DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11, 14-23, 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Damnjanovic et al. (US# 2024/0389083 hereinafter referred to as Damnjanovic) in view of Alasti et al. (US# 2023/0199854 hereinafter referred to as Alasti).
RE Claim 1¸ Damnjanovic discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (See Damnjanovic FIG 3; Summary), comprising:
a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more
memories coupled with the one or more processors (See Damnjanovic FIG 3; Summary – UEs have processors and memories), the processing system configured to cause the UE to:
receive, in association with a first operator (See Damnjanovic [0028], [0030], [0087]-[0088], [0112] – receiving SIB/PRACH configuration which is associated with a first MNO), information indicating a random access resource (See Damnjanovic [0028], [0030], [0087]-[0088], [0112] – PRACH configuration indicating random access resources), wherein the UE is associated with a second operator (See Damnjanovic [0028]-[0029], [0086]-[0090] – UE associated with a second MNO);
transmit a first random access message on the random access resource (See Damnjanovic [0112] – transmitting random access preamble on random access resource);
receive a second random access message (See Damnjanovic [0013], [0030] – receiving RAR back at UE); and
wherein at least one of the second random access message or the third random access message is associated with an indication of the second operator (See Damnjanovic [0241] – RAR associated with second MNO).
Damnjanovic does not specifically disclose transmitting, in association with the second random access message, a third random access message.
However, Alasti teaches of transmitting, in association with the second random access message, a third random access message (See Alasti [0039] – transmitting random access message after RAR (4-step RA procedure)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Damnjanovic, comprising transmitting, in association with the second random access message, a third random access message, as taught in Alasti. One is motivated as such in order to provide better resource mapping/allocation for different users during random access procedures (See Alasti Background; Summary).
RE Claim 2, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the information indicating the random access resource comprises system information on a spectrum associated with the first operator (See Damnjanovic Abs; [0028]-[0029], [0086]-[0090] – indication of random access resource comprises SIB showing shared or respective resources for MNO).
RE Claim 3, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 2 above, wherein the system information includes an indication that the second operator is permitted to use the random access resource (See Damnjanovic [0028]-[0029], [0085]-[0090] – SIB indicating random access resources for MNO).
RE Claim 4, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 3 above, wherein the indication that the second operator is permitted to use the random access resource is separate from cell access related information of the system information (See Damnjanovic [0085]-[0089] – SIB information indicating random access resources for MNOs (this is separate from information used by UE to connect to cell i.e. [0090])).
RE Claim 5, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein, to cause the UE to receive the second random access message, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to receive a first
second random access message associated with the first operator (See Damnjanovic [0013], [0030] – first RAR associated with first MNO) and a second second random access message associated with the second operator (See Damnjanovic [0243]-[0244] – second RAR associated with second MNO),
wherein the second second random access message includes the indication of the second operator (See Damnjanovic [0030] – random access messages (i.e. RAR) include indication of MNO).
RE Claim 6, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 5 above, wherein, to cause the UE to transmit the third random access
message, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to transmit the third
random access message, in response to the second second random access message, in association with the second second random access message including the indication of the second operator (See Alasti [0039] – transmitting random access message after RAR (4-step RA procedure)).
RE Claim 7, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the indication of the second operator comprises a set
of network identifiers, wherein the set of network identifiers indicates the second
operator (See Damnjanovic [0085]-[0089] – indication comprises identification for one or more MNOs).
RE Claim 8, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 7 above, wherein a network identifier, of the set of network identifiers, matches a subscription or a random access cause of the UE (See Damnjanovic [0085]-[0089] – i.e. MNO tags that UE is subscribed to).
RE Claim 9, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the indication of the second operator comprises an
identifier that is associated with a set of network identifiers, wherein the set of network
identifiers indicates the second operator (See Damnjanovic [0084]-[0085] – sending group common SIB information that is applicable to a set of MNOs including identification of specific MNOs).
RE Claim 11, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the indication of the second operator comprises an implicit indication of the second operator (See Damnjanovic [0030] - the RU may determine which MNO is associated with the random access message based on the random access resources via which the message is received).
RE Claim 14, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the random access resource is shared by the first operator and the second operator (See Damnjanovic [0085]-[0089] – random access resources shared between different MNOs).
RE Claim 15¸ Damnjanovic discloses a network node for wireless communication (See Damnjanovic FIG 3; Summary), comprising:
a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more
memories coupled with the one or more processors (See Damnjanovic FIG 3; Summary – network nodes have processors and memories), the processing system configured to cause the network node to:
transmit information indicating a random access resource shared by a first operator and a second operator (See Damnjanovic [0028], [0030], [0087]-[0088], [0112] – transmitting SIB/PRACH configuration which indicates random access resources shared by multiple MNOs);
receive a first random access message on the random access resource (See Damnjanovic [0112] – receiving random access preamble on random access resource);
transmit a second random access message (See Damnjanovic [0013], [0030] – transmitting RAR to UE); and
wherein at least one of the second random access message or the third random access message is associated with an indication of the second operator (See Damnjanovic [0241] – RAR associated with second MNO).
Damnjanovic does not specifically disclose receiving, in association with the second random access message, a third random access message; or
Providing the third random access message to a distributed unit associated with the second operator.
However, Alasti teaches of receiving, in association with the second random access message, a third random access message (See Alasti [0039] – transmitting random access message after RAR (4-step RA procedure)); and
Providing the third random access message to a distributed unit associated with the second operator (See Alasti FIGs 2-3; [0025]-[0042] – transmitting random access message after RAR to DU associated with PLMN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Damnjanovic, comprising receiving, in association with the second random access message, a third random access message, and providing the third random access message to a distributed unit associated with the second operator, as taught in Alasti. One is motivated as such in order to provide better resource mapping/allocation for different users during random access procedures (See Alasti Background; Summary).
RE Claim 16, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a network node, as set forth in claim 15 above, wherein the information indicating the random access resource comprises system information on a spectrum associated with the first operator (See Damnjanovic Abs; [0028]-[0029], [0086]-[0090] – indication of random access resource comprises SIB showing shared or respective resources for MNO).
RE Claim 17, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a network node, as set forth in claim 16 above, wherein the system information includes an indication that the second operator is permitted to use the random access resource (See Damnjanovic [0028]-[0029], [0085]-[0090] – SIB indicating random access resources for MNO).
RE Claim 18, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a network node, as set forth in claim 17 above, wherein the indication that the second operator is permitted to use the random access resource is separate from cell access related information of the system information (See Damnjanovic [0085]-[0089] – SIB information indicating random access resources for MNOs (this is separate from information used by UE to connect to cell i.e. [0090])).
RE Claim 19, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a network node, as set forth in claim 15 above, wherein, to cause the network node to transmit
the second random access message, the processing system is configured to cause the
network node to transmit the second random access message comprises transmitting a
first second random access message associated with the first operator
(See Damnjanovic [0013], [0030] – first RAR associated with first MNO) and a second second random access message associated with the second operator (See Damnjanovic [0243]-[0244] – second RAR associated with second MNO),
wherein the second second random access message includes the indication of the second operator (See Damnjanovic [0030] – random access messages (i.e. RAR) include indication of MNO).
RE Claim 20, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a network node, as set forth in claim 19 above, wherein, to cause the network node to receive the
third random access message, the processing system is configured to cause the network node to receive the third random access message in association with the second second random access message including the indication of the second operator
(See Alasti [0039] – transmitting random access message after RAR (4-step RA procedure)).
RE Claim 21, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a network node, as set forth in claim 15 above, wherein the indication of the second operator comprises a set
of network identifiers, wherein the set of network identifiers indicates the second
operator (See Damnjanovic [0085]-[0089] – indication comprises identification for one or more MNOs).
RE Claim 22, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a network node, as set forth in claim 15 above, wherein the indication of the second operator comprises an
identifier that is associated with a set of network identifiers, wherein the set of network
identifiers indicates the second operator (See Damnjanovic [0084]-[0085] – sending group common SIB information that is applicable to a set of MNOs including identification of specific MNOs).
RE Claim 23, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a network node, as set forth in claim 15 above, wherein the indication of the second operator comprises an implicit indication of the second operator (See Damnjanovic [0030] - the RU may determine which MNO is associated with the random access message based on the random access resources via which the message is received).
RE Claim 25¸ Damnjanovic discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (See Damnjanovic FIG 3; Summary), comprising:
receiving, in association with a first operator (See Damnjanovic [0028], [0030], [0087]-[0088], [0112] – receiving SIB/PRACH configuration which is associated with a first MNO), information indicating a random access resource (See Damnjanovic [0028], [0030], [0087]-[0088], [0112] – PRACH configuration indicating random access resources), wherein the UE is associated with a second operator (See Damnjanovic [0028]-[0029], [0086]-[0090] – UE associated with a second MNO);
transmitting a first random access message on the random access resource (See Damnjanovic [0112] – transmitting random access preamble on random access resource);
receiving a second random access message (See Damnjanovic [0013], [0030] – receiving RAR back at UE); and
wherein at least one of the second random access message or the third random access message is associated with an indication of the second operator (See Damnjanovic [0241] – RAR associated with second MNO).
Damnjanovic does not specifically disclose transmitting, in association with the second random access message, a third random access message.
However, Alasti teaches of transmitting, in association with the second random access message, a third random access message (See Alasti [0039] – transmitting random access message after RAR (4-step RA procedure)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Damnjanovic, comprising transmitting, in association with the second random access message, a third random access message, as taught in Alasti. One is motivated as such in order to provide better resource mapping/allocation for different users during random access procedures (See Alasti Background; Summary).
RE Claim 26, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 25 above, wherein the information indicating the random access resource comprises system information on a spectrum associated with the first operator (See Damnjanovic Abs; [0028]-[0029], [0086]-[0090] – indication of random access resource comprises SIB showing shared or respective resources for MNO).
RE Claim 27, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 26 above, wherein the system information includes an indication that the second operator is permitted to use the random access resource (See Damnjanovic [0028]-[0029], [0085]-[0090] – SIB indicating random access resources for MNO).
RE Claim 28, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 27 above, wherein the indication that the second operator is permitted to use the random access resource is separate from cell access related information of the system information (See Damnjanovic [0085]-[0089] – SIB information indicating random access resources for MNOs (this is separate from information used by UE to connect to cell i.e. [0090])).
RE Claim 29¸ Damnjanovic discloses method of wireless communication at a network node (See Damnjanovic FIG 3; Summary), comprising:
transmitting information indicating a random access resource shared by a first operator and a second operator (See Damnjanovic [0028], [0030], [0087]-[0088], [0112] – transmitting SIB/PRACH configuration which indicates random access resources shared by multiple MNOs);
receiving a first random access message on the random access resource (See Damnjanovic [0112] – receiving random access preamble on random access resource);
transmitting a second random access message (See Damnjanovic [0013], [0030] – transmitting RAR to UE); and
wherein at least one of the second random access message or the third random access message is associated with an indication of the second operator (See Damnjanovic [0241] – RAR associated with second MNO).
Damnjanovic does not specifically disclose receiving, in association with the second random access message, a third random access message; or
Providing the third random access message to a distributed unit associated with the second operator.
However, Alasti teaches of receiving, in association with the second random access message, a third random access message (See Alasti [0039] – transmitting random access message after RAR (4-step RA procedure)); and
Providing the third random access message to a distributed unit associated with the second operator (See Alasti FIGs 2-3; [0025]-[0042] – transmitting random access message after RAR to DU associated with PLMN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Damnjanovic, comprising receiving, in association with the second random access message, a third random access message, and providing the third random access message to a distributed unit associated with the second operator, as taught in Alasti. One is motivated as such in order to provide better resource mapping/allocation for different users during random access procedures (See Alasti Background; Summary).
RE Claim 30, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 29 above, wherein the information indicating the random access resource comprises system information on a spectrum associated with the first operator (See Damnjanovic Abs; [0028]-[0029], [0086]-[0090] – indication of random access resource comprises SIB showing shared or respective resources for MNO).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Damnjanovic et al. (US# 2024/0389083 hereinafter referred to as Damnjanovic) in view of Alasti et al. (US# 2023/0199854 hereinafter referred to as Alasti) and Balasubramanian (US# 2024/0171957).
RE Claim 10, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 9 above. Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, does not specifically disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to receive information that indicates a mapping between the identifier and the set of network identifiers.
However, Balasubramanian teaches of wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to receive information that indicates a mapping between the identifier and the set of network identifiers (See Balasubramanian [0019] – mapping MNO identifiers to set of network identifiers (i.e. IMD)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to receive information that indicates a mapping between the identifier and the set of network identifiers, as taught in Balasubramanian. One is motivated as such in order to better manage communication traffic to the correct target location (See Balasubramanian Background; Summary).
Claims 12-13, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Damnjanovic et al. (US# 2024/0389083 hereinafter referred to as Damnjanovic) in view of Alasti et al. (US# 2023/0199854 hereinafter referred to as Alasti) and Balasubramanian (US# 2024/0171957) and Bendlin et al. (US# 2018/0206214 hereinafter referred to as Bendlin).
RE Claim 12, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 11 above. Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, does not specifically disclose wherein the implicit indication comprises at least one of a demodulation reference signal sequence or a radio network temporary identifier.
However, Bendlin teaches of wherein the implicit indication comprises at least one of a demodulation reference signal sequence or a radio network temporary identifier (See Bendlin [0048], [0078] – RA-RNTI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, wherein the implicit indication comprises at least one of a demodulation reference signal sequence or a radio network temporary identifier, as taught in Bendlin. One is motivated as such in order to better manage network resources based on usage and priority (See Bendlin Background)
RE Claim 13, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti and Bendlin, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 12 above, wherein the processing system is further configured to
cause the UE to receive information that indicates a mapping between the implicit
indication and the second operator (See Bendlin [0078] – operator may map each channel/band to RNTI codeword).
RE Claim 24, Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, discloses a network node, as set forth in claim 15 above. Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, does not specifically disclose wherein transmitting the information indicating the random access resource is in response to a trigger, associated with the first operator, to transmit the information indicating the random access resource.
However, Bendlin teaches of wherein transmitting the information indicating the random access resource is in response to a trigger, associated with the first operator, to transmit the information indicating the random access resource (See Bendlin [0087] – transmitting PRACH to other cell triggered by RLF).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Damnjanovic, modified by Alasti, wherein transmitting the information indicating the random access resource is in response to a trigger, associated with the first operator, to transmit the information indicating the random access resource, as taught in Bendlin. One is motivated as such in order to better manage network resources based on usage and priority (See Bendlin Background).
Conclusion
/STEVE R YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477