DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in present Application filed on April 05, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed March 12, 2024 have been submitted for consideration by the Office. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Applicants must continue to submit prior art references throughout the patent application process. A supplemental IDS must be submitted if prior art is discovered through a foreign patent application or an International Patent Search, or a related application before a prosecution closes.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of invention I encomssing claims 1-12 with traverse of in the reply filed on November 24, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the groups overlap in scope and that there is no burden on the examiner This is not found persuasive because
First, the question as to whether or not inventions overlap in scope is not whether the groups share some limitations. In fact, if such were the case, no restriction between groups with a linking or generic claim would ever be proper. Clearly, such an interpretation would not be consistent with restriction practice or double patenting practice as a whole. Rather, related inventions in the same statutory class are considered mutually exclusive, or not overlapping in scope, if a first invention would not infringe a second invention, and the second invention would not infringe the first invention.
And second, the classification of a particular invention in a class and subclass is not to be construed as a complete field of search. Where it is necessary to search for one of the inventions in a manner that is not likely to result in finding art pertinent to the other invention(s) (e.g., searching different classes /subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries), a different field of search is shown, even though the two are classified together. For example, Invention II positively claiming attaching and connecting the cable to the conduit harness system; plugging the conduit harness system interface of the adaptor into the opening of the conduit harness system require prior art and different search queries than wherein the first portion is a conduit harness system interface configured to be connected to a conduit harness system which does not positively claiming conduit harness system; it just requires to have second end portion of adaptor.
And Third, as restriction requirement mentions that the process of the Invention II as claimed the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product than invention I, wherein invention Il having the structure that include the conduit harness system comprises an conduit harness system interface and forms an opening for receiving the adaptor and the cable; leading the cable of the wiring harness system through the adaptor in direction to the conduit harness system; attaching and connecting the cable to the conduit harness system; plugging the conduit harness system interface of the adaptor into the opening of the conduit harness system; pulling the wiring harness protection system over the wiring harness protection system interface of the adaptor; and securing the wiring harness protection system with the conduit clip or the cable tie of the adaptor at the wiring harness protection system interface of the adaptor different than structure of invention I.
Therefore, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 13 is withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter or species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) (whichever apply) as being anticipated by Douthitt et al. (US20230258289, herin referred to as Douthitt).
Rejection of claim 12, Douthitt discloses a wiring harness connection system (figure 3 of Douthitt), comprising:
a wiring harness system comprising a cable (the electrical conduit 14 is trimmed to a pre-determined length according to construction plans for the construction project. A 90.0 degree elbow 24 is installed on the electrical conduit 14 if electrical wiring that will be subsequently routed through the electrical conduit 14 is to be extended upwardly through a concrete floor slab 16.) and a wiring harness protection system (pipe 12);
an adaptor having a main body (a main body of elbow 24), the main body forming a wiring harness protection system interface ( a first end portion of 24) and a conduit harness system interface (a second end portion of 24), wherein the adaptor is configured to receive the wiring harness protection system at the wiring harness protection system interface ( a first end portion of 24 have a capacity or intended to use to receive pipe 12; note that ‘configured to” defines only intended use or having capacity); and a conduit harness system configured to receive the conduit harness system interface of the adaptor ( a first end portion of 24 have a capacity or intended to use to receive conduit 14; note that ‘configured to” defines only intended use or having capacity).
Rejection of claim 1, Douthitt discloses an adaptor (elbow 24 in figure 3) for connecting, adapting and securing different harness protection systems (“for” in preamble defines only intended use), comprises:
a main body including a first portion, wherein the first portion is a conduit harness system interface configured to be connected to a conduit harness system, and a second portion, wherein the second portion is a wiring harness protection system interface configured to be connected to a wiring harness protection system ( by having two open end as first and second portion in main body of 24, a adopter intended to use as connecting a conduit harness system and to a wiring harness protection system at two ends of elbow 24; note that ‘configured to” defines only intended use or having capacity; additionally see explanation as mentioned in the rejection of claim 12 above ).
Rejection of claim 2, Douthitt discloses the adaptor according to claim 1, wherein the main body is an integral part, and wherein the conduit harness system interface and the wiring harness protection system interface have a common central portion (see elbow 24 in figure 3 of Douthitt wherein the first end portion and the second end portion have a common central portion).
Rejection of claim 3, Douthitt discloses the adaptor according to claim 1, wherein the main body is cylindrical (see elbow 24 in figure 3 of Douthitt).
Rejection of claim 11, Douthitt discloses the adaptor according to claim 1, wherein the conduit harness system interface has a smooth radial outer surface and a smooth internal surface. (see end portion of elbow 24 connecting conduit 14 in figure 3 of Douthitt).
Claims 1-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) (whichever apply) as being anticipated by Marmet et al. (US20210218159, herin referred to as Marmet)
Rejection of claim 1, Marmet discloses an adaptor (16 in figure 2) for connecting, adapting and securing different harness protection systems (“for” in preamble defines only intended use), comprises:
a main body including a first portion, wherein the first portion is a conduit harness system interface (a first portion 21 at 25) configured to be connected to a conduit harness system, and a second portion, wherein the second portion (a second portion 21 at 25) is a wiring harness protection system interface configured to be connected to a wiring harness protection system ( by having two open end as first and second portion in main body of 16, an adapter intended to use as connecting a conduit harness system and to a wiring harness protection system at two ends of 16; note that ‘configured to” defines only intended use or having capacity; additionally see explanation as mentioned in the rejection of claim 12 above ).
Rejection of claim 2, Marmet discloses the adaptor according to claim 1, wherein the main body is an integral part, and wherein the conduit harness system interface and the wiring harness protection system interface have a common central portion (see 20 and 21 have common central portion at 24 in figure 2 of Marmet).
Rejection of claim 3, Marmet discloses the adaptor according to claim 1, wherein the main body is cylindrical (see main body of 16 in figure 2 of Marmet).
Rejection of claim 4, Marmet discloses the adaptor according to claim 1, wherein the wiring harness protection system interface comprises at least one circumferential groove for receiving a securing device (see at least one grooves 20a and 20b in figure 2 of Marmet).
Rejection of claim 5, Marmet discloses the adaptor according to claim 1, wherein the wiring harness protection system interface comprises two circumferential grooves with a central rib between the circumferential grooves for receiving a securing device (see at least one grooves 20a and 20b in figure 2 of Marmet).
Rejection of claim 6, Marmet discloses the adaptor according to claim 4, wherein the adaptor further comprises the securing device (32 in figure 1 of Marmet).
Rejection of claim 7, Marmet discloses the adaptor according to claim 4, wherein the securing device is a conduit clip, a cable tie, a clamp or a bracket (32 in figure 1 of Marmet).
Rejection of claim 9, Marmet discloses the adaptor according to claim 1, wherein the wiring harness protection system interface comprises a front lip (see lip at 23 in figure of Marmet).
Rejection of claim 10, Marmet discloses the adaptor according to claim 1, wherein the conduit harness system interface comprises a circumferential securing groove (see groove at 21 between 24 and 25 in figure 2 of Marmet).
Rejection of claim 11, Marmet discloses the adaptor according to claim 1, wherein the conduit harness system interface has a smooth radial outer surface and a smooth internal surface. (see inner and outer surface at 21 in figures 1-3 of Marmet).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marmet in view of Carnahan et al. (Cited Reference US20080009173 herein referred to as Carnahan).
Rejection of claim 8, Marmet discloses the adaptor according to claim 4, but fails to disclose the wiring harness protection system interface comprises at least one locating feature within the at least one groove, wherein the at least one locating feature covers the circumferential grooves.
Carnahan discloses the wiring harness protection system interface comprises at least one locating feature within the at least one groove, wherein the at least one locating feature covers the circumferential grooves (see figure 12 wherein at least one locating feature 152 within the at least one groove).
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adaptor of Marmet to have structure arrangement as taught by Carnahan because Carnahan discloses in one aspect of the present invention, second anti-rotation features 152 of connector 102 are shaped to receive and interconnect with first anti-rotation features 150 of back shell device 100. Moreover, first anti-rotation features 150 of mounting section 110 of back shell device 100 interconnect with second anti-rotation features 152 of second recessed groove 132 of connector 102 to secure position and inhibit rotation of back shell device 100 with respect to connector 102; additionally or alternatively, it is useful to identify to particular section or part of the adaptor to connector specific component to the adaptor.
Pertinent Prior Arts
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent arts in the present case, all of which disclose various adaptor assemblies.
Communication
/PARESH PAGHADAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847