CTNF 18/602,554 CTNF 76948 DETAILED ACTION Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 12,501,839) . 07-15-02-aia The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. In reference to claim 1 Kim discloses in Figure 2A a superconducting device (120) comprising: a frequency-tunable device (260) including a first conductive pad (210) and a second conductive pad (220) which are connected to each other by a Josephson junction (see column 6, lines 59-62); a ferromagnet (230) having a magnetic domain wall (330, see Figure 3); and a control circuit (250) configured to apply a current to the ferromagnet to adjust a position of the magnetic domain wall of the ferromagnet, and to control a resonance frequency of the frequency-tunable device (see column 8, lines 6-22). The same applies to claim 15. In reference to claim 2 Kim discloses in Figure 2A wherein the frequency-tunable device comprises either one or both of a tunable qubit and a tunable qubit coupler (see column 2, lines 23-25. The same applies to claim 16. In reference to claim 7, Kim discloses in Figure 2A wherein the ferromagnet has a rectangular U-shape, with a portion of the ferromagnet being disposed between the first conductive pad (210) and the second conductive pad (220). In reference to claim 8, Kim discloses in Figure 2A wherein the ferromagnet is disposed at a bottom end of the Josephson junction and parallel to a longitudinal direction between the first conductive pad (210) and the second conductive pad (220). In reference to claim 9, Kim discloses in column 2, lines 21-22 wherein the ferromagnet comprises any one or any combination of any two or more of Pt/Co/MgO, Pt/Co/AlOx, Pt/CoFeB/MgO, Pt/(Co/Ni)n, and Pt/(Co/Pt)n. In reference to claim 10, Kim discloses in column 1, lines 51-54 wherein the first conductive pad (210) and the second conductive pad (220) are made of a superconducting material. In reference to claim 11, Kim discloses in column 2, lines 16-19 wherein the superconducting material comprises any one or any combination of any two or more of aluminum (AI), Niobium (Nb), Indium (In), Alpha-Tantalum (α-Ta), Titanium (Ti), lead (Pb), Vanadium (V), and a compound thereof. In reference to claim 12, Kim discloses in column 2, lines 26-28 wherein either one or both of the first conductive pad and the second conductive pad has a thickness of 50nm to 400nm. In reference to clam 13, Kim discloses in column 2, line 23 wherein the frequency-tunable device is a transmon-type qubit. In reference to claim 14, Kim discloses in column 2, lines 29-30 wherein the ferromagnet and the frequency-tunable device are formed in a layered structure from bottom to top. Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim 20 is allowed. 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 3-6 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03 Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kwon et al. (US 12,471,503) discloses a superconducting device including a frequency tunable device, a ferromagnetic device having a domain wall and a control circuit for controlling the resonant frequency of the frequency-tunable device. The patent has a common assignee with an effective filing date that is later than the effective filing date of the present application . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CASSANDRA F COX whose telephone number is (571)272-1741. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:00-4:30; off alt Fridays. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Menatoallah Youssef can be reached at 571-270-3684. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CASSANDRA F COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/602,554 Page 2 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/602,554 Page 3 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/602,554 Page 4 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/602,554 Page 5 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/602,554 Page 6 Art Unit: 2836