DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 8/13/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2016/0329569) in view of Delanoy et al. (US 2003/0008125).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen meets the claimed,
A composite current collector for an electrode ([0010] teaches that the current collectors are for an electrode), […] a plurality of […] carbon fibers ([0012] teaches the use of carbon fibers); a polymer matrix material ([0011] teaches that the current collector comprises conductive filler and adhesive); and a conductive material dispersed in the polymer matrix material ([0011] teaches that the current collector comprises conductive filler and adhesive);
Chen does not teach the carbon fibers being directionally aligned
Delanoy is analogous as it teaches the use of carbon fiber to increase the structural strength of the current collector.
Delanoy meets the claimed,
[…] a plurality of directionally aligned carbon fibers ([0008] teaches a layer of aligned carbon fibers); […] wherein the directionally aligned carbon fibers are impregnated with the polymer matrix material including the dispersed conductive material ([0008] teaches the layer of carbon fibers being coated in a resin), the polymer matrix material forming a thin film that fills interstitial spaces between the directionally aligned carbon fibers ([0010] teaches that the carbon fibers are bound together in a polymeric matrix, which means that the spaces between the fibers must be filled, otherwise they wouldn't be bound together).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a more stable mechanical structure (See Delanoy [0011], “The unidirectional carbon fiber layer is used for carrying electrical current along a primary axis as well as creating mechanical stability along that axis”).
Regarding Claim 2, Chen meets the claimed,
The composite current collector of claim 1, wherein the composite current collector is free of metal ([0011] teaches that the current collector comprises conductive filler and adhesive, where the conductive filler can be carbon nanotubes and the adhesive can be polyvinylidene fluoride, which would make the collector free of metal. Further, the carbon fibers added by the combination of Chen and Delanoy would not add any metal as carbon fibers are not metal).
Regarding Claim 3, Chen meets the claimed,
The composite current collector of claim 1, wherein the polymer matrix material includes one of poly(L-lactide-co-ε-caprolactone) and polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) ([0012] teaches the adhesive can be polyvinylidene fluoride).
Regarding Claim 4, Chen meets the claimed,
The composite current collector of claim 1, wherein the conductive material is present in an amount of approximately 1 wt.% to 70 wt.% relative to a total weight of the polymer and conductive material ([0120] teach a mass fraction of 30% to 95% of conductive filler compared to adhesive).
Regarding Claim 5, Chen meets the claimed,
The composite current collector of claim 1, wherein the conductive material is one of carbon nanotubes, vapor grown carbon fibers (VGCF), graphene platelets, and carbon black ([0012] teaches carbon nanotube as the conductive filler).
Regarding Claim 6, Chen does not specifically teach a thickness in the range of 5-50 µm. However, Chen teaches a thickness of 0.01 µm to 1000 µm. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, there exists a prima facie case of obviousness (See MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 7, Chen does not specifically teach a thickness in the range of 7-15 µm. However, Chen teaches a thickness of 0.01 µm to 1000 µm. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, there exists a prima facie case of obviousness (See MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 8, Chen meets the claimed,
An electrode comprising ([0004] teaches an electrode suspension solution): the composite current collector of claim 1; and an electrode material coated on the composite current collector ([0039] and Fig. 2 teach a cathode suspension solution 26 directly contacting cathode current collector 21).
Regarding Claim 10, Chen meets the claimed,
The electrode of claim 8, wherein the electrode material is further defined as a cathode active material ([0039] and Fig. 2 teach a cathode suspension solution 26 directly contacting cathode current collector 21. [0004] teaches the solution contains cathode active material particles).
Regarding Claim 11, Chen meets the claimed,
The electrode of claim 8, wherein the electrode material is further defined as an anode active material ([0039] and Fig. 2 teach an anode suspension solution 27 directly contacting anode current collector 22. [0004] teaches the solution contains anode active material particles).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2016/0329569) in view of Delanoy et al. (US 2003/0008125) and further in view of Ho et al. (US 2014/0329126).
Chen/Delanoy do not specifically teach an electrode thickness in a range of 10 to 500 µm.
Ho is analogous as it teaches a lithium ion battery.
Ho meets the claimed,
The electrode of claim 8, wherein the electrode has a thickness in a range of 10 to 500 µm ([0002] teaches an electrode thickness of 100-200 micrometers).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use an electrode of this thickness as thicknesses greater than this may result in unused capacity of active material, nonhomogeneous charging and discharging, and lower efficiency (See Ho [0002]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kwon et al. (US 2014/0370350) teaches a polymer current collector consisting of a carbon fiber or carbon nanotube mesh layered over a PVDF polymer substrate.
/A.Y.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/MICHAEL M. ROBINSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744