DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7 and 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 18 March 2025.
Claim 8 is hereby rejoined and fully examined for patentability in so much as the features of Claim 8 are overlapped by the scope of newly presented Claim 31.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species IX, corresponding to originally filed Claims 22-24, in the reply filed on 18 March 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 22-29, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hack et al. (hereinafter “Hack” US 2018 / 0040676) in view of Ohk (US 2012 / 0050828) and further in view of Nitanda (US 2010 / 0053051).
As pertaining to Claim 1, Hack discloses (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4C, and Fig. 6) a micro-LED display (300; see Page 2, Para. [0019]) comprising:
a two-dimensional array (see (300)) of micro light emitting diodes (micro-LEDs; i.e., pixels and/or subpixels) subdivided into a plurality of areas (304, 306, 308), the plurality of areas (304, 306, 308) drivable to display content (i.e., video or static images) according to at least one mode (i.e., a monochrome low-resolution mode or a full color high-resolution mode) of the micro-LED display (300; see Page 5, Para. [0047]); and
a controller (i.e., circuitry) configured to perform a process including:
determining, without user input, a mode (i.e., a monochrome low-resolution mode or a full color high-resolution mode) of the micro-LED display (300); and
driving different areas (see (304) and (306, 308)) of the micro-LED display (300) differently based on the mode (i.e., the monochrome low-resolution mode or the full color high-resolution mode; see Page 5 through Page 6, Para. [0049]-[0051]; also see Page 2, Para. [0015]; and Page 7, Para. [0057]).
Hack does not explicitly disclose that the process includes determining a mode of the micro-LED display from a plurality of modes based on a criteria including the content for display on the micro-LED display, and subsequently driving different areas of the micro-LED display differently based on the mode that was determined based on the content for display.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ohk discloses (see Fig. 1) a method in which content (i.e., display content) for display (see Page 1, Para. [0010] and Page 2, Para. [0022] and [0032]) on a display screen (140) is received (i.e., from an external device; see (110)), and a mode (i.e., a full color mode or a monochrome mode) of the display screen (140) is determined, without a user input, from a plurality of modes (i.e., full color and monochrome modes) based on the content received (see (120, 130)), and different areas of the display (140) are subsequently driven differently based on the mode (i.e., the full color mode or the monochrome mode) that was selected based on the content received for display (see Page 3, Para. [0044]-[0047], [0050]-[0051], [0054]-[0061], and [0063]; also see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 for “Text Mono & Image Color Mode” and Page 5, Para. [0090]). It is a goal of Ohk to provide a means of determining a mode of a display screen based on received display content such that different types of display content can be displayed differently to provide emphasis and/or preferential display attributes to the displayed image (see Page 5, Para. [0107]). This provides the obvious benefit of enhanced image display and display interfacing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hack with the teachings of Ohk, such that the process of Hack includes determining, without a user input, a mode of the micro-LED display from a plurality of modes based on a criteria including the content for display on the micro-LED display, and subsequently driving different areas of the micro-LED display differently based on the mode that was determined based on the content for display, as suggested by Ohk, in order to provide a means of preferentially providing emphasis and/or desired display attributes to a displayed image to thereby enhance the image and/or display interface.
Still, neither Hack nor Ohk explicitly discloses that the mode of the micro-LED display is based on criteria that includes a parameter related to at least one of a device or an environment.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nitanda discloses (see Figs. 1A and 1B; and see Figs. 4A and 4B) that it was well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement an ambient light sensor (118, 122) in association with a display device (see (116, 120); and see Page 2, Para. [0017] and [0019]) such that a mode, namely a full color mode or a monochrome mode, of the display device (116, 120) is determined, without user input, based on criteria including a parameter related to at least one of a device (i.e., (118, 122)) or an environment (i.e., ambient environmental light; see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0024]-[0026] and Page 1, Para. [0007]). It is a goal of Nitanda to provide a means of improving the quality of a displayed image under low light conditions and also bright light conditions (see Page 1, Para. [0004]). In this regard, Nitanda suggests a means of utilizing an aesthetically pleasing normal color display mode when ambient light conditions permit, and switching to a more effective monochromatic display mode when ambient light conditions would otherwise prevent a user from seeing images on the display, namely under high ambient light conditions (again, see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hack and Ohk with the teachings of Nitanda, such that the mode of the micro-LED display is based on criteria that includes a parameter related to at least one of a device or an environment, as suggested by Nitanda, in order to provide a means of improving the quality of a displayed image under low light conditions and also bright light conditions, namely by utilizing an aesthetically pleasing normal color display mode when ambient light conditions permit, and switching to a more effective monochromatic display mode when ambient light conditions would otherwise prevent a user from seeing images on the display, namely under high ambient light conditions.
As pertaining to Claim 2, Ohk discloses (see Fig. 10 and Fig. 2) that the mode (i.e., a full color mode or a monochrome mode) corresponds to the content (i.e., display content) received (i.e., from an external device; see (1010)) for display (see (1040) of Ohk corresponding to (300) of Hack) and according to the mode (i.e., the full color mode or monochrome mode), the micro-LEDs (i.e., the pixels of the display; also see Fig. 3 of Hack) of the display (1040) are driven to:
display a first content (i.e., a text content; see (T) in Fig. 2) in a first area (see (T)) corresponding and display a second content (i.e., an image content; see (I) in Fig. 2) in a second area (see (I)) the first content (i.e., the text content (T)) and the second content (i.e., the image content (I)) displayed simultaneously (see Fig. 2) on the micro-LED display (see (1040) of Ohk corresponding to (300) of Hack; see Page 4, Para. [0079] and Page 5, Para. [0090] of Ohk).
As pertaining to Claim 3, Hack discloses (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4C, and Fig. 6) that the different areas (see (304) and (306, 308)) include:
a first area (304) configured to display the content (i.e., the display content) in a full-color light, the full-color light in a first wavelength range of 400 nanometers to 700 nanometers (i.e., red, green, and blue wavelengths producing full-color pixels; see Page 1, Para. [0005] and Page 2, Para. [0015]); and
a second area (306, 308) configured to display the content (i.e., the display content) in a green light (i.e., using only green pixels), the green light within a second wavelength range of 500 nanometers to 570 nanometers (see Page 6, Para. [0050] and note that Hack expressly suggests utilizing only green pixels to provide monochrome driving as a means of reducing power consumption).
As pertaining to Claim 6, Hack discloses (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4C, and Fig. 6) that the first area (304) is at a center of the two-dimensional array of pixels (300); and
the micro-LEDs of the first area (304) are driven to have a resolution that is greater than other areas (306, 308) of the plurality of areas (see Page 2, Para. [0015]; Page 6, Para. [0051]; and Page 7, Para. [0057]).
As pertaining to Claim 8, Nitanda discloses (see Figs. 1A and 1B; and see Figs. 4A and 4B) that the criteria further include; an ambient light level being above a threshold again, see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0024]-[0026] and Page 1, Para. [0007]).
As pertaining to Claim 22, Hack discloses (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4C, and Fig. 6) a method (see Page 2, Para. [0019]) comprising:
receiving content (i.e., video or static images) for display on a micro-LED display (300; see Page 5, Para. [0047]);
determining, without a user input, a mode (i.e., a monochrome low-resolution mode or a full color high-resolution mode) of the micro-LED display (300); and
driving different areas (see (304) and (306, 308)) of the micro-LED display (300) differently based on the mode (i.e., the monochrome low-resolution mode or the full color high-resolution mode), the different areas (see (304) and (306, 308); see Page 5 through Page 6, Para. [0049]) including:
a first area (304) at a center of the micro-LED display (300) that includes three different color subpixels (i.e., full-color pixels including red, green, and blue subpixels; see Page 1, Para. [0005] and Page 2, Para. [0015]) spaced at a first pixel pitch (i.e., a first resolution, corresponding to a first “dpi” and/or a first spacing between subpixels); and
a second area (306, 308) surrounding (see Fig. 4C, for example) the first area (304) that includes less than three different color subpixels (i.e., only green subpixels, as an example) spaced at a second pixel pitch (i.e., a second resolution, corresponding to a second “dpi” and/or a second spacing between subpixels), the second pixel pitch (i.e., the second resolution, “dpi,” and/or spacing between subpixels) larger than the first pixel pitch (i.e., the first resolution, “dpi,” and/or spacing between subpixels; see Fig. 3, Fig. 4C, and Fig. 6, for example, in which subpixels have a larger pitch in a peripheral second area (306, 308) as compared to a center first area (304); see Page 2, Para. [0015]; Page 6, Para. [0050] and [0051]; and Page 7, Para. [0057]).
Hack does not explicitly disclose that the method includes determining a mode of the micro-LED display from a plurality of modes based on the content received for display on the micro-LED display, and subsequently driving different areas of the micro-LED display differently based on the mode that was determined based on the content for display.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ohk discloses (see Fig. 1) a method in which content (i.e., display content) for display (see Page 1, Para. [0010] and Page 2, Para. [0022] and [0032]) on a display screen (140) is received (i.e., from an external device; see (110)), and a mode (i.e., a full color mode or a monochrome mode) of the display screen (140) is determined, without a user input, from a plurality of modes (i.e., full color and monochrome modes) based on the content received (see (120, 130)), and different areas of the display (140) are subsequently driven differently based on the mode (i.e., the full color mode or the monochrome mode) that was selected based on the content received for display (see Page 3, Para. [0044]-[0047], [0050]-[0051], [0054]-[0061], and [0063]; also see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 for “Text Mono & Image Color Mode” and Page 5, Para. [0090]). It is a goal of Ohk to provide a means of determining a mode of a display screen based on received display content such that different types of display content can be displayed differently to provide emphasis and/or preferential display attributes to the displayed image (see Page 5, Para. [0107]). This provides the obvious benefit of enhanced image display and display interfacing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hack with the teachings of Ohk, such that the process of Hack includes determining, without a user input, a mode of the micro-LED display from a plurality of modes based on the content received for display on the micro-LED display, and subsequently driving different areas of the micro-LED display differently based on the mode that was determined based on the content for display, as suggested by Ohk, in order to provide a means of preferentially providing emphasis and/or desired display attributes to a displayed image to thereby enhance the image and/or display interface.
Still, neither Hack nor Ohk explicitly discloses that the mode of the micro-LED display is based on criteria that includes a parameter related to at least one of a device or an environment.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nitanda discloses (see Figs. 1A and 1B; and see Figs. 4A and 4B) that it was well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement an ambient light sensor (118, 122) in association with a display device (see (116, 120); and see Page 2, Para. [0017] and [0019]) such that a mode, namely a full color mode or a monochrome mode, of the display device (116, 120) is determined, without user input, based on criteria including a parameter related to at least one of a device (i.e., (118, 122)) or an environment (i.e., ambient environmental light; see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0024]-[0026] and Page 1, Para. [0007]). It is a goal of Nitanda to provide a means of improving the quality of a displayed image under low light conditions and also bright light conditions (see Page 1, Para. [0004]). In this regard, Nitanda suggests a means of utilizing an aesthetically pleasing normal color display mode when ambient light conditions permit, and switching to a more effective monochromatic display mode when ambient light conditions would otherwise prevent a user from seeing images on the display, namely under high ambient light conditions (again, see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hack and Ohk with the teachings of Nitanda, such that the mode of the micro-LED display is based on criteria that includes a parameter related to at least one of a device or an environment, as suggested by Nitanda, in order to provide a means of improving the quality of a displayed image under low light conditions and also bright light conditions, namely by utilizing an aesthetically pleasing normal color display mode when ambient light conditions permit, and switching to a more effective monochromatic display mode when ambient light conditions would otherwise prevent a user from seeing images on the display, namely under high ambient light conditions.
As pertaining to Claim 23, the combined teachings of Hack and Ohk (see Fig. 3 of Hack in combination with Fig. 10 and Fig. 2 of Ohk) disclose that the method further comprises analyzing the content to determine that the content includes text content (i.e., see (T) in Fig. 2 of Ohk); and
determining a monochromatic mode for the text content (see Fig. 3 for “Text Mono & Image Color Mode” and Page 5, Para. [0090] of Ohk), the monochromatic mode configured to drive pixels of a first color (i.e., green pixels; see Page 6, Para. [0050] of Hack and note that Hack expressly suggests utilizing only green pixels to provide monochrome driving as a means of reducing power consumption) in the first area (see (304) of Hack) and to drive pixels of the first color (i.e., green pixels) in the second area (see (306, 308) of Hack) so that the text content can be displayed in the first color (i.e., green) anywhere in the first area (304) and in the second area ((306, 308); it should be noted that both the first area (304) and (306, 308) of Hack comprise green pixels and, as such, both are configured to display monochrome text in green).
As pertaining to Claim 24, the combined teachings of Hack and Ohk (see Fig. 3 of Hack in combination with Fig. 10 and Fig. 2 of Ohk) disclose that the method further comprises analyzing the content to determine that the content includes image content (i.e., see (I) in Fig. 2 of Ohk); and
selecting a full-color mode for the image content (see Fig. 3 for “Text Mono & Image Color Mode” and Page 5, Para. [0090] of Ohk), the full-color mode configured to drive red subpixels, blue subpixels, and green subpixels (see Page 1, Para. [0005] and Page 2, Para. [0015] of Hack and note that Hack explicitly discloses that full-color display includes red, blue, and green pixels) in the first area (see (304) of Hack corresponding to the full-color area) so that the image content is displayed in full-color in the first area (304; see Page 5, Para. [0047] and Page 6, Para. [0050] of Hack).
As pertaining to Claim 25, Hack discloses (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4C, and Fig. 6) that:
the first area (304) is configured to display the content (i.e., the display content) in a full-color light, the full-color light in a first wavelength range of 400 nanometers to 700 nanometers (i.e., red, green, and blue wavelengths producing full-color pixels; see Page 1, Para. [0005] and Page 2, Para. [0015]); and
the second area (306, 308) configured to display the content (i.e., the display content) in a green light (i.e., using only green pixels), the green light within a second wavelength range of 500 nanometers to 570 nanometers (see Page 6, Para. [0050] and note that Hack expressly suggests utilizing only green pixels to provide monochrome driving as a means of reducing power consumption).
As pertaining to Claim 26, Hack discloses (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4C, and Fig. 6) that the second area (306, 308) is configured to display the content (i.e., the display content) in a yellow light (i.e., using a mixture of red and green pixels), the yellow light in a third wavelength range of 570 nanometers to 580 nanometers (see Page 2, Para. [0019] and Page 6, Para. [0050] and note that Hack expressly suggests utilizing only red and green pixels to provide monochrome driving, and yellow light is known to be produced by a mixture of red light and green light; thus, the second area (306, 308) is “configured to” display yellow light having the specified wavelength).
As pertaining to Claim 27, Hack discloses (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4C, and Fig. 6) that the second area (306, 308) is configured to display the content (i.e., the display content) in a cyan light (i.e., using a mixture of blue and green pixels), the cyan light in a fourth wavelength range of 490 nanometers to 520 nanometers (see Page 2, Para. [0019] and Page 6, Para. [0050] and note that Hack expressly suggests utilizing green pixels in combination with some number of blue pixels to provide monochrome driving, and cyan light is known to be produced by a mixture of blue light and green light; thus, the second area (306, 308) is “configured to” display cyan light having the specified wavelength).
As pertaining to Claim 28, Ohk discloses (see Fig. 1) that the content (i.e., display content) includes a color content of a frame for display on the micro-LED display (again, see Page 3, Para. [0054]-[0061] and Page 5, Para. [0090]).
As pertaining to Claim 29, the combined teachings of Ohk and Nitanda (see Fig. 10 and Fig. 2 of Ohk in combination with Figs. 1A and 1B; and see Figs. 4A and 4B of Nitanda) disclose that the environment parameter indicates an ambient light level (see (118, 122) of Nitanda) is above a brightness threshold (see Page 1, Para. [0007] of Nitanda), and wherein the method further includes:
analyzing the content to determine that the content includes text content (i.e., see (T) in Fig. 2 of Ohk; and see Fig. 3 for “Text Mono & Image Color Mode” and Page 5, Para. [0090] of Ohk); and
in response to the ambient light level (again, see (118, 122) of Nitanda) being above the brightness threshold, determining the mode (i.e., a full color mode or a monochrome mode) includes selecting a monochromatic mode for the text content to increase a brightness of the text content (again, see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0024]-[0026] and Page 1, Para. [0007] of Nitanda).
As pertaining to Claim 31, the combined teachings of Ohk and Nitanda (see Fig. 10 and Fig. 2 of Ohk in combination with Figs. 1A and 1B; and see Figs. 4A and 4B of Nitanda) disclose that the parameter related to the environment indicates an ambient light level (see (118, 122) of Nitanda) is above a brightness threshold (see Page 1, Para. [0007] of Nitanda), and wherein the process performed by the controller further includes:
analyzing the content to determine that the content includes text content (i.e., see (T) in Fig. 2 of Ohk; and see Fig. 3 for “Text Mono & Image Color Mode” and Page 5, Para. [0090] of Ohk); and
in response to the ambient light level (again, see (118, 122) of Nitanda) being above the brightness threshold, determining the mode (i.e., a full color mode or a monochrome mode) includes selecting a monochromatic mode for the text content to increase a brightness of the text content (again, see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0024]-[0026] and Page 1, Para. [0007] of Nitanda).
Claims 30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hack in view of Ohk in view of Nitanda and further in view of Dodson et al. (hereinafter “Dodson” US 2020 / 0105183).
As pertaining to Claim 30, Hack discloses that the micro-LED display (300) is implemented as a head-mounted device that includes the micro-LED display (300; see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0020]).
However, none of Hack, Ohk, and Nitanda explicitly discloses that the environment parameter is determined by a world-facing camera, and wherein determining the mode includes: selecting one of a plurality of reduced-color modes based on a color of an environment captured by the world-facing camera to increase a contrast between the content and the environment.
Still, in the same field of endeavor, Dodson discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2) a micro-LED display (14) implemented as a head-mounted device that includes the micro-LED display (14; see Page 1, Para. [0014] and Page 2, Para. [0021]), where a world-facing camera (18) of the head-mounted device is implemented to determine an environment parameter associated with the micro-LED display (14), and wherein determining the mode includes: selecting one of a plurality of reduced-color modes based on a color of an environment captured by the world-facing camera (18) to increase a contrast between the content and the environment (see Page 2, Para. [0018]-[0019]). It is a goal of Dodson to provide a display device in which image display quality is improved by incorporating both an ambient light brightness sensor and an ambient light color sensor into the display device such that display content may be compensated based on a complete picture of the ambient environment (see Page 1, Para. [0002]-[0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hack, Ohk, and Nitanda with the teachings of Dodson, such that the environment parameter is determined by a world-facing camera, and wherein determining the mode includes: selecting one of a plurality of reduced-color modes based on a color of an environment captured by the world-facing camera to increase a contrast between the content and the environment, as suggested by Dodson, in order to provide improved image quality by incorporating both an ambient light brightness sensor and an ambient light color sensor into the display device such that display content may be compensated based on a complete picture of the ambient environment.
As pertaining to Claim 32, Hack discloses that the micro-LED display (300) is implemented as a head-mounted device that includes the micro-LED display (300; see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0020]).
However, none of Hack, Ohk, and Nitanda explicitly discloses that the parameter related to the environment is determined by a world-facing camera, and wherein the process performed by the controller further includes: selecting one of a plurality of reduced-color modes based on a color of the environment captured by the world-facing camera to increase a contrast between the content and the environment.
Still, in the same field of endeavor, Dodson discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2) a micro-LED display (14) implemented as a head-mounted device that includes the micro-LED display (14; see Page 1, Para. [0014] and Page 2, Para. [0021]), where a world-facing camera (18) of the head-mounted device is implemented to determine an environment parameter associated with the micro-LED display (14), and wherein determining the mode includes: selecting one of a plurality of reduced-color modes based on a color of an environment captured by the world-facing camera (18) to increase a contrast between the content and the environment (see Page 2, Para. [0018]-[0019]). It is a goal of Dodson to provide a display device in which image display quality is improved by incorporating both an ambient light brightness sensor and an ambient light color sensor into the display device such that display content may be compensated based on a complete picture of the ambient environment (see Page 1, Para. [0002]-[0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hack, Ohk, and Nitanda with the teachings of Dodson, such that the parameter related to the environment is determined by a world-facing camera, and wherein the process performed by the controller further includes: selecting one of a plurality of reduced-color modes based on a color of the environment captured by the world-facing camera to increase a contrast between the content and the environment, as suggested by Dodson, in order to provide improved image quality by incorporating both an ambient light brightness sensor and an ambient light color sensor into the display device such that display content may be compensated based on a complete picture of the ambient environment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1-3, 6, and 22-32 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on a combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Initially, it should be noted that dependent Claim 8 has been rejoined and fully examined for patentability in so much as the features of Claim 8 are overlapped by the scope of newly presented Claim 31. Claims 7 and 9-10 remain withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a nonelected Species. The applicant has argued that none of the references relied upon by the examiner in the prior Office Action, namely Hack and Ohk, teach or fairly suggest the claimed “criteria” that includes “the content and a parameter related to at least one of a device or an environment” (see Remarks at Pages 7 and 8). Respectfully, this argument is moot in view of the combined teachings of Hack, Ohk, and Nitanda as newly relied upon by the examiner in the above rejections.
Therefore, the rejection of Claims 1-3, 6, 8, and 22-32 is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Saitoh (US 2012 / 0327137) at least at Figure 24 discloses a display device simultaneously driving a monochrome area and a full-color area based on image content.
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623