DETAILED ACTION
This action is a response to an amendment filed on 8/11/26 in which claims 1-4, 9-12 and 16-24 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8-16, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elkotby et al. (WO 2020/236665 A1), herein Elkotby and Ulink et al. (WO 2021/007555 A1), herein Ulink.
As to claim 1, Elkotby teaches the network device, comprising: a processor and a memory (Elkotby Fig. 1B) wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to perform operations of:
sending a first signaling (Elkotby [130] the eNB may send configurations (control signal));
wherein the first signaling is configured to indicate at least one resource configuration (Elkotby [120] a message specifying a signal range allocated RBs within a specific band along with subcarrier configuration [128] a WTRU may receive the ZE air interface transmission configuration related to EH control signaling e.g., transmission schedule, transmission duration, frame format, a unique ID [130] ZE transmission characteristics and format, modulation scheme, transmission band and frequency location (control signal and [133] the control signal may contain a group ID and a WTRU ID [134] the WTRU may determine when it is supposed to modulate a backscattering signal based on a known preconfiguration of the currently configured WTRUs unique ID, frame number containing the beginning or end of control mage and any other parameter included in the control message);
the at least one resource configuration and at least one resource set is in one-to-one correspondence with each other (Elkotby [134] the WTRU may determine when it is supposed to modulate a backscattering signal based on a known preconfiguration of the currently configured WTRUs unique ID (one-to-one), frame number containing the beginning or end of control mage and any other parameter included in the control message);
each resource set of the at least one resource set comprises at least one resource unit for a backward link for zero-power-consumption communication (Elkotby [132] (Feedback over ZE air interface) a WTRU can consider backscattering techniques over a ZE air interface (zero power consumption communication), the UE can determine when it supposed to modulate a backscattering signal based on the control message, Fig. 8 WTRU actions regarding a feedback transmission configuration based on control messages [134] WTRU may determine the time (resource unit) to modulate a backscattering signal (over the ZE air interface) based on a known preconfigured function of the currently configured WTRU unique ID, frame number or any parameter included in the control message configurations))
Elkotby does not teach
Wherein the first signaling comprises a configuration signaling configured to trigger backward link communication.
However Ulink does teach
Wherein the first signaling comprises a configuration signaling configured to trigger backward link communication (Ulink [0237] the commany may specifically trigger the first device to transmit a feedback singal)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Elkotby and Ulink, because Ulink teaches us [0238] In some variations, the second device may stop transmitting wireless power to the first device based on feedback signal data.
As to claim 11, Elkotby teaches a zero-power-consumption terminal, comprising:
a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to perform operations of (Elkotby Fig. 1B processor and memory):
receiving a first signaling (Elkotby 130] the eNB may send configurations (control signal));
wherein the first signaling is configured to indicate at least one resource configuration (Elkotby [120] a message specifying a signal range allocated RBs within a specific band along with subcarrier configuration [128] a WTRU may receive the ZE air interface transmission configuration related to EH control signaling e.g., transmission schedule, transmission duration, frame format, a unique ID [130] ZE transmission characteristics and format, modulation scheme, transmission band and frequency location (control signal and [133] the control signal may contain a group ID and a WTRU ID [134] the WTRU may determine when it is supposed to modulate a backscattering signal based on a known preconfiguration of the currently configured WTRUs unique ID, frame number containing the beginning or end of control mage and any other parameter included in the control message);
the at least one resource configuration and at least one resource set are in one-to-one correspondence with each other (Elkotby [134] the WTRU may determine when it is supposed to modulate a backscattering signal based on a known preconfiguration of the currently configured WTRUs unique ID (one-to-one), frame number containing the beginning or end of control mage and any other parameter included in the control message);
each resource set of the at least one resource set comprises at least one resource unit for a backward link for zero-power-consumption communication (Elkotby [132] (Feedback over ZE air interface) a WTRU can consider backscattering techniques over a ZE air interface (zero power consumption communication), the UE can determine when it supposed to modulate a backscattering signal based on the control message, Fig. 8 WTRU actions regarding a feedback transmission configuration based on control messages [134] WTRU may determine the time (resource unit) to modulate a backscattering signal (over the ZE air interface) based on a known preconfigured function of the currently configured WTRU unique ID, frame number or any parameter included in the control message configurations))
Elkotby does not teach
wherein the first signaling comprises a configuration signaling; and the processor is further configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to perform operations of: performing backward link communication in response to receiving the configuration signaling.
However Ulink does teach
wherein the first signaling comprises a configuration signaling; and the processor is further configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to perform operations of: performing backward link communication in response to receiving the configuration signaling. (Ulink [0237] the commany may specifically trigger the first device to transmit a feedback singal)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Elkotby and Ulink, because Ulink teaches us [0238] In some variations, the second device may stop transmitting wireless power to the first device based on feedback signal data.
As to claim 20, Elkotby teaches a chip, comprising:
a processor, configured to invoke and run a computer program from a memory to cause a device arranged with the chip to perform operations of (Elkotby Fig. 1B processor):
sending a first signaling (Elkotby [130] the eNB may send configurations (control signal));
wherein the first signaling is configured to indicate at least one resource configuration ([120] a message specifying a signal range allocated RBs within a specific band along with subcarrier configuration [128] a WTRU may receive the ZE air interface transmission configuration related to EH control signaling e.g., transmission schedule, transmission duration, frame format, a unique ID [130] ZE transmission characteristics and format, modulation scheme, transmission band and frequency location (control signal and [133] the control signal may contain a group ID and a WTRU ID [134] the WTRU may determine when it is supposed to modulate a backscattering signal based on a known preconfiguration of the currently configured WTRUs unique ID, frame number containing the beginning or end of control mage and any other parameter included in the control message);
the at least one resource configuration and at least one resource set is in one-to-one correspondence with each other (Elkotby [134] the WTRU may determine when it is supposed to modulate a backscattering signal based on a known preconfiguration of the currently configured WTRUs unique ID (one-to-one), frame number containing the beginning or end of control mage and any other parameter included in the control message);
each resource set of the at least one resource set comprises at least one resource unit for a backward link for zero-power-consumption communication (Elkotby [132] (Feedback over ZE air interface) a WTRU can consider backscattering techniques over a ZE air interface (zero power consumption communication), the UE can determine when it supposed to modulate a backscattering signal based on the control message, Fig. 8 WTRU actions regarding a feedback transmission configuration based on control messages [134] WTRU may determine the time (resource unit) to modulate a backscattering signal (over the ZE air interface) based on a known preconfigured function of the currently configured WTRU unique ID, frame number or any parameter included in the control message configurations))
Elkotby does not teach
Wherein the first signaling comprises a configuration signaling configured to trigger backward link communication.
However Ulink does teach
Wherein the first signaling comprises a configuration signaling configured to trigger backward link communication (Ulink [0237] the commany may specifically trigger the first device to transmit a feedback singal)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Elkotby and Ulink, because Ulink teaches us [0238] In some variations, the second device may stop transmitting wireless power to the first device based on feedback signal data.
As to claim 2, the combination of Elkotby and Ulink teach the network device according to claim 1, wherein each resource configuration of the at least one resource configuration comprises at least one of:
a time domain length of each resource unit in a resource set corresponding to the each resource configuration (Elkotby [134] the UEs decode the control message and use a group ID to determine their transmission window for feedback);
bandwidth information of the each resource unit in the resource set;
the number of resource units in the resource set in a time domain;
the number of resource units in the resource set in a frequency domain;
time domain location information of a first resource unit in the resource set;
frequency domain location information of a second resource unit in the resource set;
codeword information corresponding to the resource set;
transmission attribute information corresponding to the resource set; and
terminal classification information corresponding to the resource set.
Claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 2.
As to claim 3, the combination of Elkotby and Ulink teach the the network device according to claim 2, wherein,
a unit of the time domain length is microsecond, millisecond, symbol, or time slot (Elkotby [134] transmission window (time slot)) [135] time units, slots);
As to claim 4, the combination of Elkotby and Ulink teach the network device according to claim 1, wherein all or part of parameters of the at least one resource set are different from each other (Elkotby [134] WTRUs unique ID and frame number)
As to claim 9, the combination of Elkotby and Ulink teach the network device according to claim 1, wherein the first signaling is further configured to indicate transmission control information (Elkotby [133] ZE control message may contain a beginning or ending frame of the control message until a carrier transmission starts).
As to claim 10, the combination of Elkotby and Ulink teach the network device according to claim 9, wherein the transmission control information comprises at least one of:
an access level of a terminal that is allowed to be communicated with the network device;
type information of the terminal that is allowed to be communicated with the network device (Elkotby [136] request to report current battery level); or
an access probability.
As to claim 16, the combination of Elkotby and Ulink teach the zero-power-consumption terminal according to claim 11, wherein the first signaling is further configured to indicate transmission control information ((Elkotby [133] the WTRU can determine when it is supposed to modulate a signal initiated from the eNB based on a reception of a ZE control message); and
the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to further perform operations of:
determining whether to perform the backward link communication based on a resource unit selected from the at least one resource set, based on transmission control information (Elkotby [133] the ZE control message may contain a feedback request, group ID and a unique ID (used to determine a resource for backward link communication).
As to claim 18, the combination of Elkotby and Ulink teach the zero-power-consumption terminal according to claim 16, wherein the determining whether to perform backward link communication based on a resource unit selected from the at least one resource set, based on transmission control information, comprises:
determining to perform the backward link communication based on the resource unit selected from the at least one resource set, in response to a type of the zero-power-consumption terminal being matched with type information in the transmission control information ((Elkotby [120] a message specifying a signal range allocated RBs within a specific band along with subcarrier configuration [128] a WTRU may receive the ZE air interface transmission configuration related to EH control signaling e.g., transmission schedule, transmission duration, frame format, a unique ID [130] ZE transmission characteristics and format, modulation scheme, transmission band and frequency location (control signal and [133] the control signal may contain a group ID (type information) and a WTRU ID [134] the WTRU may determine when it is supposed to modulate a backscattering signal based on a known preconfiguration of the currently configured WTRUs unique ID, frame number containing the beginning or end of control mage and any other parameter included in the control message);
As to claim 21, the combination of Elkotby and Ulink teach the network device according to claim 1, wherein the backward link comprises a backscattering communication link (Elkotby [118] Therefore, control signaling and feedback are performed over the ZE air interface with backscattering or potentially power-boosted backscattering techniques, as shown in FIG. 7. In various embodiments, a ZE air interface is a low-energy consumption link.
As to claim 22, the combination of Elkotby and Ulink teach the network device according to claim 2, wherein the first resource unit comprises a resource unit that is located at the earliest time domain location in the resource set (Elkotby [145] The EH WTRU(s) then, in a fourth step, determine the feedback transmission characteristics based on the mapping function(s) specified by the control message or preconfigured at the WTRU(s), i.e. determines the time slot index i.sub.t e (0,1,2, ... , N.sub.t])
As to claim 23, the combination of Elkotby and Ulink teach the network device according to claim 2, wherein the time domain location information of the first resource unit comprises absolute time location information of the first resource unit and/or a time interval between the first resource unit and the first signaling (Elkotby [145] The EH WTRU(s) then, in a fourth step, determine the feedback transmission characteristics based on the mapping function(s) specified by the control message or preconfigured at the WTRU(s), i.e. determines the time slot index i.sub.t e (0,1,2, ... , N.sub.t])
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elkotby, Ulink and Lei et al. (Pub. No.: 2021/0105808), herein Lei.
As to claim 24, the combination of Elkotby and Ulink teach the network device according to claim 2,
Elkotby nor Ulink teach
wherein the transmission attribute information comprises at least one of:
a transmission rate, a transport block size (TBS), and a modulation and coding scheme (MCS).
However Lei does teach
wherein the transmission attribute information comprises at least one of:
a transmission rate, a transport block size (TBS), and a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) (Lei [0083] The UE 115-a may then decode the selected PDSCH (for example, one out of the K.sub.M multicasting PDSCHs) that includes the resource configuration for the UE 115-a to use for communications with the base station 105-a without an RRC connection (for example, the selected or desired resource configuration, corresponding to the TBS, MCS, or other configuration of interest).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Elkotby and Ulink with Lei, because Lei teaches us [0074] Additionally or alternatively, depending on the cell size and system loading, it may be appropriate for a UE 115 to determine flexible configurations for modulation and coding schemes (MCSs), waveform and time/frequency resource allocations, among other examples, to enhance the throughput and resource utilization efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 9-12 and 16-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AYANAH S. GEORGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/AYANAH S GEORGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467