authenticator extracts the domain (e.g., URL or web address) from the web browser, signs the cryptographic challenge from the relaying party (e.g., server 940), and transmits the challenge response to the relaying party (Para. 68).
Francois et al. (US 2014/0168356 A1)—Francois discloses the steps of the method are stored on a computer-readable media (e.g., a thumb drive) as instructions for execution by the CPU 12 of the device 10 (Fig. 1, el. 10, 12; Para. 50).
The additional relevant prior art also do not alone or in an obvious combination teach the aforementioned limitations in combination with the remaining limitations of each respective independent claim.
Conclusion
29 December 2025
/Jeremy S Duffield/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2498