DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application 18/602617, filed on 3/12/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-13, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPGPUB 2023/0066141, hereinafter “Mohanty.”
Regarding claim 1, Mohanty anticipates “A method, comprising:
determining, by a computing device, a verve of a feature; (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 139; “The maturity assessment engine 424 may be configured to assess a current state of a development of the software product against a set of benchmarks to determine a readiness of a feature or the software product for productization (to be used in real-time environment). The maturity assessment model may assess each feature or product against the set of benchmarks established by a maturity model (e.g., a capability maturity model or CMM).”)
determining, by the computing device, a first release intensity score (RIS) of the feature; (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 135; “a type of dependency between first and second releases, of the plurality of releases of the software product, may be one of low, moderate, or high.”)
stabilizing, by the computing device, a release train based on the verve and the RIS of the feature; (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 135; “The product orchestration designer 402 may provide a release orchestration view (e.g., a release train) associated with the plurality of releases.” “The release dependency view may also enable addition or definition of a type of dependency and/or an extent of dependency between any two releases of the plurality of releases.”) and
modifying, by the computing device, an engagement schedule based on the stabilized release train.” (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 135; “A type of dependency of the second release on the first release may affect (e.g., cause delays) its timeline. For example, a delay in the first release may delay the second release, since the second release is dependent on the first release.”; para. 139; “The maturity assessment engine 424 may enable for planning, engineering, and management of the software product. Further, the maturity assessment engine 424 may enable the plurality of users to assess, further develop, and improve the software product.”).
Regarding claim 4, Mohanty anticipates “The method of claim 1, further comprising continuously updating the RIS and rearranging the feature within the release train based on an updated RIS.” (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 130; “provides a visual representation of one or more issues associated with the software product to one or more versions or changes in the software product that may have resulted in any issue.” para. 135; “the product orchestration designer 402 may facilitate release orchestration associated with a plurality of releases associated with the software product and/or other software products. The product orchestration designer 402 may further provide one or more tools for configuring the plurality of releases.”).
Regarding claim 5, Mohanty anticipates “The method of claim 1, further comprising generating a dashboard displaying the release train.” (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 137; “The release train tracker 420 may be configured to monitor and maintain a track of one or more releases associated with one or more software products, features associated with each software product, or the like. The release train tracker 420 may maintain a release timeline of the one or more releases that may have to be performed by the organisation during a first time-interval (e.g., one month, two months, six months, a year, or the like). The release train tracker 420 may provide the release timeline based on product timeline of the one or more products or one or more features associated with the one or more products. Further, the release train tracker 420 may provide a summary of releases that the organization may have planned for a threshold time-interval.”).
Regarding claim 7, Mohanty anticipates “The method of claim 1, further comprising subjecting a low-verve code packet back through a development framework to determine an updated verve.” (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 139; “The maturity assessment engine 424 may be configured to assess a current state of a development of the software product against a set of benchmarks to determine a readiness of a feature or the software product for productization (to be used in real-time environment). The maturity assessment model may assess each feature or product against the set of benchmarks established by a maturity model (e.g., a capability maturity model or CMM). The maturity assessment engine 424 may enable for planning, engineering, and management of the software product. Further, the maturity assessment engine 424 may enable the plurality of users to assess, further develop, and improve the software product.”).
Regarding claim 8, Mohanty anticipates “The method of claim 1, further comprising re-ordering the release train based on the verve and the RIS of the feature.” (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 130; “provides a visual representation of one or more issues associated with the software product to one or more versions or changes in the software product that may have resulted in any issue.” para. 135; “the product orchestration designer 402 may facilitate release orchestration associated with a plurality of releases associated with the software product and/or other software products. The product orchestration designer 402 may further provide one or more tools for configuring the plurality of releases.”).
Regarding claim 9, Mohanty anticipates “The method of claim 1, further comprising modifying a development timeline based on the verve and the RIS of the feature.” (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 130, 135-137).
Regarding claim 10, Mohanty anticipates “The method of claim 1, further comprising determining a second RIS of the release train.” (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 130, 135-137).
Regarding claim 11, Mohanty anticipates “The method of claim 10, further comprising rearranging the feature within the release train based on the second RIS of the release train.” (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 130, 135-137).
Regarding claim 12, Mohanty anticipates “The method of claim 1, wherein the computing device includes software provided as a service in a cloud environment.” (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 31, 48).
Regarding claim 13, Mohanty anticipates “A computer program product comprising one or more computer readable storage media having program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 158-161) the program instructions executable to:
determine a verve of a feature; (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 139; “The maturity assessment engine 424 may be configured to assess a current state of a development of the software product against a set of benchmarks to determine a readiness of a feature or the software product for productization (to be used in real-time environment). The maturity assessment model may assess each feature or product against the set of benchmarks established by a maturity model (e.g., a capability maturity model or CMM).”)
determine a first release intensity score (RIS) of the feature; (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 135; “a type of dependency between first and second releases, of the plurality of releases of the software product, may be one of low, moderate, or high.”)
stabilize a release train based on the verve and the RIS of the feature; (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 135; “The product orchestration designer 402 may provide a release orchestration view (e.g., a release train) associated with the plurality of releases.” “The release dependency view may also enable addition or definition of a type of dependency and/or an extent of dependency between any two releases of the plurality of releases.”) and
determine a mode of engagement and an engagement schedule based on the stabilized release train.” (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 135; “A type of dependency of the second release on the first release may affect (e.g., cause delays) its timeline. For example, a delay in the first release may delay the second release, since the second release is dependent on the first release.”; para. 139; “The maturity assessment engine 424 may enable for planning, engineering, and management of the software product. Further, the maturity assessment engine 424 may enable the plurality of users to assess, further develop, and improve the software product.”).
Regarding claim 16, Mohanty anticipates “The computer program product of claim 13, wherein the program instructions are executable to continuously update the RIS and rearrange the feature within the release train based on an updated RIS.” (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 130, 135-137).
Regarding claim 17, Mohanty anticipates “The computer program product of claim 13, wherein the program instructions are executable to generate a dashboard displaying the release train.” (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 137; “The release train tracker 420 may be configured to monitor and maintain a track of one or more releases associated with one or more software products, features associated with each software product, or the like. The release train tracker 420 may maintain a release timeline of the one or more releases that may have to be performed by the organisation during a first time-interval (e.g., one month, two months, six months, a year, or the like). The release train tracker 420 may provide the release timeline based on product timeline of the one or more products or one or more features associated with the one or more products. Further, the release train tracker 420 may provide a summary of releases that the organization may have planned for a threshold time-interval.”).
Regarding claim 19, Mohanty anticipates “The computer program product of claim 13, wherein the program instructions are executable to re-order the release train based on the verve and the RIS of the feature.” (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 130, 135-137).
Regarding claim 20, Mohanty anticipates “A system comprising: a processor, a computer readable memory, one or more computer readable storage media, and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 158-161) the program instructions executable to:
determine a verve of a feature; (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 139; “The maturity assessment engine 424 may be configured to assess a current state of a development of the software product against a set of benchmarks to determine a readiness of a feature or the software product for productization (to be used in real-time environment). The maturity assessment model may assess each feature or product against the set of benchmarks established by a maturity model (e.g., a capability maturity model or CMM).”)
determine a first release intensity score (RIS) of the feature; (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 135; “a type of dependency between first and second releases, of the plurality of releases of the software product, may be one of low, moderate, or high.”)
stabilize a release train based on the verve and the RIS of the feature; (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 135; “The product orchestration designer 402 may provide a release orchestration view (e.g., a release train) associated with the plurality of releases.” “The release dependency view may also enable addition or definition of a type of dependency and/or an extent of dependency between any two releases of the plurality of releases.”) and
modify an engagement schedule based on the stabilized release train.” (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 135; “A type of dependency of the second release on the first release may affect (e.g., cause delays) its timeline. For example, a delay in the first release may delay the second release, since the second release is dependent on the first release.”; para. 139; “The maturity assessment engine 424 may enable for planning, engineering, and management of the software product. Further, the maturity assessment engine 424 may enable the plurality of users to assess, further develop, and improve the software product.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 6, 14-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohanty.
Regarding claim 2, Mohanty discloses “The method of claim 1,” but does not appear to disclose the limitation “further comprising packetizing the feature, the verve, and the RIS.” Stated more simply, Mohanty does not disclose packetizing. However, on or before the effective filing date of the instant application, packetizing information for organized storage and reuse was known in the art. Official Notice is hereby invoked to that effect. Also on or before the effective filing date of the instant application, one of ordinary skill in the art would have deemed it obvious to try combining packetizing with the release train management method of Mohanty, thereby obtaining the invention of the instant claim, namely packetizing information and other elements of the release train for organized storage and reuse. Accordingly, the instant claim is unpatentable over Mohanty.
Regarding claim 3, Mohanty discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein the determining the RIS comprises estimating the required resources, timelines, and features of a [release] and a relative importance of the [release] within the release train.” (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 130, 135-137). Mohanty does not disclose packetizing, as in the underlined portions of the claim limitation “features of a code packet and a relative importance of the code packet within the release train.” However, on or before the effective filing date of the instant application, packetizing information for organized storage and reuse was known in the art. Official Notice is hereby invoked to that effect. Also on or before the effective filing date of the instant application, one of ordinary skill in the art would have deemed it obvious to try combining packetizing with the release train management method of Mohanty, thereby obtaining the invention of the instant claim, namely packetizing information and other elements of the release train for organized storage and reuse. Accordingly, the instant claim is unpatentable over Mohanty.
Regarding claim 6, Mohanty anticipates “The method of claim 1, further comprising generating a user interface element indicating the verve of a plurality of [releases] in the release train.” (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 130, 135-137). Mohanty does not disclose packetizing, as in the underlined portions of the claim limitation “the verve of a plurality of code packets in the release train.” However, on or before the effective filing date of the instant application, packetizing information for organized storage and reuse was known in the art. Official Notice is hereby invoked to that effect. Also on or before the effective filing date of the instant application, one of ordinary skill in the art would have deemed it obvious to try combining packetizing with the release train management method of Mohanty, thereby obtaining the invention of the instant claim, namely packetizing information and other elements of the release train for organized storage and reuse. Accordingly, the instant claim is unpatentable over Mohanty.
Regarding claim 14, Mohanty discloses “The computer program product of claim 13,” but does not appear to disclose the further limitation “wherein the program instructions are executable to packetize the feature, the verve, and the RIS.” Stated more simply, Mohanty does not disclose packetizing. However, on or before the effective filing date of the instant application, packetizing information for organized storage and reuse was known in the art. Official Notice is hereby invoked to that effect. Also on or before the effective filing date of the instant application, one of ordinary skill in the art would have deemed it obvious to try combining packetizing with the release train management method of Mohanty, thereby obtaining the invention of the instant claim, namely packetizing information and other elements of the release train for organized storage and reuse. Accordingly, the instant claim is unpatentable over Mohanty.
Regarding claim 15, Mohanty anticipates “The computer program product of claim 13, wherein the determining the RIS comprises estimating the required resources, timelines, and features of a [release] and a relative importance of the [release] within the release train.” (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 130, 135-137). Mohanty does not disclose packetizing, as in the underlined portions of the claim limitation “features of a code packet and a relative importance of the code packet within the release train.” However, on or before the effective filing date of the instant application, packetizing information for organized storage and reuse was known in the art. Official Notice is hereby invoked to that effect. Also on or before the effective filing date of the instant application, one of ordinary skill in the art would have deemed it obvious to try combining packetizing with the release train management method of Mohanty, thereby obtaining the invention of the instant claim, namely packetizing information and other elements of the release train for organized storage and reuse. Accordingly, the instant claim is unpatentable over Mohanty.
Regarding claim 18, Mohanty anticipates “The computer program product of claim 13, wherein the program instructions are executable to generate a user interface element indicating the verve of a plurality of [releases] in the release train.” (see, e.g., Mohanty, para. 130, 135-137). Mohanty does not disclose packetizing, as in the underlined portions of the claim limitation “the verve of a plurality of code packets in the release train.” However, on or before the effective filing date of the instant application, packetizing information for organized storage and reuse was known in the art. Official Notice is hereby invoked to that effect. Also on or before the effective filing date of the instant application, one of ordinary skill in the art would have deemed it obvious to try combining packetizing with the release train management method of Mohanty, thereby obtaining the invention of the instant claim, namely packetizing information and other elements of the release train for organized storage and reuse. Accordingly, the instant claim is unpatentable over Mohanty.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN D. COYER whose telephone number is (571) 270-5306 and whose fax number is (571) 270-6306. The examiner normally can be reached via phone on Monday-Friday 12pm-10pm Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Wei Mui, can be reached on 571-272-3708. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Ryan D. Coyer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2191