DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claims 5, 6, 9 and 10 have been withdrawn. Applicant provides a timely traversal in the response dated 2/12/26. Applicant generally states that all arguments are traversed, with no specific reasoning provided. The restriction is therefore maintained for the reasons previously stated and the restriction is deemed final.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7 and 11-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 10, 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,054,081. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the elements of the listed claims in the present application are provide in the listed claims of US 12054081.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “wherein the stored energy source is configured as an airbag.” However, claim 7 recites “at least one of a piston or a load plate mechanically coupled to the stored energy source.” There does not appear to be support in the specification, or logically, how the alternative of the piston being mechanically supported by an airbag may translate the piston to provide the compression load.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sekizuka (US 20200108747). Sekizuka discloses a method for delivering a compression load to a passenger comprising: detecting a forward deceleration event (fig. 3: 56; paragraph 0048); transmitting a forward deceleration event signal to a controller (fig. 3: 54; paragraph 0048); activating an impulse generator via the controller (fig. 4: 72; paragraph 0063); and delivering a compression load to the passenger based on the forward deceleration event signal (through plate 30).
As concerns claim 15, Sekizuka discloses wherein delivering the compression load comprises expanding an airbag (fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penley (US 10899456) in view of Howard (US 2014/0358378). Penley teaches an impulse generator (fig. 2B: supp. DSA 122) couplable to a seat pan configured to provide compression load onto a spine of a sitting passenger during a forward deceleration event (it provides an axial compression load, similar to that discussed in parent application 17/705614); a controller coupled to the impulse generator and an inertial sensor (fig. 2B: 126; Col. 4, lines 37-39 and Col. 5, lines 55-57 discuss accelerometers for sensing an accident) and activation of the impulse generator based on the forward deceleration signal (Cols. 4-5, lines 62-25).
Penley does not expressly teach one or more processors and a memory with stored instructions to cause the one or more processors to receive a forward deceleration signal and activate the impulse generator based on the signal. However, Howard teaches raising a seat pan in response to an accident using a processor and memory having stored instructions (figs. 5, 6A: 60, 64; paragraph 0024). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide a processor and memory to the system of Penley in order to provide the desired timing and magnitude of impulse.
As concerns claim 2, Penley, as modified, teaches wherein the impulse generator is couplable to a frame of the seat (fig. 2B: supp DSA 122 must be coupled to the frame in order to press the seat pan upward, similar to that shown in fig. 4B).
As concerns claim 3, Penley, as modified, teaches wherein the safety seat system further comprises the at least one of the frame (as discussed in claim 2).
As concerns claim 11, Penley, as modified, teaches wherein the impulse generator comprises: a solenoid (Penley, Col. 5, lines 61-64); and a piston mechanically disposed within the solenoid and mechanically coupled to the seat pan (fig. 4B: piston 132), wherein an activation of the solenoid translates the piston, wherein a translation of the piston provides the axial compression load (the supp DSA of 122 may be piston/solenoid shown in fig. 4B which provides the compression load to the seat pan).
As concerns claim 12, Penley, as modified, teaches the inertial sensor (fig. 2B: 126).
As concerns claim 13, Penley, as modified, teaches a seat belt (fig. 1: 108).
As concerns claim 14, Penley teaches detecting a forward deceleration event (fig. 2B: 126); activating an impulse generator (fig. 2B: supp DSA 122); and delivering a compression load to the passenger based on the deceleration event signal (Cols. 4-5, lines 62-25). Penly does not expressly teach using a controller for receiving the signal and activation of the impulse generator. However, Howard teaches use of a controller for receiving deceleration signals and actuation of the crash response in the seat (paragraph 0024). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide a controller for appropriately determining the signal and activation of the impulse.
As concerns claim 15, Penley teaches wherein the compression load comprises expanding an airbag (fig. 2B: supp DSA 122 is an airbag).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penley (US 10899456) in view of Howard (US 2014/0358378) and further in view of Breed (US 6623033). Penley does not teach wherein the compression load is a series of impulses. However, Breed teaches providing an accident/deceleration response to the seat in a progressive series of steps from two sensors (Col. 5, lines 9-20). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide a series of impulses based on values from two sensors in order to provide additional safety or the desired physical response of the occupant during an accident.
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 8, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekizuka (US 20200108747) in view of Howard (US 2014/0358378). Sekizuka teaches an impulse generator (fig. 4: 42, 72) couplable to a seat configured to provide compression load onto a spine of a sitting passenger during a forward deceleration event (it presses the seatback cushion face out and into the spine of the user); a controller (fig. 3: 54) coupled to the impulse generator and an inertial sensor (fig. 3: 56) and activation of the impulse generator based on the forward deceleration signal (paragraph 0048).
Sekizuka does not expressly teach one or more processors and a memory with stored instructions to cause the one or more processors to receive a forward deceleration signal and activate the impulse generator based on the signal. However, Howard teaches raising a seat pan in response to an accident using a processor and memory having stored instructions (figs. 5, 6A: 60, 64; paragraph 0024). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide a processor and memory to the system of Sekizuka in order to provide the desired timing and magnitude of impulse.
As concerns claim 2, Sekizuka, as modified, teaches wherein the impulse generator is couplable to a frame of the seat (paragraph 0044: The inflator 42 is provided at the seat upper side of the interior of the hollow gear pipe 46, which is fixed to the side frame 16AA by a bracket that is not shown in the drawings).
As concerns claim 3, Sekizuka, as modified, teaches wherein the safety seat system further comprises the at least one of the frame (as discussed in claim 2).
As concerns claim 7, Sekizuka, as modified, teaches a stored energy source (fig. 4: 72); and a load plate (fig. 4: 30) mechanically coupled to the stored energy source and to the seat back, wherein upon release of a stored energy from the stored energy source translates the load place, wherein a translation of the load plate provides the compression load (as shown in fig. 4).
As concerns claim 8, Sekizuka, as modified, teaches wherein the stored energy source is configured as an airbag (fig. 4: 72).
As concerns claim 12, Sekizuka, as modified, teaches an inertial sensor (fig. 3: 56).
As concerns claim 13, Sekizuka, as modified, teaches a seat belt (fig. 3: 52).
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY J BRINDLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636