DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-3, 6-11, and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richter et al. (US 2019/0065014 A1) and further in view of Erlewein et al. (US 2014/0337815 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Richter discloses a system comprising: at least one memory that stores instructions; and one or more processors configured by the instructions to perform operations comprising (Paragraph 0003, Paragraph 0004, and Paragraph 0005):
causing presentation of an embedded analytics user interface within a first application, the embedded analytics user interface being provided by a second application and including a plurality of user-selectable data items of the second application (Fig. 10, Paragraph 0004, Paragraph 0008, Paragraph 0011, Paragraph 0041, Paragraph 0147, and Paragraph 0208: embedded analytics data from a second application incorporated into a first application, where the analytics data includes tabular/chart graphics that are interactive and selectable);
detecting, via the embedded analytics user interface, a user selection of a first data item from among the plurality of user-selectable data items (Paragraph 0008: receiving from the user a selection on a location within the chart graphic).
While Richter teaches the above and further teaches intent-based navigation (Paragraph 0051) and navigation targets according to content (Fig. 10), they fail to show the in response to detecting the user selection of the first data item: identifying, based at least partially on a stored mapping between the first data item of the second application and a second data item of the first application, context data related to the user selection, and obtaining, from the first application, one or more navigation options associated with the context data; and causing presentation, within the embedded analytics user interface, of an interface element including the one or more navigation options, as recited in the claims. Erlewein teaches first and second applications similar to that of Richter. In addition, Erlewein further teaches
identifying, based at least partially on a stored mapping between the first data item of a second application and a second data item of a first application, context data related to a user selection, and obtaining, one or more navigation options associated with the context data; and causing presentation, of an interface element including the one or more navigation options (Paragraph 0022, Paragraph 0027, Paragraph 0048, Paragraph 0049, Paragraph 0052, Paragraph 0071, Paragraph 0072, and Paragraph 0081: hypermedia links to navigate to a first application are obtained and displayed in a second application based on common data entities between the applications).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Richter and Erlewein before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the above taught by Richeter to include the identifying, based at least partially on a stored mapping between the first data item of a second application and a second data item of a first application, context data related to a user selection, and obtaining, one or more navigation options associated with the context data; and causing presentation, of an interface element including the one or more navigation options of Erlewein, in order to obtain in response to detecting the user selection of the first data item: identifying, based at least partially on a stored mapping between the first data item of the second application and a second data item of the first application, context data related to the user selection, and obtaining, from the first application, one or more navigation options associated with the context data; and causing presentation, within the embedded analytics user interface, of an interface element including the one or more navigation options. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as providing a simple link selection action for calling from one application to another application for contextually-based data, as suggested by Erlewein (Paragraph 0013 lines 1-3 and 28-31).
In regard to claim 2, Erlewein further teaches wherein the one or more navigation options are provided via a navigation extension that is recorded for the first application by an extension framework, and the extension framework further records the navigation extension for each of a plurality of other applications that utilize the second application (Paragraph 0022, Paragraph 0027, Paragraph 0038, Paragraph 0040, Paragraph 0067 lines 16-38: navigation framework with navigation library and navigation targets and mapping rules for multiple applications). Accordingly, the combination further teaches wherein the one or more navigation options are provided via a navigation extension that is recorded for the first application by an extension framework, and the extension framework further records the navigation extension for each of a plurality of other applications that utilize the embedded analytics user interface. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as providing a simple link selection action for calling from one application to another application for contextually-based data, as suggested by Erlewein (Paragraph 0013 lines 1-3 and 28-31).
In regard to claim 3, Erlewein further teaches detecting, a second user selection of a first navigation option from among the one or more navigation options presented; and in response to detecting the second user selection, triggering navigation away from the second application to a target destination associated with the first navigation option (Paragraph 0022 lines 18-21 and Paragraph 0081: application B’s interface is launched to provide displayed details). Accordingly, the combination further teaches wherein the user selection is a first user selection, and the operations further comprise: detecting, via the embedded analytics user interface, a second user selection of a first navigation option from among the one or more navigation options presented within the embedded analytics user interface; and in response to detecting the second user selection, triggering navigation away from the embedded analytics user interface to a target destination associated with the first navigation option. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as providing a simple link selection action for calling from one application to another application for contextually-based data, as suggested by Erlewein (Paragraph 0013 lines 1-3 and 28-31).
In regard to claim 6, Erlewein further teaches wherein the interface element comprises a menu, and the operations further comprise: dynamically populating the menu with the one or more navigation options obtained from the first application (Paragrpah 0052 lines 1-5: two links are presented and therefore a menu of links). Accordingly, the combination further teaches wherein the interface element comprises a menu presented within the embedded analytics user interface, and the operations further comprise: dynamically populating the menu with the one or more navigation options obtained from the first application. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as providing a simple link selection action for calling from one application to another application for contextually-based data, as suggested by Erlewein (Paragraph 0013 lines 1-3 and 28-31).
In regard to claim 7, Erewein further discloses wherein the one or more navigation options are provided via a navigation extension that is recorded for the first application, and the one or more navigation options are obtained from the first application based on detection of the navigation extension (Paragraph 0022, Paragraph 0027, Paragraph 0038, Paragraph 0040, Paragraph 0067 lines 16-38: navigation framework with navigation library and navigation targets and mapping rules for multiple applications). Accordingly, the combination further teaches wherein the one or more navigation options are provided via a navigation extension that is recorded for the first application, and the one or more navigation options are obtained from the first application based on detection of the navigation extension. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as providing a simple link selection action for calling from one application to another application for contextually-based data, as suggested by Erlewein (Paragraph 0013 lines 1-3 and 28-31).
In regard to claim 8, Erewein further discloses dynamically populating a menu with a navigation extension element based on the detection of the navigation extension, the interface element being a submenu of the menu that presents the one or more navigation options in dependence on the navigation extension element (Paragraph 0027 and Paragraph 0052 lines 1-5: menu with two links (e.g. submenus) based on the navigation framework). Accordingly, the combination further teaches dynamically populating a menu within the embedded analytics user interface with a navigation extension element based on the detection of the navigation extension, the interface element being a submenu of the menu that presents the one or more navigation options in dependence on the navigation extension element. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as providing a simple link selection action for calling from one application to another application for contextually-based data, as suggested by Erlewein (Paragraph 0013 lines 1-3 and 28-31).
In regard to claim 9, Erlewein further teaches wherein the stored mapping defines relationships between data items in the second application and corresponding fields utilized by the first application (Paragraph 0049 and Paragraph 0067 lines 16-38: mapping between fields such as ‘ProductID’). Accordingly, the combination further teaches wherein the stored mapping defines relationships between the plurality of user-selectable data items in the embedded analytics user interface and corresponding fields utilized by the first application. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as providing a simple link selection action for calling from one application to another application for contextually-based data, as suggested by Erlewein (Paragraph 0013 lines 1-3 and 28-31).
In regard to claim 10, Erlewein further teaches wherein the second data item is a field identifier utilized by the first application (Paragraph 0049 and Paragraph 0067 lines 16-38: field such as ‘ProductID’). Accordingly, the combination further teaches wherein the second data item is a field identifier utilized by the first application. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as providing a simple link selection action for calling from one application to another application for contextually-based data, as suggested by Erlewein (Paragraph 0013 lines 1-3 and 28-31).
In regard to claim 11, Erlewein further teaches wherein the context data comprises one or more of the field identifier, the first data item, a semantic object utilized by the first application, or a data source identifier associated with the first data item (Paragraph 0049 and Paragraph 0067 lines 16-38: identifier of field such as ‘ProductID’). Accordingly, the combination further teaches wherein the context data comprises one or more of the field identifier, the first data item, a semantic object utilized by the first application, or a data source identifier associated with the first data item. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as providing a simple link selection action for calling from one application to another application for contextually-based data, as suggested by Erlewein (Paragraph 0013 lines 1-3 and 28-31).
In regard to claim 13, Richter discloses wherein the embedded analytics user interface presents the plurality of user-selectable data items in at least one of a table or a chart (Paragraph 0008 lines 13-17: interactive and selectable chart/tabular graphic).
In regard to claim 14, Richter discloses wherein the embedded analytics user interface is embedded within a section of the first application, and the embedded analytics user interface provides at least one of a report, a dashboard, or a data visualization within the section of the first application (Fig. 10 and Paragraph 0208 lines 1-3: data visualization).
In regard to claims 15-17, method claims 15-17 correspond generally to system claims 1-3, respectively, and recite similar features in method form, and therefore are rejected under the same rationale.
In regard to claims 18-20, medium claims 18-20 correspond generally to system claims 1-3, respectively, and recite similar features in method form, and therefore are rejected under the same rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 4, 5, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regard to claim 4, the prior art of record, alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the recited “wherein triggering the navigation away from the embedded analytics user interface comprises transmitting an instruction message to the first application to perform in-application navigation to the target destination, and the navigation causes presentation of a first application user interface of the first application that does not include the embedded analytics user interface” in combination with the other elements recited.
In regard to claim 5, the prior art of record, alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the recited “wherein triggering the navigation away from the embedded analytics user interface comprises transmitting an instruction message to the first application to perform cross-application navigation to the target destination, and the navigation causes presentation of a third application user interface of a third application that does not include the embedded analytics user interface” in combination with the other elements recited.
In regard to claim 12, the prior art of record, alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the recited “wherein the obtaining of the one or more navigation options comprises: generating a payload that comprises the context data; causing transmission, to the first application, of a request message that comprises the payload; and accessing a response message from the first application that identifies the one or more navigation options, wherein the first application processes the payload of the request message to generate the one or more navigation options” in combination with the other elements recited.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Szalay et al. (US 2023/0409557 A1), see at least Paragraph 0005.
Singh (US 2022/0398140 A1), see at least Paragraphs 0043-0046.
Pena et al. (US 2021/0081902 A1), see at least the abstract.
Marathe et al. (US 2012/0331488 A1), see at least Paragraph 0003.
Cohen et al. (US 2011/0078203 A1), see at least Paragraph 0047.
Eckerson et al. (The Ultimate Guide to Embedded Analytics, 1/2023, https://assets.qlik.com/image/upload/v1711568897/qlik/docs/resource-library/whitepapers/resource-wp-the-ultimate-guide-to-embedded-analytics-en_enhkml.pdf).
Li (Bringing the power of embedded analytics to your apps and services with Amazon QuickSight, 9/21/2020, https://aws.amazon.com/blogs/big-data/bringing-the-power-of-embedded-analytics-to-your-apps-and-services-with-amazon-quicksight/).
Zhang (A step-by-step guide to building and delivering embedded analytics, 9/10/2020, https://cloud.google.com/blog/products/data-analytics/build-and-deliver-embedded-analytics).
/Nicholas Ulrich/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179