Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima et al. US publication no.: US 2016/0329849 A1 in view of Shimizu et al. US publication no.: US 2021/0006183 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Nakajima et al. teach, A motor drive device comprising: a motor (AC rotating machine 1, figure 1) including a rotor, and a stator around which coils of three phases are wound (see paragraph 56); an inverter (power conversion unit 14a, figure 8) that drives the motor; and a control device (current control unit 12 and coordinate conversion unit 13, figure 1 and 8) that controls the inverter, wherein the control device performs a normal control for producing torque in the motor (see figures 1-8); wherein the control device performs coordinate transformation (coordinate conversion unit 13, figure 1 and 8) of a current flowing through the motor into a d axis current and a q axis current, calculates a correlation value by integrating a value based on the d axis current and the q axis current, the correlation value correlated with an amount of difference between a position of the rotor and a designated position (see integration unit 20, figure 2 and paragraph 100), and performs, based on the correlation value, position control for causing a rotational position of the rotor to match the designated position (see figure 2, wherein the estimated error control means 18 is composed of a PI control unit 22, and calculates such an estimated rotational position θe as to cause the rotational position estimated error Δθ to be zero).
Nakajima et al. is silent on specifically teaching: wherein the control device performs an initial control prior to the normal control; and performs the position control by generating a magnetic field at the designated position with the q-axis current command value set to zero and the d-axis current command value set to a predetermined value.
However, Shimizu et al. is in the same field of art and teach: wherein the control device performs an initial control prior to the normal control; and performs the position control by generating a magnetic field at the designated position with the q-axis current command value set to zero and the d-axis current command value set to a predetermined value.
In view of Shimizu et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Nakajima et al. to include; wherein the control device performs an initial control prior to the normal control; and performs the position control by generating a magnetic field at the designated position with the q-axis current command value set to zero and the d-axis current command value set to a predetermined value, for the purpose of improving the control of the motor control system (see claims 1-5, where it can be seen an initial position control where the d-axis is set to constant value and q-axis is set to zero- see figure 5).
Regarding claim 2, Nakajima et al. teach, the motor drive device according to claim 1, wherein the control device performs the position control by performing prescribed control for making the correlation value equal to zero (see paragraph 101).
Regarding claim 3, Nakajima et al. teach, the motor drive device according to claim 2, wherein the prescribed control is PID control on the correlation value (see integration 20 and paragraph 100, figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Nakajima et al. teach, the motor drive device according to claim 1, wherein the value based on the d axis current and the q axis current is an arc tangent value of a value of the d axis current and a value of the q axis current (see “arc tangent”, paragraph 100).
Regarding claim 5, Nakajima et al. teach, The motor drive device according to claim 1, wherein the value based on the d axis current and the q-axis current is a division value, the division value being determined by division of a value of the d axis current by a value of the q axis current, or division of the value of the q axis current by the value of the d axis current (see paragraphs 100-101).
Regarding claim 6, Nakajima et al. teach, The motor drive device according to claim 1, wherein the control device changes the designated position with passage of time (see paragraphs 100-101, where position changes over time).
Regarding claim 7, Nakajima et al. teach, The motor drive device according to claim 1, wherein the control device ends the position control when a prescribed time period elapses from a start of the position control (see paragraphs 100-101, where the control is prescribed over a time).
Regarding claim 8, Nakajima et al. teach, The motor drive device according to claim 1, wherein the control device ends the position control when a variation in the correlation value is less than a threshold value (see paragraphs 100-101 where the correlation value is brought to zero and then the position control is stopped).
Regarding claim 9, Nakajima et al. teach, the motor drive device according to claim 1, wherein the rotor includes a two-pole magnet (see motor, paragraph 54).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZOHEB S IMTIAZ/Primary Examiner , Art Unit 2846