DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 03/18/2024, 11/01/2024, 02/12/2025, 06/25/2025, 12/15/2025, 12/15/2025, and 03/11/2025 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Silha et al (US 20210167430 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Silha teaches a battery charger comprising: a housing defining a first end, a second end opposite the first end, a front side, a rear side opposite the front side, a top side, a bottom side opposite the top side, (¶0048 “FIG. 1-5, the charger 10 has a charger housing 100 including a front wall 110, a rear wall 114, a top wall 118, a bottom wall 122, a first side wall 126, and a second side wall 130”)
a first support structure configured to selectively couple to a battery pack, (¶0050 “charger housing 100 further includes charger interfaces 200A, 200B engageable with and support the respective battery packs 14A, 14B”, ¶0051 “FIGS. 1-3, 5 and 9, the charger interface 200A defines an insertion axis C (FIG. 9) and a recess 204 (e.g., a battery pack receiving port) defined by the top wall 118 and the inclined portion 138 of the front wall 110”)
and a second support structure configured to selectively couple to the battery pack, (¶0050 “charger housing 100 further includes charger interfaces 200A, 200B engageable with and support the respective battery packs 14A, 14B”, ¶0052 “FIGS. 1-3, 5 and 9-10, the charger interface 200B defines an insertion axis D (FIG. 9) and includes rail members 220, 224 and a charger terminal block 228 (FIG. 1). The rail members 220, 224 are spaced apart, substantially parallel, and positioned on the inclined portion 138 of the front wall 110.”)
a first air inlet located in the front side and a second air inlet located in the rear side, and a first air outlet located in the first end and a second air outlet located in the second end; (¶0058 “FIGS. 9 and 16, the first chamber 244, the opening 312 in the fan housing 304 and the second chamber 390 define a first air flow path or passage X that receives a first air flow X from outside the charger housing 100”, ¶0070 “FIG. 7, the charger 10 defines a second flow path or passage Y through the housing 100 that is separate from the first airflow X, X′. In the illustrated construction, second air flow flows along the flow path Y from the inlets 520, 524, over the charger electronics 154 (e.g., the PCB 158) to the inlet of the heat sink 530, and through the heat sink 530 to the outlets 500, 508. The second fan 354 directs the second air flow along the flow path Y”, see below for further detail)
charger electronics supported in the housing and operable to output a charging current to charge the battery pack; (¶0049 “FIGS. 7-8, charger electronics 154 are supported by the bottom portion 146 and specifically the bottom wall 122. The charger electronics 154 are operable to output a charging current to one or both of the battery packs 14A, 14B to charge the battery packs 14A, 14B”)
and a fan operable to generate an airflow through the housing, the airflow extending from the first air inlet and the second air inlet to the first air outlet and the second air outlet. (¶0058 “[first] fan 300 sucks air into the air passage such that the first air flow X travels from outside the charger housing 100 laterally (e.g., horizontally) through the second chamber 390 along the axis H and vertically through the fan 300 and first chamber 244 along the axes E, F”, ¶0069 “ second fan 534 is a multi-speed fan operable to rotate at more than one speed and directs air flow from the inlets 520, 524 through the housing 100 and to the outlets 500, 508”)
Silha discloses the claimed invention except for “a first air inlet located in the front side and a second air inlet located in the rear side, and a first air outlet located in the first end and a second air outlet located in the second end”. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to Y, since applicant has not disclosed that “a first air inlet located in the front side and a second air inlet located in the rear side, and a first air outlet located in the first end and a second air outlet located in the second end” solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with air flow X and air flow Y as taught by Silha, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 2, Silha teaches the battery charger of claim 1. Silha further teaches wherein: the housing includes an upper housing member that defines the top side and a lower housing member that defines the bottom side, (¶0048 “FIG. 1-5, the charger 10 has a charger housing 100 including a front wall 110, a rear wall 114, a top wall 118, a bottom wall 122, a first side wall 126, and a second side wall 130”)
the lower housing member being removably coupled to the upper housing member; (¶0053 “FIG. 6, the first chamber 244 is defined by a first chamber wall 270 that extends from the inclined portion 138 of the front wall 110 into the charger housing 100”, wherein the bottom wall 122 has been removed)
and the first air outlet and the second air outlet are defined by the lower housing member. (¶0063 “air passage member 350 may be extend through an opening in another wall (e.g., the bottom wall 122 or one of the side walls 126, 130) of the housing 100”)
Regarding claim 4, Silha teaches the battery charger of claim 2. Silha further teaches wherein: the housing further includes an interior housing member positioned between the upper housing member and the lower housing member; (¶0053 “FIG. 6, the first chamber 244 is defined by a first chamber wall 270 that extends from the inclined portion 138 of the front wall 110 into the charger housing 100”, ¶0057 “aperture 386 in the first inclined wall 378 is aligned with the opening 312 in the first fan 300 and the first chamber 244 and allows communication between the first chamber 244 and the second chamber 390”)
the charger electronics include a first printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) supported by the lower housing member and a second PCBA supported by the interior housing member; (¶0049 “FIGS. 7-8, charger electronics 154 are supported by the bottom portion 146 and specifically the bottom wall 122. The charger electronics 154 are operable to output a charging current to one or both of the battery packs 14A, 14B to charge the battery packs 14A, 14B”)
and wherein the airflow passes by the second PCBA before the airflow passes by the first PCBA. (¶0069 “speed at which the fan 534 rotates may be determined based on a temperature of one or more of the charger electronics 154, the heat sink 530, a supported battery pack 14A, 14B, etc”, ¶0049 “charger electronics 154 may include a charging circuit portion (not shown; e.g., on separate PCBs) for each of the battery packs 14A, 14B”)
Silha FIG 7 depicts Air Flow Y as flowing from fan 534 and out the front air outlets 500, due to the location of fan 534 the air flow Y would necessarily pass by the charger electronics 154 for charging battery pack 14B before passing by the charger electronics 154 for charging battery pack 14A.
Regarding claim 5, Silha teaches the battery charger of claim 4. Silha further teaches wherein the interior housing member supports the fan. (¶0054 “FIGS. 7, 8, and 11, the first fan 300 includes a fan housing 304 that is positioned adjacent and coupled to the first chamber wall 270”)
Regarding claim 6, Silha teaches the battery charger of claim 1. Silha further teaches wherein: the housing further defines a first axis extending between the first end and the second end, (¶0048 “first and the second side walls 126, 130 are spaced apart from one another, and a transverse axis B of the charger housing 100”)
a second axis extending between the front side and the rear side, (¶0057 “the axis H is parallel to the bottom wall 122 of the housing 10”, FIG 9 shows axis H to be extending from the front side to the rear side)
and a third axis extending between the top side and the bottom side, (¶0051 “charger interface 200A defines an insertion axis C (FIG. 9) and a recess 204 (e.g., a battery pack receiving port) defined by the top wall 118 and the inclined portion 138 of the front wall 110. The insertion axis C is perpendicular to the transverse axis B of the housing”)
with the first axis, the second axis, and the third axis being orthogonal to one another, and the first air outlet and the second air outlet are each oriented facing normal to the first axis. (¶0051 “The insertion axis C is perpendicular to the transverse axis B of the housing”, FIG 9 Axis H is parallel to the bottom of the housing and traverses front to back necessitating it to be perpendicular to axis B and axis C)
Regarding claim 7, Silha teaches the battery charger of claim 6. Silha further teaches wherein a largest dimension of the housing is measured between the first end and the second end along the first axis.
Silha discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a largest dimension of the housing is measured between the first end and the second end along the first axis. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the largest dimension of the housing measured between the first end and the second end along the first axis, since applicant has not disclosed that this solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a different axis being the longest dimension.
In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 8, Silha teaches a battery charger comprising: a housing defining a first end, a second end opposite the first end, a front side, a rear side opposite the front side, a top side, and a bottom side opposite the top side, (¶0048 “FIG. 1-5, the charger 10 has a charger housing 100 including a front wall 110, a rear wall 114, a top wall 118, a bottom wall 122, a first side wall 126, and a second side wall 130”)
a first support structure located in the top side and configured to selectively couple to a battery pack, (¶0050 “charger housing 100 further includes charger interfaces 200A, 200B engageable with and support the respective battery packs 14A, 14B”, ¶0051 “FIGS. 1-3, 5 and 9, the charger interface 200A defines an insertion axis C (FIG. 9) and a recess 204 (e.g., a battery pack receiving port) defined by the top wall 118 and the inclined portion 138 of the front wall 110”)
and a second support structure located in the top side and configured to selectively couple to the battery pack, (¶0050 “charger housing 100 further includes charger interfaces 200A, 200B engageable with and support the respective battery packs 14A, 14B”, ¶0052 “FIGS. 1-3, 5 and 9-10, the charger interface 200B defines an insertion axis D (FIG. 9) and includes rail members 220, 224 and a charger terminal block 228 (FIG. 1). The rail members 220, 224 are spaced apart, substantially parallel, and positioned on the inclined portion 138 of the front wall 110.”)
a first air inlet located in the bottom side and under the first support structure, and a second air inlet located in the bottom side and under the second support structure, and a first air outlet located in the top side adjacent the first support structure and a second air outlet located in the top side adjacent the second support structure; a first air inlet located in the front side and a second air inlet located in the rear side, and a first air outlet located in the first end and a second air outlet located in the second end; (¶0058 “FIGS. 9 and 16, the first chamber 244, the opening 312 in the fan housing 304 and the second chamber 390 define a first air flow path or passage X that receives a first air flow X from outside the charger housing 100”, ¶0070 “FIG. 7, the charger 10 defines a second flow path or passage Y through the housing 100 that is separate from the first airflow X, X′. In the illustrated construction, second air flow flows along the flow path Y from the inlets 520, 524, over the charger electronics 154 (e.g., the PCB 158) to the inlet of the heat sink 530, and through the heat sink 530 to the outlets 500, 508. The second fan 354 directs the second air flow along the flow path Y”, see below for further detail)
charger electronics supported in the housing and operable to output a charging current to charge the battery pack; (¶0049 “FIGS. 7-8, charger electronics 154 are supported by the bottom portion 146 and specifically the bottom wall 122. The charger electronics 154 are operable to output a charging current to one or both of the battery packs 14A, 14B to charge the battery packs 14A, 14B”)
a first fan assembly operable to generate a first airflow extending from the first air inlet to the first air outlet, the first fan assembly including a first fan adjacent the first air inlet and a first duct coupled to the first fan, the first duct extending from the first fan to the first air outlet; (¶0058 “[first] fan 300 sucks air into the air passage such that the first air flow X travels from outside the charger housing 100 laterally (e.g., horizontally) through the second chamber 390 along the axis H and vertically through the fan 300 and first chamber 244 along the axes E, F”)
a second fan assembly operable to generate a second airflow extending from the second air inlet to the second air outlet, the second fan assembly including a second fan adjacent the second air inlet and a second duct coupled to the second fan, the second duct extending from the second fan to the second air outlet; ¶0069 “ second fan 534 is a multi-speed fan operable to rotate at more than one speed and directs air flow from the inlets 520, 524 through the housing 100 and to the outlets 500, 508”)
wherein the first air outlet directs the first airflow over the battery pack when the battery pack is coupled to the first support structure; (¶0058 “A distal or protruding end 398 of the air passage member 350 extending from the housing 100 defines an air inlet and the apertures 232, 236 define the air outlet of the first air passage such that the first air flow X moves from outside the charger housing 100 to the battery pack 14B”)
and wherein the second air outlet directs the second airflow over the battery pack when the battery pack is coupled to the second support structure. (¶0069 “speed at which the fan 534 rotates may be determined based on a temperature of one or more of the charger electronics 154, the heat sink 530, a supported battery pack 14A, 14B, etc”)
Silha discloses the claimed invention except for “a first air inlet located in the front side and a second air inlet located in the rear side, and a first air outlet located in the first end and a second air outlet located in the second end”. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to Y, since applicant has not disclosed that “a first air inlet located in the front side and a second air inlet located in the rear side, and a first air outlet located in the first end and a second air outlet located in the second end” solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with air flow X and air flow Y as taught by Silha, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 9, Silha teaches the battery charger of claim 8. Silha further teaches wherein the first air outlet is defined by a first plurality of slots formed in the top side of the housing and located adjacent the first support structure. (¶0058 “FIGS. 9 and 16, the first chamber 244, the opening 312 in the fan housing 304 and the second chamber 390 define a first air flow path or passage X that receives a first air flow X from outside the charger housing 100”)
Regarding claim 10, Silha teaches the battery charger of claim 9. Silha wherein the first plurality of slots extends on both lateral sides of the first support structure. (¶0051 “FIGS. 1-3, 5 and 9, the charger interface 200A defines an insertion axis C (FIG. 9) and a recess 204 (e.g., a battery pack receiving port) defined by the top wall 118 and the inclined portion 138 of the front wall 110”, ¶0055 “illustrated outlet 500 includes slots 504 (e.g., longitudinal slots) defined in and extending through the inclined portion 138”, FIG 2 depicts slots 504 to be around recess 204)
Regarding claim 11, Silha teaches the battery charger of claim 8. Silha further teaches wherein: the housing further defines a first axis extending between the first end and the second end, (¶0048 “first and the second side walls 126, 130 are spaced apart from one another, and a transverse axis B of the charger housing 100”)
a second axis extending between the front side and the rear side, (¶0057 “the axis H is parallel to the bottom wall 122 of the housing 10”, FIG 9 shows axis H to be extending from the front side to the rear side)
and a third axis extending between the top side and the bottom side, (¶0051 “charger interface 200A defines an insertion axis C (FIG. 9) and a recess 204 (e.g., a battery pack receiving port) defined by the top wall 118 and the inclined portion 138 of the front wall 110. The insertion axis C is perpendicular to the transverse axis B of the housing”)
with the first axis, the second axis, and the third axis being orthogonal to one another, (¶0051 “The insertion axis C is perpendicular to the transverse axis B of the housing”, FIG 9 Axis H is parallel to the bottom of the housing and traverses front to back necessitating it to be perpendicular to axis B and axis C)
and wherein the first air inlet, (¶0058 “[first] fan 300 sucks air into the air passage such that the first air flow X travels from outside the charger housing 100 laterally (e.g., horizontally) through the second chamber 390 along the axis H”, oriented along axis H)
the second air inlet, (¶0069 “second fan 534 is positioned between the first end 542 of the heat sink 530 and the inlets 520, 524. A baffle 550 extends between the first end 542 and the fan 534 for directing air flow”, oriented along axis B )
the first air outlet, and the second air outlet (¶0066 “inlets 520, 524 and the outlets 500, 508 are positioned on different locations of the housing 100”, ¶0070 “the second fan 354 directs the second air flow Y into the inlet and outlet 542, 538 of each tube 546”)
are each oriented facing normal to the third axis. (FIG 7 depicts outlets 500, 508, 542, and 538 as being in the plane of axises B and H which is perpendicular to axis C)
Regarding claim 12, Silha teaches the battery charger of claim 11. Silha further teaches wherein a largest dimension of the housing is measured between the first end and the second end along the first axis.
Silha discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a largest dimension of the housing is measured between the first end and the second end along the first axis. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the largest dimension of the housing measured between the first end and the second end along the first axis, since applicant has not disclosed that this solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a different axis being the longest dimension.
In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975)
Regarding claim 13, Silha teaches the battery charger of claim 8. Silha further teaches further comprising a first terminal block supported by the housing adjacent the first support structure and configured to selectively couple to the battery pack, (¶0051 “ first set of charger terminals 212 (FIG. 3) extend from within the housing 100 through holes into the recess 204. The charger terminals 212 are configured to electrically connect to battery pack terminals (not shown) of the battery pack 14A received in the recess 204 for charging”)
and wherein the first fan assembly directs the first airflow over the first terminal block. (¶0058 “first air flow X moves from outside the charger housing 100 to the battery pack 14B sequentially through the second chamber 390, the fan 300 and the first chamber 244”)
Regarding claim 14, Silha teaches the battery charger of claim 8. Silha further teaches wherein the charger electronics includes a microcontroller configured to monitor a temperature of the battery pack and activate the first fan in response to the temperature of the battery pack exceeding a predetermined temperature. (¶0069 “speed at which the fan 534 rotates may be determined based on a temperature of one or more of the charger electronics 154, the heat sink 530, a supported battery pack 14A, 14B, etc. The temperature sensor is configured to measure the temperature and transmit a signal output to the microcontroller for determining the temperature of the charger 10”)
Regarding claim 15, Silha teaches a battery charger comprising: a housing defining a first end, a second end opposite the first end, a front side, a rear side opposite the front side, a top side, and a bottom side opposite the top side, a support structure located in the top side and configured to selectively couple to a battery pack, (¶0048 “FIG. 1-5, the charger 10 has a charger housing 100 including a front wall 110, a rear wall 114, a top wall 118, a bottom wall 122, a first side wall 126, and a second side wall 130”, ¶0050 “charger housing 100 further includes charger interfaces 200A, 200B engageable with and support the respective battery packs 14A, 14B”)
a first air inlet located in the bottom side and under the support structure, a first air outlet located in the top side adjacent the support structure, a second air inlet located in at least one of the front side and the rear side, and a second air outlet located in at least one of the first end and the second end; (¶0058 “FIGS. 9 and 16, the first chamber 244, the opening 312 in the fan housing 304 and the second chamber 390 define a first air flow path or passage X that receives a first air flow X from outside the charger housing 100”, ¶0070 “FIG. 7, the charger 10 defines a second flow path or passage Y through the housing 100 that is separate from the first airflow X, X′. In the illustrated construction, second air flow flows along the flow path Y from the inlets 520, 524, over the charger electronics 154 (e.g., the PCB 158) to the inlet of the heat sink 530, and through the heat sink 530 to the outlets 500, 508. The second fan 354 directs the second air flow along the flow path Y”, see below for further detail)
charger electronics supported in the housing and operable to output a charging current to charge the battery pack; (¶0049 “FIGS. 7-8, charger electronics 154 are supported by the bottom portion 146 and specifically the bottom wall 122. The charger electronics 154 are operable to output a charging current to one or both of the battery packs 14A, 14B to charge the battery packs 14A, 14B”)
a first fan assembly operable to generate a first airflow extending from the first air inlet to the first air outlet, the first fan assembly including a first fan adjacent the first air inlet and a duct coupled to the first fan, the duct extending from the first fan to the first air outlet; (¶0058 “[first] fan 300 sucks air into the air passage such that the first air flow X travels from outside the charger housing 100 laterally (e.g., horizontally) through the second chamber 390 along the axis H and vertically through the fan 300 and first chamber 244 along the axes E, F”)
and a second fan operable to generate a second airflow through the housing, the second airflow extending from the second air inlet to the second air outlet; (¶0069 “ second fan 534 is a multi-speed fan operable to rotate at more than one speed and directs air flow from the inlets 520, 524 through the housing 100 and to the outlets 500, 508”)
wherein the duct separates the first airflow from the second airflow. (¶0057 “FIGS. 9-12, the air passage member 350 is coupled to the first fan 300”, ¶0061 “air passage 350 may be divided into separate air passages thereby creating a dual-air passage member”)
Silha discloses the claimed invention except for “a first air inlet located in the front side and a second air inlet located in the rear side, and a first air outlet located in the first end and a second air outlet located in the second end”. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to Y, since applicant has not disclosed that “a first air inlet located in the front side and a second air inlet located in the rear side, and a first air outlet located in the first end and a second air outlet located in the second end” solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with air flow X and air flow Y as taught by Silha, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 16, Silha teaches the battery charger of claim 15. Silha further teaches wherein: the housing includes an upper housing member that defines the top side and a lower housing member that defines the bottom side, (¶0048 “FIG. 1-5, the charger 10 has a charger housing 100 including a front wall 110, a rear wall 114, a top wall 118, a bottom wall 122, a first side wall 126, and a second side wall 130”)
the lower housing member being removably coupled to the upper housing member; (¶0053 “FIG. 6, the first chamber 244 is defined by a first chamber wall 270 that extends from the inclined portion 138 of the front wall 110 into the charger housing 100”, wherein the bottom wall 122 has been removed)
the first air inlet and the second air outlet are defined by the lower housing member; and the first air outlet is defined by the upper housing member. (¶0063 “air passage member 350 may be extend through an opening in another wall (e.g., the bottom wall 122 or one of the side walls 126, 130) of the housing 100”)
Regarding claim 17, Silha teaches the battery charger of claim 15. Silha further teaches wherein: the housing further defines a first axis extending between the first end and the second end, a first axis extending between the first end and the second end, (¶0048 “first and the second side walls 126, 130 are spaced apart from one another, and a transverse axis B of the charger housing 100”)
a second axis extending between the front side and the rear side, (¶0057 “the axis H is parallel to the bottom wall 122 of the housing 10”, FIG 9 shows axis H to be extending from the front side to the rear side)
and a third axis extending between the top side and the bottom side, (¶0051 “charger interface 200A defines an insertion axis C (FIG. 9) and a recess 204 (e.g., a battery pack receiving port) defined by the top wall 118 and the inclined portion 138 of the front wall 110. The insertion axis C is perpendicular to the transverse axis B of the housing”)
with the first axis, the second axis, and the third axis being orthogonal to one another, and the first air outlet and the second air outlet are each oriented facing normal to the first axis. (¶0051 “The insertion axis C is perpendicular to the transverse axis B of the housing”, FIG 9 Axis H is parallel to the bottom of the housing and traverses front to back necessitating it to be perpendicular to axis B and axis C)
Regarding claim 18, Silha teaches the battery charger of claim 17. Silha further teaches wherein a largest dimension of the housing is measured between the first end and the second end along the first axis, and wherein the second air outlet is oriented facing normal to the first axis.
Silha discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a largest dimension of the housing is measured between the first end and the second end along the first axis. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the largest dimension of the housing measured between the first end and the second end along the first axis, since applicant has not disclosed that this solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a different axis being the longest dimension.
In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 19, Silha teaches the battery charger of claim 15. Silha further teaches wherein the first air outlet is defined by a first plurality of slots formed in the top side of the housing and located adjacent the support structure. (¶0058 “FIGS. 9 and 16, the first chamber 244, the opening 312 in the fan housing 304 and the second chamber 390 define a first air flow path or passage X that receives a first air flow X from outside the charger housing 100”)
Regarding claim 20, Silha teaches the battery charger of claim 19. Silha further teaches wherein the first plurality of slots extends on both lateral sides of the support structure. (¶0051 “FIGS. 1-3, 5 and 9, the charger interface 200A defines an insertion axis C (FIG. 9) and a recess 204 (e.g., a battery pack receiving port) defined by the top wall 118 and the inclined portion 138 of the front wall 110”, ¶0055 “illustrated outlet 500 includes slots 504 (e.g., longitudinal slots) defined in and extending through the inclined portion 138”, FIG 2 depicts slots 504 to be around recess 204)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silha modified by Fujihara et al (US 20220151096 A1)
Regarding claim 3, Silha teaches the battery charger of claim 2. Silha further teaches wherein the housing further includes a first handle member provided at the front side [and a second handle member provided at the rear side], (¶0075 “A handle 830 extends from and is movable (e.g., pivotable) relative to the third wall 778”)
and wherein the first handle member defines the first air inlet [and the second handle member defines the second air inlet]. (¶0079 “FIGS. 19-27, a cooling air path or passage 922 extends from one or more of the plurality of vent holes 810 in the first wall 770 to one or more of the plurality of vent holes 826 in the second wall 774 through each of the fans 918”)
Silha teaches a battery charger with a first embodiment shown in FIGs 1-10 and a second embodiment shown in FIGs 17-41, and FIGs 11-16 depict components which are used in both embodiments. Both embodiments offer a housing which comprises multiple air inlets and air outlets to provide airflow to cool the charging components. Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Silha’s first embodiment such that the first handle member defines the first air inlet as taught by Silha’s second embodiment. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve charging efficiency by dissipating the heat generated during charging.
Silha does not teach and a second handle member provided at the rear side and the second handle member defines the second air inlet.
Fujihara teaches and a second handle member provided at the rear side. (¶0042 “FIG. 1, a handle portion (second handle portion, bar, support portion, or grip) 22C is included at the region corresponding to the edge 20C”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the battery charge as taught by Silha to further comprise a second handle member provided at the rear side as taught by Fujihara. Silha discloses a housing for a charger which has multiple charging inlets, using multiple inlets to manage the temperature through air flow. Similarly, Fujihara discloses a housing for a power supply comprising a blower to circulate air and cool the device. It would be obvious to modify the battery charger as taught by Silha to comprise multiple handles as taught by Fujihara. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to enhance the flexibility and portability of the device.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 8 , and 15 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: insufficient punctuation. The limitations of claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 are separated by a comma and then a new line; however, they should be separated by a semicolon followed by a new line. Appropriate correction is required.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Kobayashi et al (US 20210249871 A1) discloses a charging device comprising a ventilation system using a fan to circulate air between intake ports and outtake ports.
Saboury et al (US 20230097967 A1) discloses a battery pack charger including a housing which uses a fan to circulate air and cool the charging battery packs
Conclusion
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859