DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the claim should be amended to recite “wherein [[a]] the distal end portion” in line 11 since the distal end portion of the tubing was previously introduced.
Regarding claim 18, the claim should be amended to recite “[[a]] the distal end of the tubing” in line 7 since the distal end of the tubing was previously introduced.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Locking feature in claims 1 and 9. This limitation is interpreted to mean a thread, a tab, a groove, an interference fit, snap connection, or a cross-sectional width which is approximately equal to the cross-sectional width of the tubing coupler, as set forth in paragraphs 45 and 46 of the Specification, and functional equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nichols (US 20220079696).
Regarding claim 18, Nichols discloses a method for providing a telescopic tubing extension set, the method comprising:
providing a sleeve (body portion 530 in fig. 5A) with an inner surface (see below) forming a tubing lumen (lumen formed in fig. 5A which receives seal 560) between a first end and a second end of the sleeve (see below);
positioning a tubing (tubular member 540 in fig. 5A) within the tubing lumen of the sleeve (fig. 5A) such that tubing is longitudinally movable within the tubing lumen in a first direction, such that a distal end of the tubing moves toward the second end of the sleeve (fig. 5A), and a second direction, such that a distal end of the tubing moves away the second end of the sleeve (fig. 5B); and
positioning a seal between the sleeve and the tubing to form resist movement of a fluid between an outer surface of the tubing and the inner surface of the sleeve (seal 560 in fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 19, Nichols discloses positioning the seal between the sleeve and the tubing comprises inserting the seal into the tubing lumen of the sleeve (fig. 4A shows the seal 560 positioned in the lumen defined above) such that an opening through the seal is coaxial with the tubing lumen (fig. 5A), and inserting the tubing through the opening of the seal such the seal is engaged against the inner surface of the sleeve and the outer surface of the tubing (fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 20, Nichols discloses positioning the tubing within the tubing lumen of the sleeve comprises orienting the tubing so that a collar (ring 550 in fig. 5A), extending radially outward from the outer surface of the tubing (fig. 5A/B shows the ring 550 extending outwardly from the outer surface at the bottom of the tubular member 540), is positioned between the seal and the second end of the sleeve (fig. 5A/B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-17 are allowed over the prior art of record.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The claims in this application are allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose either singly or in combination the claimed telescoping tubing extension set.
The closest prior art of record is Nichols.
Regarding independent claim 1, Nichols fails to teach among all the limitations or render obvious a distal end portion formed by the outer surface of the tubing defining a cross-sectional width of the tubing that decreases in a direction from the collar toward the distal end of the tubing, in combination with the total structure and function as claimed. As discussed above with respect to claim 18, Nichols teaches the claimed telescoping tubing extension set substantially. However, the collar of Nichols (ring 550 in fig. 5A) is positioned at the distal-most end of the tubing so that the distal end portion does not decrease in cross-sectional width in a direction from the collar to the distal end of the tubing.
Regarding independent claim 9, Nichols fails to teach among all the limitations or render obvious, in a first orientation of the telescopic tubing extension set, the distal end of the tubing is positioned within the fluid channel of the tubing coupler to form a fluid pathway between the fluid channel of the tubing coupler and the fluid passage of the tubing, in combination with the total structure and function as claimed. As discussed previously, Nichols discloses the telescopic tubing extension set substantially. However, in the first orientation (orientation shown in fig. 5A), the distal end of the tubing (ring 550 in fig. 5A) is positioned proximally to the tubing coupler (catheter connector 520 in fig. 5A) so that the distal end of the tubing is not within a fluid channel of the tubing coupler.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wuebbeling (US 20120289937) discloses a telescopic tubing extension set (fig. 1b) which comprises a collar (sleeve 14 in fig. 1a) and a seal (plug 18 in fig. 1A).
Boenig (US 8585681) discloses a telescopic tubing extension set (fig. 2A-C) comprising a sleeve (connector 40 in fig. 2A) which comprises a locking feature (first end 240 frictionally engages tubular body 14) and a seal (seal 250 in fig. 2A) positioned between the sleeve and a tubing (catheter 16 in fig. 2A).
/COURTNEY FREDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783