DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
As a result of the Amendment filed on RCE, claims 1-9, 11, 13, 15 and 19 are pending. Claims 1-9, 11, 13, 15 are amended. New claim 19 is added. Claims 10, 12 and 16-18 are canceled or previously canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9, 11, 13, 15 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11, 13, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2022/0005356 A1 in view of Kusafuka et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0264867 A1, further in view of McNelley et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0392290 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a vehicle comprising a projection system (Fig. 1-2, generally, Abstract) comprising:
a switchable foil or film on or in at least parts of a window of the vehicle, wherein a degree of transparency of the switchable foil or film is controllable by an applied voltage (Fig. 11, screen, #140; Detailed Description, [0127-0132], “As an example of the screen 140, an electrochromic film (polymer dispersed liquid crystal: PDLC film) may be exemplified....In case of the electrochromic film, when the projector 130 is turned on, the electrochromic film is converted to an opaque state, and may be used for screen expression and display by the projector 130. In this case, the screen is visible only from the outside, and the screen shown outside is not visible from the inside of the vehicle....The electrochromic film may be used as a display by being applied (attached) to some or all areas of the window glass. When the electrochromic film is applied to the window glass, the screen seen according to a tilt degree of the window glass may also be tilted, but it enables the screen to be normally seen through image warping.”),
at least one projector which is able and arranged to display information on the switchable foil or film (Fig. 11, projector, #140; Detailed Description, [0127-0132]), and
a controller, which is able and adapted to control the degree of transparency and to control the at least one projector (Fig. 1-2, processor, #30; Detailed Description, [0044-0056], “As described above, the internal screen area W1 is for an indoor display, and is composed of an electrochromic film that does not expose an internal image to the outside in terms of privacy protection and is converted to be transparent as needed so that the driver may check a surrounding environment outside the vehicle.”), wherein at least one of the degrees of transparency the information on the switchable foil or film is visible from outside the vehicle (Figs. 1-3, Detailed Description, [0040-0060]; “The processor 30 expands an area of the external object image displayed in the internal screen area, and displays a guidance message for the external object in the external screen area as the caution level is increased....the external screen area W2 is composed of an electrochromic film as described above for external communication, and has a structure capable of external display during projection.”), wherein the controller is able and designed to receive information on a vehicle status and to determine related warning signs and/or warning messages based on the information on the vehicle status and to control the projector to project these (Figs. 1-3, Detailed Description, [0040-0060] “The processor 30 expands an area of the external object image displayed in the internal screen area, and displays a guidance message for the external object in the external screen area as the caution level is increased....the external screen area W2 is composed of an electrochromic film as described above for external communication, and has a structure capable of external display during projection.”; See also, Detailed Description, [0086-0087])[0098-0100]).
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the vehicle is a construction equipment vehicle, and does not explicitly disclose wherein the switchable foil or foil in in the upper part of a window of the vehicle.
Kusafuka, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a working vehicle comprising a projection system (Figs. 1-5, generally, Detailed Description, [0052]) wherein the working vehicle is a construction equipment vehicle (Detailed Description, [0064], ““Mobile bodies” in the disclosure include vehicles, ships, and aircraft. “Vehicles” in the disclosure include, but are not limited to, automobiles and industrial vehicles and may include railway vehicles, living vehicles, and fixed-wing aircraft traveling on runways. Automobiles include, but are not limited to, passenger cars, trucks, buses, motorcycles, trolley-buses, and the like and may include other vehicles traveling on the road. The industrial vehicles include industrial vehicles for agriculture and construction. The industrial vehicles include, but are not limited to, forklifts and golf carts. The industrial vehicles for agriculture include, but are not limited to, tractors, tillers, transplanters, binders, combines, and lawnmowers. The industrial vehicles for construction include, but are not limited to, bulldozers, scrapers, excavators, crane trucks, dump trucks, and road rollers.”).
It would have been obvious to have modified the working vehicle within Kim to be specified as a construction equipment vehicle, as taught in Kusafuka. The motivation to combine these arts is to utilize the projection system within a variety of mobile bodies and vehicles, in order to gain the benefits of the display projection across many types of machines (Kusafuka, Detailed Description, [0064]). The fact that Kim and Kusufuka also disclose similar types of projection displays systems within vehicles, make this combination more easily implemented and applicable.
McNelley, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a construction equipment vehicle (Detailed Description, [0466], “For example, an imaged person could be seen on the screen 1112 and then later a movie or presentation could be displayed on the screen or other display in view of the audience. Further, all of the present inventions can be deployed in any creative venue, such as a travelling truck with side opens that serves as a stage.”) wherein the switchable foil or foil in in the upper part of a window of the vehicle (Figs. 29-36, section top, #330; Detailed Description, [0252], “The vertical reflective transparent substrate 60 and its disclosed variants may be constructed in numerous ways, with numerous materials, and with numerous optical coatings and properties. As advances in optical technology takes place and new materials come into existence all are applicable and within the scope of the present invention. FIG. 29-36 are all variants of the vertical reflective transparent substrate 60. The embodiments of any these figures may have any type of optical coating and optical characteristic such as polarization and may be in any combination. Polarized optics in the form of glass, plastic or film may serve a dual role to reflect the foreground and also block foreground light aligned with another polarizer from negatively impinging the image screen 43. FIG. 29 illustrates a clear rigid plastic 322. FIG. 30 illustrates a rigid glass 324 that may be hardened chemically, by tempering or by other means. FIG. 31 illustrates a separate sectional clear reflective members consisting of a section left 326, a section right 328, a section bottom 332, and a section top 330”; See also detailed Description, [0497] on switchable films in particular, “Dimmable window tints, such suspended particle device SPD film, can be adjusted from transparent to dark mode and can be selected by the user or activate automatically based on exterior outdoor light conditions.”).
It would have been obvious to have modified the combination of Kim and Kusufuka to include the teachings of McNelley wherein the switchable foil or foil in in the upper part of a window of the vehicle. The motivation to combine these arts is to provide a large format display with the switchable film across an entire section including an upper part (see inter alia, Figs. 28-36 and Detailed Description, [0251-0252] of McNelley, showing an entire stage with the display). The fact that Kim, Kusufuka and McNelley disclose similar implementations of switchable films within vehicles makes this combination more easily implemented. It is also noted that McNelley discloses the switchable film as a suspended particle device similar to Kim.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses wherein the switchable foil or film comprises liquid crystals or a suspended particle device (Fig. 11, screen, #140; Detailed Description, [0127-0132], “As an example of the screen 140, an electrochromic film (polymer dispersed liquid crystal: PDLC film) may be exemplified....In case of the electrochromic film, when the projector 130 is turned on, the electrochromic film is converted to an opaque state, and may be used for screen expression and display by the projector 130. In this case, the screen is visible only from the outside, and the screen shown outside is not visible from the inside of the vehicle....The electrochromic film may be used as a display by being applied (attached) to some or all areas of the window glass. When the electrochromic film is applied to the window glass, the screen seen according to a tilt degree of the window glass may also be tilted, but it enables the screen to be normally seen through image warping.”).
Thus, it remains obvious to combine Kim, Kusufuka and McNelley as described in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses wherein the switchable foil or film is switchable only between a transparent and an opaque state (See Fig. 13, Detailed Description, [0157], “Then, in operation 412, when a movement of the pedestrian in front of the vehicle is sensed by the vehicle sensor 110, the projector 130 is turned on according to an operation start command of the electronic control unit 120. The projector 130 is turned on, and simultaneously, the external display screen (screen 140: electrochromic film) for displaying external display information is switched from a transparent state to an opaque state to start functioning as a screen for displaying the external display information.”; Examiner’s note--showing two discrete states).
Thus, it remains obvious to combine Kim, Kusufuka and McNelley as described in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses wherein several degrees of transparency between a transparent and an opaque state are adjustable (Fig. 13, Detailed Description, [0114-0116]; [0146-0169], “Of course, an electrochromic film made of a translucent material that does not interfere with checking unique information (main information such as vehicle speed and fuel economy) displayed by the internal display device 150 may be attached to the surface of the internal display device 150 to maximize the effect of the screen…At this time, when applying (or attaching) the electrochromic film to the internal display screen 150, an electrochromic film made of a semi-transparent material may also be used so that main information (vehicle driving information, etc.) such as speed and fuel economy displayed on the rear screen is not covered by the electrochromic film.”).
Thus, it remains obvious to combine Kim, Kusufuka and McNelley as described in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses wherein the switchable foil or film comprises at least two different sections, which are independently controllable (Figs. 1-2, W1/W2; Detailed Description, [0053-0060], “The internal screen area W1 is a display area for providing information to passengers inside a vehicle, and the external screen area W2 is defined as a display area for providing information to objects outside the vehicle (drivers of other vehicles, pedestrians, etc.)... As described above, the internal screen area W1 is for an indoor display, and is composed of an electrochromic film that does not expose an internal image to the outside in terms of privacy protection and is converted to be transparent as needed so that the driver may check a surrounding environment outside the vehicle…The external screen area W2 is composed of an electrochromic film as described above for external communication, and has a structure capable of external display during projection.”).
Thus, it remains obvious to combine Kim, Kusufuka and McNelley as described in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses wherein a brightness of the at least one projector is adjustable, wherein the controller is able and adapted to adjust the brightness of the at least one projector (Detailed Description, [0060-0070], “The projector may project a projector beam including external display information on the external screen area W2 of the windshield, and may be a short-throw projector when a separation distance to the external screen area is short.”; See next Detailed Description, [0040-0052], “The processor 30 controls to display driving status information in the internal screen area and a notification message in the external screen area in consideration of the caution level.”; Examiner’s note—it is inherent that a projector beam to the display has a controlled brightness based on different display information).
Thus, it remains obvious to combine Kim, Kusufuka and McNelley as described in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Kim in combination with Kusufuka and McNelley discloses every element of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose the system comprising two projectors.
Rather, Kim’s preferred embodiment involves using the same projector for multiple disparate functions (Detailed Description, [0137-0148])
However, Kim provides the suggestion of modification to using multiple processors and/or computers and/or other hardware devices to implement the system taught (See Detailed Description, [0195-0199]).
Thereby, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system of Kim-Kusufuka-McNelley to utilize two projectors instead of one. The motivation to make this modification is a matter of duplication of parts creating an expected result, the expected result being the two projectors control the projection of displays onto the windshield in a similar manner as one projector (MPEP 2144.04 Part VI). Thus, the modification of duplication of parts renders the claim obvious since there is not a new and unexpected result with the claimed invention that creates patentable significance. (MPEP 2144.04 Part VI)
Regarding claim 8, Kim in combination with Kusufuka and McNelley discloses every element of claim 1, and as modified suggests every element of claim 7 but does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the two projectors is able and arranged to project different information on different parts of the switchable foil or film.
However, Kim does disclose wherein the different parts of the switchable foil or film are different sections, which are independently controllable (Figs. 1-3, W1/W2; Detailed Description, [0040-0068], “The internal screen area W1 is a display area for providing information to passengers inside a vehicle, and the external screen area W2 is defined as a display area for providing information to objects outside the vehicle (drivers of other vehicles, pedestrians, etc.).”; See next Fig, 11 and Detailed Description, [00127-0152], “The electrochromic film may be used as a display by being applied (attached) to some or all areas of the window glass. When the electrochromic film is applied to the window glass, the screen seen according to a tilt degree of the window glass may also be tilted, but it enables the screen to be normally seen through image warping”).
Kim’s preferred embodiment teaches using the same projector for multiple disparate functions, which means that the singular projector is able and arranged to project different information on different parts of the switchable foil or film. (Detailed Description, [0040-0068]; [0137-0148], “Information projected on the surface of the internal display device 150 (hereinafter, internal display information) is configured with the same information as external display information so that a driver or a passenger may check the external display information….However, when the external display information projected from the projector 130 on the screen is text, and the external display information projected from the same projector 130 is projected on the surface of the internal display device 150 as it is to utilize the internal display information…”)
Kim also provides the suggestion of modification to using multiple processors and/or computers and/or other hardware devices to implement the system taught (See Detailed Description, [0195-0199]).
Thereby, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system of Kim-Kusufuka-McNelley to utilize two projectors, wherein each of the two projectors is able and arranged to project different information on different parts of the switchable foil or film, and wherein the different parts of the switchable foil or film are different sections, which are independently controllable. The motivation to make this modification is a matter of duplication of parts creating an expected result, the expected result being the two projectors are both capable of controlling both the internal and external displays and the entirety of the display sections (See MPEP 2144.04 Part VI). Thus, the modification of duplication of parts renders the claim obvious since there is not a new and unexpected result with the claimed invention that creates patentable significance. (MPEP 2144.04 Part VI).
Regarding claim 9, Kim-Kusufuka-McNelley as modified discloses or suggest every element of claim 8, and Kim further discloses wherein the different sections are placed on or in different windows of the vehicle (Figs. 1-3, W1/W2 Detailed Description, [0040-0068], “A vehicle windshield W includes an internal screen area W1 and an external screen area W2....The internal screen area W1 is a display area for providing information to passengers inside a vehicle, and the external screen area W2 is defined as a display area for providing information to objects outside the vehicle (drivers of other vehicles, pedestrians, etc.).”; See also Fig. 11, Detailed Description, [0128-0148], “though FIG. 11 illustrates the screen 140 installed on the front of the vehicle and the front window glass of the vehicle, the screen 140 may be installed on both sides of the vehicle, the rear of the vehicle, and the side and rear window glass of the vehicle. In this case, the projector 130 may be installed on the inner roof of the vehicle 100 so as to be rotatable to adjust a direction of the emitted beam”; Examiner’s note—showing multiple windows are installed with separately controlled sections).
Thus, it would have remained obvious to have modified the system of Kim-Kusufuka-McNelley to utilize two projector in manner as described in claim 8.
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses wherein the controller comprises two controller units, one for controlling the switchable film or foil and the other for controlling the projector (Detailed Description, [0196-0198], “For purpose of simplicity, the description of a processor device is used as singular; however, one skilled in the art will be appreciated that a processor device may include multiple processing elements and/or multiple types of processing elements. For example, a processor device may include multiple processors or a processor and a controller. In addition, different processing configurations are possible, such as parallel processors.”).
Thus, it remains obvious to combine Kim, Kusufuka and McNelley as described in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses wherein the controller is able and designed to control the degree of transparency based on the projected information and also based on additional information if the projected information is for a driver, the driver and people outside the vehicle or only for people outside the vehicle (Figs. 1-3, Detailed Description, [0040-0068], “The internal screen area W1 is a display area for providing information to passengers inside a vehicle, and the external screen area W2 is defined as a display area for providing information to objects outside the vehicle (drivers of other vehicles, pedestrians, etc.)…. The projector may project a projector beam including external display information on the external screen area W2 of the windshield, and may be a short-throw projector when a separation distance to the external screen area is short.”).
Thus, it remains obvious to combine Kim, Kusufuka and McNelley as described in claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses a method for projecting information of a window of a vehicle (Figs. 1-3, Fig. 13), the method comprising:
adjusting a degree of transparency of a switchable foil or film on or in at least parts of the working window of the vehicle, wherein of the switchable foil or film is controllable by an applied voltage Fig. 11, screen, #140; Detailed Description, [0127-0132], “As an example of the screen 140, an electrochromic film (polymer dispersed liquid crystal: PDLC film) may be exemplified....In case of the electrochromic film, when the projector 130 is turned on, the electrochromic film is converted to an opaque state, and may be used for screen expression and display by the projector 130. In this case, the screen is visible only from the outside, and the screen shown outside is not visible from the inside of the vehicle....The electrochromic film may be used as a display by being applied (attached) to some or all areas of the window glass. When the electrochromic film is applied to the window glass, the screen seen according to a tilt degree of the window glass may also be tilted, but it enables the screen to be normally seen through image warping.”), wherein at least one of the degrees of transparency the information on the switchable foil or film is visible from outside the vehicle (Figs. 1-3, Detailed Description, [0040-0060]; “The processor 30 expands an area of the external object image displayed in the internal screen area, and displays a guidance message for the external object in the external screen area as the caution level is increased....the external screen area W2 is composed of an electrochromic film as described above for external communication, and has a structure capable of external display during projection.”),
receiving, by a controller information on a vehicle status (Figs. 1-3, Detailed Description, [0040-0060]);
determining, by the controller, related warning signs and/or warning messages based on the information on the vehicle status (Figs. 1-3, Detailed Description, [0040-0060] “The processor 30 expands an area of the external object image displayed in the internal screen area, and displays a guidance message for the external object in the external screen area as the caution level is increased....the external screen area W2 is composed of an electrochromic film as described above for external communication, and has a structure capable of external display during projection.”; See also, Detailed Description, [0086-0087])[0098-0100]), and
displaying the warning signs and/or warning message on the switchable foil or film using a projector (Fig. 11, projector, #140; Detailed Description, [0127-0132]; See also, Detailed Description, [0086-0087])[0098-0100]).
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the vehicle is a construction equipment vehicle, and does not explicitly disclose wherein the switchable foil or foil in in the upper part of a window of the vehicle.
Kusafuka, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a method of projecting information of a window of a working vehicle comprising a projection system (Figs. 1-5, generally, Detailed Description, [0052]) wherein the working vehicle is a construction equipment vehicle (Detailed Description, [0064], ““Mobile bodies” in the disclosure include vehicles, ships, and aircraft. “Vehicles” in the disclosure include, but are not limited to, automobiles and industrial vehicles and may include railway vehicles, living vehicles, and fixed-wing aircraft traveling on runways. Automobiles include, but are not limited to, passenger cars, trucks, buses, motorcycles, trolley-buses, and the like and may include other vehicles traveling on the road. The industrial vehicles include industrial vehicles for agriculture and construction. The industrial vehicles include, but are not limited to, forklifts and golf carts. The industrial vehicles for agriculture include, but are not limited to, tractors, tillers, transplanters, binders, combines, and lawnmowers. The industrial vehicles for construction include, but are not limited to, bulldozers, scrapers, excavators, crane trucks, dump trucks, and road rollers.”).
It would have been obvious to have modified the vehicle within Kim to be specified as a construction equipment vehicle, as taught in Kusafuka. The motivation to combine these arts is to utilize the projection system within a variety of mobile bodies and vehicles, in order to gain the benefits of the display projection across many types of machines (Kusafuka, Detailed Description, [0064]). The fact that Kim and Kusufuka also disclose similar types of projection displays systems within vehicles, make this combination more easily implemented and applicable.
McNelley, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a method of projecting information of a window of a construction equipment vehicle (Detailed Description, [0466], “For example, an imaged person could be seen on the screen 1112 and then later a movie or presentation could be displayed on the screen or other display in view of the audience. Further, all of the present inventions can be deployed in any creative venue, such as a travelling truck with side opens that serves as a stage.”) wherein the switchable foil or foil in in the upper part of a window of the vehicle (Figs. 29-36, section top, #330; Detailed Description, [0252], “The vertical reflective transparent substrate 60 and its disclosed variants may be constructed in numerous ways, with numerous materials, and with numerous optical coatings and properties. As advances in optical technology takes place and new materials come into existence all are applicable and within the scope of the present invention. FIG. 29-36 are all variants of the vertical reflective transparent substrate 60. The embodiments of any these figures may have any type of optical coating and optical characteristic such as polarization and may be in any combination. Polarized optics in the form of glass, plastic or film may serve a dual role to reflect the foreground and also block foreground light aligned with another polarizer from negatively impinging the image screen 43. FIG. 29 illustrates a clear rigid plastic 322. FIG. 30 illustrates a rigid glass 324 that may be hardened chemically, by tempering or by other means. FIG. 31 illustrates a separate sectional clear reflective members consisting of a section left 326, a section right 328, a section bottom 332, and a section top 330”; See also detailed Description, [0497] on switchable films in particular, “Dimmable window tints, such suspended particle device SPD film, can be adjusted from transparent to dark mode and can be selected by the user or activate automatically based on exterior outdoor light conditions.”).
It would have been obvious to have modified the combination of Kim and Kusufuka to include the teachings of McNelley wherein the switchable foil or foil in in the upper part of a window of the vehicle. The motivation to combine these arts is to provide a large format display with the switchable film across an entire section including an upper part (see inter alia, Figs. 28-36 and Detailed Description, [0251-0252] of McNelley, showing an entire stage with the display). The fact that Kim, Kusufuka and McNelley disclose similar implementations of switchable films within vehicles makes this combination more easily implemented. It is also noted that McNelley discloses the switchable film as a suspended particle device similar to Kim.
Regarding claim 19, Kim in combination with Kusufuka and McNelley disclose every element of claim 1, and McNelley further discloses wherein the switchable foil or film on or in an upper third of a window of the vehicle (Figs. 29-36, section top, #330; Detailed Description, [0252], “The vertical reflective transparent substrate 60 and its disclosed variants may be constructed in numerous ways, with numerous materials, and with numerous optical coatings and properties. As advances in optical technology takes place and new materials come into existence all are applicable and within the scope of the present invention. FIG. 29-36 are all variants of the vertical reflective transparent substrate 60. The embodiments of any these figures may have any type of optical coating and optical characteristic such as polarization and may be in any combination. Polarized optics in the form of glass, plastic or film may serve a dual role to reflect the foreground and also block foreground light aligned with another polarizer from negatively impinging the image screen 43. FIG. 29 illustrates a clear rigid plastic 322. FIG. 30 illustrates a rigid glass 324 that may be hardened chemically, by tempering or by other means. FIG. 31 illustrates a separate sectional clear reflective members consisting of a section left 326, a section right 328, a section bottom 332, and a section top 330”; See also detailed Description, [0497] on switchable films in particular, “Dimmable window tints, such suspended particle device SPD film, can be adjusted from transparent to dark mode and can be selected by the user or activate automatically based on exterior outdoor light conditions.”).
Thus, it remains obvious to combine Kim, Kusufuka and McNelley as described in claim 1.
Conclusion
/KWIN XIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626