DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13, 16-18, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chevalier (US 6032853 A) in view of Tsoukalis (US 11905081 B2).
Regarding claims 12-13 and 17-18, Chevalier discloses a container and blank for making comprising a panel sheet having a top surface and a bottom surface (see Fig. 7) bounded by a top edge, a bottom edge, a left side edge and a right side edge, the panel sheet including a first score line (143) proximate the top edge, wherein a seal flap (142) is defined between the first score line and the top edge (see Fig. 7); a second score line (141) located an intermediate distance between the top edge and the bottom edge, wherein a back panel (140; Examiner considers 140 to be a “back panel) is defined between the first score line and the second score line and between a first portion of the left side edge and a first portion of the right side edge, wherein the first portion of each of the left side edge and right side edge encompass the seal flap and the back panel (see Fig. 7), wherein the first portion of the left side edge is linear (Examiner considers the portion of the left side edge along 150 to be linear), and wherein the first portion of the right side edge is linear (Examiner considers the portion of the right side edge along 151 to be linear); a third score line proximate the second score line and opposite the back panel (Examiner notes the third score line is the score line between elements 106 and 107), wherein a top panel (107; Examiner considers 107 to be a top panel) is defined between the second score line and the third score line; a fourth score line proximate the bottom edge (Examiner notes the fourth score line is the score line between elements 106 and 108), wherein a front panel (106; Examiner considers 106 to be a front panel) is defined between the third score line and the fourth score line, wherein a bottom panel (108; Examiner considers 108 to be a bottom panel) is defined between the fourth score line and the bottom edge and wherein the bottom panel does not include any perforations defined therein (Examiner notes that element 130 is an adhesive tape, not a perforation); a fifth score line collinear with the first portion of the left side edge (Examiner notes the first score line is the score line between elements 106 and 109), wherein an extended left side panel is defined between the fifth score line and a second portion of the left side edge, wherein the extended left side panel encompasses the top panel, front panel and bottom panel, and wherein the third score line and the fourth score line traverse the extended left side panel; a sixth score line (148) proximate the fifth score line and extending from the third score line to the fourth score line, wherein a left side panel (109) is defined between the fifth score line and the sixth score line, and wherein a left side flap (150) is defined between the sixth score line and the second portion of the left side edge; a seventh score line (Examiner notes the seventh score line is the score line between elements 106 and 110) collinear with the first portion of the right side edge, wherein an extended right side panel is defined between the seventh score line and a second portion of the right side edge, wherein the extended right side panel encompasses the top panel, front panel and bottom panel, and wherein the third score line and the fourth score line traverse the extended right side panel; and an eighth score line (149) proximate the seventh score line and extending from the third score line to the fourth score line, wherein a right side panel (110) is defined between the seventh score line and the eighth score line, and wherein a right side flap (151) is defined between the eighth score line and the second portion of the right side edge, wherein the panel sheet is configured to be folded at each of first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth score lines to form a closed three-dimensional construction (see Figures 7-19). Chevalier lacks teaching of a printed display.
Tsoukalis teaches a pizza box toy and game delivery container and blank for making wherein said blank comprises a printed display (see Fig. 18; and Col 13 lines 25-50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Chevalier’s container to have a printed display in order to provide information and/or entertainment to an end user, as taught by Tsoukalis.
Regarding claims 16 and 21, Chevalier, as modified above, discloses a container wherein the panel sheet further includes a first corner flap (Chevalier; 111) disposed at a junction of the top panel and the left side panel; a second corner flap (Chevalier; 113) disposed at a junction of the left side panel and the bottom panel; a third corner flap (Chevalier; 114) disposed at a junction of the bottom panel and the right side panel; and
a fourth corner flap (Chevalier; 112) disposed at a junction of the right-side panel and the top panel. Examiner notes that each of the four corner flaps have an irregular pentagonal shape and bisecting fold line.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-2 and 5-11 are allowed.
Claims 14-15 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/20/2026 regarding new independent claims 12 and 17 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding new claim 12, Examiner considers Chevalier to disclose right and left portions that are linear along elements 151 and 150, respectively.
Regarding new claim 17, Examiner notes that Chevalier does not disclose having perforations located anywhere along the blank (element 130 is disclosed as being adhesive tape, not a tear strip of perforations).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734