DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to application filed on April 19, 2021 in which claim 1-18 are presented for examination.
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-18 are pending, of which claim 1, 7 and 13 are in independent form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-4, 7-10 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kristensson (US PG Pub 2008/0270896) published on October 30, 2008 in view of GAO (US PG Pub 2018/0348955) published on December 06, 2018.
As per claim 1, 7 and 13, Kristensson teaches A method for displaying an operation track, comprising: and in response to detecting that at least two touch points exist on the touchscreen(fig 6 shows multiple touch point, as taught by Kristensson), displaying input content on the touchscreen based on a movement track of the first touch point, wherein the at least two touch points comprise the first touch point(fig 8-9 Para[0082-0085] displays word based on continuous input and input includes initial touch point, as taught by Kristensson).
Kristensson does not explicitly teach determining that a first touch point on a touchscreen is in a continuous writing state
On the other hand, Gao determining that a first touch point on a touchscreen is in a continuous writing state(Para[0037] fig 2 multiple touch point corresponding to continuous writing input as taught by GAO);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the
invention to modify Kristensson invention with the teaching of GAO because doing so would
result in effectively providing an intelligent method of recognizing and ignoring accidental wrist and
knuckles, thereby enabling accuracy in drawing and writing.
As per claim 2, 8 and 14, the combination of Kristensson and Gao teaches wherein determining that the first touch point on the touchscreen is in the continuous writing state comprises:
detecting that duration in which the first touch point is in a writing state exceeds a first preset threshold(Para[0035] receiving speed information concerning the rate of movement of the continuous stroke and comparing the speed information to a predetermined value; outputting to an associated active application a known word in the preview if the speed information is greater than the predetermined value, as taught by Kristensson), wherein the writing state is a state in which no other touch points exist on the touchscreen(fig 4 e.g. 404 last touch point for the stroke, as taught by GAO) and a contact area of the first touch point is less than a second preset threshold(Para[0041] contact point 402 accidental contact and it is obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art that 402 is less than writing touch point, as taught by Gao).
As per claim 3, 9 and 15, the combination of Kristensson and Gao teaches further comprising: in response to a duration in which the first touch point fails to be detected exceeds a third preset threshold, determining that the first touch point is no longer in the continuous writing state(Para[0081] it is determined that the uncompleted stroke 300 is not fast, stroke is not complete and it is obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art that continuous writing stroke is not complete, as taught by Kristensson).
As per claim 4, 10 and 16, the combination of Kristensson and Gao teaches wherein the at least two touch points comprise a second touch point, and a contact area of the second touch point is greater than a second preset threshold(Para[0041-0043], as taught by Gao).
5. Claims 5-6, 11-12 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kristensson (US PG Pub 2008/0270896) published on October 30, 2008 in view of GAO (US PG Pub 2018/0348955) published on December 06, 2018 in further view of Hinckley(US PG Pub 2015/0363035) published on December 17, 2015.
As per claim 5, 11 and 17, the combination of Kristensson and Gao teaches wherein: the method further comprises, in response to detecting that the at least two touch points exist on the touchscreen, determining whether a duration in which the at least two touch points are in contact with the touchscreen exceeds a fourth preset threshold(fig 8-9 Para[0035] discloses user select by touch the letters of the keyboard at a speed greater than the predetermined value. User selects multiple touch point of the keyboard, as taught by Kriotensson) ; and
the combination of Kristensson and Gao does not teach displaying the input content on the touchscreen based on the movement track of the first touch point comprises: in response to the duration in which the at least two touch points are in contact with the touchscreen not exceeding the fourth preset threshold, displaying the input content on the touchscreen based on the movement track of the first touch point.
On the other hand, Hinckley teaches displaying the input content on the touchscreen based on the movement track of the first touch point comprises: in response to the duration in which the at least two touch points are in contact with the touchscreen not exceeding the fourth preset threshold, displaying the input content on the touchscreen based on the movement track of the first touch point(fig 11-13 Para[0129-0136] discloses tow touch point within the short period of time and content being displayed based on the input, as taught by Hinckley) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the
invention to modify Kristensson and Gao invention with the teaching of Hinckley because doing so would
result in increased efficiency by allowing the user making precise input.
As per claim 6, 12 and 18, the combination of Kristensson, Hinckley and Gao teaches further comprising: in response to the duration in which the at least two touch points are in contact with the touchscreen exceeding the fourth preset threshold, moving or zooming, based on sliding tracks of the at least two touch points, content displayed on the touchscreen(fig 11-13 Para[0129-0136], as taught by Hinckley).
Conclusion
/RAYEEZ R CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174 Wednesday, January 21, 2026