DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1- 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11958374. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the instant application are covered by the reference claims. The claims in the current application recites claim limitation which are almost identical. Such as in claim 1, the current application recites a broader limitation, which includes, “wherein the EVSE allows power transfer to and from an electric vehicle (EV).” The US Patent claim 1 fully encompasses the limitation disclosed in the current application, except, the claim language is stated as, “An electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) that supplies electricity to an electric vehicle”
Current Application: 18/602,624
US Patent: 11958374
Claim 1:
An electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE), comprising:
a coupler; and
an arc fault detection circuit interruption (AFCI) device including:
a controller including the processor and a memory;
circuitry; and
computer-readable firmware code stored in the memory which, when executed by the processor,
causes the controller to: detect an arcing level of arcing between the coupler and a charge port of the electric vehicle (EV), and
compare the arcing level to a threshold level to determine a hazardous nature of arching, wherein the EVSE allows power transfer to and from an electric vehicle(EV).
Claim 1:
An electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) that supplies electricity to an electric vehicle (EV) being a load, comprising:
a short-range wireless radio coupled to a processor and the short-range wireless radio coupled to an antenna to provide short-range wireless communications between the EVSE and one or more external devices;
a coupler; and
an arc fault detection circuit interruption (AFCI) device including:
a controller including the processor and a memory;
circuitry; and
computer-readable firmware code stored in the memory which, when executed by the processor,
causes the controller to: detect an arcing level of arcing between the coupler and a charge port of the electric vehicle (EV),
compare the arcing level to a threshold level to determine a hazardous nature of arching, and accumulate information about a level of arcing, a duration of arcing, a number of times arching happened to predict the health of the coupler based on arc energy.
Claim 2:
The electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 1, wherein the EV being a load/a source.
Claim 1:
An electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) that supplies electricity to an electric vehicle (EV) being a load, comprising:
a short-range wireless radio coupled to a processor and the short-range wireless radio coupled to an antenna to provide short-range wireless communications between the EVSE and one or more external devices;
a coupler; and
an arc fault detection circuit interruption (AFCI) device including:
a controller including the processor and a memory;
circuitry; and
computer-readable firmware code stored in the memory which, when executed by the processor,
causes the controller to: detect an arcing level of arcing between the coupler and a charge port of the electric vehicle (EV),
compare the arcing level to a threshold level to determine a hazardous nature of arching, and accumulate information about a level of arcing, a duration of arcing, a number of times arching happened to predict the health of the coupler based on arc energy.
Claim 3:
The electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 1, wherein the controller to analyze the arcing level to determine not only if it is currently hazardous but if it is likely to become hazardous in a near term and recommend repair or replacement of the coupler and the charge port before damage occurs.
Claim 16:
The electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 1, wherein the controller to analyze the arcing level to determine not only if it is currently hazardous but if it is likely to become hazardous in a near term and recommend repair or replacement of the coupler and the charge port before damage occurs.
Claim 4:
The electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 3, wherein the arcing happens when the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) is unplugged in an unusual manner or whenever there is an electric power present on the charge port of the electric vehicle (EV) when there shouldn’t be any, and wherein the arcing is generating a lot more electrical noise than a threshold
Claim 17:
The electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 16, wherein the arcing happens when the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) is unplugged in an unusual manner or whenever there is an electric power present on the charge port of the electric vehicle (EV) when there shouldn't be any, and wherein the arcing is generating a lot more electrical noise than a threshold.
Claim 5:
The electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 1, further comprising: a relay configured to open and close to supply power or cutoff power, wherein if the arcing is detected initiate a stop charging command to open the relay to cutoff the power to the charge port.
Claim 2:
The electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 1, further comprising: a relay configured to open and close to supply power or cutoff power, wherein if the arcing is detected initiate a stop charging command to open the relay to cutoff the power to the charge port.
Claim 6:
The electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 1, further comprising: a charging adapter being used between the coupler of the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) and the charge port of the electric vehicle (EV) such that the arcing can be damaging to people and equipment, wherein the controller is configured to detect and stop the arcing before it becomes dangerous.
Claim 3:
The electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 1, further comprising: a charging adapter being used between the coupler of the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) and the charge port of the electric vehicle (EV) such that the arcing can be damaging to people and equipment, wherein the controller is configured to detect and stop the arcing before it becomes dangerous.
Claim 7:
The electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: monitor the arcing and overtime determine if conductors of the coupler and conductors of the charge port are worn out.
Claim 4:
The electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: monitor the arcing and overtime determine if conductors of the coupler and conductors of the charge port are worn out.
Claim 8:
The electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 7, wherein the controller is configured to: predict when the arcing is going to occur in future
Claim 5:
The electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to: predict when the arcing is going to occur in future.
Claim 9:
The electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 8, wherein the controller is configured to: suggest replacing the coupler or the charge port
Claim 6:
The electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 5, wherein the controller is configured to: suggest replacing the coupler or the charge port.
Claim 10:
The electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: in case of no arcing cause the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) to continue charging
Claim 7:
The electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: in case of no arcing cause the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) to continue charging
Claim 11:
The electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 1, wherein the short-range wireless radio comprises a Near Field Communication (NFC) radio that uses magnetic field induction to enable communication between devices when they're touched together or brought within a few centimeters of each other.
Claim 14:
The electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 1, wherein the short-range wireless radio comprises a Near Field Communication (NFC) radio that uses magnetic field induction to enable communication between devices when they're touched together or brought within a few centimeters of each other.
Claim 12:
The electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: record a time, a date and a location information of arcing and correlate the time, the date and the location information with billing to identify where arcing was a consistent problem.
Claim 8:
The electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: record a time, a date and a location information of arcing and correlate the time, the date and the location information with billing to identify where arcing was a consistent problem.
Claim 13:
A method, comprising:
providing an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) comprising:
a coupler; and an arc fault detection circuit interruption (AFCI) device including:
a controller including the processor and a memory; circuitry; and
computer-readable firmware code stored in the memory which, when executed by the processor, causes the controller to: detect an arcing level of arcing between the coupler and a charge port of an electric vehicle (EV), and compare the arcing level to a threshold level to determine a hazardous nature of arching, wherein the EVSE allows power transfer to and from an electric vehicle(EV).
Claim 9:
A method for supplying electricity to an electric vehicle (EV) being a load, the method comprising:
providing an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) comprising:
a short-range wireless radio coupled to a processor and the short-range wireless radio coupled to an antenna to provide short-range wireless communications between the EVSE and one or more external devices;
a coupler; and an arc fault detection circuit interruption (AFCI) device including:
a controller including the processor and a memory; circuitry; and computer-readable firmware code stored in the memory which, when executed by the processor, causes the controller to: detect an arcing level of arcing between the coupler and a charge port of the electric vehicle (EV), compare the arcing level to a threshold level to determine a hazardous nature of arching, and accumulate information about a level of arcing, a duration of arcing, a number of times arching happened to predict the health of the coupler based on arc energy.
Claim 14:
The method of claim 13, wherein the EV being a load/a source.
Claim 9:
A method for supplying electricity to an electric vehicle (EV) being a load, the method comprising:
providing an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) comprising:
a short-range wireless radio coupled to a processor and the short-range wireless radio coupled to an antenna to provide short-range wireless communications between the EVSE and one or more external devices;
a coupler; and an arc fault detection circuit interruption (AFCI) device including:
a controller including the processor and a memory; circuitry; and computer-readable firmware code stored in the memory which, when executed by the processor, causes the controller to: detect an arcing level of arcing between the coupler and a charge port of the electric vehicle (EV), compare the arcing level to a threshold level to determine a hazardous nature of arching, and accumulate information about a level of arcing, a duration of arcing, a number of times arching happened to predict the health of the coupler based on arc energy.
Claim 15:
The method of claim 13, wherein the controller to analyze the arcing level to determine not only if it is currently hazardous but if it is likely to become hazardous in a near term and recommend repair or replacement of the coupler and the charge port before damage occurs.
Claim 18:
The method of claim 9, wherein the controller to analyze the arcing level to determine not only if it is currently hazardous but if it is likely to become hazardous in a near term and recommend repair or replacement of the coupler and the charge port before damage occurs.
Claim 16:
The method of claim 15, wherein the arcing happens when the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) is unplugged in an unusual manner or whenever there is an electric power present on the charge port of the electric vehicle (EV) when there shouldn’t be any, and wherein the arcing is generating a lot more electrical noise than a threshold
Claim 19:
The method of claim 18, wherein the arcing happens when the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) is unplugged in an unusual manner or whenever there is an electric power present on the charge port of the electric vehicle (EV) when there shouldn't be any, and wherein the arcing is generating a lot more electrical noise than a threshold.
Claim 17:
The method of claim 13, further comprising: providing a relay configured to open and close to supply power or cutoff power, wherein if the arcing is detected initiate a stop charging command to open the relay to cutoff the power to the charge port.
Claim 10:
The method of claim 9, further comprising: providing a relay configured to open and close to supply power or cutoff power, wherein if the arcing is detected initiate a stop charging command to open the relay to cutoff the power to the charge port
Claim 18:
The method of claim 13, further comprising: providing a charging adapter being used between the coupler of the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) and the charge port of the electric vehicle (EV) such that the arcing can be damaging to people and equipment, wherein the controller is configured to detect and stop the arcing before it becomes dangerous.
Claim 11:
The method of claim 9, further comprising: providing a charging adapter being used between the coupler of the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) and the charge port of the electric vehicle (EV) such that the arcing can be damaging to people and equipment, wherein the controller is configured to detect and stop the arcing before it becomes dangerous.
Claim 19:
The method of claim 13, wherein the controller is configured to: monitor the arcing and overtime determine if conductors of the coupler and conductors of the charge port are worn out.
Claim 12:
The method of claim 9, wherein the controller is configured to: monitor the arcing and overtime determine if conductors of the coupler and conductors of the charge port are worn out
Claim 20:
The method of claim 19, wherein the controller is configured to: predict when the arcing is going to occur in future, and suggest replacing the coupler or the charge port.
Claim 13:
The method of claim 12, wherein the controller is configured to: predict when the arcing is going to occur in future, and suggest replacing the coupler or the charge port.
Claim 21:
The method of claim 13,
wherein the short-range wireless radio comprises a Near Field Communication (NFC) radio that uses magnetic field induction to enable communication between devices when they're touched together or brought within a few centimeters of each other.
Claim 14:
The electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 1, wherein the short-range wireless radio comprises a Near Field Communication (NFC) radio that uses magnetic field induction to enable communication between devices when they're touched together or brought within a few centimeters of each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12 -15, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jefferies (US 20130300429).
Regarding claim 1, Jefferies teaches an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) that supplies electricity to an electric vehicle (EV) (shown in figure 1 item 100 defined as an EVSE).
Jefferies teaches comprising: a coupler (shown in figure 1 item 103 interpreted as an EVSE Connector).
Jefferies teaches an arc fault detection circuit interruption (AFCI) device including: a controller including a processor and a memory; circuitry; and computer-readable firmware code stored in the memory which, when executed by the processor, causes the controller to: detect an arcing level of arcing between the coupler and a charge port of the electric vehicle (EV) or any other series or parallel arcing within the EVSE, and compare the arcing level to a threshold level to determine a hazardous nature of arching (shown in figure 2 wherein an arc fault detection circuit interruption device is interpreted as a diagnostic unit item 250. Figure 3 shows computing device item 300 which is incorporated in the diagnostic unit. Figure 3 shows a controller including a processor, item 301 and a memory item 303. Circuitry and firmware shown in figures 1, 2 and 3. Figures 1-3 shown below. Paragraph [0040] teaches wherein series and parallel arcing is detected. Paragraph [0038] teaches wherein the diagnostic unit compares measurements to one or more predetermined thresholds, which includes comparing a level of arcing detected to a hazardous level. Paragraph [0040] teaches wherein excessive heat or current is detected and thus a hazardous level of arcing has occurred).
Regarding claim 2, Jeffries teaches the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 1, wherein the EV being a load/a source (shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Jefferies teaches the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 1, wherein the controller to analyze the arcing level to determine not only if it is currently hazardous but if it is likely to become hazardous in a near term and recommend repair or replacement of the coupler and the charge port before damage occurs (paragraph [0041] teaches wherein current arcing is analyzed and determined whether or not damage may occur. The owner or operator is notified that replacement or repair is required).
Regarding claim 5, Jeffries teaches the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 1, further comprising: a relay configured to open and close to supply power or cutoff power, wherein if the arcing is detected initiate a stop charging command to open the relay to cutoff the power to the charge port (paragraph [0041] teaches wherein current arcing is analyzed and determined whether or not damage may occur. The owner or operator is notified that replacement or repair is required).
Regarding claim 7, Jeffries teaches the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: monitor the arcing and overtime determine if conductors of the coupler and conductors of the charge port are worn out (paragraph [0016] teaches wherein it is determined that the cable 104 is defective (e.g., insulation is damaged, discontinuity exists in conductors, etc.), the cable 104 may be removed and replaced with a new cable. Paragraph [0037] the diagnostic unit 250 may take time domain reflectometry (TDR) measurements as well. Such measurements might be used to monitor the condition of the conductors in, for example, the cable 204. Paragraph [0066] teaches wherein when the EVSE connector 203 is removed from the receptacle 210, a timestamp may be stored. Such a timestamp may be used in determining whether the EVSE 200 is damaged or that the EVSE connector 203 is exposed. For example, if a large amount of time has passed since the timestamp was generated, the EVSE 200 may determine that there is a problem).
Regarding claim 8 Jeffries teaches the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 7, wherein the controller is configured to: predict when the arcing is going to occur in future (paragraph [0034] teaches wherein as a result of such measurement determinations, the diagnostic unit 250 may detect insulation problems that might lead to a future compromised performance and/or electrical characteristics of the EVSE 200, including arcing faults. Paragraph [0041] teaches wherein early detection arcing is determined).
Regarding claim 9, Jeffries teaches the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 8, wherein the controller is configured to: suggest replacing the coupler or the charge port Paragraph [0041] teaches wherein replacement of parts is suggested).
Regarding claim 10, Jeffries teaches the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: in case of no arcing cause the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) to continue charging (paragraph [0077] teaches wherein the EVSE is determined safe to use and provides charge to the vehicle).
Regarding claim 12, Jeffries teaches the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: record a time, a date and a location information of arcing and correlate the time, the date and the location information with billing to identify where arcing was a consistent problem (paragraphs [0048] and [0066] discloses wherein different events, including arcing is recorded and timestamped).
Regarding claim 13, Jeffries teaches a method (shown in figure 1 item 100 defined as an EVSE), comprising:
providing an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) comprising: a coupler (shown in figure 1 item 103 interpreted as an EVSE Connector); and an arc fault detection circuit interruption (AFCI) device including: a controller including the processor and a memory; circuitry; and computer-readable firmware code stored in the memory which, when executed by the processor, causes the controller to: detect an arcing level of arcing between the coupler and a charge port of an electric vehicle (EV), and compare the arcing level to a threshold level to determine a hazardous nature of arching, wherein the EVSE allows power transfer to and from an electric vehicle(EV) (shown in figure 2 wherein an arc fault detection circuit interruption device is interpreted as a diagnostic unit item 250. Figure 3 shows computing device item 300 which is incorporated in the diagnostic unit. Figure 3 shows a controller including a processor, item 301 and a memory item 303. Circuitry and firmware shown in figures 1, 2 and 3. Figures 1-3 shown below. Paragraph [0040] teaches wherein series and parallel arcing is detected. Paragraph [0038] teaches wherein the diagnostic unit compares measurements to one or more predetermined thresholds, which includes comparing a level of arcing detected to a hazardous level. Paragraph [0040] teaches wherein excessive heat or current is detected and thus a hazardous level of arcing has occurred).
Regarding claim 14, Jeffries teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the EV being a load/a source (shown in figure 1 item 100 defined as an EVSE).
Regarding claim 15, Jeffries teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the controller to analyze the arcing level to determine not only if it is currently hazardous but if it is likely to become hazardous in a near term and recommend repair or replacement of the coupler and the charge port before damage occurs (paragraph [0041] teaches wherein current arcing is analyzed and determined whether or not damage may occur. The owner or operator is notified that replacement or repair is required).
Regarding claim 17, Jeffries teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising: providing a relay configured to open and close to supply power or cutoff power, wherein if the arcing is detected initiate a stop charging command to open the relay to cutoff the power to the charge port (paragraph [0041] teaches wherein current arcing is analyzed and determined whether or not damage may occur. The owner or operator is notified that replacement or repair is required).
Regarding claim 19, Jeffries teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the controller is configured to: monitor the arcing and overtime determine if conductors of the coupler and conductors of the charge port are worn out (paragraph [0016] teaches wherein it is determined that the cable 104 is defective (e.g., insulation is damaged, discontinuity exists in conductors, etc.), the cable 104 may be removed and replaced with a new cable. Paragraph [0037] the diagnostic unit 250 may take time domain reflectometry (TDR) measurements as well. Such measurements might be used to monitor the condition of the conductors in, for example, the cable 204. Paragraph [0066] teaches wherein when the EVSE connector 203 is removed from the receptacle 210, a timestamp may be stored. Such a timestamp may be used in determining whether the EVSE 200 is damaged or that the EVSE connector 203 is exposed. For example, if a large amount of time has passed since the timestamp was generated, the EVSE 200 may determine that there is a problem).
Regarding claim 20, Jeffries teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the controller is configured to: predict when the arcing is going to occur in future, and suggest replacing the coupler or the charge port (paragraph [0034] teaches wherein as a result of such measurement determinations, the diagnostic unit 250 may detect insulation problems that might lead to a future compromised performance and/or electrical characteristics of the EVSE 200, including arcing faults. Paragraph [0041] teaches wherein early detection arcing is determined).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jefferies (US 20130300429) in view of Yoscovich (US 20180097354).
Regarding claim 4, Jefferies teaches the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 3, but does not explicitly teach wherein the arcing happens when the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) is unplugged in an unusual manner or whenever there is an electric power present on the charge port of the electric vehicle (EV) when there shouldn’t be any, and wherein the arcing is generating a lot more electrical noise than a threshold
Yoscovich teaches wherein the arcing happens when the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) is unplugged in an unusual manner or whenever there is an electric power present on the charge port of the electric vehicle (EV) when there shouldn’t be any, and wherein the arcing is generating a lot more electrical noise than a threshold (paragraph [0057] wherein a level of arcing noise is determined and compared to threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Jefferies reference with the noise monitoring of the Yoscovich reference so that the method for arc detection measurement may be variously configured.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Yoscovich reference in paragraph [0010] wherein the method for arc detection measurement may be variously configured.
Regarding claim 16, Jeffries teaches the method of claim 15, but does not explicitly teach wherein the arcing happens when the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) is unplugged in an unusual manner or whenever there is an electric power present on the charge port of the electric vehicle (EV) when there shouldn’t be any, and wherein the arcing is generating a lot more electrical noise than a threshold.
Yoscovich teaches wherein the arcing happens when the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) is unplugged in an unusual manner or whenever there is an electric power present on the charge port of the electric vehicle (EV) when there shouldn’t be any, and wherein the arcing is generating a lot more electrical noise than a threshold (paragraph [0057] wherein a level of arcing noise is determined and compared to threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Jefferies reference with the noise monitoring of the Yoscovich reference so that the method for arc detection measurement may be variously configured.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Yoscovich reference in paragraph [0010] wherein the method for arc detection measurement may be variously configured.
6. Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jefferies (US 20130300429) in view of Bech (US 20210387537).
Regarding claim 6, Jefferies teaches the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach further comprising: a charging adapter being used between the coupler of the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) and the charge port of the electric vehicle (EV) such that the arcing can be damaging to people and equipment, wherein the controller is configured to detect and stop the arcing before it becomes dangerous.
Bech teaches comprising: a charging adapter being used between the coupler of the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) and the charge port of the electric vehicle (EV) such that the arcing can be damaging to people and equipment, wherein the controller is configured to detect and stop the arcing before it becomes dangerous (paragraph [0026] wherein the input/output device 204 may include more than one of these adapters, credentials, or ports, such as a first port for receiving data and a second port for transmitting data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Jefferies reference with the adapter of the Bech reference so that the charging device may be able to provide charge to a variety of vehicles.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Bech reference in paragraph [0026] wherein a variety of inputs may be used to charge vehicles.
Regarding claim 18, Jefferies teaches the method of claim 13, but does not explicitly teach further comprising: providing a charging adapter being used between the coupler of the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) and the charge port of the electric vehicle (EV) such that the arcing can be damaging to people and equipment, wherein the controller is configured to detect and stop the arcing before it becomes dangerous.
Bech teaches comprising: a charging adapter being used between the coupler of the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) and the charge port of the electric vehicle (EV) such that the arcing can be damaging to people and equipment, wherein the controller is configured to detect and stop the arcing before it becomes dangerous (paragraph [0026] wherein the input/output device 204 may include more than one of these adapters, credentials, or ports, such as a first port for receiving data and a second port for transmitting data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Jefferies reference with the adapter of the Bech reference so that the charging device may be able to provide charge to a variety of vehicles.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Bech reference in paragraph [0026] wherein a variety of inputs may be used to charge vehicles.
Claims 11 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jefferies (US 20130300429) in view of Appelbaum (US 11807105).
Regarding claim 11, Jeffries teaches the electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the short-range wireless radio comprises a Near Field Communication (NFC) radio that uses magnetic field induction to enable communication between devices when they're touched together or brought within a few centimeters of each other.
Appelbaum teaches wherein the short-range wireless radio comprises a Near Field Communication (NFC) radio that uses magnetic field induction to enable communication between devices when they're touched together or brought within a few centimeters of each other (defined in column 10 lines 23 – 28 wherein an NFC device allows for communication within the system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Jefferies reference with the communication system of the Appelabaum system so that a variety of communication devices maybe used to easily communicate signals for charging.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Appelbaum reference in column 4 lines 48 - 49 wherein multiple methods of exchanging data and communication is taught.
Regarding claim 21, Jeffries teaches the method of claim 13, but does not explicitly teach wherein the short-range wireless radio comprises a Near Field Communication (NFC) radio that uses magnetic field induction to enable communication between devices when they're touched together or brought within a few centimeters of each other.
Appelbaum teaches wherein the short-range wireless radio comprises a Near Field Communication (NFC) radio that uses magnetic field induction to enable communication between devices when they're touched together or brought within a few centimeters of each other (defined in column 10 lines 23 – 28 wherein an NFC device allows for communication within the system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Jefferies reference with the communication system of the Appelabaum system so that a variety of communication devices maybe used to easily communicate signals for charging.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Appelbaum reference in column 4 lines 48 - 49 wherein multiple methods of exchanging data and communication is taught.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20260061883 A1 EV Charging System Arya; Suresh Et Al.
Us 20260116226 A1 System Control Module Of Electrified VehicleBaskar K Et Al.
Us 11282369 B2 Managing Voltage Event Alarms Bickel; Jon A.
Us 20120206100 A1 Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment Brown; Kenneth J. Et Al.
Us 20180045767 A1 Electric Ground Fault Detection Daigle; Jeffrey Louis Et Al.
Us 20150291049 A1 Electric Vehicle Charging Station Deboer, Iii; John R. Et Al.
Us 20210278453 A1 Nuisance AFCI Circuit Breaker Denney; Adam
Us 6459273 B1 Arc Fault Detector Method Dollar, Ii; Charles Randall Et Al.
Us 20190157869 A1 Battery Energy Storage Control Systems Gadh; Rajit Et Al.
Us 20180201142 A1 Electric-Vehicle Charging Apparatus Galin; Yoav Et Al.
Us 9945894 B2 Arc Fault Detection Grosjean; Dennis F.
Us 20200189393 A1 Monitoring Device Moreno García-Loygorri; Juan Et Al.
Us 6373257 B1 Arc Fault Circuit Interrupter Macbeth; Bruce F. Et Al.
Us 20200006934 A1 Smart Circuit Breaker Malacara-Carrillo; Hector Manuel Et Al.
Us 9759758 B2 Ground Fault Detector Ostrovsky; Michael Et Al.
Us 20160320442 A1 Electric Arc Detection Perichon; Pierre
Us 20200062138 A1 Vehicle Charging Station Smolenaers; Stefan
Us 10886722 B2 Arc Fault Current Detector Ward; Patrick Et Al.
Us 9366713 B2 Arc Fault Detection System And Method Zach; Juergen J.
Us 20030038640 A1 Apparatus For Detecting Arcing Zuercher, Joseph C. Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859