Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 7, and 9 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2020/165545 A1 (“Tourrette”).
Regarding claim 1, Tourrette discloses a connector (2) which is configured to be mounted on a mounting object (see [0004]) and fitted to a counter connector (1) along a fitting direction and which includes a plurality of contacts (21 – 24) to be connected to a plurality of counter contacts (11 – 14) retained by a housing of the counter connector, the mounting object having a plurality of wiring portions disposed thereon, and the housing having rigidity and insulating property (1 is a rigid PCB, see [0041]), the connector comprising:
a sheet member (2) extending in a direction orthogonal to the fitting direction and having flexibility (see the abstract) and insulating property (elastomer, see at least [0041]);
the plurality of contacts (21 – 24) retained by the sheet member at positions distanced from each other in a predetermined direction along a surface of the sheet member (Fig. 8); and
a plurality of flexible conductors (210, 230) disposed on the sheet member and configured to electrically connect the plurality of contacts to the plurality of wiring portions of the mounting object,
wherein the sheet member is stretchable at least in the predetermined direction (see at least Figs. 8 and 8A, and the abstract), and
with a portion of the sheet member situated between the plurality of contacts being elastically stretched in the predetermined direction, the connector is fitted to the counter connector, and the plurality of contacts separately make contact with and are electrically connected to the plurality of counter contacts due to a shrinking force generated in the sheet member (see Figs. 8 and 8A, and [0046]).
Regarding claim 2, Tourrette discloses wherein the plurality of contacts (21 – 24) are separately arranged in two contact arrays (upper and lower arrays, see Fig. 8), the two contact arrays being distanced from each other in the predetermined direction and each extending in a direction orthogonal to the predetermined direction (see Fig. 8),
the plurality of counter contacts (11 – 14) are separately arranged in two counter contact arrays, the two counter contact arrays being distanced from each other in the predetermined direction and each extending in a direction orthogonal to the predetermined direction (see Fig. 8), and
when no external force acts on the sheet member, a distance along the predetermined direction between the two counter contact arrays is longer than a distance along the predetermined direction between the two contact arrays (d2 is less than d2’, see Figs. 8 and 8A).
Regarding claim 3, Tourrette discloses wherein the sheet member (2) includes a fitting portion (the right end in Figure 8) that is superposed on the counter connector when the connector is fitted to the counter connector (the right end overlays 1, see Fig. 8A), and a mounting portion (the left end in Figure 8) that is configured to be mounted on the mounting object (2 is configured to be integrated into a garment, see at least [0041]),
the plurality of contacts (21 – 24) are retained in the fitting portion of the sheet member (see Fig. 8A), and
the plurality of flexible conductors (210, 230) include a plurality of first connection portions disposed in the fitting portion (the portions of 210/230 which are in the right end) and electrically connected to the plurality of contacts, a plurality of second connection portions disposed in the mounting portion (the portions of 210/230 in the left end) and configured to be electrically connected to the plurality of wiring portions of the mounting object, and a plurality of joint portions (the portions of 210/230 located between the left and right end portions) joining the plurality of first connection portions to the plurality of second connection portions.
Regarding claim 7, Tourrette discloses wherein the plurality of flexible conductors separately extend from the first connection portions toward the second connection portions in a zigzag manner ([0041]).
Regarding claim 9, Tourrette discloses wherein the connector is configured to be mounted on a garment as the mounting object ([0004]).
Regarding claim 10, Tourrette discloses a connector assembly comprising:
the connector according to claim 1 (see above); and
the counter connector (2) to which the connector is fitted (see Fig. 8A).
Regarding claim 11, Tourrette discloses a connecting structure (2) for connecting a plurality of contacts (21 – 24) of a connector, which connector is configured to be mounted on a mounting object ([0004]) and fitted to a counter connector (1) along a fitting direction, to a plurality of counter contacts (11 – 14) retained by a housing of the counter connector, the mounting object having a plurality of wiring portions (210, 230) disposed thereon, and the housing having rigidity and insulating property,
wherein the connector includes a sheet member (2) extending in a direction orthogonal to the fitting direction and having flexibility (see the abstract) and insulating property (elastomer, see at least [0041]), the plurality of contacts (21 – 24) retained by the sheet member at positions distanced from each other in a predetermined direction along a surface of the sheet member (see Fig. 8), and a plurality of flexible conductors (210, 230) disposed on the sheet member and configured to electrically connect the plurality of contacts to the plurality of wiring portions of the mounting object (see Fig. 8),
the sheet member is stretchable at least in the predetermined direction (see at least Figs. 8 and 8A, and the abstract), and
with a portion of the sheet member situated between the plurality of contacts being elastically stretched in the predetermined direction, the connector is fitted to the counter connector, and the plurality of contacts separately make contact with and are electrically connected to the plurality of counter contacts due to a shrinking force generated in the sheet member (see Figs. 8 and 8A).
Regarding claim 12, Tourrette discloses a connecting method for connecting a plurality of contacts (21 – 24) of a connector (2), which connector is configured to be mounted on a mounting object ([0041]) and fitted to a counter connector (1) along a fitting direction, to a plurality of counter contacts (11 – 14) retained by a housing of the counter connector, the mounting object having a plurality of wiring portions disposed thereon (the object has the circuitry of the connector mounted thereon), and the housing having rigidity and insulating property (1 is a PCB),
wherein the connector includes a sheet member (2) extending in a direction orthogonal to the fitting direction and having flexibility (see the abstract) and insulating property (elastomer, see at least [0041]), the plurality of contacts (21 – 24)retained by the sheet member at positions distanced from each other in a predetermined direction along a surface of the sheet member (see Fig. 8), and a plurality of flexible conductors (210, 230) disposed on the sheet member and configured to electrically connect the plurality of contacts to the plurality of wiring portions of the mounting object (see Figs. 7, 8),
the sheet member is stretchable at least in the predetermined direction (see Figs. 8, 8A),
the connecting method comprising:
fitting the connector to the counter connector with a portion of the sheet member situated between the plurality of contacts being elastically stretched in the predetermined direction (see Figs. 8, 8A); and
making the plurality of contacts separately contact with the plurality of counter contacts due to a shrinking force generated in the sheet member to electrically connect the plurality of contacts to the plurality of counter contacts (see Figs. 8, 8A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tourrette in view of U.S. Pat. No. 11,198,961 (“Perera”).
Regarding claim 4, Tourrette discloses wherein the sheet member is formed of a rubber material ([0041]), but does not disclose the plurality of flexible conductors are each formed of a conductive thread embroidered on or woven into the sheet member.
However, Perera teaches a stretchable conductive sheet member, the member being a stretchable material such as a fabric having flexible conductors, and the flexible conductors are formed of a conductive thread embroidered on or woven into the sheet member (see col. 10, lns. 62 – 67). It would have been obvious to provide the sheet with the flexible conductors as taught by Perera, because this provides the conductive structure in a pattern which helps ensure the conductive member is not exposed to excessive mechanical forces.
Claims 5 and 6 a rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tourrette in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0233854 (“Komoto”).
Regarding claim 5, Tourrette discloses wherein the plurality of counter contacts (11 – 14) each include a shape projecting in the fitting direction from the housing (the contacts are hook shaped or U shaped, [0060]),
the plurality of contacts are each formed of a conductive member of ring shape in which a corresponding one of the counter contacts is inserted (see Fig. 8), and
an inner peripheral portion of the conductive member makes contact with an outer peripheral portion of the projecting portion due to the shrinking force generated in the sheet member (see Fig. 8A).
Tourrette does not disclose the shape of the counter contacts as being a tubular portion of cylindrical shape. However, Komoto discloses a connector with counter contacts 13, which have a tubular portion of cylindrical shape projecting from a connector and presenting a ridge for engaging with a contact which encircles it (see Fig. 7). It would have been obvious to make the projecting contacts of Tourrette in the shape as taught by Komoto, because such a shape is stable and presents a retaining ridge which presents a U shaped profile around the entirety of the contact structure, which helps engage and retain a mated contact.
Regarding claim 6, Tourrette discloses wherein the plurality of contacts each include a projecting portion in the fitting direction from the sheet member (2 may have the projecting contact structure, see Fig. 4 and [0073]),
the plurality of counter contacts are each formed of a conductive member of ring shape (11 – 14 are ring shaped, see Fig. 4) in which a corresponding one of the contacts is inserted (see Fig. 4 and [0073]), and
an outer peripheral portion of the projecting portion makes contact with an inner peripheral portion of the conductive member due to the shrinking force generated in the sheet member (see Fig. 4).
Tourrette does not disclose the shape of the contacts as being a tubular portion of cylindrical shape. However, Komoto discloses a connector with contacts 13, which have a tubular portion of cylindrical shape projecting from a connector and presenting a ridge for engaging with a contact which encircles it (see Fig. 7). It would have been obvious to make the projecting contacts of Tourrette in the shape as taught by Komoto, because such a shape is stable and presents a retaining ridge which presents a U shaped profile around the entirety of the contact structure, which helps engage and retain a mated contact.
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tourrette in view of U.S. Pat. No. 10,854,355 (“Mahajan”).
Regarding claim 8, Tourrette does not disclose an auxiliary member that is stretchable and is attached to a surface of the sheet member opposite from a surface facing the counter connector and at a position corresponding to the fitting portion.
However, Mahajan teaches stretchable conductive members having a layer with wiring and access points 29 for connecting to a mating connector as seen in Figure 1A, and which includes an auxiliary member that is stretchable and is attached to a surface of the sheet member opposite from a surface facing a counter connector and at a position corresponding to the fitting portion (additional layer 21 underneath the access point). It would have been obvious to provide an auxiliary member as taught by Mahajan because this provides reinforcement for the substrate layer (see col. 22, lns. 55 – 67).
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL D BAILLARGEON/Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/renee s luebke/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2831