DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09-26-2025,04-10-2025,03-12-2024 ARE in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “ELECTRICAL INSULATOR WITH PROJECTIONS IN INNER WALLS AROUND STATOR CORE TEETH FOR MOTOR”
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1,2,9,10,13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Numomura (Japanese Patent Publication JP2011193573A hereinafter “Numomura”) in view of Shinoda (Japanese Patent Document JP2010279131a hereinafter “Shinoda”) OR Motoishi et al. (US PG Pub 20230412030 hereinafter “Motoishi”).
Re-claim 1, Numomura discloses an electrical insulator (64) configured to be fitted onto a radially extending tooth (56) of a stator core (51), the tooth having a first outer wall surface (annotated fig.13b) axially spaced from a second outer wall surface (annotated fig.13b), and a third outer wall surface (annotated fig.13b) circumferentially spaced from a fourth outer wall surface (annotated fig.13b), the electrical insulator (64) including a tooth insertion hole (inside 64) in which the tooth (56) is configured to be received (inside 64), the electrical insulator (64) being configured to be mounted on the tooth (56) and restrained from moving relative to the tooth (by 65,67,66), the electrical insulator including an inner wall (64a) defining the tooth insertion hole (inside 64) and at least two projections (66) that protrude from the inner wall into the tooth insertion hole (see fig.13a), the inner wall (64a) including a first inner wall surface (annotated fig.13a) configured to face the first outer wall surface of the tooth (annotated fig.13b), a second inner wall surface (annotated fig.13a) configured to face the second outer wall surface (annotated fig.13b) of the tooth (56), a third inner wall surface (annotated fig.13a) configured to face the third outer wall surface (annotated fig.13b) of the tooth and a fourth inner wall surface (annotated fig.13a) configured to face the fourth inner wall surface (annotated fig.13b) of the tooth in a state in which the tooth is in the tooth insertion hole (annotated fig.13b), and the inner wall including the at least one set of projections (66) selected from a group consisting of a first set of projections located on the first inner wall surface and the second inner wall surface and a second set of projections (66) located on the third inner wall surface and the fourth inner wall surface (see fig.13 a and b, projection 66), the first set of projections including at least one first projection formed on the first inner wall surface and at least one second projection formed on the second inner wall surface, and the second set of projections including at least one third projection formed on the third inner wall surface and at least one fourth projection surface (see fig.13 a and b, projection 66), formed on the fourth inner wall surface, wherein the electrical insulator (64) is configured to be restrained from moving relative to the tooth (56) by abutment between the first and second outer wall surfaces of the tooth and the projections of the first set of projections and/or by abutment (66 is inside of 67) between the third and fourth outer wall surfaces (annotated fig.12) of the tooth (56) and the projections of the second set of projections (66).
Numomura is silent that the insulator is an “electrical” insulator.
However, Shinoda teaches that the insulator (bobbin 5) is an electrical insulator (Provides electrical insulation, P[0023]).
Therefore, it is obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the insulator of Numomura and explicitly state it is an electrical insulator as mentioned by Shinoda to provide electrical insulation between windings and core preventing contact, (Shinoda, P[0005]).
OR alternativaly
Motoishi teaches that the insulator (bobbin 9a) is an electrical insulator (P[0086]).
Therefore, it is obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the insulator of Numomura and explicitly state it is an electrical insulator as mentioned by Motoishi to provide electrical insulation between core and coils and minimize short circuit, providing a reliable circuit and device (Motoishi, P[0086]).
Re-claim 2, Numomura as modified discloses the electrical insulator as defined in claim 1, including the second set of projections (66).
Re-claim 9, Numomura as modified discloses the electrical insulator as defined in claim 2,
Numomoura fails to explicitly teach wherein the projections include the first set of projections.
However, Shinoda teaches that the projections (5f) includes the first set of projections (5f, see fig from Shinoda).
Therefore, it is obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the insulator of Numomura wherein the projections include the first set of projections as shown by Motoishi to provide holding structure and prevent rattling of coils (Shinoda, P[0031]).
Re-claim 10, , Numomura as modified teach the electrical insulator as defined in claim 1, wherein the projections include the first of projections (66).
Re-claim 13, Numomura as modified discloses a motor (title), having a stator (5) and a rotor (4), the stator (5) including a stator core (51), electrical insulators (bobbins 70) and one or more stator windings (coil 52), the stator core being tubularly (see fig.2a showing tubular, rounding 57) composed of electromagnetic steel sheets (58, tubular portions) laminated in an axial direction (see fig.1, shwonig 58 stacked axially) and having a yoke (57) extending in a circumferential direction (around rotor) and teeth (56) extending radially inward from the yoke (see fig.2a), the electrical insulators (70) being respectively fitted onto the teeth, the stator winding (52) being wound around the electrical insulators (64, coil bobbin) fitted onto the teeth (56), wherein: each of the electrical insulators (70,64) comprises the electrical insulator (65) as defined in claim 1.
Claim 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Numomura in view of Shinoda OR Motoishi and in further view of Jeong et al (US Patent 11909296 hereinafter “Jeong”).
Re-claim 14, Numomura as modified the motor comprises the motor as defined in claim 13.
Numomura fails to explicitly teach discloses the compressor, having a compression mechanism part for compressing a working medium and a motor for driving the compression mechanism part.
However, Jeong teaches discloses the compressor (100), having a compression mechanism part (120) for compressing a working medium (compresses gaseous medium, air, col.4, L.45-60) and a motor (130) for driving the compression mechanism part (120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordainry skill before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device of Numomura such that is used in the compressor, having a compression mechanism part for compressing a working medium and a motor for driving the compression mechanism part as suggested by Jeong to use the device for cooling system and provide cooling (Jeong, Col.6, L.43-52).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8, 11 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re-claim 3, recites “inter alia” “1. An electrical insulator configured to be fitted onto a radially extending tooth of a stator core, the tooth having a first outer wall surface axially spaced from a second outer wall surface, and a third outer wall surface circumferentially spaced from a fourth outer wall surface, the electrical insulator including a tooth insertion hole in which the tooth is configured to be received, the electrical insulator being configured to be mounted on the tooth and restrained from moving relative to the tooth, the electrical insulator including an inner wall defining the tooth insertion hole and at least two projections that protrude from the inner wall into the tooth insertion hole, the inner wall including a first inner wall surface configured to face the first outer wall surface of the tooth, a second inner wall surface configured to face the second outer wall surface of the tooth, a third inner wall surface configured to face the third outer wall surface of the tooth and a fourth inner wall surface configured to face the fourth inner wall surface of the tooth in a state in which the tooth is in the tooth insertion hole, and the inner wall including at least one set of projections selected from a group consisting of a first set of projections located on the first inner wall surface and the second inner wall surface and a second set of projections located on the third inner wall surface and the fourth inner wall surface, the first set of projections including at least one first projection formed on the first inner wall surface and at least one second projection formed on the second inner wall surface, and the second set of projections including at least one third projection formed on the third inner wall surface and at least one fourth projection formed on the fourth inner wall surface, wherein the electrical insulator is configured to be restrained from moving relative to the tooth by abutment between the first and second outer wall surfaces of the tooth and the projections of the first set of projections and/or by abutment between the third and fourth outer wall surfaces of the tooth and the projections of the second set of projections.
2. The electrical insulator as defined in claim 1, including the second set of projections.
3. The electrical insulator as defined in claim 2, wherein the at least one third projection comprises two third projections axially spaced apart on the third inner wall. “
The combination of limitations of claims 3,2 an 1 together is found to be allowable. the claim combination of limitation is unique having all the projections as detailed is not taught in any of the prior art of record alone or in combination, none of the prior art of record, ip.com search, AI search teach or suggest the combination as suggested above.
Claims 4-5 are rejected based on dependency from claim 3.
Re-claim 6, recites “inter alia” “1. An electrical insulator configured to be fitted onto a radially extending tooth of a stator core, the tooth having a first outer wall surface axially spaced from a second outer wall surface, and a third outer wall surface circumferentially spaced from a fourth outer wall surface, the electrical insulator including a tooth insertion hole in which the tooth is configured to be received, the electrical insulator being configured to be mounted on the tooth and restrained from moving relative to the tooth, the electrical insulator including an inner wall defining the tooth insertion hole and at least two projections that protrude from the inner wall into the tooth insertion hole, the inner wall including a first inner wall surface configured to face the first outer wall surface of the tooth, a second inner wall surface configured to face the second outer wall surface of the tooth, a third inner wall surface configured to face the third outer wall surface of the tooth and a fourth inner wall surface configured to face the fourth inner wall surface of the tooth in a state in which the tooth is in the tooth insertion hole, and the inner wall including at least one set of projections selected from a group consisting of a first set of projections located on the first inner wall surface and the second inner wall surface and a second set of projections located on the third inner wall surface and the fourth inner wall surface, the first set of projections including at least one first projection formed on the first inner wall surface and at least one second projection formed on the second inner wall surface, and the second set of projections including at least one third projection formed on the third inner wall surface and at least one fourth projection formed on the fourth inner wall surface, wherein the electrical insulator is configured to be restrained from moving relative to the tooth by abutment between the first and second outer wall surfaces of the tooth and the projections of the first set of projections and/or by abutment between the third and fourth outer wall surfaces of the tooth and the projections of the second set of projections.
2. The electrical insulator as defined in claim 1, including the second set of projections.
6. The electrical insulator as defined in claim 2, wherein the second set of the projections includes at least two third projections formed on the third inner wall surface and at least two fourth projections formed on the fourth inner wall surface.”
The combination of limitations of claims 6,2 and 1 together is found to be allowable. the claim combination of limitation is unique having all the projections as detailed is not taught in any of the prior art of record alone or in combination, none of the prior art of record, ip.com search, AI search teach or suggest the combination as suggested above.
Claims 7-8 are rejected based on dependency from claim 6.
Re-claim 11, recites “inter alia” “1. An electrical insulator configured to be fitted onto a radially extending tooth of a stator core, the tooth having a first outer wall surface axially spaced from a second outer wall surface, and a third outer wall surface circumferentially spaced from a fourth outer wall surface, the electrical insulator including a tooth insertion hole in which the tooth is configured to be received, the electrical insulator being configured to be mounted on the tooth and restrained from moving relative to the tooth, the electrical insulator including an inner wall defining the tooth insertion hole and at least two projections that protrude from the inner wall into the tooth insertion hole, the inner wall including a first inner wall surface configured to face the first outer wall surface of the tooth, a second inner wall surface configured to face the second outer wall surface of the tooth, a third inner wall surface configured to face the third outer wall surface of the tooth and a fourth inner wall surface configured to face the fourth inner wall surface of the tooth in a state in which the tooth is in the tooth insertion hole, and the inner wall including at least one set of projections selected from a group consisting of a first set of projections located on the first inner wall surface and the second inner wall surface and a second set of projections located on the third inner wall surface and the fourth inner wall surface, the first set of projections including at least one first projection formed on the first inner wall surface and at least one second projection formed on the second inner wall surface, and the second set of projections including at least one third projection formed on the third inner wall surface and at least one fourth projection formed on the fourth inner wall surface, wherein the electrical insulator is configured to be restrained from moving relative to the tooth by abutment between the first and second outer wall surfaces of the tooth and the projections of the first set of projections and/or by abutment between the third and fourth outer wall surfaces of the tooth and the projections of the second set of projections. 11. The electrical insulator as defined in claim 1, wherein the at least one third projection and the at least one fourth projection extend in the radial direction or the axial direction, and the at least one first projection and the at least one second projection extend in the radial direction or the circumferential direction.”
The combination of limitations of claims 11 and 1 together is found to be allowable. the claim combination of limitation is unique having all the projections as detailed is not taught in any of the prior art of record alone or in combination, none of the prior art of record, ip.com search, AI search teach or suggest the combination as suggested above.
Re-claim 12, recites “inter alia” “1. An electrical insulator configured to be fitted onto a radially extending tooth of a stator core, the tooth having a first outer wall surface axially spaced from a second outer wall surface, and a third outer wall surface circumferentially spaced from a fourth outer wall surface, the electrical insulator including a tooth insertion hole in which the tooth is configured to be received, the electrical insulator being configured to be mounted on the tooth and restrained from moving relative to the tooth, the electrical insulator including an inner wall defining the tooth insertion hole and at least two projections that protrude from the inner wall into the tooth insertion hole, the inner wall including a first inner wall surface configured to face the first outer wall surface of the tooth, a second inner wall surface configured to face the second outer wall surface of the tooth, a third inner wall surface configured to face the third outer wall surface of the tooth and a fourth inner wall surface configured to face the fourth inner wall surface of the tooth in a state in which the tooth is in the tooth insertion hole, and the inner wall including at least one set of projections selected from a group consisting of a first set of projections located on the first inner wall surface and the second inner wall surface and a second set of projections located on the third inner wall surface and the fourth inner wall surface, the first set of projections including at least one first projection formed on the first inner wall surface and at least one second projection formed on the second inner wall surface, and the second set of projections including at least one third projection formed on the third inner wall surface and at least one fourth projection formed on the fourth inner wall surface, wherein the electrical insulator is configured to be restrained from moving relative to the tooth by abutment between the first and second outer wall surfaces of the tooth and the projections of the first set of projections and/or by abutment between the third and fourth outer wall surfaces of the tooth and the projections of the second set of projections. 12. The electrical insulator as defined in claim 1, wherein a recess is provided in the tooth insertion hole at at least one boundary selected from a group consisting of a first boundary between the first inner wall surface and the third inner wall surface, a second boundary between the first inner wall surface and the fourth inner wall surface, a third boundary between the second inner wall surface and the third inner wall surface and a fourth boundary between the second inner wall surface and the fourth inner wall surface.”
The combination of limitations of claims 12 and 1 together is found to be allowable. the claim combination of limitation is unique having all the projections and recess as detailed is not taught in any of the prior art of record alone or in combination, none of the prior art of record, ip.com search, AI search teach or suggest the combination as suggested above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in PTO892.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher M. Koehler can be reached on 5712723560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MAGED M ALMAWRI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834