DETAILED ACTION
Change of Examiner and/or Art Unit
The Examiner and/or Art Unit location of your application in the PTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Group Art Unit 1647, Examiner Regina M. DeBerry.
Status of Application, Amendments and/or Claims
The amendment, filed 23 October 2024, has been entered in full. Claims 16-18, 20-27, 29-32 are canceled. Claims 1-12, 14, 15, 19, 28, 33 and 34 are amended. New claim 35 is added. Claims 1-15, 19, 28, 33-35 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) (filed 5/3/24, 10/23/24, 7/10/25, 10/27/25 and 9/2/26) were received and comply with the provisions of 37 CFR §§1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. They have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 6 and 11 are objected to because they recite an improper Markush group. See MPEP 2173.05 (h) which teaches when materials recited in a claim are so related as to constitute a proper Markush group, they may be recited in the conventional manner, or alternatively. For example, if “wherein R is a material selected from the group consisting of A, B, C and D” is a proper limitation, then “wherein R is A, B, C or D” shall also be considered proper. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 19, 28, 33 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Eveleth et al. (Reference submitted by Applicant, WO 2018/204847; published Nov 8, 2018).
Eveleth et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising a modified FGF-1 polypeptide comprising wildtype FGF-1 sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 with mutations Cys16Ser, Ala66Cys and Cys117Val and an N-terminal methionine residue positioned up stream of the first residue of SEQ ID NO:1 (paras 0002, 0008, 0009, 0011 and 0099)(applies to claim 1). Eveleth et al. teach the modified FGF-1 polypeptide as SEQ ID NO:2 (paras 0009, 0031, 0116 and claims)(applies to claim 19).
Eveleth et al. teach using the pharmaceutical composition comprising the modified FGF-1 polypeptide to treat ocular diseases, disorders or conditions. Eveleth et al. teach in some embodiments, the ocular disease, disorder or condition is a disease, disorder, or condition of the cornea or ocular surface. In some embodiments, the ocular disease, disorder or condition is a disease, disorder, or condition of the corneal endothelium. In some embodiments, the disease, disorder, or condition of the corneal endothelium is Fuch's dystrophy, bullous keratopathy, congenital hereditary endothelial dystrophy 1, congenital hereditary endothelial dystrophy 2, posterior polymorphous corneal dystrophy, or a dry eye syndrome. In some embodiments, the ocular disease, disorder or condition is Fuch's dystrophy. In some embodiments, the ocular disease, disorder or condition is a disease, disorder, or condition of the corneal epithelium. In some embodiments, the disease, disorder, or condition of the corneal epithelium is a dry eye syndrome or corneal epithelial damage from corneal surgery or transplantation. In some embodiments, the corneal surgery is photorefractive keratotomy (PRK) or laser-assisted in situ keratomileusis (LASIK). In some embodiments, the ocular disease, disorder or condition is a disease, disorder, or condition of the corneal stroma. In some embodiments, the disease, disorder, or condition of the corneal stroma is keratoconus, lattice corneal dystrophy, granular corneal dystrophy, macular corneal dystrophy, Schnyder crystalline corneal dystrophy, congenital stromal corneal dystrophy, or fleck corneal dystrophy (para 0017)(applies to claims 2 and 28)
Eveleth et al. teach using the pharmaceutical composition comprising the modified FGF-1 polypeptide to treat Stevens-Johnson syndrome, and herpetic keratopathy, which Eveleth et al. teach is an infection of the cornea caused by Herpes Simplex virus (HSV)(applies to claims 6 and 28). Eveleth et al. teach using the pharmaceutical composition comprising the modified FGF-1 polypeptide to treat lacrimation, blepharospasm, irritation, pain, and photophobia (paras 0124-0130)(applies to claims 9 and 28).
Eveleth et al. teach administering the pharmaceutical composition comprising the modified FGF-1 polypeptide topically and via eye drops (paras 0150)(applies to claims 33 and 34). Eveleth et al. teach the pharmaceutical composition comprising modified FGF-1 polypeptide additionally comprises glycerin, propylene glycol, polysorbates (polysorbate 80 or polysorbate 20) and sodium citrate. Eveleth et al. teach the pH of the formulation is usually within the range acceptable to ophthalmologic formulations, such as within the range of pH 4 to 8 (para 00151).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 19, 28, 33 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eveleth et al. (WO 2018/204847; published Nov 8, 2018) in view of Chaudhary, M. (European Journal of Biomedical and Pharmaceutical Sciences Volume 7, Issue 8, 709-717, 2020) and Roh et al. (Cornea Vol. 35, No. 2, pp. 187-92, ABSTRACT, Feb 2016).
Eveleth et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising a modified FGF-1 polypeptide comprising wildtype FGF-1 sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 with mutations Cys16Ser, Ala66Cys and Cys117Val and an N-terminal methionine residue positioned up stream of the first residue of SEQ ID NO:1 (paras 0002, 0008, 0009, 0011 and 0099)(applies to claim 1). Eveleth et al. teach the modified FGF-1 polypeptide as SEQ ID NO:2 (paras 0009, 0031, 0116 and claims)(applies to claim 19).
Eveleth et al. teach using the pharmaceutical composition comprising the modified FGF-1 polypeptide to treat ocular diseases, disorders or conditions. Eveleth et al. teach in some embodiments, the ocular disease, disorder or condition is a disease, disorder, or condition of the cornea or ocular surface. In some embodiments, the ocular disease, disorder or condition is a disease, disorder, or condition of the corneal endothelium. In some embodiments, the disease, disorder, or condition of the corneal endothelium is Fuch's dystrophy, bullous keratopathy, congenital hereditary endothelial dystrophy 1, congenital hereditary endothelial dystrophy 2, posterior polymorphous corneal dystrophy, or a dry eye syndrome. In some embodiments, the ocular disease, disorder or condition is Fuch's dystrophy. In some embodiments, the ocular disease, disorder or condition is a disease, disorder, or condition of the corneal epithelium. In some embodiments, the disease, disorder, or condition of the corneal epithelium is a dry eye syndrome or corneal epithelial damage from corneal surgery or transplantation. In some embodiments, the corneal surgery is photorefractive keratotomy (PRK) or laser-assisted in situ keratomileusis (LASIK). In some embodiments, the ocular disease, disorder or condition is a disease, disorder, or condition of the corneal stroma. In some embodiments, the disease, disorder, or condition of the corneal stroma is keratoconus, lattice corneal dystrophy, granular corneal dystrophy, macular corneal dystrophy, Schnyder crystalline corneal dystrophy, congenital stromal corneal dystrophy, or fleck corneal dystrophy (para 0017)(applies to claims 2 and 28). Eveleth et al. teach using the pharmaceutical composition comprising the modified FGF-1 polypeptide to treat Stevens-Johnson syndrome, and herpetic keratopathy, which Eveleth et al. teach is an infection of the cornea caused by Herpes Simplex virus (HSV)(applies to claims 6 and 28). Eveleth et al. teach using the pharmaceutical composition comprising the modified FGF-1 polypeptide to treat lacrimation, blepharospasm, irritation, pain, and photophobia (paras 0124-0130)(applies to claims 9 and 28). Eveleth et al. teach administering the pharmaceutical composition comprising the modified FGF-1 polypeptide topically and via eye drops (paras 0150)(applies to claims 33 and 34). Eveleth et al. teach the pharmaceutical composition comprising modified FGF-1 polypeptide additionally comprises glycerin, propylene glycol, polysorbate (polysorbate 80 or polysorbate 20) and sodium citrate. Eveleth et al. teach the pH of the formulation is usually within the range acceptable to ophthalmologic formulations, such as within the range of pH 4 to 8 (para 00151).
Eveleth et al. teach using the pharmaceutical composition comprising the modified FGF-1 polypeptide to treat diabetes, Parkinson’s disease, systemic lupus erythematosus, arthritis, or other inflammatory rheumatic disorder (para 00143) and autoimmune diseases (para 00179).
Eveleth et al. do not teach that dry eye can be caused by diabetes, rheumatoid arthritis or thyroid disease.
Chaudhary teaches a research study, which found a greater prevalence of dry eye signs and symptoms in non-insulin dependent diabetes mellitus (NIDDM) subjects. Chaudhary teaches it was assumed that parasympathetic innervations alteration in NIDDM could lead to reduced nervous supply in the lacrimal glands and thus less aqueous tear production. Chaudhary teaches other researchers also found that dry eye has been associated with diabetes. Dry eye and the use of artificial tears in diabetics over the age of 50 were significantly higher compared with non-diabetics (page 711, right column 9.10)(applies to claim 7).
Roh et al. teach the prevalence of dry eye syndrome and the demographics of patients. Roh et al. teach that the prevalence of dry eye syndrome with regard to systemic comorbidities, dyslipidemia, degenerative arthritis, rheumatoid arthritis, thyroid disease and renal failure were associated with a significantly higher prevalence of dry eye syndrome. Roh et al. teach patients with dry eye syndrome have a higher prevalence of several systemic comorbidities (applies to claims 4 and 5).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify a method of treating dry eye in a subject comprising administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising a modified FGF-1 polypeptide as taught by Eveleth, by using it to treat dry eye caused by diabetes or rheumatic arthritis or thyroid disease, as taught by Chaudhary and Roh, respectively. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, would have been motivated to make such modifications and expect success for the following reasons. Eveleth et al. teach using the pharmaceutical composition comprising the modified FGF-1 polypeptide to treat dry eyes, diabetes, and rheumatic arthritis. Chaudhary and Roh teach dry eyes can be caused by diabetes, rheumatoid arthritis and thyroid disease. Based on the teachings it would be obvious to use the modified FGF-1 polypeptide pharmaceutical to treat dry eye caused by the instant conditions.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 19, 28, 33 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eveleth et al. (WO 2018/204847; published Nov 8, 2018) in view of Utomo et al. (Infections as Risk Factor of Sjögren’s Syndrome. Rheumatology: Research and Reviews 2020:12 257–266; 2020).
Eveleth et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising a modified FGF-1 polypeptide comprising wildtype FGF-1 sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 with mutations Cys16Ser, Ala66Cys and Cys117Val and an N-terminal methionine residue positioned up stream of the first residue of SEQ ID NO:1 (paras 0002, 0008, 0009, 0011 and 0099)(applies to claim 1). Eveleth et al. teach the modified FGF-1 polypeptide as SEQ ID NO:2 (paras 0009, 0031, 0116 and claims)(applies to claim 19).
Eveleth et al. teach using the pharmaceutical composition comprising the modified FGF-1 polypeptide to treat ocular diseases, disorders or conditions. Eveleth et al. teach in some embodiments, the ocular disease, disorder or condition is a disease, disorder, or condition of the cornea or ocular surface. In some embodiments, the ocular disease, disorder or condition is a disease, disorder, or condition of the corneal endothelium. In some embodiments, the disease, disorder, or condition of the corneal endothelium is Fuch's dystrophy, bullous keratopathy, congenital hereditary endothelial dystrophy 1, congenital hereditary endothelial dystrophy 2, posterior polymorphous corneal dystrophy, or a dry eye syndrome. In some embodiments, the ocular disease, disorder or condition is Fuch's dystrophy. In some embodiments, the ocular disease, disorder or condition is a disease, disorder, or condition of the corneal epithelium. In some embodiments, the disease, disorder, or condition of the corneal epithelium is a dry eye syndrome or corneal epithelial damage from corneal surgery or transplantation. In some embodiments, the corneal surgery is photorefractive keratotomy (PRK) or laser-assisted in situ keratomileusis (LASIK). In some embodiments, the ocular disease, disorder or condition is a disease, disorder, or condition of the corneal stroma. In some embodiments, the disease, disorder, or condition of the corneal stroma is keratoconus, lattice corneal dystrophy, granular corneal dystrophy, macular corneal dystrophy, Schnyder crystalline corneal dystrophy, congenital stromal corneal dystrophy, or fleck corneal dystrophy (para 0017)(applies to claims 2 and 28). Eveleth et al. teach using the pharmaceutical composition comprising the modified FGF-1 polypeptide to treat Stevens-Johnson syndrome, and herpetic keratopathy, which Eveleth et al. teach is an infection of the cornea caused by Herpes Simplex virus (HSV)(applies to claims 6 and 28). Eveleth et al. teach using the pharmaceutical composition comprising the modified FGF-1 polypeptide to treat lacrimation, blepharospasm, irritation, pain, and photophobia (paras 0124-0130)(applies to claims 9 and 28). Eveleth et al. teach administering the pharmaceutical composition comprising the modified FGF-1 polypeptide topically and via eye drops (paras 0150)(applies to claims 33 and 34). Eveleth et al. teach the pharmaceutical composition comprising modified FGF-1 polypeptide additionally comprises glycerin, propylene glycol, polysorbate (polysorbate 80 or polysorbate 20) and sodium citrate. Eveleth et al. teach the pH of the formulation is usually within the range acceptable to ophthalmologic formulations, such as within the range of pH 4 to 8 (para 00151).
Eveleth et al. do not teach that dry eye can be caused by Sjögren’s syndrome, hepatitis C virus, Epstein–Barr virus or human T-lymphotropic virus-1 (HTLV- 1).
Utomo et al. teach Sjögren’s syndrome as an autoimmune disease targeting exocrine glands, leading to low body fluids production, especially on the salivary and lacrimal glands. Utomo et al. teach due to the low saliva and tear production, the common symptoms of Sjögren’s syndrome are dry eyes and dry mouth. Utomo et al. teach low body fluids production on salivary and lacrimal glands leads to sicca syndrome or dry eyes and mouth syndrome. Utomo et al. teach that there are two types of Sjögren’s syndrome based on the complexity of the disease, primary Sjögren’s syndrome and secondary Sjögren’s syndrome. A patient is diagnosed with primary Sjögren’s syndrome if they are not diagnosed with other autoimmune disorders, and diagnosed with secondary Sjögren’s syndrome if they are diagnosed with another autoimmune disorder and later diagnosed with Sjögren’s syndrome (abstract and page 257)(applies to claims 3 and 4). Utomo et al. teach that there are several infectious agents which cause similar disease manifestations to Sjögren’s syndrome, including hepatitis C virus, Epstein–Barr virus, cytomegalovirus, and human T-lymphotropic virus-1 (HTLV- 1), and that these four agents are found to cause persistent infection on the salivary gland after the first infection and later lead to organ destruction, thus causing sicca syndrome in the oral cavity (abstract, page 257). Utomo et al. teach HTLV-1 infections are known to have the capability to cause sicca syndrome, mimicking one of the Sjögren’s syndrome symptoms. Utomo et al. teach another potential agent is Epstein–Barr Virus (EBV) and that the prevalence of antibody towards EBV and viral reactivation rate among Sjögren’s syndrome patients is higher compared to normal or healthy populations. Utomo et al. teach that hepatitis C virus infection is known to cause similar manifestations to Sjögren’s syndrome, which is sicca syndrome, leading to HCV patients diagnosed with Sjögren’s syndrome (page 258, last paragraph-page 259)(applies to claim 8).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify a method of treating dry eye in a subject comprising administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising a modified FGF-1 polypeptide as taught by Eveleth, by using it to treat dry eye caused by Sjögren’s syndrome, hepatitis C virus, Epstein–Barr virus or human T-lymphotropic virus-1 (HTLV- 1), as taught by Utomo et al. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, would have been motivated to make such modifications and expect success for the following reasons. Eveleth et al. teach using the pharmaceutical composition comprising the modified FGF-1 polypeptide to treat dry eyes. Utomo et al. teach sicca syndrome is also known as dry eyes and mouth syndrome. Utomo et al. teach Sjögren’s syndrome, hepatitis C virus, Epstein–Barr virus and human T-lymphotropic virus-1 (HTLV- 1) can cause sicca syndrome. Based on the teachings it would be obvious to use the modified FGF-1 polypeptide pharmaceutical to treat dry eyes caused by Sjögren’s syndrome, hepatitis C virus, Epstein–Barr virus or human T-lymphotropic virus-1 (HTLV- 1).
Claims 10-15 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eveleth et al. in view of Chaudhary and Roh et al., as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 19, 28, 33 and 34 above, and further in view of Graham et al. (Reference submitted by Applicant, US 20121/0353714; published Nov 18, 2021; priority date May 10, 2018).
The teachings of Eveleth, Chaudhary and Roh and are described above. The combined references teach administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising a modified FGF-1 polypeptide, glycerin, propylene glycol, polysorbates (polysorbate 80 or polysorbate 20) and citrate with a pH within the range of pH 4 to 8. to treat dry eye and dry eye caused by diabetes or rheumatoid arthritis.
The references do not teach the concentration of the polysorbates, the concentration of citrate, a pH of 5.8 or the use of histidine or sorbitol.
Graham et al. teach ophthalmic formulations comprising a vascular endothelial
growth factor (VEGF) receptor fusion protein (abstract). Graham et al. teach the ophthalmic formulation comprises a buffer, a thermal stabilizer, a viscosity reducing
agent, and a surfactant. (para 0009).
Graham et al. teach surfactants for use herein refers to ingredients that protect the higher concentration of VEGF receptor fusion protein from various surface and interfacial induced stresses, minimize aggregation, and promote protein solubility. Graham et al. teach suitable surfactants herein have been shown to be non-ionic and include polysorbate 20, polysorbate 80 and mixtures thereof. Graham et al. teach surfactants in the formulations can be present at from about 0.02% to about 0.1% weight per volume (w/v), and more typically, about 0.02% to about 0.04% (w/v). In some cases, the surfactant is about 0.02% (w/v), about 0.03% (w/v), about 0.04% (w/v), about 0.05% (w/v), about 0.06% (w/v), about 0.07% (w/v), about 0.08% (w/v), about 0.09% (w/v), or about 0.1% (w/v)(para 0109)(applies to claims 12 and 13).
Graham et al. teach thermal stabilizers for use herein refers to ingredients that provide thermal stability against thermal denaturation as well as protect against loss of VEGF receptor fusion protein potency or activity. Graham et al. teach suitable thermal stabilizers include sugars, and can be sucrose, trehalose, sorbitol or mannitol (para 0111). Graham et al. teach that the sucrose, mannitol, sorbitol or trehalose, and can be present at between about 4% (w/v) and 9% (w/v) (e.g., about 5%) (paras 0030 and 0111) (applies to claims 10, 11 and 15).
Graham et al. teach buffers for use herein refer to solutions that resist pH change by use of acid-base conjugates. Graham et al. teach buffers are capable of maintaining pH in the range of from about 5.0 to about 6.8, and more typically, from about 5.8 to about 6.5, and most typically, from about 6.0 to about 6.5. In some cases, the pH of the formulation of the present invention is about 5.0, about 5.1, about 5.2, about 5.3, about 5.4, about 5.5, about 5.6, about 5.7, about 5.8, about 5.9, about 6.0, about 6.1, about 6.2, about 6.3, about 6.4, about 6.5 (applies to claim 35).
Graham et al. teach example buffers for inclusion in formulations herein include histidine-based buffers, for example, histidine, histidine hydrochloride, and histidine acetate or citrate-based buffers, for example, sodium citrate or citric acid. It is also recognized that buffers can be a mix of the above, as long as the buffer functions to buffer the formulations in the above described pH ranges. Graham et al. teach the buffer is from about 5 mM to about 25 mM. Graham et al. teach histidine at a concentration of 10 mM (paras 0013, 0106, 0158)(applies to claims 14 and 15).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify a pharmaceutical composition comprising a modified FGF-1 polypeptide, polysorbate 80 and sodium citrate employed to treat dry eyes or dry eyes caused by diabetes or rheumatoid arthritis, as taught by Eveleth, Chaudhary and Roh, respectively, by using the concentrations of citrate or histidine, the concentration of sorbitol and the concentration of polysorbate 80, as taught in the ophthalmological formulation of Graham et al. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, would have been motivated to make such modifications and expect success for the following reasons. Graham et al. teach the concentration, (w/v) amounts and the reasons why to use certain ingredients for ophthalmic formulations. For example, Graham et al. teach surfactants such as polysorbate 80 protects the protein from aggregations and promotes stability. Sorbitol provides thermal stability against thermal denaturation. Graham et al. teach histidine- based buffers or citrate-based buffers can be used to resist pH change and keep the ophthalmic solutions buffered at the correct ph.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15, 19, 28, 33-35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12-15, 39-41 of copending Application No. 18/069,585 (allowed on October 5, 2026) in view of Eveleth et al. (WO 2018/204847; published Nov 8, 2018), Chaudhary, M. (European Journal of Biomedical and Pharmaceutical Sciences Volume 7, Issue 8, 709-717, 2020), Roh et al. (Cornea Vol. 35, No. 2, pp. 187-92, ABSTRACT, Feb 2016) and Utomo et al. (Infections as Risk Factor of Sjögren’s Syndrome. Rheumatology: Research and Reviews 2020:12 257–266; 2020).
The instant claims are drawn to a method of treating dry eye in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising: administering to the subject a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of a modified FGF-1 polypeptide, wherein the modified FGF-1 polypeptide comprises a wild-type FGF-1 sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 with a sequence comprising the mutations of Cys16Ser, Ala66Cys, and Cys117Val; and an N-terminal methionine residue positioned upstream to the first residue of SEQ ID NO:1; wherein the modified FGF-1 polypeptide comprises the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2. The instant claims are further drawn to wherein the dry eye is causes by Sjogren’s syndrome, rheumatoid arthritis, Parkinson’s disease, Epstein-Barr virus, blepharitis, wherein the formulation pharmaceutical composition comprises 1 mM or 10 mM citrate or Histidine, about 5% (w/v) sorbitol, and about 0.1% (w/v) polysorbate 80, wherein the formulation pharmaceutical composition is administered by topical or administered as an eye drop and wherein the pharmaceutical composition has a pH of about 5.8.
The claims of copending Application No. 18/069,585 teach a pharmaceutical formulation comprising: a modified fibroblast growth factor 1 (FGF-1) polypeptide comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2; histidine at a concentration of about 1 mM or about 10 mM; polysorbate 80 at a concentration of about 0.1% (w/v) and sorbitol at a concentration of about 5% (w/v) wherein the pH of the pharmaceutical formulation is about 5.8. The claims of copending Application No. 18/069,585 further teach wherein the pharmaceutical formulation is suitable for topical application or in the form of an eye drop.
It is noted that the FGF-1 polypeptide amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 recited in the claims of copending Application No. 18/069,585 is 100% identical to the FGF-1 polypeptide amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 of the instant claims.
The claims of copending Application No. 18/069,585 do not teach administering said formulation to treat dry eyes or dry eye caused by ocular surface disorders, blepharitis, Sjogren’s syndrome, hepatitis C virus, Epstein–Barr virus, human T-lymphotropic virus-1 (HTLV- 1), diabetes rheumatoid arthritis or thyroid disease.
Eveleth et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising a modified FGF-1 polypeptide comprising wildtype FGF-1 sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 with mutations Cys16Ser, Ala66Cys and Cys117Val and an N-terminal methionine residue positioned up stream of the first residue of SEQ ID NO:1 (paras 0002, 0008, 0009, 0011 and 0099). Eveleth et al. teach the modified FGF-1 polypeptide as SEQ ID NO:2 (paras 0009, 0031, 0116 and claims). Eveleth et al. teach using the pharmaceutical composition comprising the modified FGF-1 polypeptide to treat ocular diseases, disorders or conditions. Eveleth et al. teach in some embodiments, the ocular disease, disorder or condition is a disease, disorder, or condition of the cornea or ocular surface. In some embodiments, the ocular disease, disorder or condition is a disease, disorder, or condition of the corneal endothelium. In some embodiments, the disease, disorder, or condition of the corneal endothelium is Fuch's dystrophy, bullous keratopathy, congenital hereditary endothelial dystrophy 1, congenital hereditary endothelial dystrophy 2, posterior polymorphous corneal dystrophy, or a dry eye syndrome. In some embodiments, the ocular disease, disorder or condition is Fuch's dystrophy. In some embodiments, the ocular disease, disorder or condition is a disease, disorder, or condition of the corneal epithelium. In some embodiments, the disease, disorder, or condition of the corneal epithelium is a dry eye syndrome or corneal epithelial damage from corneal surgery or transplantation. In some embodiments, the corneal surgery is photorefractive keratotomy (PRK) or laser-assisted in situ keratomileusis (LASIK). In some embodiments, the ocular disease, disorder or condition is a disease, disorder, or condition of the corneal stroma. In some embodiments, the disease, disorder, or condition of the corneal stroma is keratoconus, lattice corneal dystrophy, granular corneal dystrophy, macular corneal dystrophy, Schnyder crystalline corneal dystrophy, congenital stromal corneal dystrophy, or fleck corneal dystrophy (para 0017). Eveleth et al. teach using the pharmaceutical composition comprising the modified FGF-1 polypeptide to treat Stevens-Johnson syndrome, and herpetic keratopathy, which Eveleth et al. teach is an infection of the cornea caused by Herpes Simplex virus (HSV). Eveleth et al. teach using the pharmaceutical composition comprising the modified FGF-1 polypeptide to treat lacrimation, blepharospasm, irritation, pain, and photophobia (paras 0124-0130).
Utomo et al. teach Sjögren’s syndrome as an autoimmune disease targeting exocrine glands, leading to low body fluids production, especially on the salivary and lacrimal glands. Utomo et al. teach due to the low saliva and tear production, the common symptoms of Sjögren’s syndrome are dry eyes and dry mouth. Utomo et al. teach low body fluids production on salivary and lacrimal glands leads to sicca syndrome or dry eyes and mouth syndrome. Utomo et al. teach that there are two types of Sjögren’s syndrome based on the complexity of the disease, primary Sjögren’s syndrome and secondary Sjögren’s syndrome. A patient is diagnosed with primary Sjögren’s syndrome if they are not diagnosed with other autoimmune disorders, and diagnosed with secondary Sjögren’s syndrome if they are diagnosed with another autoimmune disorder and later diagnosed with Sjögren’s syndrome (abstract and page 257). Utomo et al. teach that there are several infectious agents which cause similar disease manifestations to Sjögren’s syndrome, including hepatitis C virus, Epstein–Barr virus, cytomegalovirus, and human T-lymphotropic virus-1 (HTLV- 1), and that these four agents are found to cause persistent infection on the salivary gland after the first infection and later lead to organ destruction, thus causing sicca syndrome in the oral cavity (abstract, page 257). Utomo et al. teach HTLV-1 infections are known to have the capability to cause sicca syndrome, mimicking one of the Sjögren’s syndrome symptoms. Utomo et al. teach another potential agent is Epstein–Barr Virus (EBV) and that the prevalence of antibody towards EBV and viral reactivation rate among Sjögren’s syndrome patients is higher compared to normal or healthy populations. Utomo et al. teach that hepatitis C virus infection is known to cause similar manifestations to Sjögren’s syndrome, which is sicca syndrome, leading to HCV patients diagnosed with Sjögren’s syndrome (page 258, last paragraph-page 259).
Chaudhary teaches a research study, which found a greater prevalence of dry eye signs and symptoms in non-insulin dependent diabetes mellitus (NIDDM) subjects. Chaudhary teaches it was assumed that parasympathetic innervations alteration in NIDDM could lead to reduced nervous supply in the lacrimal glands and thus less aqueous tear production. Chaudhary teaches other researchers also found that dry eye has been associated with diabetes. Dry eye and the use of artificial tears in diabetics over the age of 50 were significantly higher compared with non-diabetics (page 711, right column 9.10).
Roh et al. teach the prevalence of dry eye syndrome and the demographics of patients. Roh et al. teach that the prevalence of dry eye syndrome with regard to systemic comorbidities, dyslipidemia, degenerative arthritis, rheumatoid arthritis, thyroid disease and renal failure were associated with a significantly higher prevalence of dry eye syndrome. Roh et al. teach patients with dry eye syndrome have a higher prevalence of several systemic comorbidities.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify a pharmaceutical formulation comprising: a modified fibroblast growth factor 1 (FGF-1) polypeptide comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2; histidine at a concentration of about 1 mM or about 10 mM; polysorbate 80 at a concentration of about 0.1% (w/v) and sorbitol at a concentration of about 5% (w/v) wherein the pH of the pharmaceutical formulation is about 5.8 and wherein the pharmaceutical formulation is suitable for topical application or in the form of an eye drop as taught by the claims of copending Application No. 18/069,585, by using said formulation in methods of treating dry eye or dry eye caused by ocular surface disorders, blepharitis, Sjogren’s syndrome, hepatitis C virus, Epstein–Barr virus, human T-lymphotropic virus-1 (HTLV- 1), diabetes rheumatoid arthritis or thyroid disease as taught by Eveleth, Utomo, Chaudhary and Roh, respectively. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, would have been motivated to make such modifications and expect success for the following reasons. The claims of copending Application No. 18/069,585 and Eveleth et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising the same modified FGF-1 polypeptide, as currently claimed. Eveleth et al. teach administering the pharmaceutical composition comprising said modified FGF-1 polypeptide to treat dry eyes, dry eye caused by ocular surface disorders, blepharitis, diabetes, and rheumatic arthritis. Chaudhary and Roh teach dry eyes can be caused by diabetes and rheumatoid arthritis. Utomo et al. teach sicca syndrome Is also known as dry eyes and mouth syndrome and that Sjögren’s syndrome, hepatitis C virus, Epstein–Barr virus and human T-lymphotropic virus-1 (HTLV- 1) can cause sicca syndrome. Based on the teachings it would be obvious to use the modified FGF-1 polypeptide pharmaceutical to treat dry eye and dry eye caused by the instant conditions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/R.M.D/Examiner, Art Unit 1647 10/8/2026
/BRIDGET E BUNNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1647