DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 3/12/2024. Claims 1-15 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/12/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As to claim 12, which recites “determining a change in a state of the electronic device during a set second time period; and based on the state of the electronic device not being changed during the second time period, outputting the signal to turn off the power” which is unclear.
Claim 12 states that a change in a state of the electronic device occurred during the set second time period (i.e. “determining a change in a state of the electronic device during a set second time period”). However claim 12 also states that change in a state of the electronic device DID NOT occur during the set second time period (i.e. “based on the state of the electronic device not being changed during the second time period”). Therefore it is unclear whether the state of the electronic device changed during the set second time period.
Examiner will interpret as “…based on the state of the electronic device being changed during the second time period”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadonoff (US 20150108966) In view of Zheng (US 20180123183).
As to claim 8, Kadonoff discloses a power control method (Fig. 2 [0120]) comprising: receiving an input to set an electronic device to a ship mode to prevent and/or reduce discharge of a battery due to a leakage current (Fig. 2 [0120] the system 2 may operate in a hibernation mode. A hibernation mode can be defined by the system 2 controllers and regulators being completely unpowered. This situation can be caused by: a factory ship; when the meter determines there is insufficient power to remain in sleep or active mode) turning off power of the electronic device (Fig. 2 “Shutdown power”); and setting the electronic device to the ship mode (Fig. 2 [0120] the system 2 may operate in a hibernation mode. A hibernation mode can be defined by the system 2 controllers and regulators being completely unpowered. This situation can be caused by: a factory ship; when the meter determines there is insufficient power to remain in sleep or active mode).
Kadonoff does not disclose/teach storing power gauge data related to a state of the battery in a memory.
Zheng teaches storing power gauge data related to a state of the battery in a memory ([0006] The control unit is configured to acquire state information of the battery core and store the state information to the ferromagnetic random access memory, and switch on or off an electrical connection between the power input terminal and the battery core to switch the ferromagnetic random access memory to the dynamic mode or the non-volatile mode).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power control method of Kadonoff to include storing power gauge data related to a state of the battery in a memory in order to reduce the power consumption of the control circuit to zero, thereby effectively extending storage life of the battery 100 ([0021]).
Claims 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhee (US 20030122524) in view of Kadonoff (US 20150108966) in view of Zheng (US 20180123183).
As to claim 8, Rhee discloses a power control method (Fig. 2 [0017]) comprising: receiving an input to set an electronic device to a sleep mode to prevent and/or reduce discharge of a battery (Abstract..the system is operated in the sleep mode using a minimum amount of power…[0017 The power control unit 102 compares the battery voltage level, which is detected after the predetermined period of time from turning off the system power.. When the detected battery voltage level is above a system off voltage level, which turns off the system, and below the reference voltage level, the system operates in a sleep mode. In the sleep mode, only a real time clock (RTC) and a DRAM refresh operate) turning off power of the electronic device ([0023] Fig. 2 205); and setting the electronic device to the sleep mode ([0017 The power control unit 102 compares the battery voltage level, which is detected after the predetermined period of time from turning off the system power.. When the detected battery voltage level is above a system off voltage level, which turns off the system, and below the reference voltage level, the system operates in a sleep mode. In the sleep mode, only a real time clock (RTC) and a DRAM refresh operate).
Rhee does not disclose/teach setting the electronic device to a ship mode to prevent and/or reduce discharge of a battery due to a leakage current after the first time period has elapsed.
Kadonoff teaches setting the electronic device to a ship mode to prevent and/or reduce discharge of a battery due to a leakage current after the first time period has elapsed (Fig. 2 [0120] the system 2 may operate in a hibernation mode. A hibernation mode can be defined by the system 2 controllers and regulators being completely unpowered. This situation can be caused by: a factory ship; when the meter determines there is insufficient power to remain in sleep or active mode;
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sleep mode of Rhee to be a ship mode to prevent and/or reduce discharge of a battery due to a leakage current after the first time period has elapsed in order for the battery may be beneficial for operation with intermittent loads and longer periods without loads due to the lower self-discharge of the battery when operating in a hibernation mode [0115].
Rhee does not disclose/teach storing power gauge data related to a state of the battery in a memory.
Zheng teaches storing power gauge data related to a state of the battery in a memory ([0006] The control unit is configured to acquire state information of the battery core and store the state information to the ferromagnetic random access memory, and switch on or off an electrical connection between the power input terminal and the battery core to switch the ferromagnetic random access memory to the dynamic mode or the non-volatile mode).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power control method of Rhee to include storing power gauge data related to a state of the battery in a memory in order to reduce the power consumption of the control circuit to zero, thereby effectively extending storage life of the battery 100 ([0021]).
As to claim 9, Rhee in view of Kadonoff in view of Zheng teaches the power control method of claim 8, wherein the setting of the electronic device to the ship mode comprises: setting the electronic device to the ship mode by monitoring the voltage of the battery after turning off the power of the electronic device and comparing the monitored voltage of the battery to the voltage of the battery based on receiving the input ([0017] of Rhee. The power control unit 102 compares the battery voltage level, which is detected after the predetermined period of time from turning off the system power. When the detected battery voltage level is above a system off voltage level, which turns off the system, and below the reference voltage level, the system operates in a sleep mode. In the sleep mode, only a real time clock (RTC) and a DRAM refresh operate. Kadonoff teaches “ship mode”. (Fig. 2 [0120] ).
As to claim 10, Rhee in view of Kadonoff in view of Zheng teaches the power control method of claim 8, wherein the setting of the electronic device to the ship mode comprises: setting the electronic device to the ship mode based on a change in the voltage of the battery within a set time period after turning off the power of the electronic device ([0017] of Rhee. The power control unit 102 compares the battery voltage level, which is detected after the predetermined period of time from turning off the system power. When the detected battery voltage level is above a system off voltage level, which turns off the system, and below the reference voltage level, the system operates in a sleep mode. In the sleep mode, only a real time clock (RTC) and a DRAM refresh operate. Kadonoff teaches “ship mode”. (Fig. 2 [0120] ).
Claims 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhee (US 20030122524) in view of Kadonoff (US 20150108966).
As to claim 11, Rhee discloses A power control method (Fig. 2 [0017]) comprising: identifying a signal to turn off power of an electronic device ([0023] Fig. 2 205 and The CPU 105 turns off the power of the system in correspondence to the power off signal from the power control unit 102); turning off the power of the electronic device ([0023] Fig. 2 205); counting a set first time period from when the signal to turn off the power is identified ([0017] which is detected after the predetermined period of time from turning off the system power); setting the electronic device to a sleep mode to prevent and/or reduce discharge of a battery (Abstract..the system is operated in the sleep mode using a minimum amount of power) after the first time period has elapsed ([0017 The power control unit 102 compares the battery voltage level, which is detected after the predetermined period of time from turning off the system power.. When the detected battery voltage level is above a system off voltage level, which turns off the system, and below the reference voltage level, the system operates in a sleep mode. In the sleep mode, only a real time clock (RTC) and a DRAM refresh operate).
Rhee does not disclose/teach setting the electronic device to a ship mode to prevent and/or reduce discharge of a battery due to a leakage current after the first time period has elapsed.
Kadonoff teaches setting the electronic device to a ship mode to prevent and/or reduce discharge of a battery due to a leakage current after the first time period has elapsed (Fig. 2 [0120] the system 2 may operate in a hibernation mode. A hibernation mode can be defined by the system 2 controllers and regulators being completely unpowered. This situation can be caused by: a factory ship; when the meter determines there is insufficient power to remain in sleep or active mode;
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sleep mode of Rhee to be a ship mode to prevent and/or reduce discharge of a battery due to a leakage current after the first time period has elapsed in order for the battery may be beneficial for operation with intermittent loads and longer periods without loads due to the lower self-discharge of the battery when operating in a hibernation mode [0115].
As to claim 12, Rhee in view of Kadonoff teaches power control method of claim 11, wherein the identifying of the signal to turn off the power of the electronic device comprises: determining a change in a state of the electronic device during a set second time period; and based on the state of the electronic device not being changed during the second time period, outputting the signal to turn off the power ([0017] of Rhee. The power control unit 102 compares the battery voltage level, which is detected after the predetermined period of time from turning off the system power. When the detected battery voltage level is above a system off voltage level, which turns off the system, and below the reference voltage level, the system operates in a sleep mode. In the sleep mode, only a real time clock (RTC) and a DRAM refresh operate. KADONOFF teaches “ship mode”. (Fig. 2 [0120]).
As to claim 13, Rhee in view of Kadonoff teaches power control method of claim 11.
Rhee in view of Kadonoff does not disclose/teach wherein the setting of the ship mode comprises: storing power gauge data related to a state of the battery in a memory.
Zheng teaches wherein the setting of the ship mode comprises: storing power gauge data related to a state of the battery in a memory ([0006] The control unit is configured to acquire state information of the battery core and store the state information to the ferromagnetic random access memory, and switch on or off an electrical connection between the power input terminal and the battery core to switch the ferromagnetic random access memory to the dynamic mode or the non-volatile mode).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power control method of Rhee to include wherein the setting of the ship mode comprises: storing power gauge data related to a state of the battery in a memory in order to reduce the power consumption of the control circuit 17 to zero, thereby effectively extending storage life of the battery 100 ([0021]).
As to claim 14, Rhee in view of Kadonoff in view of Zheng teaches power control method of claim 13 wherein based on a power key being input or an adapter being inserted in the ship mode, loading the power gauge data stored in the memory ([0006] of Zheng The control unit is configured to acquire state information of the battery core and store the state information to the ferromagnetic random access memory, and switch on or off an electrical connection between the power input terminal and the battery core to switch the ferromagnetic random access memory to the dynamic mode or the non-volatile mode)
As to claim 15, Rhee in view of Kadonoff teaches power control method of claim 11 wherein the first time period is set to have a positive correlation with a voltage magnitude of the battery based on identifying the signal to turn off the power ([0017] of Rhee. The power control unit 102 compares the battery voltage level, which is detected after the predetermined period of time from turning off the system power).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent claim 1, Although the prior art discloses a power control method, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“a receiving an input to turn off power of an electronic device; identifying a voltage of a battery based on receiving the input; determining a reference voltage to enter a ship mode to prevent and/or or reduce discharge of the battery due to a leakage current based on a set margin voltage and a voltage of the battery based on receiving the input; turning off the power of the electronic device; monitoring the voltage of the battery after turning off the power of the electronic device; and setting the electronic device to the ship mode based on a monitored voltage of the battery and the reference voltage.”
Dependent claims 2-7 are allowable for the reasons set forth supra with respect to the independent claims from which they depend.
Conclusion and Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wu et al (US 20150108966) is cited for having a battery shipping mode.
Wu et al (US 20160126758) ) is cited for having a battery shipping mode.
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859