DETAILED ACTION
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is unclear. Going forward with examination, the abstract is interpreted to be (Note that in applicant’s response, where a change is requested in the abstract, a separate page of the abstract containing the change will be needed):
--Systems and methods described herein provide for a status of a piping system. A valve status detection system includes an activity detector configured to detect flow downstream of a valve in a pipeline of the piping system, and an analyzer assembly. The analyzer assembly stores one or more state detection logics corresponding to one or more use cases of the piping system and receives input to select a use case. The analyzer selects a state detection logic corresponding to the selected use case. The analyzer assembly identifies a flow reading based on a signal from the activity detector and determines a status of the piping system based on the flow reading and the selected state detection logic corresponding to the selected use case.--
Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Specification
The disclosure (specification) is objected to because the following paragraphs are unclear. Going forward with examination, the following specification paragraphs are interpreted to be (Note that in applicant’s response, where a change is requested in the specification, an entire paragraph of the specification containing the change will be needed):
--[0015] According to an implementation, a valve detection system includes an activity detector configured to detect flow downstream of a solenoid valve in a pipeline of a piping system, and an analyzer assembly. The analyzer assembly stores state detection logic for one or more use cases of the piping system and receives input to select a use case. The analyzer assembly identifies a flow reading based on a signal from the activity detector and determines a status of the piping system based on the flow reading and the state detection logic for the selected use case.--
--[0016] According to another implementation, a method of valve monitoring is performed by an analyzer device. The method includes storing, in a memory, state detection logic for one or more use cases of a piping system; receiving user input to select a use case of the piping system; and receiving a valve state signal for a solenoid valve and a flow signal from an activity detector. The activity detector may be located downstream of the solenoid valve. The method further includes identifying a valve state, based on the signal from [[the]] a valve state sensor; identifying a flow reading based on the flow signal from the activity detector; and determining a status of the piping system based on the valve state, the flow reading, and the state detection logic for the selected use case. The method may also include generating an alarm signal based on the determined status.--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. One of the omitted steps is: “select one of the state detection logics corresponding to the selected use case.”
Going forward with examination, the claims are interpreted to be:
--1. A system comprising:
an activity detector configured to monitor flow downstream or upstream of a valve in a pipeline of a piping system; and
an analyzer assembly including a processor and a memory configured to:
store one or more state detection logics corresponding to one or more use cases of [[a]] the piping system,
receive input to select a use case,
select one of the state detection logics corresponding to the selected use case,
identify a flow reading based on a signal from the activity detector, and
determine a status of the piping system, based on the flow reading and the selected state detection logic corresponding to the selected use case.--
--2. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more state detection logics correspond to use cases for an operational mode and a compliance test mode of the piping system.--
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the activity detector is configured to be secured to an outside surface of the pipeline or the valve.
--4. The system of claim 1, wherein the activity detector is configured to non-intrusively collect flow data from the pipeline so as to generate the signal for the analyzer assembly to identify the flow reading.--
--5. The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to process signals from the activity detector as signals for a group including one of gas flow, liquid flow, and mixed gas and liquid flow.--
--6. The system of claim 1, wherein, when identifying the flow reading, the processor is further configured to:
obtain a corresponding to a in the pipeline[[;]],
receive, from the activity detector, a monitoring signal[[;]], and
compare the monitoring signal to the
7. The system of claim 6, wherein, when identifying the flow reading, the processor is further configured to perform signal conditioning prior to the comparing.
--8. The system of claim 1, further comprising:
a valve state sensor corresponding to the valve in the pipeline[[;]],
wherein the processor is further configured to:
identify a valve state based on a signal from the valve state sensor, and
determine the status of the piping system, based on the valve state, the flow reading, and the state detection logic corresponding to the selected use case.--
--9. The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
identify one or more thresholds corresponding to the selected use case.--
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the analyzer assembly further includes a communication interface to send, to an external device, a signal indicating the determined status.
11. The system of claim 10, wherein the communication interface includes one of: a wired interface, a wireless local area network (LAN) interface, or a wireless personal area network (PAN) interface.
12. The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
send, to a collection device, a signal indicating the determined status.
13. The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
generate an alarm signal based on the determined status.
14. The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
store a life-cycle indicator for the valve, and
monitor received valve state data against the life-cycle indicator.
--15. The system of claim 1, further comprising:
an auxiliary sensor to detect one or more of temperature, moisture, vibration, or acceleration in the pipeline, wherein, when determining the status of the piping system, the processor is further configured to:
determine the status of the piping system based on a signal from the auxiliary sensor.--
--16. A method comprising:
storing, in a memory of an analyzer device, one or more state detection logics corresponding to one or more use cases of a piping system including a pipeline[[;]],
receiving, by the analyzer device, user input to select a use case of the piping system[[;]],
selecting one of the state detection logics corresponding to the selected use case,
receiving, by the analyzer device, a valve state signal from a valve state sensor corresponding to a valve in the pipeline and a flow signal from an activity detector, wherein the activity detector is located upstream or downstream of the valve[[;]],
identifying, by the analyzer device, a valve state[[,]] based on the valve state signal from the valve state sensor, and a flow reading based on the flow signal from the activity detector[[;]],
determining, by the analyzer device, a status of the piping system, based on the valve state, the flow reading, and the state detection logic for the selected use case[[;]], and
generating, by the analyzer device, an alarm signal based on the determined status.--
17. The method of claim 16, wherein the activity detector is secured to an outside surface of the pipeline.
18. The method of claim 16, wherein the flow signal includes a vibration level, and wherein identifying the flow reading comprises applying a monitoring threshold for one of a gas flow, a liquid flow, or a mixed gas and liquid flow.
19. The method of claim 16, further comprising:
sending, by the analyzer device and to a collection device, a signal indicating the determined status.
20. The method of claim 16. further comprising:
sending, by the analyzer device, interlock instructions to a valve in another pipeline of the piping system based on the determined status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13, 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gnoss et al. (US 10,048,160 B2; hereinafter “Gnoss”). Gnoss is a reference cited in an IDS filed on March 12, 2024.
Gnoss teaches:
1. A system comprising (See fig. 1, reproduced below):
an activity detector (which may be a mass flow sensor 1) configured to monitor flow downstream or upstream of a valve (2/3) in a pipeline of a piping system (of a gas-fired installation including but not limited to a water heater, boiler, stove, dryers, deep fryers, fireplace; Col. 1, lines 20-27); and
an analyzer assembly (= a control unit 12) including a processor and a memory (Col. 13, lines 9-24) configured to:
store one or more state detection logics (= program sequences, and/or test sequences; Col. 4, lines 1-9; lines 31-38; and/or Col. 6, line 60 – Col. 7, line 3) corresponding to one or more use cases of the piping system (e.g., a case of a normal firing request where the valve 2/3 will be open, and a case of no firing request where the valve 2/3 will be closed; Col. 6, line 60 – Col. 7, line 3) of the piping system,
receive input (= a request signal 16; Fig. 1) to select a use case (being either the case of a normal firing request or the case of no firing request; Fig. 1; Col. 4, lines 1-9),
select one of the state detection logics (program sequences/test sequences) corresponding to the selected use case (Col. 4, lines 1-9; lines 31-38; and/or Col. 6, line 60 – Col. 7, line 3),
identify a flow reading based on a signal from the activity detector 1 (Abstract; Figs. 2-6 and their descriptions), and
determine a status of the piping system (as being, e.g., “status correct” and/or “OK” and/or “small leakage” and/or “critical leakage” and/or “input pressure too low” and/or “input pressure too high”), based on the flow reading and the selected state detection logic corresponding to the selected use case (Col. 12, lines 15- 59).
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more state detection logics correspond to use cases for an operational mode (in which the valve 2/3 will be open), and a compliance test mode (in which the valve 2/3 will be closed for testing) of the piping system (so as to see if the valve 2/3 are actually open or closed in accordance with the receive input 16; Abstract; Col. 4, lines 1-9; lines 31-38; and/or Col. 6, line 60 – Col. 7, line 3).
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the activity detector (1) is configured to be secured to an outside surface of the pipeline or the valve (as is apparent from at least fig. 1. Also, please note that the mass flow sensor 1 may be secured or disposed in a variety of ways and still be within Gnoss teaching. It appears that the system would work equally well regardless whether the mass flow sensor 1 is inside or outside the pipeline).
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the activity detector (1) is configured to non-intrusively collect flow data from the pipeline so as to generate the signal for the analyzer assembly (12) to identify the flow reading (since the mass flow sensor 1 may be secured to outside surface of the pipeline or the valve).
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the processor (included in the analyzer assembly 12) is further configured to process signals from the activity detector (1) as signals for a group including one of gas flow (for the gas-fired installation), liquid flow, and mixed gas and liquid flow.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein, when identifying the flow reading, the processor is further configured to:
obtain a monitoring threshold (e.g., 0.1 m/s), of multiple monitoring thresholds (e.g., between 0.1 m/s and 5 m/s; Col. 2, lines 37-59), corresponding to a medium in the pipeline,
receive, from the activity detector (1), a monitoring signal 7 (Fig. 1), and
compare the monitoring signal (7) to the monitoring threshold to determine if there is flow of the first medium (Col. 3, lines 26-28; lines 41-52; Col. 12, lines 3-14).
7. The system of claim 6, wherein, when identifying the flow reading, the processor (12) is further configured to perform signal conditioning (e.g., filtering) prior to the comparing (Col. 9, lines 6-15).
8. The system of claim 1, further comprising:
a valve state sensor (being part of the controller 12) corresponding to the valve (2/3) in the pipeline (the valve state sensor provides an indication of valve status as a result of excitation/actuation of the valve 2/3 in accordance with the selected one of the state detection logics [program sequences/test sequences] corresponding to the selected use case; Col. 3, line 64 – Col. 4, line 9; Col. 6, lines 39-48),
wherein the processor (12) is further configured to:
identify a valve state (being open or closed) based on a signal from the valve state sensor (Col. 3, line 64 – Col. 4, line 9; Col. 6, lines 39-48), and
determine the status of the piping system, based on the valve state, the flow reading, and the state detection logic corresponding to the selected use case (Abstract; Col. 4, lines 1-9; lines 31-38; and/or Col. 6, line 60 – Col. 7, line 3).
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
identify one or more thresholds (e.g., between 0.1 m/s and 5 m/s; Col. 2, lines 37-59; Col. 3, lines 26-28; lines 41-52; Col. 12, lines 3-14) corresponding to the selected use case.
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the analyzer assembly (12) further includes a communication interface to send, to an external device (Col. 12, lines 28-32: “…external software components or physical components to process and/or display…”), a signal indicating the determined status (e.g., “status correct” and/or “OK” and/or “small leakage” and/or “critical leakage” and/or “input pressure too low” and/or “input pressure too high”).
11. The system of claim 10, wherein the communication interface includes one of:
a wired interface, a wireless local area network (LAN) interface, or a wireless personal area network (PAN) interface (which is essentially equivalent to a cloud computer; Col. 13, lines 9-24).
12. The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
send, to a collection device (which may be an external device), a signal 15 (Fig. 1) indicating the determined status (Col. 12, lines 28-32: “…external software components or physical components to process and/or display…”).
13. The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
generate an alarm signal based on the determined status (such an alarm signal may be a warning signal for maintenance; Col. 12, lines 39-42).
16 (essentially equivalent to claims 1, 8 and 13).
A method comprising:
storing, in a memory of an analyzer device (12), one or more state detection logics (= program sequences, and/or test sequences;” Col. 4, lines 1-9; lines 31-38; and/or Col. 6, line 60 – Col. 7, line 3) corresponding to one or more use cases of a piping system including a pipeline (e.g., a case of a normal firing request where the valve 2/3 will be open, and a case of no firing request where the valve 2/3 will be closed; Col. 6, line 60 – Col. 7, line 3),
receiving, by the analyzer device (12), user input (= a request signal 16; Fig. 1) to select a use case of the piping system (the use case being either the case of a normal firing request or the case of no firing request; Fig. 1; Col. 4, lines 1-9),
selecting one of the state detection logics (program sequences/test sequences) corresponding to the selected use case (Col. 4, lines 1-9; lines 31-38; and/or Col. 6, line 60 – Col. 7, line 3),
receiving, by the analyzer device (12), a valve state signal from a valve state sensor (being part of the controller 12 to provide an indication of valve status as a result of excitation/actuation of the valve 2/3) corresponding to a valve (2/3) in the pipeline and a flow signal from an activity detector (1), wherein the activity detector (1) is located upstream or downstream of the valve (2/3),
identifying, by the analyzer device (12), a valve state (being open or closed) based on the valve state signal from the valve state sensor, and a flow reading based on the flow signal from the activity detector (1),
determining, by the analyzer device (12), a status of the piping system, based on the valve state, the flow reading, and the state detection logic for the selected use case (the status as being “status correct” and/or “OK” and/or “small leakage” and/or “critical leakage” and/or “input pressure too low” and/or “input pressure too high”), and
generating, by the analyzer device (12), an alarm signal based on the determined status (such an alarm signal may be a warning signal for maintenance; Col. 12, lines 39-42).
17 (essentially equivalent to claim 3).
The method of claim 16, wherein the activity detector is secured to an outside surface of the pipeline (as is apparent from at least fig. 1. Also, please note that the activity detector 1 may be secured or disposed in a variety of ways and still be within Gnoss teaching).
19 (essentially equivalent to claim 12).
The method of claim 16, further comprising:
sending, by the analyzer device (12) and to a collection device (which may be an external device), a signal 15 (Fig. 1) indicating the determined status (Col. 12, lines 28-32: “…external software components or physical components to process and/or display…”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 and 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gnoss in view of Varga (WO 2016/203273 A1). Varga is a reference listed also in the IDS filed on March 12, 2024.
15. Gnoss teaches the system of claim 1, but is silent about: an auxiliary sensor to detect one or more of temperature, moisture, vibration, or acceleration in the pipeline, wherein, when determining the status of the piping system, the processor (12) is further configured to determine the status of the piping system based on a signal from the auxiliary sensor.
Varga teaches a system for determining a status of a safety valve (1) in a pipeline (26) of a piping system. The system comprises a mass flow sensor (14) and an acoustic sensor (13), wherein, when determining a status of the piping system, a processor (15) is configured to determine the status of the piping system based on a signal from the mass flow sensor (14) and the acoustic sensor (13).
During a test to determine a status of the valve (1), the valve (1) will start to leak. This can be quickly detected by the acoustic sensor (13) although no other measurable movement has been detected (Fig. 1, reproduced and annotated herein; Page 3, lines 21-27; Page 4, lines 16-25; Page 5, lines 1-5; Page 7, lines 12-25; Page 9, lines 18-19; lines 31-33). Evidently, the acoustic sensor (13) detects vibration of the pipeline (26).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to apply Varga teaching to Gnoss system by providing the system with an auxiliary sensor (being an acoustic sensor for example) to detect one or more of temperature, moisture, vibration, or acceleration in the pipeline, wherein, when determining the status of the piping system, the processor (12) is further configured to determine the status of the piping system based on a signal from the auxiliary sensor, in order to quickly detect when the valve (2/3) starts to leak, for example.
18 (essentially equivalent to claims 6 and 15).
Gnoss teaches the method of claim 16, and wherein identifying the flow reading comprises applying a monitoring threshold for one of a gas flow, a liquid flow, or a mixed gas and liquid flow (as is evident from the discussion above in claim 6).
Gnoss is silent about: wherein the flow signal includes a vibration level.
Varga teaches a system for determining a status of a safety valve (1) in a pipeline (26) of a piping system, wherein a flow signal includes a vibration level, in order to quickly detect when the valve (1) starts to leak (Page 3, lines 21-27; Page 4, lines 16-25; Page 5, lines 1-5; Page 7, lines 12-25; Page 9, lines 18-19; lines 31-33).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to apply Varga teaching to Gnoss method wherein the flow signal includes a vibration level, in order to quickly detect when the valve (2/3) starts to leak, for example.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims (provided that the objections and 112 rejections were overcome). The following would be a statement for indication of an allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 14, prior art of record doesn’t teach, suggest, or render obvious the total combination of the recited features, including the following allowable subject matter: “wherein the processor is further configured to store a life-cycle indicator for the valve, and monitor received valve state data against the life-cycle indicator.”
With respect to claim 20, prior art of record doesn’t teach, suggest, or render obvious the total combination of the recited features, including the following allowable subject matter: “sending, by the analyzer device, interlock instructions to a valve in another pipeline of the piping system based on the determined status.”
Conclusion
/Nguyen Q. Ha/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 February 18, 2026