DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that MICROSOFT does not select a point within the geofence on which to base the confidence score. Applicant argues that MICROSOFT describes the confidence value as a ratio between the geofence area and a position uncertainty area for locations of the computing device. Applicant argues that this is not the same as assigning a higher confidence score to objects closer to the point than to objects farther from the point.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. MICROSOFT specifies the geo-fence as a position and a radius, which is a point within the geofence (0027). The determined location is approximately the center of the position uncertainty area (0035). The passage Applicant relies upon 0054 and assumes the largest possible overlap and addresses whether a location determination module provides an acceptable confidence level. The confidence value relied upon in the rejection is generated from the actual overlap, Which depends on the distance of the determined location from the position of the geo-fence, and the overlap increases as that distance decreases (0058, Figs. 6-7, the position uncertainty area for a determined location near the edge of the geo-fence partially overlaps the geo-fence, and the position uncertainty area for a determined location at the center of the geo-fence lies within the geo-fence). Thus a location closer to the point is assigned a higher confidence value than a location farther from the point. FEDEX continuously determines the locations of the shipments and the geofences for each forklift (0050, 0051, 0047, the locations of the geofences may be periodically updated each time the locations of the forklifts are updated, every 0.5 or 1 second).
Applicant argues that MICROSOFT changes the threshold confidence value, not the confidence value. Applicant argues that the threshold confidence value is varied based on a proportion of the geofence area to the position uncertainty area. Applicant argues that this is not the same as increasing the confidence score of the one object by a predetermined amount.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. MICROSOFT's confidence level is how much error in accuracy of a location determination module is acceptable, and thus how much confidence there is in the determination of whether the object is inside the geo-fence (0070). Once the object has been determined to be inside, MICROSOFT applies a different determination for the geo-fence event of staying in the geo-fence for a particular amount of time. MICROSOFT discloses if the location was previously, the geo-fence event would be detected staying in the geo-fence for a particular amount of time, then substantially all of the position uncertainty area is used to determine if the location of the computing device is inside or outside the fence, and the location remains unchanged as being inside the geo-fence if substantially all of the position uncertainty area is not outside the geo-fence (0083). The acceptable uncertainties applied to that determination are a predetermined multiple of the acceptable uncertainties applied when entering the geo-fence (0085). Thus, after the object has been inside the geo-fence, MICROSOFT increases by a predetermined amount the confidence that the object is inside the geo-fence.
Applicant argues that MICROSOFT does not change the threshold value based on any time measurement. Applicant argues that MICROSOFT considers the amount of time an object is within the geofence only if the confidence value is below the threshold.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. MICROSOFT discloses tracking the amount of time the object has been inside the geo-fence (0037), and triggers a geo-fence on staying within the geo-fence for a threshold amount of time (0026). Paragraph 0069 does not limit the amount of time to a confidence value below the threshold confidence value. MICROSOFT detects the event of staying within the geo-fence only after a geo-fence enter event has been detected (0069). A geo-fence enter event requires the determined confidence value to satisfy the threshold confidence value (0068).
Applicant argues that claim 15 is distinguishable for the reasons given for claim 1. Applicant argues that claims 2-14 and 16-20 are distinguishable by virtue of their dependency. Applicant argues that FORESIGHT and FACEBOOK fail to cure the deficiencies of FEDEX in view of MICROSOFT.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The arguments directed to claim 1 are not persuasive for the reasons/responses provided above, and claim 15 recites the corresponding method limitations rejected on the same teachings. FORESIGHT is relied upon only for the limitations of claims 4, 5, and 16. FACEBOOK is relied upon only for the limitations of claims 14 and 20. FEDEX in view of MICROSOFT is relied upon for the limitations of claims 1 and 15, and teaches them as discussed above.
Thus, all the claimed and argued limitations have been met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-13, 15, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210231767 A1 herein FEDEX in view of US 2014/0370910 A1 herein MICROSOFT.
Claim 1, FEDEX discloses an object tracking system ([0007], system for tracking at least one object), comprising:
a plurality of first wireless devices, wherein each of the plurality of first wireless devices is associated with one of a plurality of objects ([0025], the wireless devices (first plurality wireless device)/tags may communicate with the shipments (plurality of objects));
a plurality of second wireless devices affixed to a front portion an object transport vehicle ([0026], the wireless devices (plurality of second wireless devices)/tags may be attached close to the top (front) of the forklift (object transport));
a plurality of third wireless devices affixed to a rear portion of the object transport vehicle ([0026], the wireless devices (plurality third wireless devices)/tags may attach close to the wheel (rear) of the forklift (object transport)); and
a controller configured to determine a location of each of the plurality of objects based on a first signal associated with each of the plurality of first wireless devices ([0031], [0034], [0040], the tracking system consists of micro-controller communicate with the shipment via a wireless device (first wireless device) exchange information/signal (first signal) from the control system to determine the location of the shipment (object));
generate a geofence surrounding at least a portion of the object transport vehicle based on a plurality of second signals, each second signal associated with one of the pluralities of second wireless devices ([0026], [0031], [0043], [0044], the tracking system consists of worksite computer may create (generate dynamically) geofence/virtual perimeter (surrounding) of the forklift (object transport) by communication with the wireless devices (second wireless devices) to exchange information/signal (second signal) from the control system), and
a plurality of third signals, each third signal associated with one of the plurality of third wireless devices ([0026], [0031], [0043], [0044], communication with the wireless device (third wireless device) to exchange information/signal (third signal) from the control system),
wherein a shape of the geofence varies based on a number of second signals received and a number of third signals received ([0026], [0031], [0043], [0044], the geofence may represent the size (shape) from (receive) the signal (second and third) of wireless devices (second and third wireless devices));
periodically determine a position of each of the plurality of objects relative to the geofence based on the determined location of each of the plurality of objects ([0047], [0050], [0051], the worksite computer may continuously determine the location of the shipment (object) from the geofence based on the location of the shipment (object)),
wherein the position includes whether each of the plurality of objects is inside the geofence or outside the geofence ([0053], the worksite computer determines whether the shipment (object) enters or locate within the geofence); and
associate the one object with the object transport vehicle, wherein the one object is physically loaded on the object transport vehicle, wherein the one object is physically loaded on the object transport vehicle ([0055], [0056], the shipment is loaded on the forklift (object transport vehicle)).
FEDEX may not explicitly disclose periodically calculate a confidence score for each of the plurality of objects based on a distance of each of the plurality of objects from a point within the geofence, wherein a higher confidence score is assigned to objects closer to the point than to objects farther from the point, on a condition that the determined position for one of the plurality of objects indicates that the one object is inside the geofence for a predetermined period of time, increasing the confidence score of the one object by a predetermined amount and on a condition that the confidence score for the one object exceeds a threshold.
MICROSOFT discloses periodically calculate a confidence score for each of the plurality of objects based on a distance of each of the plurality of objects from a point within the geofence ([0051], [0052], [0069], based on the amount of time (periodically), the confidence value/confidence level (confidence score) is calculate base on the position (distance) of the computing device (object) in an overlapping area (point) and the geofence; 0027, geo-fence specified as a position and radius; 0035, 0037), wherein a higher confidence score is assigned to objects closer to the point than to objects farther from the point ([0067], [0068], the confidence value may satisfies the threshold confidence if the confidence value is greater (higher confidence) where the object is determine to be inside (closer) the geofence and the value may be less than the threshold the location may be outside (farther) from the geofence; 0058); on a condition that the determined position for one of the plurality of objects indicates that the one object is inside the geofence for a predetermined period of time, increasing the confidence score of the one object by a predetermined amount ([0066], [0067], [0068], [0069], the location determination module of the object which the event/object is inside the geofence, a threshold confidence value may be greater (increase) base on geofence radius (condition) for amount of time; 0026, staying with the geo-fence for a threshold amount of time; 0037, 0083); and on a condition that the confidence score for the one object exceeds a threshold, associate the one object, (Fig.5, [0067], the confidence value which my exceed the confidence value threshold). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FEDEX to include periodically calculating a confidence score for each of the plurality of objects based on a distance as taught by MICROSOFT so as to bring back the asset to the geofence and protect the asset.
Claim 2, FEDEX in view of MICROSOFT discloses the object tracking system of claim 1. FEDEX further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: dynamically generate the geofence based on the number of second signals received and the number of third signals received ([0026], [0031], [0043], [0044], the tracking system consists of worksite computer may create (generate dynamically) geofence/virtual perimeter of the forklift by communication with the wireless devices (second and third wireless devices) to exchange information/ signal (second and third signal) from the control system).
Claim 3, FEDEX in view of MICROSOFT discloses the object tracking system of claim 2. FEDEX further discloses wherein dynamically generating the geofence includes changing a shape of the geofence based on the number of second signals received and the number of third signals received ([0026], [0031], [0043], [0044], the geofence may represent the size (shape) from (received) signals (second and third) of wireless devices second and third wireless devices) where the size may change dynamically)).
Claim 9, FEDEX in view of MICROSOFT discloses the object tracking system of claim 8. FEDEX further discloses wherein the predetermined period of time is 2 seconds ([0039], the tracking system (object tracking system) may determine and update periodically (predetermine) may be one second, two second, ten second).
Claim 10, FEDEX in view of MICROSOFT discloses the object tracking system of claim 1. FEDEX further discloses wherein the association between the one object and the object tracking vehicle is stored in an entry in a database ([0033], [0039], the tracking system consists of the worksite computer may store (database) the information based on the response from forklift (object vehicle) and shipment (object)).
Claim 11, FEDEX in view of MICROSOFT discloses the object tracking system of claim 1. FEDEX may not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is further configured to: on a condition that the confidence score for one of the plurality of objects is a negative value, changing the confidence score for the one object to zero.
MICROSOFT discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: on a condition that the confidence score for one of the plurality of objects is a negative value, changing the confidence score for the one object to zero ([0067], [0069], the confidence value (confidence score) may be a negative number which the confidence value (confidence score) may be determined to be 0%). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FEDEX to include periodically calculating a confidence score for each of the plurality of objects based on a distance as taught by MICROSOFT so as to bring back the asset to the geofence and protect the asset.
Claim 12, FEDEX in view of MICROSOFT discloses the object tracking system of claim 1. FEDEX further discloses wherein each of the plurality of first wireless devices is a position sensor configured to generate the first signal ([0031], [0034], [0040], the tracking system consist of micro-controller communicate with the shipment via a wireless device (first wireless device/sensor) exchange information/signal (first signal) from the control system to determine the location (position) of the shipment (object)).
Claim 13, FEDEX in view of MICROSOFT discloses the object tracking system of claim 1. FEDEX further discloses wherein each of the plurality of second wireless devices is a position sensor configured to generate the second signal ([0026], the wireless devices (plurality second wireless devices/sensor)/tags may attach close to the top (front) of the forklift (object transport) exchange information/signal (second signal) from the control system to determine the location (position) of the forklift); and each of the plurality of third wireless devices is a position sensor configured to generate the third signal ([0026], the wireless devices (plurality third wireless devices/sensor)/tags may attach close to the wheel (rear) of the forklift (object transport) exchange information/signal (third signal) from the control system to determine the location (position) of the forklift).
Claim 15, FEDEX discloses a method for tracking a plurality of objects configured to be transported by an object transport vehicle ([0008], system for tracking at least one object), the method comprising:
a determining a location of each of the plurality of objects based on a first signal associated with each of a plurality of first wireless devices ([0031], [0034], [0040, ]the tracking system consists of micro-controller communicate with the shipment via wireless devices (first plurality of wireless device) exchange information/signal (first signal) from the control system to determine the location of the shipment (object)),
wherein each of the plurality of first wireless devices is associated with one of a plurality of objects ([0025], wireless devices (first plurality wireless device)/tags may communicate with the shipments (plurality of objects));
dynamically generate a geofence surrounding at least a portion of the object transport vehicle based on a plurality of second signals, each second signal associated with one of a plurality of second wireless devices ([0026], [0031], [0043], [0044], the tracking system consists of worksite computer may create (generate dynamically) geofence/virtual perimeter (surrounding) of the forklift (object transport) by communication with the wireless devices attached to the top of the forklift (second wireless devices) to exchange information/signal (second signal) from the control system), and
a plurality of third signals, each third signal associated with one of a plurality of third wireless devices ([0026], [0031], [0043], [0044], communication with the wireless device attached to the wheel of the forklift (third wireless device) to exchange information/signal (third signal) from the control system),
wherein each of the plurality of second wireless devices is affixed to a front portion the object transport vehicle ([0026], the wireless devices (plurality of second wireless devices)/tags may be attached close to the top (front) of the forklift (object transport));
each of the plurality of third wireless devices is affixed to a rear portion of the object transport vehicle ([0026], the wireless devices (plurality third wireless devices)/tags may attach close to the wheel (rear) of the forklift (object transport)); and
a shape of the geofence varies based on a number of second signals received and a number of third signals received ([0026], [0031], [0043], [0044], the geofence may represent the size (shape) from (receive) the signal (second and third) of wireless devices (second and third wireless devices));
periodically determine a position of each of the plurality of objects relative to the geofence based on the determined location of each of the plurality of objects ([0047], [0050], [0051], the worksite computer may continuously determine the location of the shipment (object) from the geofence based on the location of the shipment (object)),
wherein the position includes whether each of the plurality of objects is inside the geofence or outside the geofence ([0053], the worksite computer determines whether the shipment (object) enters or is located within the geofence);
associate the one object with the object transport vehicle wherein the one object is physically loaded on the object transport vehicle ([0055], [0056], the shipment is loaded on the forklift (object transport vehicle)).
FEDEX may not explicitly disclose periodically calculate a confidence score for each of the plurality of objects based on a distance of each of the plurality of objects from a point within the geofence, wherein a higher confidence score is assigned to objects closer to the point than to objects farther from the point, on a condition that the determined position for one of the plurality of objects indicates that the one object is inside the geofence for a predetermined period of time, increasing the confidence score of the one object by a predetermined amount and on a condition that the confidence score for the one object exceeds a threshold.
MICROSOFT discloses periodically calculate a confidence score for each of the plurality of objects based on a distance of each of the plurality of objects from a point within the geofence ([0051], [0052], [0069], based on the amount of time (periodically), the confidence value/confidence level (confidence score) is calculate base on the position (distance) of the computing device (object) in an overlapping area (point) and the geofence, 0027, 0037, 0057), wherein a higher confidence score is assigned to objects closer to the point than to objects farther from the point ([0067], [0068], the confidence value may satisfies the threshold confidence if the confidence value is greater (higher confidence) where the object is determine to be inside (closer) the geofence and the value may be less than the threshold the location may be outside (farther) of the geofence, 0058); on a condition that the determined position for one of the plurality of objects indicates that the one object is inside the geofence for a predetermined period of time, increasing the confidence score of the one object by a predetermined amount ([0066], [0067],[0068], [0069], the location determination module of the object which the event/object is inside the geofence, a threshold confidence value may be greater (increase) base on geofence radius (condition) for amount of time; 0026, 0037, 0083); and on a condition that the confidence score for the one object exceeds a threshold, associate the one object (Fig.5, [0067], the confidence value which my exceed the confidence value threshold). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FEDEX to include periodically calculating a confidence score for each of the plurality of objects based on a distance as taught by MICROSOFT so as to bring back the asset to the geofence and protect the asset.
Claims 6 and 17, FEDEX in view of MICROSOFT discloses the object tracking system of claim 1 and the method of claim 15. FEDEX may not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is further configured to: periodically determines a position of each of the plurality of objects and periodically calculate the confidence score for each of the plurality of objects at a same time interval.
MICROSOFT discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: periodically determines a position of each of the plurality of objects and periodically calculate the confidence score for each of the plurality of objects at a same time interval ([0051], [0052], [0069], based on the amount of time (periodically), the confidence value/confidence level (confidence score) is calculate based on the position (distance) of the computing device (object) in an overlapping area (point) and the geofence). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FEDEX to include periodically calculating a confidence score for each of the plurality of objects based on a distance as taught by MICROSOFT so as to bring back the asset to the geofence and protect the asset.
Claims 7 and 18, FEDEX in view of MICROSOFT discloses the object tracking system of claim 6 and the method of claim 17. FEDEX further discloses wherein the time interval is 0.5 seconds or 1 second ([0039], the tracking system (object tracking system) may determine and update periodically such as 0.5 or 1 second).
Claim 8 and 19 FEDEX in view of MICROSOFT discloses the object tracking system of claim 6 and the method of claim 17. FEDEX further discloses wherein the predetermined period of time is longer than the time interval ([0047], the tracking system (object tracking system) may determine and update periodically maybe larger or longer than the original time).
Claim(s) 4, 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FEDEX in view of MICROSOFT in view of US 2021/0099828 A1 herein FORESIGHT.
Claim 4, FEDEX in view of MICROSOFT discloses the object tracking system of claim 1. FEDEX further discloses wherein each second signal provides location information ([0031], [0034], [0040], the tracking system consists of micro-controller communicate with the shipment via wireless (second wireless device) exchange information/signal (second signal) from the control system to determine the location (position) of the shipment (object)).
FEDEX may not explicitly disclose on a condition that no third signals are received, generate the geofence as a circular shape with a center of the geofence based on an average location based on the second signals received.
FORESIGHT discloses on a condition that no third signals are received, generate the geofence as a circular shape with a center of the geofence based on an average location based on the second signals received ([0041], the geofence consists of single datapoints received from communication between devices (second signal) which generate and trigger the circular geofence radius). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FEDEX to include generating a circular geofence as taught by FORESIGHT so as to optimize productivity.
Claims 5 and 16, FEDEX in view of MICROSOFT discloses the object tracking system of claim 1 and the method of claim 15. FEDEX further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: each second signal and each third signal provides location information ([0025], [0026], [0031], [0034], [0040], the tracking system consists of micro-controller communicate with the shipment via wireless device (second and third wireless device) exchange information/signal (second and third signal) from the control system to determine the location (position) of the shipment (object)).
FEDEX may not explicitly disclose determine the plurality of objects based on a circular area around the object transport vehicle, wherein a center of the circular area is determined based on an average location based on the second signals received and the third signals received; and a radius of the circular area is a predetermined distance from the center, whereby any object within the circular area is included in the plurality of objects.
FORESIGHT discloses determine the plurality of objects based on a circular area around the object transport vehicle ([0041], [0043], the geofence may be circular and determine the truck (object) trigger the geofence comes within the paver (transport vehicle)), wherein a center of the circular area is determined based on an average location based on the second signals received and the third signals received ([0041], the geofence consists of multiple datapoints received from communication between devices (second and third signal) which generate and trigger the circular geofence radius); and a radius of the circular area is a predetermined distance from the center, whereby any object within the circular area is included in the plurality of objects ([0041], the geofence trigger when the truck (object) comes within a preset (predetermine) radius of the distance to the datapoint (center of the circular geofence)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FEDEX to include generating a circular geofence as taught by FORESIGHT so as to optimize productivity.
Claim(s) 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FEDEX in view of MICROSOFT in view of US 2021/0227300 A1 herein FACEBOOK.
Claims 14 and 20, FEDEX in view of MICROSOFT discloses the object tracking system of claim 1 and the method of claim 15. FEDEX further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to wherein the one object is physically loaded on the object transport vehicle ([0055], the tracking system determines the shipment is loaded onto the forklift (object transport vehicle)).
FEDEX may not explicitly disclose sort each of the plurality of objects from a highest confidence score to a lowest confidence score and associate one object of the plurality of objects with the highest confidence score with the object transport vehicle on a condition that the confidence score for the one object exceeds the threshold. FEDEX may not explicitly disclose sort each of the plurality of objects from a highest confidence score to a lowest confidence score.
MICROSOFT discloses associate one object of the plurality of objects with the highest confidence score with the object transport vehicle on a condition that the confidence score for the one object exceeds the threshold (Fig 5, [0067], [0068], the confidence value may satisfy the threshold confidence if the confidence value is greater (higher confidence) where the object is determined to be inside (closer) the geofence and the confidence value may exceed the confidence value threshold). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FEDEX to include periodically calculating a confidence score for each of the plurality of objects based on a distance as taught by MICROSOFT so as to bring back the asset to the geofence and protect the asset.
FACEBOOK discloses sort each of the plurality of objects from a highest confidence score to a lowest confidence score ([0127], the system rank (sort) the content (object) based on the associated with the highest coefficient score and other associated with their ranking/may list from highest to lowest). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FEDEX to include sorting objects based on confidence scores as taught by FACEBOOK so as to easily organize distances and prioritize which objects to bring in to the geofence.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20210211831 A1 – A method and system for selecting and modifying a geofence is provided. The method includes registering a physical object with geofence policies of a user. The physical object is tagged with a digital tag comprising information associated with the user respect and geofence policies. Input data indicating a value, an emotional attachment, and a sentiment of the physical object with respect to the t user is received and the physical object is detected via sensors. Reactions of the user with respect to additional physical objects located within a specified geographical boundary surrounding the first user are detected and a resulting classification for the physical object is generated. A geofence policy is selected and it is detected that the physical object has been removed from a geofence for a specified time period threshold. A resulting action associated with detecting that the physical object has been removed from the geofence is executed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mehmood B. Khan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463