DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to an amendment filed on 3/10/2026.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent. Claims 1, 2, 6, 8, 9, 13, 15, 16 and 20 are currently amended. Amendments to the claims have been entered.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered; however, they are not persuasive based on new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 6, 13 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, also claims 8 and 15 similarly, recites “determining the threshold comprising periodically for each of one or more time periods in a time interval forming a time series identifying a set of top subnets having traffic above a traffic threshold” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether this limitation to be interpreted as “periodically … forming a time series” or “periodically … identifying a set of top subnets having traffic above a traffic threshold” and whether “each of one or more time periods” or “a time interval” is “forming a time series”.
Accordingly, other dependent claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, based on their dependency of the rejected claims 1, 8 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-5, 7-12 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattia (US PG Pub. 2020/0389430) in view of Voros (US PG Pub. 2022/0353284) and further in view of Jones (US PG Pub. 20200389430).
As regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Mattia discloses A computer-implemented method comprising:
detecting by a system a request [abstract and para. 7; receiving requests], responsive to the detecting of the request, computing by a Compute component of the system a plurality of internet protocol addresses in a subnet [abstract and para. 7; determining, in responding to receiving the requests, IP addresses or subnet list];
Mattia does not explicitly disclose computing by an Analysis component of the system a threat metric for each of the plurality of internet protocol addresses; and
determining by a Reputation component of the system a threat score for the subnet wherein the threat score is based on the threat metric and wherein the threat score is compared to a threshold; however, Voros discloses it [para. 27, 33-34 and para. 40-45; calculating score based on matrix and feature vectors || para. 92; the score being compared to a threshold value].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the effective filing of the invention to modify Mattia’s system to further comprise the omitted claim limitations, as disclosed by Voros, in order to identify the source of malicious content [Voros para. 33].
Mattia and Voros do not disclose determining the threshold comprising periodically for each of one or more time periods in a time interval forming a time series identifying a set of top subnets having traffic above a traffic threshold, for each subnet in the set of top subnets, determining a number of active Internet Protocol (IP) addresses wherein the threshold is determined based on an outlier of IP addresses in the time series. However, Jones discloses it [para. 55-60].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the effective filing of the invention to modify Mattia and Voros’s system to further comprise the omitted claim limitations, as disclosed by Jones, in order to detect anomalous activities.
Mattia, Voros and Jones further disclose sending by the system the threat score that measures a vulnerability of whether the subnet is a source of a malicious attack [Mattia para. 45, 79 and claim 1]; receiving the output of the infrastructure classifier 112, including a classification of maliciousness, prediction of maliciousness, metrics, scores, and/or confidence values].
As regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Mattia, Voros and Jones further disclose The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the threat score is based on a percentage of internet protocol addresses of the subnet exceeding a threshold [Voros para. 47 and 77].
As regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Mattia, Voros and Jones further disclose The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the computing the threat metric comprises determining an assertion of a component of each of the plurality of internet protocol addresses [Voros para. 32-33; determining reputation].
As regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Mattia, Voros and Jones further disclose The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising sending an action based on a security policy [Voros para. 31, 92 and 94; remedial actions].
As regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, Mattia, Voros and Jones further disclose The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the computing the threat metric for each of the plurality of internet protocol addresses is based on a threat attribute [Voros para. 77].
As regarding claims 7 and 14, Mattia, Voros and Jones further disclose The computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein the statistical algorithm comprises an Interquartile Range algorithm [Jones para. 55].
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THONG TRUONG/
Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433