DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the set of antennas" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ELSHAFIE et al PG PUB 2024/0171249.
Re Claim 1, ELSHAFIE et al teaches in figure 4A, a UE (an electronic device) receiving, using a set of antenna, CSI-RS (a reference signal) [0066] in a frequency band [0037]; the UE receiving, from a Base station (a wireless base station) a RRC message (a message; a first BWP configuration) indicating a SRS configuration with a set of SRS resource set (a subset of frequency resources) of the frequency band [0052]; 420 teaches the UE transmitting a SRS sounding reference (a RF signal) using the SRS resource set as indicated by the RRC message wherein the SRS signal being transmitted by a transmit antenna that is selected based on the SRS resource sets as identified by the RRC message [0067].
Re Claim 2, ELSHAFIE et al the SRS resource set (the subset of frequency resources) is configured within a specific/different BWP of the frequency band and the transmit antenna is selected based on the specific BWP as indicated by the RRC message [0074].
Re Claims 3, 6, ELSHAFIE et al teaches the specific BWP, a specific CC (a first and second BWPs; a first and second CCs) can be associated with different transmit antennas (a first and second antennas) [0067].
Re Claims 4, 7, 9, 10, ELSHAFIE et al teaches the UE receiving the CSI-RS (the reference signal) using each antenna in the set of antennas, based on the CSI estimation (wireless performance metric data), the UE is enabled to perform beam selection [0040 0057], in this case, to select the transmit antennas (a first and second antennas) using the first and second BWP(s)/CC(s)/reference symbols or set of PRBs.
Re Claim 5, ELSHAFIE et al teaches the RRC message can indicate a CC (a component carrier) of the frequency band [0074] and the transmit antenna is selected based on the CC.
Re Claim 8, ELSHAFIE et al teaches one or more frequency ranges (the subset of frequency resources) comprises symbols which includes a number of PRBs of the frequency band [0059] whereby the transmit antenna is selected based on reference symbols (the set of PRBs) [0040 0060].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Raghavan et al PG PUB 2021/0226681.
Re Claim 12, Raghavan et al teaches in figure 7, a UE 115-b (an electronic device comprising a receiver) receiving configuration information (a first message) for an antenna array associated with a upper mmWbands (BWP configuration) [0067 0095 0104] from a Base station 105-b (a wireless base station); figure 17, 1720 teaches transmitting a RS signal (a first RF) on a selected subset of antennas (a first transmit antenna) from the antenna array associated with the configuration information (the first message) wherein the UE selects the transmit antenna based on the link performance (first wireless performance metric) each antennas associated with the antenna array [0219] as identified in the configuration information.
Re Claims 13, 14, Raghavan et al teaches the RRC message [0095] and DCI [0138].
Re Claim 15, Raghavan et al teaches the UE identifying the best beam or transmit antenna (an antenna) having the highest signal quality (peak wireless performance metric data) associated with antenna array of the configuration (the first BWP configuration) [0098].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ELSHAFIE et al PG PUB 2024/0171249 in view of VADERNA et al PG PUB 2015/0296395.
Re Claim 11, ELSHAFIE et al teaches in figure 4A, the base station estimating a channel matrix based on the SRS sounding and intra or inter-group correlation 440. ELSHAFIE et al fails to explicitly teach “aggregating the wireless performance metric data into hierarchical bins, wherein the transmit antenna is selected based on the hierarchical bins…”. However, VADERNA et al teaches based on historical data (a network scheduling history), the data are aggregated performance metrics into bins associated with prevailing parameter values [0094]. By combining the teachings, channel matric in ELSHAFIE et al can be modified with the performance model in VADERNA et al to determining the prevailing parameter in selecting a reliable transmit antenna. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to have selected the transmit antenna based on the aggregated performance metric. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have combined the teachings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan et al PG PUB 2021/0226681 in view of Sakhnini et al PG PUB 2021/0314021.
Re Claim 16, Raghavan et al fails to explicitly teach “receiving…a switch from the first BWP configuration to a second BWP configuration; generating …a second wireless performance metric …the second BWP configuration…; transmitting…being selected from the set of antennas…second wireless performance metric data.”. However, Sakhnini et al teaches receiving from a base station BWP switching configuration for switching to a second BWP configuration to perform BFR procedure [0023]. By combining the teachings, the UE in Raghavan et al can be modified to receive a second message including the second BWP configuration indicating a second antenna array thereby generating a second performance metric to select another transmit antenna for the BFR procedure and transmit on the selected transmit antenna (a second transmit antenna) from the second antenna array (the second set of antennas…different from the first set of antenna sets) based on the second performance metric for reliability. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to have received the second BWP configuration to perform the BFR procedure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled to have combined the teachings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG et al PG PUB 2023/0084618 in view of Agarwal et al PG PUB 2024/0048213.
Re Claim 17, HUANG et al teaches in figure 3, a UE 350 (a electronic device) comprising one or more antennas 352 configured to receive message from a Base station 310 (a wireless base station); figure 15 teaches the UE receiving from the BS a configuration information identifying a PCC and SSS assigned to the UE [0129 also See figure 4]; the UE (includes a transmitter) configured to transmit a RF using a transmit antenna using the PCC or the SCC [0129]. HUANG et al fails to explicitly teach “generating a first and second performance metric from...using the PCC and SCC;”. However, Agarwal et al teaches figure 3, 303, the UE calculating an average metric of each beam across all CCs [0104] wherein the all CCs includes PCC and SCC assigned to the UE and 335 teaches selecting active beam with a maximum metric [0105]. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to have generated the first and second performance metric data based on the PCC and SCC to determine the maximum metric among all the CCs assigned to the UE. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have generated the performance metric data of all CCs including PCC and SCC to select the transmit antenna with the maximum metric.
Allowable Subject Matter-
Claims 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re Claim 18, prior art fails to teach using the PCC when performance data is below a threshold value; and using the PCC or the SCC when the performance data is above the threshold value as claimed.
/ANDREW LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475