DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. As discussed below, Pool also discloses an embodiment specifically for placement in the intramedullary canal (Fig 53, paragraph 187).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,944,358 (hereinafter ‘358) in view of Pool US 2009/0112263, as evidenced by Pruyn US 1,340,250, and Robinson US 2003/0144669.
Regarding Claim 1, ‘358 discloses a lengthening device configured for placement between a first bone section and a second bone section (claim 1 preamble), the device comprising:
a distraction shaft configured for fixation to a first bone section of a long bone (claim 1, col 14 line 15-16, where the device is capable of being placed on a long bone);
a housing configured for fixation to a second bone section of a long bone, wherein the distraction shaft is disposed at least partially within the housing (claim 1, col 14 line18-20 where the device is capable of being placed on a long bone);
an actuator configured to increase at least one of a distraction force between the distraction shaft and the housing or a length of the lengthening device (claim 1, col 14 line 35-39).
’358 also discloses the limitations of Claims 2-9 (see claims 2-9 respectively), Claim 10 (see claim 1 col 14 line 23-25), Claim 11 (col 14 lines 22-31, claim 10), Claims 12-17 (see claims 11-16, respectively).
‘358 also discloses a magnet coupled to a gear assembly (claim 1, col 13 lines 41-42) but does not disclose the lengthening device is an intramedullary lengthening device with the distraction shaft and housing is configured for fixation within the first and second bone sections, respectively, the actuator including a thrust bearing disposed about a portion of the gear assembly, and the actuator configured to increase a length of the lengthening device at a rate of 1 mm per day.
Regarding Claim 1, Pool discloses a lengthening device (Fig 6c) configured for placement between a first bone section and a second bone section, the device comprising:
a distraction shaft (#146) configured for fixation to the first bone section (able be fixed using a clamp or use of screws and connectors, Fig 4);
a housing (#150) configured for fixation to the second bone section (able to be fixed using a clamp or use of screws and connectors, Fig 4), wherein the distraction shaft is disposed at least partially within the housing (Fig 6c, paragraph 77, 89); and
an actuator (#218, #226) configured to increase at least one of a distraction force between the distraction shaft and the housing and a length of the lengthening device (paragraph 90)
the actuator including a thrust bearing (“A second ball optional bearing [not shown] can be included on the opposite end of the magnetic element 218” end of paragraph 88)(it is noted that ball bearing are known in the mechanical art as being ring shaped with a center through opening, as evidenced by Pruyn, Fig 1 which shows a typical ball bearing with a center through opening #3) disposed about a portion (shaft of a gear assembly, see Fig below) of a gear assembly (see Fig 6g below the opposite end of the magnet has a shaft of a gear assembly extending therefrom and as discussed at the end of paragraph 88, the ball/thrust bearing would be placed on the opposite end of magnet #218 and about the about the lower end of the shaft of the gear assembly, where the shaft would extend through the through opening of the thrust/ball bearing).
Pool also discloses that lengthening devices can be used in a wide array of applications including within the intramedullary canal (see Fig below, paragraph 187).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘358 to include to have the gear assembly coupled to the magnet via a shaft, a thrust bearing positioned about the shaft in view of Pool above because this provides a known way for the magnet and gear assembly to be connected and where the thrust bearing reduces rotational friction.
It would have also been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘358 to for the device to be an intramedullary device with the distraction shaft and housing configured for fixation witihn the first and second bone sections, respectively, view of Pool above because this provides known one known type of application for lengthening a long bone.
Robinson teaches that it is desirable to lengthen bone pieces at a rate of approximately 1 mm a day (paragraph 5, it is noted that approximately 1 mm would at least include 1 mm) so as to provide gradual separation of the bone pieces and slow stretching of the callus, which result in formation of additional callus at an interference between the bone pieces and to allow neurovascular bundles and muscles to adjust in position and/or length (paragraph 5).
It would have also been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pool as modified and have the actuator configured to increase a length of the lengthening device at a rate of 1 millimeter per day in view of Robinson above because this provides gradual separation of the bone pieces and slow stretching of the callus, which result in formation of additional callus at an interference between the bone pieces and to allow neurovascular bundles and muscles to adjust in position and/or length.
Claims 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,944,358 (hereinafter ‘358) in view of Pool US 2009/0112263 and Robinson US 2003/0144669 and evidenced by Pruyn US 1,340,250.
‘358 discloses the limitations of Claim 18 (see claim 17 but claim 17 in ‘358 recites additional features related to the lip seal and lip seal flange, claim 1 Col 16 lines 3-12). ‘358 also discloses the limitation of Claim 19 (see Claim 18), and Claim 20 (claim 17, col 16 lines 3-12, claim 19).
‘358 also discloses a magnet coupled to a gear assembly (claim 17, col 16 lines 35-36) but does not disclose the actuator including a thrust bearing disposed about a portion of the gear assembly, the lengthening device is an intramedullary lengthening device with the distraction shaft and housing is configured for fixation within the first and second bone sections, respectively, a length of the lengthening device at a rate of 1 mm per day.
Pool discloses a lengthening device (Fig 6c) configured for placement between a first bone section and a second bone section, the device comprising:
a distraction shaft (#146), wherein the distraction shaft is configured for fixation to the first bone section (able be fixed using a clamp or use of screws and connectors, Fig 4);
a housing (#150) configured for fixation to the second bone section (able to be fixed using a clamp or use of screws and connectors, Fig 4), wherein the distraction shaft is disposed partially within the housing (Fig 6c, paragraph 77, 89); and
an actuator (#218, #226) configured to increase at least one of a distraction force between the distraction shaft and the housing and a length of the lengthening device (paragraph 90), the actuator including:
a permanent magnet (#218) being configured for rotation relative to the housing (paragraph 90); and
a lead screw (#226) operatively coupled to the permanent magnet via a gear assembly (#240, #238, Fig 6d-6g),
the actuator including a thrust bearing (“A second ball optional bearing [not shown] can be included on the opposite end of the magnetic element 218” end of paragraph 88)(it is noted that ball bearing are known in the mechanical art as being ring shaped with a center through opening, as evidenced by Pruyn, Fig 1 which shows a typical ball bearing with a center through opening #3) disposed about a portion (shaft of a gear assembly, see Fig below) of a gear assembly (see Fig 6g below the opposite end of the magnet has a shaft of a gear assembly extending therefrom and as discussed at the end of paragraph 88, the ball/thrust bearing would be placed on the opposite end of magnet #218 and about the about the lower end of the shaft of the gear assembly, where the shaft would extend through the through opening of the thrust/ball bearing).
Pool also discloses that lengthening devices can be used in a wide array of applications including within the intramedullary canal (see Fig below, paragraph 187).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘358 to include to have the gear assembly coupled to the magnet via a shaft, a thrust bearing positioned about the shaft in view of Pool above because this provides a known way for the magnet and gear assembly to be connected and where the thrust bearing reduces rotational friction.
It would have also been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘358 to for the device to be an intramedullary device with the distraction shaft and housing configured for fixation in the first and second bone sections, respectively, view of Pool above because this provides known one known type of application for lengthening a long bone.
Robinson teaches that it is desirable to lengthen bone pieces at a rate of approximately 1 mm a day (paragraph 5, it is noted that approximately 1 mm would at least include 1 mm) so as to provide gradual separation of the bone pieces and slow stretching of the callus, which result in formation of additional callus at an interference between the bone pieces and to allow neurovascular bundles and muscles to adjust in position and/or length (paragraph 5).
It would have also been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pool as modified and have the actuator configured to increase a length of the lengthening device at a rate of 1 millimeter per day in view of Robinson above because this provides gradual separation of the bone pieces and slow stretching of the callus, which result in formation of additional callus at an interference between the bone pieces and to allow neurovascular bundles and muscles to adjust in position and/or length.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Pool US 2009/0112263 in view of Robinson US 2003/0144669 and evidenced by Pruyn US 1,340,250.
Regarding Claim 1, Pool discloses an intramedullary lengthening device (Fig 54) configured for placement between a first bone section of a long bone and a second bone section of the long bone (upper and lower bone sections of long bone #256, Fig 54), the device comprising:
a distraction shaft configured for fixation within the first bone section of the long bone (see Fig below);
a housing configured for fixation within the second bone section of the long bone (see Fig below),
wherein the distraction shaft is disposed at least partially within the housing (see Fig below);
an actuator (#262) configured to increase a length of the lengthening device (paragraph 186-187),
Pool does not disclose the actuator configured to increase a length of the lengthening device at a rate of 1 millimeter per day, the actuator including a thrust bearing disposed about a portion of a gear assembly.
Pool discloses another embodiment for the actuator
Pool discloses a lengthening device (Fig 6c) configured for placement between a first bone section and a second bone section, the device comprising:
a distraction shaft (#146) configured for fixation to a first bone section of a long bone (able be fixed using a clamp or use of screws and connectors, Fig 4, where this limitation is intended use and the shaft is able to be placed on a long bone);
a housing (#150) configured for fixation to a second bone section of the long bone (able to be fixed using a clamp or use of screws and connectors, Fig 4 where this limitation is intended use and the housing is able to be placed on a long bone), wherein the distraction shaft is disposed at least partially within the housing (Fig 6c, paragraph 77, 89); and
an actuator (#218, #226) configured to increase at least one of a distraction force between the distraction shaft and the housing or a length of the lengthening device (paragraph 90) the actuator including a thrust bearing ("A second ball optional bearing [not shown] can be included on the opposite end of the magnetic element 218" end of paragraph 88) (it is noted that ball bearing are known in the mechanical art as being ring shaped with a center through opening, as evidenced by Pruyn, Fig 1 which shows a typical ball bearing with a center through opening #3) disposed about a portion (shaft of a gear assembly, see Fig below) of a gear assembly (see Fig 6g below the opposite end of the magnet has a shaft of a gear assembly extending therefrom and as discussed at the end of paragraph 88, the ball/thrust bearing would be placed on the opposite end of magnet #218 and about the about the lower end of the shaft of the gear assembly, where the shaft would extend through the through opening of the thrust/ball bearing), where this configuration allows smaller input of torque (paragraph 89) and reduction of friction (paragraph 88).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuator of Pool with the actuator, including the gear assembly and thrust bearing, in view of the other embodiment of Pool because this configuration allows smaller input of torque and reduce friction.
Robinson teaches that it is desirable to lengthen bone pieces at a rate of approximately 1 mm a day (paragraph 5, it is noted that approximately 1 mm would at least include 1 mm) so as to provide gradual separation of the bone pieces and slow stretching of the callus, which result in formation of additional callus at an interference between the bone pieces and to allow neurovascular bundles and muscles to adjust in position and/or length (paragraph 5).
It would have also been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pool as modified and have the actuator configured to increase a length of the lengthening device at a rate of 1 millimeter per day in view of Robinson above because this provides gradual separation of the bone pieces and slow stretching of the callus, which result in formation of additional callus at an interference between the bone pieces and to allow neurovascular bundles and muscles to adjust in position and/or length.
Claims 2-10 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Pool US 2009/0112263 and Robinson US 2003/0144669, and evidenced by Pruyn US 1,340,250, as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of .
Pool as modified discloses the outer surface of the distraction shaft slides over an inner surface of the housing (see fig in claim 1 above) but does not disclose the distraction shaft comprises an axial groove disposed on an outer surface thereof.
Schwarzler, pertinent to the problem of low friction telescoping movement as well as prevention of rotation, discloses a distraction shaft (#31) having an internal cavity (as seen in Fig 1, 8), a housing (#21), wherein the distraction shaft is configured to be telescopingly displaceable relative to and disposed partially within the housing (Fig 1, Col 1 lines 30-40), balls (#41) received in axial grooves (#32) of the shaft and axial grooves (#22) of the housing, where the grooves of the housing provides for the housing to be splined (Fig 1), a ball cage (#42) which helps fixes the balls in place (claim 1), a collar (portion of housing #21 that overlaps with the shaft #31, where this region contains the axial grooves #32, #22 and balls #41, Fig 1) configured to allow sliding of the distraction shaft within the housing (Col 1 lines 30-40) and to prevent the distraction shaft from rotating within the housing (Fig 1, by virtue of the balls within the axial grooves of the housing and shaft), where this configuration provides for low friction sliding of the shaft (Col 1 lines 30-43).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pool as modified to include balls, the housing and shaft each include grooves to receive the balls and a ball cage to fix the balls in place in view of Schwarzler because this allows for low friction sliding of the shaft relative to the housing and prevent rotation.
Regarding Claim 3, Pool as modified discloses wherein the distraction shaft further comprises a plurality of axial grooves (#32 as taught by Schwarzler above, Col 3 lines 60-67 in Schwarzler) disposed on an outer surface thereof (Fig 8 in Schwarzler).
Regarding Claim 4, Pool as modified discloses the axial groove (#32 as taught by Schwarzler above) comprises an indentation having a semi-circular cross-sectional shape (Fig 8 in Schwarzler).
Regarding Claim 5, Pool as modified discloses a ball (#41 as taught by Schwarzler above) disposed within the axial groove (Col 3 lines 60-67 in Schwarzler).
Regarding Claim 6, Pool as modified discloses a ball cage (#42 as taught by Schwarzler above) disposed over the distraction shaft and the ball, the ball cage being configured to trap the ball (claim 1 in Schwarzler).
Regarding Claim 7, Pool as modified discloses a collar (with the modification, the housing is provided with a splined configuration which would define the collar that allows for sliding and prevent rotation), the collar further comprises a splined housing (as discussed above in claim 2 with the modification in view of Schwarzler) disposed over the ball and the ball cage (Fig 1 in Schwarzler), the splined housing having an axial groove (#22 in Schwarzler, as taught above in claim 2) disposed along an inner diameter surface of the splined housing (Fig 1, 4 in Schwarzler), wherein the axial groove disposed along the inner diameter surface of the splined housing corresponds to the axial groove disposed on the outer surface of the distraction shaft (Fig 1 in Schwarzler, Col 3 lines 60-67 in Schwarzler), and wherein the ball and the ball cage are interposed between the distraction shaft and the splined housing (Fig 1 in Schwarzler).
Regarding Claim 8, Pool as modified discloses the ball is constrained by the ball cage, and is configured to rotationally lock the axial groove disposed along the inner diameter surface of the splined housing to the axial groove disposed on the outer surface of the distraction shaft (claim 1 in Schwarzler, abstract).
Regarding Claim 9, Pool as modified discloses the ball is configured to roll within the linear cage and partially within each of the axial groove of the splined housing and the axial groove disposed on the distraction shaft, thereby allowing axial displacement of the distraction shaft relative to the splined housing (Fig 1 in Schwarzler, Col 1 lines 30-45).
Regarding Claim 10, Pool as teaches the use of a seal (#216 in Pool, paragraph 88 in Pool) but does not disclose a sliding seal disposed between the distraction shaft and the splined housing.
Schwarzler further discloses the shaft (#31) extending from a tapered area (#25, #26, Fig 1) of the housing, the tapered area accommodates a sliding seal (“sealing means”, not shown, Col 3 lines 60-65) disposed between the distraction shaft and the splined housing (not shown but see Fig 1 , Col 3 lines 60-65 where the seal would be between the shaft and housing) to seal off the interior of the housing as the shaft telescopes from the housing (Col 3 lines 60-65).
It would have also been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the invention was made to modify Pool as modified to have the splined housing have a tapered area that accommodates a sliding seal disposed between the shaft and the splined housing in view of further teachings of Schwarzler because the seal seals off the interior of the housing as the shaft telescopes from the housing.
Claim 11 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Pool US 2009/0112263 and and Robinson US 2003/0144669, as evidenced by Pruyn US 1,340,250, and Schwarzler US 6,918,838, as applied to claim 10 above, and in further view of Stauch US 6,416,516.
Pool as modified discloses the claimed invention as discussed above but does not disclose the sliding seal comprises: a lip seal flange attached to the splined housing; a lip seal including: a base portion configured to seal against an inner diameter of the lip seal flange; one or more protrusions disposed about an inner diameter of the lip seal, the one or more protrusions being configured to slidingly seal against the axial groove of the distraction shaft; and an inner surface configured to slidingly seal against an outer diameter of the distraction shaft.
Stauch, pertinent in the field of seals, discloses a housing (#1.2), a moveable shaft (#6, Col 2 lines 45-53) located in the housing (Fig 1), a sliding seal (#9.2, shaft #6 slides along the seal, Col 2 lines 45-53) comprising: a lip seal flange attached to the splined housing (see Fig below, Col 1 lines 45-50, the seal tapers thus forming a flange and a base portion);
a lip seal (see Fig below) including:
a base portion configured to seal against an inner diameter of the lip seal flange (see Fig below, Col 1 lines 45-50 “leak tight”); and an inner surface configured to slidingly seal against an outer diameter of the distraction shaft (see Fig below, Col 1 lines 45-50, Col 2 lines 45-55), where the seal provides for a leak tight seal (Col 1 lines 45-50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the seal of Pool as modified to be a sliding seal with the lip seal flange and base portion (discussed above) in view of Stauch above because this is a known type seal to be “leak tight”.
With regards to “the one or more protrusions”, it would be obvious that the inner diameter would include protrusions to correspond with the axially extending grooves of the shaft (see Fig 1 in Schwarzler where the axial grooves #32 of the distraction shaft extend along the length of the shaft and portions thereof would be located outside the housing during use) so as to provide sufficient sealing of the interior of the housing. In other words, the lip seal would obviously need to conform to the outer profile of the shaft in order to provide sufficient sealing. In doing so, there would need to be protrusions that would fill in and seal the axial grooves.
Claim 12 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Pool US 2009/0112263, Robinson US 2003/0144669, Schwarzler US 6,918,838 (cited by applicant), and Stauch US 6,416,516, as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of Traub US 4,570,944.
Pool as modified discloses the claimed invention as discussed above but does not disclose the lip seal comprises silicone, EPDM, or another rubber material.
Traub discloses a lip seal (#12, Col 3 lines 62-67) that is made from rubber (Col 5 lines 5-10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pool as modified to have the lip seal comprise a rubber material in view of Traub above because this is a known type of material to form a lip seal.
Claim 13 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Pool US 2009/0112263, Robinson US 2003/0144669, Schwarzler US 6,918,838 (cited by applicant), and Stauch US 6,416 (cited by applicant) and as evidenced by Pruyn US 1,340,250, as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of Gerrone US 5,458,640
Pool as modified discloses the claimed invention above where the distraction shaft slides along the lip seal (as discussed above in claim 11) but does not disclose the lip seal is coated with silicone oil.
Gerrone, pertinent in the field of seals, discloses a housing (#110), a shaft (#112) and a seal (#19), the seal and shaft movbeable relative to each other (Fig 4-5), the seal is coated with silicone oil (Col 3 lines 25-30, Col 7 lines 35-40) which provides a lubricant to reduce frictional resistance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the invention was made to modify Pool as modified to coat the lip seal with silicone oil in view of Gerrone because this provides a known lubricant to reduce frictional resistance.
Claim 14-17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Pool US 2009/0112263, Robinson US 2003/0144669, as evidenced by Pruyn US 1,340,250, and Schwarzler US 6,918,838 (cited by applicant), as applied to claims 5, 2, 7, 6 above, and in further view of Fujiwara US 6,328,474.
Pool as modified discloses the claimed invention as discussed above where the ball is in contact with the axial groove on the outer surface of the distraction shaft, the axial groove on the inner diameter surface of the splined housing and the ball cage (Fig 1 in Schwarzler) but does not disclose, wherein the ball is coated with silicone oil or a liquid perfluorinated polyether, wherein the axial groove on the outer surface of the distraction shaft is coated with silicone oil or a liquid perfluorinated polyether, wherein the axial groove on the inner diameter surface of the splined housing is coated with silicone oil or a liquid perfluorinated polyether, wherein the ball cage is coated with silicone oil or a liquid perfluorinated polyether.
Fujiwara, pertinent to the problem of lubricating balls, discloses that balls (#3) and surfaces (#1a, #1b, #202a, #202b) contacting the balls (Fig 2) are coated with liquid perfluorinated polyether (PFPE)(Col 3 lines 55-60, Col 4 lines 25-35) to lubricate the balls and the surfaces contacting the ball.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the invention was made to modify Pool as modified and apply a coating of liquid PFPE to the ball, the axial groove on the outer surface of the distraction shaft, the axial groove on the inner diameter surface of the splined housing and the ball cage in view of Fujiwara because PFPE provides lubrication to the balls and the other surfaces contacting the ball.
Claim 18-19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Pool US 2009/0112263, as evidenced by Pruyn US 1,340,250, in view of Robinson US 2003/0144669 and Schwarzler US 6,918,838.
Regarding Claim 18, Pool discloses an intramedullary lengthening device (Fig 54) configured for placement between a first bone section and a second bone section (upper and lower bone sections of long bone #256, Fig 54), the device comprising:
a distraction shaft configured for fixation within the first bone section of the long bone (see Fig below);
a housing configured for fixation within the second bone section of the long bone (see Fig below),
wherein the distraction shaft is disposed at least partially within the housing (see Fig below); and
an actuator (#262) configured to increase at least one of a distraction force between the distraction shaft and the housing and a length of the lengthening device (paragraph 186-187), the actuator including:
a permanent magnet (#262) being configured for rotation relative to the housing (paragraph 90); and
a lead screw (#226) operatively coupled to the permanent magnet via a gear assembly (#240, #238, Fig 6d-6g),
Pool does not disclose the actuator configured to increase a length of the lengthening device at a rate of 1 millimeter per day, the actuator including a thrust bearing disposed about a portion of a gear assembly. Pool as modified discloses the outer surface of the distraction shaft slides over an inner surface of the housing (see fig above) but does not disclose the an axial groove disposed on an outer surface of the distraction shaft, a ball disposed within the axial groove disposed on the distraction shaft, a ball cage disposed over the distraction shaft and the ball, the ball cage being configured to trap the ball within the axial groove; a splined housing disposed over the ball cage and the ball, the splined housing having an axial groove disposed along an inner diameter surface of the splined housing, wherein the ball cage and the ball are interposed between the distraction shaft and the splined housing, wherein the ball is constrained by the ball cage, and is configured to be disposed at least partially within the axial groove disposed on the distraction shaft, and at least partially within the axial groove disposed on the splined housing, thereby rotationally locking the splined housing to the distraction shaft, while allowing axial displacement of the distraction shaft relative to the splined housing.
Pool discloses a lengthening device (Fig 6c) configured for placement between a first bone section and a second bone section, the device comprising:
a distraction shaft (#146) configured for fixation to a first bone section of a long bone (able be fixed using a clamp or use of screws and connectors, Fig 4, where this limitation is intended use and the shaft is able to be placed on a long bone);
a housing (#150) configured for fixation to a second bone section of the long bone (able to be fixed using a clamp or use of screws and connectors, Fig 4 where this limitation is intended use and the housing is able to be placed on a long bone), wherein the distraction shaft is disposed at least partially within the housing (Fig 6c, paragraph 77, 89); and
an actuator (#218, #226) configured to increase at least one of a distraction force between the distraction shaft and the housing and a length of the lengthening device (paragraph 90), the actuator including:
a permanent magnet (#218) being configured for rotation relative to the housing (paragraph 90); and
a lead screw (#226) operatively coupled to the permanent magnet via a gear assembly (#240, #238, Fig 6d-6g),
the actuator including a thrust bearing (“A second ball optional bearing [not shown] can be included on the opposite end of the magnetic element 218” end of paragraph 88)(it is noted that ball bearing are known in the mechanical art as being ring shaped with a center through opening, as evidenced by Pruyn, Fig 1 which shows a typical ball bearing with a center through opening #3) disposed about a portion (shaft of a gear assembly, see Fig below) of a gear assembly (see Fig 6g below the opposite end of the magnet has a shaft of a gear assembly extending therefrom and as discussed at the end of paragraph 88, the ball/thrust bearing would be placed on the opposite end of magnet #218 and about the about the lower end of the shaft of the gear assembly, where the shaft would extend through the through opening of the thrust/ball bearing), where this configuration allows smaller input of torque (paragraph 89) and reduction of friction (paragraph 88).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuator of Pool with the actuator, including the gear assembly and thrust bearing, in view of the other embodiment of Pool because this configuration allows smaller input of torque and reduce friction.
Schwarzler, pertinent to the problem of low friction telescoping movement as well as prevention of rotation, discloses a distraction shaft (#31) having an internal cavity (as seen in Fig 1, 8), a housing (#21), wherein the distraction shaft is configured to be telescopingly displaceable relative to and disposed partially within the housing (Fig 1, Col 1 lines 30-40),
an axial groove (#32) disposed on an outer surface of the distraction shaft (Fig 1),
a ball (#41) disposed within the axial groove disposed on the distraction shaft (Fig 1),
a ball cage (#42) disposed over the distraction shaft and the ball (fig 1), the ball cage being configured to trap the ball within the axial groove (claim 1);
a splined housing (portion of housing #21 that overlaps with the shaft #31 that contains grooves #22, where this region contains the axial grooves #32, #22 and balls #41, Fig 1) disposed over the ball cage and the ball (Fig 1),
the splined housing having an axial groove (#22) disposed along an inner diameter surface of the splined housing (Fig 1),
wherein the ball cage and the ball are interposed between the distraction shaft and the splined housing (Fig 1),
wherein the ball is constrained by the ball cage (Fig 1, claim 1), and is configured to be disposed at least partially within the axial groove disposed on the distraction shaft (Fig 1), and at least partially within the axial groove disposed on the splined housing (Fig 1), thereby rotationally locking the splined housing to the distraction shaft (claim 1), while allowing axial displacement of the distraction shaft relative to the splined housing (Col 1 lines 30-43), wherein the ball, the axial grooves, and call cage provides for low friction sliding of the shaft (Col 1 lines 30-43).
It would have also been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pool as modified to include a ball, the housing defining a splined housing with an axial groove, the shaft having an axial grove, the grooves to receive the ball and a ball cage to fix the ball in place in view of Schwarzler because this allows for low friction sliding of the shaft relative to the housing and prevent rotation. The examiner notes that with the modification, the housing is provided with a splined configuration which would define the splined housing that allows for sliding and prevent rotation.
Regarding Claim 19, Pool teaches the use of a seal (#216 in Pool, paragraph 88 in Pool) but does not disclose a sliding seal disposed between the distraction shaft and the splined housing.
Schwarzler further discloses the shaft (#31) extending from a tapered area (#25, #26, Fig 1) of the housing, the tapered area accommodates a sliding seal (“sealing means”, not shown, Col 3 lines 60-65) disposed between the distraction shaft and the splined housing (not shown but see Fig 1 , Col 3 lines 60-65 where the seal would be between the shaft and housing) to seal off the interior of the housing as the shaft telescopes from the housing (Col 3 lines 60-65).
It would have also been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the invention was made to modify Pool as modified to have the splined housing have a tapered area that accommodates a sliding seal disposed between the shaft and the splined housing in view of further teachings of Schwarzler because the seal seals off the interior of the housing as the shaft telescopes from the housing.
Claim 20 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Pool US 2009/0112263, Robinson US 2003/0144669, as evidenced by Pruyn US 1,340,250, and Schwarzler US 6,918,838 (cited by applicant), as applied to claim 10 above, and in further view of Stauch US 6,416,516.
Pool as modified discloses the claimed invention as discussed above but does not disclose the sliding seal comprises: a lip seal flange attached to the splined housing; a lip seal including: a base portion configured to seal against an inner diameter of the lip seal flange; one or more protrusions disposed about an inner diameter of the lip seal, the one or more protrusions being configured to slidingly seal against the axial groove of the distraction shaft; and an inner surface configured to slidingly seal against an outer diameter of the distraction shaft.
Stauch, pertinent in the field of seals, discloses a housing (#1.2), a moveable shaft (#6, Col 2 lines 45-53) located in the housing (Fig 1), a sliding seal (#9.2, shaft #6 slides along the seal, Col 2 lines 45-53) comprising: a lip seal flange attached to the splined housing (see Fig below, Col 1 lines 45-50, the seal tapers thus forming a flange and a base portion);
a lip seal (see Fig below) including:
a base portion configured to seal against an inner diameter of the lip seal flange (see Fig below, Col 1 lines 45-50 “leak tight”); and an inner surface configured to slidingly seal against an outer diameter of the distraction shaft (see Fig below, Col 1 lines 45-50, Col 2 lines 45-55), where the seal provides for a leak tight seal (Col 1 lines 45-50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the seal of Pool as modified to be a sliding seal with the lip seal flange and base portion (discussed above) in view of Stauch above because this is a known type seal to be “leak tight”.
With regards to “the one or more protrusions”, it would be obvious that the inner diameter would include protrusions to correspond with the axially extending grooves of the shaft (see Fig 1 in Schwarzler where the axial grooves #32 of the distraction shaft extend along the length of the shaft and portions thereof would be located outside the housing during use) so as to provide sufficient sealing of the interior of the housing. In other words, the lip seal would obviously need to conform to the outer profile of the shaft in order to provide sufficient sealing. In doing so, there would need to be protrusions that would fill in and seal the axial grooves.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAN CHRISTOPHER L MERENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773