DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Status of the Claims
Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 1-5 are currently examined herein.
Status of the Rejection
All 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections from the previous office action are essentially maintained and modified only in response to Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogiso (WO 2021/124987 A1, corresponding machine translation of JP 2021/565501 provided in cited references dated 10/21/2025) in view of Hino (US 2018/0284055 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ogiso teaches a sensor element (sensor element 10 in Figure 2 [para. 0025]), the sensor element comprising:
an element body (a long plate-shaped ceramic body 101 in Fig. 2 [para. 0025]) that includes a base part (element substrate 1 in Fig. 2 [para. 0025]) in an elongated plate shape (element substrate 1 has an elongated plate shape [para. 0024], also illustrated in Fig. 2), including an oxygen-ion-conductive solid electrolyte layer (ceramic body 101 is made of a ceramic containing yttrium-stabilized zirconia, which is an oxygen-ion conductive solid electrolyte [para. 0026]), and a measurement-object gas flow cavity (sensor device 10 contains a serial three chamber structure having a first internal chamber 102, a second internal chamber 103, and a third internal chamber 104, with the first internal chamber 102 communicating with the gas introduction port 105 that is open to the outside; illustrated in Fig. 2 [para. 0027]) formed on a side of one end in a longitudinal direction of the base part (as illustrated in Fig. 2, the serial three chamber structure, such as gas introduction port 105 and first internal chamber 102, is formed on one side end in the longitudinal direction of the base part of element substrate 1, where the leading-end protective layer 2 covers the sensor element 10); and
a porous protective layer (leading-end protective layer 2 in Fig. 2 [para. 0024], which is composed of an inner protective layer 21 and an outer protective layer 22 [para. 0047]) that is formed from the one end in the longitudinal direction of the base part (as illustrated in Fig. 2, leading-end protective layer 2 covers an end surface [a 101e portion], and outer sides of four sides surfaces of sensor device 10 [para. 0025]) and covers a surface of a predetermined length in the longitudinal direction of the element body (leading-end protective layer is provided within a predetermined range from one end of the ceramic base body [para. 0018]), wherein
the element body comprises: an intracavity electrode (internal pump electrode 142 in Fig. 2 [para. 0029]) disposed in the measurement-object gas flow cavity (as illustrated in Fig. 2, internal pump electrode 142 is disposed in the first internal space 102 [para. 0029]); and an extracavity electrode (external pump electrode 141 [para. 0029]) that has a predetermined length in the longitudinal direction of the base part (as illustrated in Fig. 2, internal pump electrode 142 and external pump electrode 141 are disposed in a predetermined length in the longitudinal direction of the base part), is disposed on one principal surface of two principal surfaces of the element body (as illustrated in Fig. 2, external pump electrode 141 is provided on a top principal surface of the outer surface of the ceramic body 101; the second principal surface corresponds to the bottom of the sensor element 10), and corresponds to the intracavity electrode (main pump cell P1 is an electrochemical pump cell which is formed by external [outer] pump electrode 141 and internal [inner] pump electrode 142 [para. 0031]); and
the protective layer comprises an inner layer (inner protective layer 21 in Fig. 2 [para. 0047]) covering the element body (inner protective layer 21 covers the element boy as illustrated in Fig. 2) and an outer layer (outer protective layer 22 in Fig. 2 [para. 0047]) positioned outside the inner layer on at least the one principal surface on which with extracavity electrode exists (as illustrated in Fig. 2, outer protective layer 22 is positioned outside the inner protective layer 21 and cover the external pump electrode 141).
Regarding the anterior region, the main region, the electrode presence region, and the posterior region of instant claim 1, see Annotated Figure 2 of Ogiso below:
Annotated Figure 2 of Ogiso
the protective layer has, on the one principal surface on which the extracavity electrode exists, a main region (as illustrated in Annotated Fig. 2, main region includes an electrode presence region and a posterior region) including an electrode presence region in which the extracavity electrode exists (as illustrated in Annotated Fig. 2, the electrode presence region corresponds to a section in the longitudinal region of sensor element 10 that includes the outer pump electrode 141) and a posterior region following to the electrode presence region (as illustrated in Annotated Fig. 2, a posterior region corresponds to a region to the right of the electrode presence region in the longitudinal direction that ends when the inner leading-end protective layer 2 stops covering the sensor element 10 in the longitudinal direction); and an anterior region from the one end in the longitudinal direction of the base part to the electrode presence region, in the longitudinal direction of the base part (as illustrated in Annotated Figure 2, the anterior region corresponds a region from the one end part to the start of the electrode presence region); and wherein
a porosity in the inner layer on a front end surface of the element body (inner layer on a front end surface corresponds to the inner layer located at left of the Anterior region in Annotated Figure 2 above) is equivalent to the porosity in the main region of the inner layer (inner leading-end protection layer 21 is provided such that the total porosity has a value within a range of 50% to 90% [para. 0079]; also illustrated in Annotated Figure 2 above), and
a porosity of the outer layer is lower than the porosity in the anterior region of the inner layer (outer leading-end protective layer 22 has a porosity smaller than that of the inner leading-end protective layer 21 [para. 0050]);
the limitation “for detecting a target gas to be measured in a measurement-object gas” is an intended use limitation. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does [MPEP 2114(II)]. A functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. In the instant case, Ogiso teaches sensor element 10 is a ceramic structure that can detect NOx as the target gas in a measurement-object gas [paras. 0029-0030]. Thus, the sensor element 10 of Ogiso is capable of detecting a target gas (NOx) to be measured in a measurement-object gas.
Ogiso is silent on a porosity in the anterior region of the inner layer is lower than a porosity in the main region of the inner layer.
Hino teaches a sensor element with a porous thermal shock resistance layer (abstract). Although Hino does not explicitly teach a porosity in the anterior region of the inner layer is lower than a porosity in the main region of the inner layer, Hino teaches a thermal shock resistant layer 180 in Fig. 1 (which corresponds to inner protective layer 21 of Ogiso), and that the thermal resistant layer 180 can be intentionally made to have different porosities at different positions [para. 0075].
Ogiso and Hino are considered analogous art to the claimed inventions because they are in the same field of NOx gas sensors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inner protective layer of Ogiso to have different porosities at different positions, as taught by Hino, as the thermal shock resistant layer can have different porosities at different positions as long as the thermal diffusion time satisfies a predetermined range to prevent water-induced cracking (Hino, [para. 0075]). In addition, because the porosity of the inner layer in the anterior region can either be less than the porosity of the inner layer in the main region, equal to the porosity of the inner layer in the main region, or greater than the porosity of the inner layer in the main region, there are three identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try by choosing from the above three identified solutions, which would lead to choosing a porosity in the anterior region of the inner layer is lower than a porosity in the main region of the inner layer. Choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation for success, is likely to be obvious to a person if ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143 (I)(E)).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Ogiso teaches the sensor element according to claim 1.
Ogiso is silent on wherein the porosity in the anterior region of the inner layer is lower than the porosity in the main region of the inner layer by 5% by volume or more.
However, as the thermal shock resistant layer 180 is intentionally made to have different porosities at different positions or has unintentional non-uniformity and variance in the porosity thereof to prevent water-induced cracking as long as the thermal diffusion time in the thickness direction satisfies a predetermined condition (Hino, [para. 0075]), the property including different porosities at different positions of the thermal shock resistance layer affects the water-induced cracking of the sensor element (Hino, [para. 0002]). As water-induced cracking is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the property of thermal shock resistance layer including its porosity at different positions, the precise porosity of thermal shock resistance layer, including the porosities at different positions, would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed porosity of the thermal shock resistance layer cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the porosity of the inner layer of modified Ogiso to obtain a porosity in the anterior region of the inner layer is lower than the porosity in the main region of the inner layer by 5% by volume or more, in order to prevent water-induced cracking of the sensor element. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Ogiso teaches the sensor element according to claim 1.
Ogiso is silent on wherein the porosity in the anterior region of the inner layer is lower than the porosity in the main region of the inner layer by 10% by volume or more.
However, as the thermal shock resistant layer 180 is intentionally made to have different porosities at different positions or has unintentional non-uniformity and variance in the porosity thereof to prevent water-induced cracking as long as the thermal diffusion time in the thickness direction satisfies a predetermined condition (Hino, [para. 0075]), the property including different porosities at different positions of the thermal shock resistance layer affects the water-induced cracking of the sensor element (Hino, [para. 0002]). As water-induced cracking is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the property of thermal shock resistance layer including its porosity at different positions, the precise porosity of thermal shock resistance layer, including the porosities at different positions, would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed porosity of the thermal shock resistance layer cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the porosity of the inner layer of modified Ogiso to obtain a porosity in the anterior region of the inner layer is lower than the porosity in the main region of the inner layer by 10% by volume or more, in order to prevent water-induced cracking of the sensor element. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Ogiso teaches the sensor element according to claim 1.
Ogiso teaches wherein the posterior region of the protective layer extends in the longitudinal direction of the base part to a position farther from the one end in the longitudinal direction of the base part than the measurement-object gas flow cavity (as illustrated in Annotated Fig. 2, a posterior region corresponds to a region to the right of the electrode presence region in the longitudinal direction that ends when the inner leading-end protective layer 2 stops covering the sensor element 10 in the longitudinal direction, which extends in the longitudinal direction further than the measurement-object gas flow cavity that includes the serial three chamber structure having a first internal chamber 102, a second internal chamber 103, and a third internal chamber 104, with the first internal chamber 102 communicating with the gas introduction port 105).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Ogiso teaches the sensor element according to claim 1.
Ogiso is silent on wherein, on the one principal surface on which the extracavity electrode exists, a porosity of the inner layer is stepwise or continuously increased in the longitudinal direction of the base part from the one end in the longitudinal direction of the base part.
Hino teaches that the thermal shock resistant layer 180 can be intentionally made to have different porosities at different positions, or have variance in porosity [para. 0075]).
However, as the thermal shock resistant layer 180 is intentionally made to have different porosities at different positions or has unintentional non-uniformity and variance in the porosity thereof to prevent water-induced cracking as long as the thermal diffusion time in the thickness direction satisfies a predetermined condition (Hino, [para. 0075]), the property including different porosities at different positions of the thermal shock resistance layer affects the water-induced cracking of the sensor element (Hino, [para. 0002]). As water-induced cracking is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the property of thermal shock resistance layer including its porosity at different positions, the precise porosity of thermal shock resistance layer, including the porosities at different positions, would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed porosity of the thermal shock resistance layer cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the porosity of the inner layer of modified Ogiso wherein, on the one principal surface on which the extracavity electrode exists, a porosity of the inner layer is stepwise or continuously increased in the longitudinal direction of the base part from the one end in the longitudinal direction of the base part, in order to prevent water-induced cracking of the sensor element. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks pgs. 5-14, filed 07/20/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections and amended claims have been fully considered.
Applicant’s Argument #1:
Applicant traverses the 35 U.S.C 103 prior art rejections by amending independent claim 1 to further include “a porosity in the inner layer on a front end surface of the element body is equivalent to the porosity in the main region of the inner layer”. In addition, Applicant argues that the rejection of Ogiso in view of Hino uses impermissible hindsight as Ogiso does not identify the discrete regions: anterior region, electrode presence region, and the posterior region, and Hino merely states that the outer protective layer can have different thicknesses and different porosities; however, there is no teaching in the prior art to apply different porosities to discrete regions in the inner region as claimed.
Examiner’s Response #1:
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. Ogiso teaches the amended limitation “a porosity in the inner layer on a front end surface of the element body is equivalent to the porosity in the main region of the inner layer” (see Claim 1 rejection above). In addition, although the Examiner agrees that neither Ogiso nor Hino identifies by name the discrete regions: anterior region, electrode presence region, and the posterior region by name, the sensor element of Ogiso, including the inner porosity layer can be described in a similar manner identifying these various regions (see Annotated Figure 2 of Ogiso above). In addition, Hino teaches the thermal resistant layer 180 can be intentionally made to have different porosities at different positions [para. 0075], which may, for example, correspond to any of the anterior region, electrode presence region, and/or posterior region.
Applicant’s Argument #2:
Applicant traverses the Examiner’s interpretation of the porosity of the inner layer as a results effective variable (REV). As Hino only teaches that the thermal shock resistant layer 180 is provided to have a property of water resistance and to prevent water-induced cracking of the sensor element 100, and the porosity range of the thermal shock resistant layer 180. Hino fails to teach or suggest that the thermal shock resistant layer affects the measurement accuracy of oxygen concentration. Thus, as the measurement accuracy of oxygen concentration of the sensor element is not taught or suggested by Hino; and ensuring the measurement accuracy of oxygen concentration is a different property than preventing water-induced cracking. Therefore, the measurement accuracy of oxygen concentration of the sensor element is not known by one having ordinary skill in the art. As such, “a porosity in the anterior region of the inner layer” required in the presently claimed invention is not recognized as a result effective variable.
Examiner’s Response #2:
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. As Hino teaches the thermal shock resistant layer 180 is provided to have a property of water resistance (Hino, [paras. 0042, 0045]) and to prevent water-induced cracking (Hino, [para. 0045]), as well as teaches that the porosity may vary within the same protective layer to intentionally have different porosities at different positions (Hino, [para. 0075]), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to consider the porosity a result effective variable before the effective filing date of the invention. Although Applicant discloses unexpected results of increasing measurement accuracy of oxygen concentration, one of ordinary skill in the art would still be motivated to modify Ogiso with Hino to arrive at the presently claimed invention as the porosity of the inner layer is considered a REV.
Conclusion
/R.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1795
/SHIZHI QIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795