DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 15-17 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHEN, SHI-JIE (CHEN) CN 209962183 U.
As per claim 1 CHEN disclose;
A server, (item 2 “digital money digging machine” and page 2 “mining machine computing force board”) comprising:
a server main body (Fig. 1), comprising a chassis (item 2), a first circuit board assembly (Page 2 “mining machine computing force board”), and a heat dissipation fan assembly (Fig. 2 item 4 and 6); the first circuit board assembly is installed in the chassis (Fig. 3 and page 2 ” mining machine computing force board”), and the heat dissipation fan assembly is installed on the chassis to dissipate heat of the first circuit board assembly (Fig. 2);
a power supply,(item 1) installed on a side of the chassis (Fig. 1-3);
a heat conduction layer (fig. 4 item 12), arranged between the power supply (item 1) and the chassis (item 2) to conduct heat generated by the power supply to the chassis (through item 12).
As per claim 15 CHEN disclose;
wherein a heat dissipation fin is protrudingly disposed in the housing (Fig. 3), and the heat dissipation fin is protrudingly disposed on an inner surface of the housing close to the power supply (Fig. 3 and 4).
As per claim 16-17 Regarding claims 16-17, claims 16-17 are rejected for the same reason as claim 15, as claim 15 recites similar to claims 16-17. See rejection of claim 15 above.
As per claim 20 CHEN disclose;
wherein the chassis is formed with an inner cavity (fig. 1 inside item 12), an air inlet and an air outlet (Fig. 2 at fans 4 and 6), and the air inlet and the air outlet communicate with the inner cavity respectively, the first circuit board assembly is installed in the inner cavity (fig. 3), and the heat dissipation fan assembly is arranged at the air inlet and/or the air outlet. (Fig. 1 and 2)
Regarding claims 21-22, claims 21-22 are rejected for the same reason as claim 20, as claim 20 recites similar to claims 21-22. See rejection of claim 20 above.
As per claim 25 CHEN disclose;
wherein the heat dissipation fan assembly comprises a first fan (Fig. 4 item 4) and a second fan (Fig. 2 item 6), the first fan is installed at the air inlet, and the second fan is installed at the air outlet.(Fig. 2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN in view of Mario E. Facusse (Facusse) US 9,351,424 B2.
As per claims 2, 3 CHEN disclose;
wherein the power supply comprises
a housing (CHEN Fig. 4 item 11) and the housing (item11) is connected to the chassis (item 2) and/or the second circuit board assembly (page 2 “mining machine computing force board”), and the second circuit board assembly is electrically connected to the first circuit board assembly (Fig. 1 item 3).
CHEN do not disclose well-known details of power supply.
a second circuit board assembly, the housing is provided with a cavity, and the second circuit board assembly is at least partially accommodated in the cavity, the second circuit board assembly is attached to the side of the chassis through the heat conduction layer,
wherein the second circuit board assembly comprises a substrate, a heat generating device, and a heat sink, the heat generating device is installed on a side of the substrate facing away from the heat conduction layer, the heat sink is connected to the substrate, and the heat sink abuts against the heat generating device.
However in analogues art Facusse, disclose, a second circuit board assembly, (Fig. 26 2520) the housing is provided with a cavity (for mounting assembly), and the second circuit board assembly is at least partially accommodated in the cavity (Fig. 26), the second circuit board assembly is attached to the side of the chassis through the heat conduction layer (Item 140),
wherein the second circuit board assembly comprises a substrate, a heat generating device (Fig. 26 item 2530, 2540), and a heat sink (140), the heat generating device is installed on a side of the substrate facing away from the heat conduction layer (Fig. 26), the heat sink is connected to the substrate (2520), and the heat sink abuts against the heat generating device (2530).
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by Facusse to the device of CHEN would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows using well-known details of power supply.
Claim(s) 10-12are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN in view of Ralph E. Petri (Petri) US 3,909,679.
As per Claim 10 CHEN do not teach well-known in the art to use,
the heat conduction layer is a heat-conducting silicone grease coated and molded on an outer surface of the chassis and/or an outer surface of the power supply; or, the heat conduction layer is a heat-conducting adhesive coated and molded on the outer surface of the chassis and/or the outer surface of the power supply.
However in analogues art Petri disclose well-known, use of, the heat conduction layer is a heat-conducting silicone grease (Col. 4 line 25) a heat conducting sealant, such as silicone grease, is provided at the inner face between the bottom wall 48 of the heat sink and the inside face of the base wall 23 to provide an intimate heat conductive seal therebetween. (Col. 4 lines 24-30)
Above is also apply to claim 11-12 (same claim subject matter)
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by Facusse to the device of CHEN would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows using well-known details of power supply..
Regarding claims 11-12, claims 11-12 are rejected for the same reason as claim 10, as claim 10 recites similar to claims 11-12. See rejection of claim 10 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4-9, 13-14, 18-19 and 23-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Prior art CN 212112326 U Fig. 1-6 disclose related structural arrangement of apparatus, e.g. power supply attached to the chassis.
/MUKUNDBHAI G PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835