DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Amendments/REMARKS, filed on 04/22/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Yamamoto” (US 8689002 B2) in view of “Wei” et al. (US 12277082 B2), and further in view of “PAL” et al. (US 2022/0210236 A1).
Regarding Claim 1. Yamamoto discloses, A computer system for securely pairing a computing device with peripherals of a terminal device, the system comprising: the computing device, wherein the computing device includes a wireless communication interface [Yamamoto discloses NFC-Equipped Mobile Device 7 (FIG.1 and Abstract)];
the terminal device, wherein the terminal device includes a wired communication interface and a wireless communication interface [Yamamoto discloses NFC reader/writer (NFC-R/W) apparatus 9 (FIG.1 with col.5, lines 33-67)], wherein the peripherals of the terminal device are each configured to communicate with the terminal device using the wired communication interface of the terminal device [Yamamoto discloses image forming apparatus 1 as an example of a peripheral device connected to network 4, which may be wired or wireless LAN (FIG.1 with col.5, lines 33-67)]; and
wherein the computing device, the terminal device, see FIG.2 of Yamamoto, and FIGS.2A-2B of PAL), when executed, cause the respective computing device, terminal device, and session server [Yamamoto disclose an external server (col.8, lines 13-15)] to perform operations comprising: receiving, by the terminal deice, a command to launch a pairing application that places the terminal device in a mode for pairing one or more peripherals of the terminal device with the computing device [Yamamoto discloses NFC-R/W provides an interface with an NFC token 5 (the terminal device is active, FIGS.1 & 6)];
Yamamoto does not expressly disclose; but, Wei, analogues art, discloses in response to receiving the command to launch the pairing application, (i) generating, by the terminal device, connection information of the terminal device, wherein the connection information includes and identifier of the terminal device and is detectable by the computing device [Wei discloses, “a first peripheral device configured to electrically connect to a device platform, and the management method includes: by the host device, detecting a connection of the first peripheral device through the device platform; by the host device, receiving a first device identifier provided by the first peripheral device through the device platform” (Abstract); see Fig.2A, where Wei paring peripheral device process according to device identifier( steps S201-S205)];
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Yamamoto with the pairing teaching of Wei for managing multiple communication devices including a host device and at least one peripheral device.
Yamamoto in view of Wei further disclose,
and (ii) outputting, by the terminal device, connection information that identifies the terminal device [Yamamoto discloses NFC-R/W provides an interface with an NFC token 5 (FIG.1)];
detecting, by the computing device, the connection information that that includes identifier of the terminal device and that has been output by the terminal device [Yamamoto disclose Acquire NFC Token Information S204, FIG.6; and Abstract and Fig.2A of Wei];
in response to detecting the connection information and based on the identifier of the terminal device, transmitting, by the computing device using its wireless communication interface and for receipt by the terminal device, a trust negotiation initiation message [Yamamoto disclose Network Setting Authentication S201-206, FIG.6-7 (col.8, line 47 to col.9, line 29; and Abstract and Fig.2A of Wei];
after the trust negotiation initiation message has been transmitted, performing a trust negotiation protocol between the computing device, the terminal device, Yamamoto discloses PERFORM WLAN ASSOCIATION, or BLUETOOTH PAIRING, or WIRELESS-USB PAIRING S207-S217, FIGS.6-7 (col.9, lines 30-39)];
Yamamoto does not; but, PAL, analogues art, disclose
a facility server [Network server 14, FIG.1 of PAL]; and
receiving, by the terminal device using its wireless communication interface and from the computing device over the secure connection, a request to pair the one or more peripherals of the terminal device with the computing device [PAL discloses, “The modular platform includes a processor for acting as a bridge between one or more communication modules and each of the peripheral devices” (abstract with FIG.1); see also steps 60-64 of FIG.4A, where peripherals are scanned for connection]; and
in response to receiving the request to access the one or more peripherals of the terminal device, establishing, by the terminal device, a temporary pairing between the computing device and the one or more peripherals of the terminal device [PAL discloses, “The processor is configured translate the wired communication protocols of the peripheral devices to the wireless communication protocols of the communication modules to enable communication with a network server or a mobile device” (Abstract with FIG.1) ; see also steps 66-68 of FIG.4A, where peripherals are enables; i.e., paired].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Yamamoto with the teachings of PAL to establish IoT-based modular hardware platform.
Yamamoto in view of Wei, and further in view of PAL further disclose claims 2-3. The computer system of claim 1, wherein the computing device, the terminal device, and the facility server [Network server 14, FIG.1 of PAL] are included in a local network of a facility, with the computing device being a mobile computing device having a wireless connection to the local network of the facility, and with the terminal device and the facility server each having respective wired connections to the local network, wherein the one or more peripherals only have a wired connection to the terminal device and are not directly connected to the local network [Yamamoto discloses “A peripheral device includes an interface for connection to a wired or wireless LAN” (Abstract with FIG.1). PAL disclose wired communication (FIG.1 with par.0008-0039)]. The motivation to combine is the same as that of claim 1 above.
Yamamoto Wei, and further in view of in view of PAL further disclose claim 4. The computer system of claim 2, wherein the connection information that identifies the terminal device corresponds to an address of the terminal device on the local network [Yamamoto discloses address book 27-7 (FIG.4) and PAL disclose device address 86b (FIG.3B)]. The motivation to combine is the same as that of claim 1 above.
Yamamoto Wei, and further in view of in view of PAL further disclose claims 5-7. The computer system of claim 1, wherein outputting the connection information that identifies the terminal device is performed by the terminal device when a user is actively logged into the terminal device, and in response to the launching of a pairing application on the terminal device [Yamamoto discloses NFC-R/W provides an interface with an NFC token 5 (the terminal device is active, FIGS.1 & 6)], wherein the connection information that identifies the terminal device is visually output by a display of the terminal device, and wherein detecting the connection information by the computing device comprises performing a scan of the connection information using scanning hardware of the computing device [Yamamoto discloses visually displaying (FIG.6)], wherein the connection information that identifies the terminal device is output by the terminal device in a non-visual manner, and wherein detecting the connection information by the computing device comprises using non-visual detection hardware of the computing device to detect the connection information [PAL discloses non-visual detection (FIGS.1 & 4A)]. The motivation to combine is the same as that of claim 1 above.
Yamamoto Wei, and further in view of in view of PAL further disclose claim 8. The computer system of claim 2, wherein the trust negotiation protocol between the computing device, the terminal device, and the facility server comprises: in response to receiving the trust negotiation initiation message, transmitting, by the terminal device, a terminal device certificate for receipt by the computing device; after receiving the terminal device certificate, validating the terminal device certificate, by the computing device and based on terminal device certificate validation data provided by a certificate authority [CA 3, FIG1 of Yamamoto] of the facility server; in response to validating the terminal device certificate, transmitting, by the computing device, a computing device certificate for receipt by the terminal device; and after receiving the computing device certificate, validating the computing device certificate, by the terminal device and based on computing device certificate validation data provided by the certificate authority of the facility server [Yamamoto discloses, “control unit configured to check a legitimacy of a user based on a user-specific certificate stored in a communication-function-equipped device” (Abstract); Certificate information 6, 8 (FIG.1 with col.5, lines 33-67); see also FIGS.5 & 9-11 where PAL discloses selecting and using certificate]. The motivation to combine is the same as that of claim 1 above.
Yamamoto Wei, and further in view of in view of PAL further disclose claim 9-11. The computer system of claim 1, wherein the request to access one or more peripherals of the terminal device is a request to access all peripherals of the terminal device, wherein the request to access one or more peripherals of the terminal device is a request to access a particular one of the peripherals of the terminal device; and further comprising: transmitting, by the computing device and for receipt by the terminal device over the secure connection, the request to access one or more peripherals of the terminal device, wherein the request to access the one or more peripherals is initiated by a transaction building and processing application running on the computing device [Both Yamamoto and PAL can disclose one or more peripherals (Abstract and FIG.1 of Yamamoto, FIG.B of PAL)]. The motivation to combine is the same as that of claim 1 above.
Yamamoto Wei, and further in view of in view of PAL further disclose claim 12. The computer system of claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the terminal device, whether the one or more peripherals of the terminal device are currently paired with another computing device, wherein the terminal device establishes the temporary pairing between the computing device and the one or more peripherals of the terminal device when the one or more peripherals of the terminal device are not currently paired [PAL discloses, “The processor is configured translate the wired communication protocols of the peripheral devices to the wireless communication protocols of the communication modules to enable communication with a network server or a mobile device” (Abstract with FIG.1) ; see also steps 66-68 of FIG.4A, where peripherals are enables; i.e., paired]. The motivation to combine is the same as that of claim 1 above.
Yamamoto Wei, and further in view of in view of PAL further disclose claims 13-16. The computer system of claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the terminal device, whether a particular peripheral of the one or more peripherals of the terminal device is associated with a one-to-one pairing relationship or a one-to-many pairing relationship, wherein the terminal device establishes the temporary pairing between the computing device and the particular peripheral when the particular peripheral is associated with a one-to-many pairing relationship [PAL discloses, “The processor is configured translate the wired communication protocols of the peripheral devices to the wireless communication protocols of the communication modules to enable communication with a network server or a mobile device” (Abstract with FIG.1) ; see also steps 66-68 of FIG.4A, where peripherals are enables; i.e., paired]; further comprising: receiving, by the terminal device and from another computing device over another secure connection between the other computing device and the terminal device, another request to access the particular peripheral that is associated with the one-to-many pairing relationship; and in response to receiving the other request, concurrently establishing another temporary pairing between the other computing device and the particular peripheral; further comprising: after establishing the temporary pairing between the computing device and the one or more peripherals of the terminal device, receiving, by the terminal device and from the computing device, a peripheral device command for a particular peripheral of the one or more peripherals of the terminal device; and routing, by the terminal device, the peripheral device command to the particular peripheral; and further comprising: after establishing the temporary pairing between the computing device and the one or more peripherals of the terminal device, receiving, by the terminal device and from the peripheral, peripheral data generated by the peripheral; and routing, by the terminal device, the peripheral data to the computing device [Both Yamamoto and PAL can disclose peripherals establishing pairing and routing process (Abstract and FIG.1 of Yamamoto, FIG.B of PAL)]. The motivation to combine is the same as that of claim 1 above.
Yamamoto Wei, and further in view of in view of PAL further disclose claims 17-19. The computer system of claim 1, further comprising: after establishing the temporary pairing between the computing device and the one or more peripherals of the terminal device, maintaining a record of the established pairing at a datastore of the terminal device; further comprising: receiving, by the terminal device and from a terminal device application, a request to reclaim the one or more peripherals of the terminal device; and in response to receiving the request to reclaim the one or more peripherals of the terminal device, terminating, by the terminal device, the temporary pairing that has been established between the computing device and the one or more peripherals of the terminal device; and further comprising: receiving, by the terminal device and from the computing device, a command to release the one or more peripherals of the terminal device; and in response to receiving the command to release the one or more peripherals of the terminal device, terminating, by the terminal device, the temporary pairing that has been established between the computing device and the one or more peripherals of the terminal device [Yamamoto disclose reissuing token, disabling old token and token information is stored (FIG.13 with col.12, lines 15-23) and token status; i.e., pairing, is also regularly checked (see FIG.14 with col.12, lines 24-63)].
Yamamoto Wei, and further in view of in view of PAL further disclose claim 20. The computer system of claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the terminal device, that a timeout condition has occurred for a particular peripheral of the one or more peripherals of the terminal device; and in response to determining that the timeout condition has occurred, terminating, by the terminal device, the temporary pairing that has been established between the computing device and the particular peripheral of the terminal device [Yamamoto disclose checking if token is disabled or not used for certain period (see FIG.14 with col.12, lines 24-63)].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/AMARE F TABOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434