DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 03/12/2024. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 03/12/2024, 06/18/2024, 07/23/2024, 09/09/2024, 09/17/2024, 09/25/2024, 10/22/2024, 11/05/2024, 11/12/2024, 01/13/2025, 05/12/2025 and 10/09/2025 were filed and are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 line 1 reads “stiffness of extension”, --stiffness of the extension-- is suggested.
Claim 15 line 5 reads “directions and;”, --directions; and-- is suggested.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 lines 11 and 13 recites the limitations “downward” and “upward”. It is unclear what elements these directions are to be used in relation to. As such, the scope of the claims cannot be determined.
Claim 15 lines 5 and 9 recite the limitations “upward” and “downward”. It is unclear what elements these directions are to be used in relation to. As such, the scope of the claims cannot be determined.
Claim 19 line 2 recites the limitation “a first flexible member for extending through the plurality of sequentially arranged links”. It is unclear how the first flexible member, disclosed in the specification as element 145, extends through the plurality of sequentially arranged links.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graham (US 20220314430 A1) in view of Siebert (US 3625084 A).
Regarding claim 1, Graham discloses an extension tool (see Fig. 2; 100) comprising: a base link (124) at a proximal end of the extension tool (112), a transition section (section between 106A and 106T) including a second bend (bend with radius of curvature R1) and coupled to the base link; a plurality of sequentially arranged links (106) moveable relative to one another coupled to the transition section and including a third bend (bend with radius of curvature R2); and a support member (see Fig. 3; 130) with a wheel (132A) at a distal end of the extension tool (114), wherein the support member includes a fourth bend (see Fig. 3; bend in 130); wherein the second bend and the fourth bend extend in a second direction along the longitudinal centerline bending downward (see Fig. 2, wherein the bend with the radius of curvature R1 and the bend in 130 bend in the downward direction), and wherein the third bend of the plurality of sequentially arranged links extends in a third direction along the longitudinal centerline bending upward (see Fig. 2, wherein the bend with a radius of curvature R2 bends upward). Graham fails to disclose the base link includes a first bend. However, Siebert discloses the base link (see annotated Fig. 1 below; base link A) includes a first bend (see Fig. 1-2, wherein the first link can be bent in a direction, i.e., into or out of the figure). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Graham with a base link including a first bend, as taught by Siebert, to provide link members that are journaled as to rotate one with respect to the other in planes perpendicular to rotary movement of the other links, (see column 2 lines 7-11); and to allow a flexible cable to be rigidized in any particular shape or curvature (see column 4 lines 6-10). The combination above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the first bend of the base link (Siebert; A) extends in a first direction (Siebert; horizontal direction in the figures) from a longitudinal centerline of the extension tool (Graham; longitudinal centerline of 100).
Regarding claim 2, Graham discloses the plurality of sequentially arranged links (106) includes a distal link (106D), and wherein the distal link is the support member such that the distal link comprises the distal end and includes the wheel (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Graham discloses the wheel (132A) is integrally formed with the distal link (106D).
Regarding claim 4, Graham discloses the support member (130) includes an integrated axle (131A) to integrally couple the wheel (132A) to the support member (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Graham discloses the support member (130) is removably coupled to the plurality of sequentially arranged links (106) such that the wheel (132A) is removable from the extension tool (100).
Regarding claim 6, Graham discloses the support member (130) comprises: a first flexible member (see Fig. 4; 106 adjacent to 106D) for coupling to a distal link of the plurality of sequentially arranged links (106D); and a second flexible member (106D) including the wheel (132A).
Regarding claim 7, Graham discloses the first flexible member (106 adjacent to 106D) and the second flexible member (106D) are coupled together via a joint (see Fig. 4; joint between 106 adjacent to 106D and 106D).
Regarding claim 8, Graham discloses the plurality of sequentially arranged links (106) include an internal passage (see Fig. 5A; 138) therethrough for receipt of a borescope (see paragraph [0031], wherein the extension tool 100 may be deployed within a component, assembly, system, apparatus, etc. and a borescope may be inserted through the extension tool 100).
Regarding claim 9, Graham discloses a stiffness of extension tool (100) is controlled by the borescope (note that inserting a borescope into the extension 100 would inherently increase, i.e., control, the stiffness of the extension tool).
Regarding claim 10, Graham discloses the plurality of sequentially arranged links (106) are coupled together via a semi-flexible spine (110).
Regarding claim 11, Graham discloses a rigidity of the plurality of sequentially arranged links (106) is controlled by moving the semi-flexible spine (110; see paragraph [0043], wherein when the first line 110A and second line 110B of the line assembly 104 are tensioned by applying a tensioning force to the lines 110A, 110B (such that an amount of slack is taken out of the first and second lines 110A, 110B), the tensioning force in the first line 110A and second line 110B presses each of the plurality of sequentially arranged links 106 against one another, fixing the plurality of sequentially arranged links 106 in position to form a substantially rigid extension).
Regarding claim 12, Graham discloses the plurality of sequentially arranged links (106) are coupled together via at least one line guide assembly (110).
Regarding claim 13, Graham discloses a link of the plurality of sequentially arranged links (106) includes a window (see Fig. 7; 150).
Regarding claim 14, Graham discloses a plurality of windows (see Fig. 4; 150) defined in the plurality of sequentially arranged links (106), wherein each window of the plurality of windows are defined periodically along the plurality of sequentially arranged links (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Graham discloses an extension tool (see Fig. 2; 100) including a proximal end (112) and a distal end (114), the extension tool comprising: a base link (124) defining the proximal end, a transition section (section between 106A and 106T) coupled to the base link and including a second bend (bend with radius of curvature R1) bending in a second downward direction (see Fig. 2); and a plurality of sequentially arranged links (106) moveable relative to one another, wherein each of the plurality of sequentially arranged links includes an internal passage (see Fig. 5A; 138) to form a channel therethrough, and wherein the plurality of sequentially arranged links includes a third bend (bend with radius of curvature R2) bending in a third upward direction substantially in line with the second bend (see Fig. 2); a distal link (106D) defining the distal end; and a support member (130) including a wheel (132A) disposed at the distal end and a collar (see Fig. 3; collar of 106D where 165A-B are provided), wherein the support member is insertable through the channel of the plurality of sequentially arranged links, and wherein the collar contacts the distal link to hold the wheel in position (see Fig. 3). Graham fails to disclose the base link includes a first bend bending in a first horizontal direction. However, Siebert discloses the base link (see annotated Fig. 1 below; base link A) includes a first bend bending in a first horizontal direction (see Fig. 1-2, wherein the first link can be bent in the horizontal direction, i.e., into or out of the figure). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Graham with a base link including a first bend, as taught by Siebert, to provide link members that are journaled as to rotate one with respect to the other in planes perpendicular to rotary movement of the other links, (see column 2 lines 7-11); and to allow a flexible cable to be rigidized in any particular shape or curvature (see column 4 lines 6-10).
Regarding claim 16, Graham discloses the support member (130) includes a fourth bend (see Fig. 3; bend in 130) bending in the second downward direction substantially in line with the second bend and the third bend (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of claim 15 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the first bend of the base link (Siebert; A) extends substantially perpendicular to the second bend (Graham; bend with radius of curvature R1), the third bend (Graham; bend with radius of curvature R2), and the fourth bend (Graham; bend in 130) such that the first bend is bent outward from a longitudinal centerline (Siebert; Fig. 1-2, wherein the first link can be bent in the horizontal direction, i.e., into or out of the figure).
Regarding claim 18, Graham discloses the support member (130) includes an integrated axle (131A) to integrally couple the wheel (132A) to the support member (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 19, Graham discloses the support member (130) comprises: a first flexible member (106 adjacent to 106D or 110) for extending through the plurality of sequentially arranged links; and a second flexible member (106D) including the wheel (132A).
Regarding claim 20, Graham discloses the first flexible member (106 adjacent to 106D) and the second flexible member (106D) are coupled together via a joint (see Fig. 4; joint between 106 adjacent to 106D and 106D).
1 - US 3625084 A Fig. 1 Annotated
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
US 20260215662 A1, US 20120209070 A1, US 20260240421 A1, US 20240081942 A1, US 20130184528 A1, US 20230121496 A1, US 3690775 A, US 8374722 B2 and GB 2617408 A disclose a base link comprises a first curve.
/JOSEPH BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618