Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged for provisional application 63/599,007. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows: provisional application 63/490,112 does not support the claim limitations in claim 6, 21, and 27 under 35 U.S.C. 112 due to limitations regarding overmolded deformable material on the reinforcing structure. Therefore, the effective filing date of the instant application is considered November 15th, 2023.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-5, and 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected methods, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on February 17th, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 6-14 in the reply filed on February 17th, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that groups I, II, and III may be searched together and do not impose a serious burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because Inventions I and II are directed to distinct processes. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed have materially different designs, modes of operation and function. Invention I is related to guiding a member of a packaging to a support structure while invention II relates to overmolding a deformable material on a reinforcing structure, thus they do not overlap and scope and are not obvious variants.
Inventions I and III are directed to distinct processes. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed have materially different designs, modes of operation and function. Invention I is related to guiding a member of a packaging to a support structure while invention III relates to measurement devices of heights of solar panels, thus they do not overlap and scope and are not obvious variants.
Inventions II and III are directed to distinct processes. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed have materially different designs, modes of operation and function. Invention II relates to overmolding a deformable material on a reinforcing structure, while invention III relates to measurement devices of heights of solar panels, thus they do not overlap and scope and are not obvious variants.
Its respectfully pointed out to Applicant that the inventions require a different field of search, they have separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter and the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention. Accordingly, the inventions would not be searched together and thus impose a serious burden on the Examiner. Therefore, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Regarding Claim 13, Applicant recites, “A method comprising: exerting tensile forces to a reinforcing structure; overmolding a deformable material on the reinforcing structure; and forming a solar panel that is configured to be hung”, and “wherein the elongated core is hollow, and the method further comprises passing a hanging structure through the elongated core”.
Regarding Claim 14, Applicant recites, “A method comprising: exerting tensile forces to a reinforcing structure; overmolding a deformable material on the reinforcing structure; and forming a solar panel that is configured to be hung”, and “wherein the elongated core is configured to be used as a hanging structure for the solar panel, based on the solar panel being unrolled”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-12, and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Richter et al. (US 2025/0141394 A1).
In view of Claim 6, Richter et al. teaches a method (Fig. 15 & Paragraph 0273) comprising:
exerting tensile forces to a reinforcing structure (Fig. 15, #141);
overmolding a deformable material (Figs. 1 & 15, #120 & #130 – Paragraph 0230) on the reinforcing structure (Figs. 4 & 15, #141/#151);
forming a solar panel that is configured to be hung (Fig. 15, #100 & Paragraph 0273).
In view of Claim 7, Richter et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 6. Richter et al. discloses that the reinforcing structure comprises a plurality of wires and the plurality of wires are substantially parallel (Fig. 15, #141/#151).
In view of Claim 8, Richter et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 6. Richter et al. discloses that the reinforcing structure extends beyond the deformable material (Fig. 15, #141 extends beyond the structure to connect to 310/312).
In view of Claim 9, Richter et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 6. Richter et al. teaches forming one or more holes at selected locations wherein the one or more holes are associated with wind management (Fig. 1, #100 & Paragraph 0236)
In view of Claim 10, Richter et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 6. Richter et al. teaches mounting one or more frames at selected locations in the solar panel wherein the at least one frame of the one or more frames is associated with attached the solar panel a hanging structure (Figs. 4 & 15, #170 – Paragraph 0244).
In view of Claim 11, Richter et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 6. Richter et al. discloses that the entire module in itself is flexible (Fig. 22), it is the Examiner’s position that the solar panel would be able to flex at joints between cells (Fig. 1, #110)
In view of Claim 12, Richter et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 6. Richter et al. discloses that the solar panel is flexible (Fig. 22, its formed off a roll e.g., the elongated core), wherein the method of forming the solar panel comprises it being rolled around an elongated core before its hung (Paragraph 0293).
In view of Claim 21, Richter et al. discloses an apparatus (Fig. 15 & Paragraph 0273) comprising:
a solar panel configured to be hung (Fig. 15, #100 & Paragraph 0273);
wherein the solar panel comprises a reinforcing structure (Figs. 4 & 15, #141/#151) overmolded under tensile forces with a deformable material (Figs. 1 & 15, #120 & #130 – Paragraph 0230).
In view of Claim 22, Richter et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 21. Richter et al. discloses that the reinforcing structure comprises a plurality of wires and the plurality of wires are substantially parallel (Fig. 15, #141/#151).
In view of Claim 23, Richter et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 21. Richter et al. discloses that the reinforcing structure extends beyond the deformable material (Fig. 15, #141 extends beyond the structure to connect to 310/312).
In view of Claim 24, Richter et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 21. Richter et al. teaches forming one or more holes at selected locations wherein the one or more holes are associated with wind management (Fig. 1, #100 & Paragraph 0236)
In view of Claim 25, Richter et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 21. Richter et al. teaches the solar panel further comprises one or more frames (Figs. 4 & 15, #170 – Paragraph 0244) associated with attaching the solar panel to a support structure, and that the support structure comprises at least two anchoring poles (Fig. 15, #320/#321 – Paragraph 0265).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richter et al. (US 2025/0141394 A1) in view of Renaud-Byrne et al. (US 2024/0388245 A1).
In view of Claim 13, Richter et al. teaches a method (Fig. 22 & Paragraph 0220) comprising:
exerting tensile forces to a reinforcing structure (Fig. 1 & 22, #141);
overmolding a deformable material (Fig. 1, #120 & #130 – Paragraph 0230) on the reinforcing structure (Figs. 4 & 15, #141/#151);
forming a solar panel that is configured to be hung (Fig. 15, #100 & Paragraph 0273).
Richter et al. discloses that the solar panel is flexible (Fig. 22, its formed off a roll e.g., the elongated core), wherein the method of forming the solar panel comprises it being rolled around an elongated core before its hung (Paragraph 0293)and that the elongated core is hollow (Fig. 22, #1602) but does not disclose a hanging structure through the elongated core.
Renaud-Byrne et al. discloses an elongated hollow core (Fig. 2) further comprises passing a hanging structure through the elongated core (Fig. 5B, the flexible modular solar panel is essentially spooled via a hollow core – Paragraph 0036). Renaud-Byrne et al. discloses that this configuration allows the modularity of flexible modular solar panel depending on the size of the application and readily deployed on site at a fraction of the time required to achieve the same for a traditional hard structured solar panel (Paragraph 0026). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have a hanging structure through the elongated core as disclosed by Renaud-Byrne et al. using Richter’s rollable photovoltaic for the advantage of having a deployment configuration that allows the modularity of flexible modular solar panel depending on the size of the application and readily deployed on site at a fraction of the time required to achieve the same for a traditional hard structured solar panel.
In view of Claim 14, Richter et al. teaches a method (Fig. 22 & Paragraph 0220) comprising:
exerting tensile forces to a reinforcing structure (Fig. 1 & 22, #141);
overmolding a deformable material (Fig. 1, #120 & #130 – Paragraph 0230) on the reinforcing structure (Figs. 4 & 15, #141/#151);
forming a solar panel that is configured to be hung (Fig. 15, #100 & Paragraph 0273).
Richter et al. discloses that the solar panel is flexible (Fig. 22, its formed off a roll e.g., the elongated core), wherein the method of forming the solar panel comprises it being rolled around an elongated core before its hung (Paragraph 0293) and that the elongated core is hollow (Fig. 22, #1602) but does not disclose the elongated core is used as a hanging structure for the solar panel based on the solar panel being unrolled.
Renaud-Byrne et al. discloses an elongated hollow core (Fig. 2) is configured to be used as hanging structure for the solar panel based on the solar panel being unrolled (Fig. 5B, the flexible modular solar panel is essentially spooled via a hollow core – Paragraph 0036). Renaud-Byrne et al. discloses that this configuration allows the modularity of flexible modular solar panel depending on the size of the application and readily deployed on site at a fraction of the time required to achieve the same for a traditional hard structured solar panel (Paragraph 0026). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the elongated core is used as a hanging structure for the solar panel based on the solar panel being unrolled as disclosed by Renaud-Byrne et al. using Richter’s rollable photovoltaic for the advantage of having a deployment configuration that allows the modularity of flexible modular solar panel depending on the size of the application and readily deployed on site at a fraction of the time required to achieve the same for a traditional hard structured solar panel.
In view of Claim 26, Richter et al. discloses an apparatus (Fig. 22 & Paragraph 0293) comprising:
a solar panel configured to be hung (Fig. 22, #100 & Paragraph 0293);
wherein the solar panel comprises a reinforcing structure (Figs. 4 & 22 #141/#151) overmolded under tensile forces with a deformable material (Fig. 1, #120 & #130 – Paragraph 0230).
Richter et al. does not disclose one or more frames associated with attaching the solar panel to a support structure wherein the support structure comprises at least two anchoring poles, wherein the solar panel is configured to be held in a packaging that is configured to guide the solar panel to the support structure.
Renaud-Byrne et al. discloses one or more frames associated with attaching a solar panel to a support structure wherein the support structure comprises at least two anchoring poles, wherein the solar panel is configured to be held in a packaging that is configured to guide the solar panel to the support structure (See Annotated Renaud-Byrne et al. Fig. 5B, below). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the one or more frames associated with attaching the solar panel to a support structure wherein the support structure comprises at least two anchoring poles, wherein the solar panel is configured to be held in a packaging that is configured to guide the solar panel to the support structure as disclosed by Renaud-Byrne et al. using Richter’s rollable photovoltaic for the advantage of having a deployment configuration that allows the modularity of flexible modular solar panel depending on the size of the application and readily deployed on site at a fraction of the time required to achieve the same for a traditional hard structured solar panel.
Annotated Renaud-Byrne et al. Fig. 5B
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richter et al. (US 2025/0141394 A1) in view of Conger (US 2008/0283112 A1).
In view of Claim 27, Richter et al. discloses a system (Fig. 15) comprising:
an array of vertical solar panels comprising a first row of vertical solar panels (Fig. 15, #100 & Paragraph 0273);
wherein the first row of vertical solar panels comprise a plurality of vertically installed solar panels (Fig. 15, #100 & Paragraph 0273);
wherein the solar panel comprises a reinforcing structure (Figs. 4 & 22 #141/#151) overmolded under tensile forces with a deformable material (Fig. 1, #120 & #130 – Paragraph 0230).
Richter et al. does not disclose that the configuration is an array that comprises an additional second row of vertical solar panels.
Conger discloses that an array can have multiple rows (Fig. 23) and that solar arrays with multiple rows can be used to provide optimal area coverage and shade for a parking lot. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include an additional second row of vertical panels in Richter et al. system for the advantage of providing a shaded parking lot.
Claim 28 & 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richter et al. (US 2025/0141394 A1) in view of Conger (US 2008/0283112 A1) in view of Renaud-Byrne et al. (US 2024/0388245 A1).
In view of Claims 28 & 31, Richter et al. and Conger are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 27. Richter et al. does not disclose an optimizer configured to determine power generated by the vertical solar panels.
Renaud-Byrne et al. discloses that solar panel optimizers improve the overall efficiency of a system by overcoming deficiencies caused by shading, different panel orientations, and uneven degradation, wherein they permit each solar panel to operate independently (Paragraph 0019). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have an optimizer in Richter et al. system configured to determine power generated by the vertical solar panels for the advantages of improving the overall efficiency of a system by overcoming deficiencies caused by shading, different panel orientations, and uneven degradation, wherein they permit each solar panel to operate independently.
Claim 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richter et al. (US 2025/0141394 A1) in view of Conger (US 2008/0283112 A1) in view of Renaud-Byrne et al. (US 2024/0388245 A1) in view of Overturf et al. (US 2025/0070710 A1).
In view of Claims 29-30, Richter et al., Conger, and Renaud-Byrne et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 28. Richter et al. does not disclose that the system comprises a controller; a drive unit; a drive source; and a power source, wherein the controller is configured to adjust a height of the first row of vertical solar panels relative to the second row of vertical solar panels via the power source, the drive source, and the drive unit, based on a trigger event from one or more measurement devices.
Conger discloses that inter-row shading can be a trigger for when solar panels should have their height adjusted because the height of the sun in the sky may vary sufficiently to affect the efficiency of the solar panels via a mechanism (Paragraph 0059). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have a mechanism in modified Richter et al. system based on inter-row shading in an array for adjusting the height of the first and second row of vertical solar panels for the advantages of maximizing the efficiency of the solar panels via this mechanism.
Modified Richter et al. does not disclose that this mechanism includes a controller, drive unit, drive source, or power source.
Overturf et al. discloses a mechanism that can adjust height includes a controller, drive unit, drive source and a power source to hereby effect the exposure of a system (Table 1, #203, #206, #230 – Paragraph 0020) and advantageously maximizes solar power outputs (Paragraph 0002). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to adopt the mechanism of Overturf et al. that includes a controller, a drive unit, drive source, and a power source as disclosed by Overturf et al. in modified Richter et al. system for the advantage of effecting the exposure of the system to maximize solar power outputs.
Conclusion
/DANIEL P MALLEY JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726