DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment filed 06/24/2026 which amended claims 1-2. Claims 1-12 are currently pending in the application for patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oiwa et al (US 2012/0092624; hereinafter referred to as Oiwa) in view of Tang (US 2009/0244488).
Regarding Claim 1, Oiwa discloses a projector (Figure 5; Display Unit 3B) comprising:
a light source (Figure 5; Laser Sources 11R, 11G and 11B) emitting a light (see Paragraph [0035]; wherein it is disclosed that the red, green, and blue laser sources 11R, 11G, and 11B are three kinds of light sources that emit red laser light, green laser light, and blue laser light);
one liquid crystal panel (Figure 5; Liquid Crystal Device 21) modulating the light emitted from the light source (Figure 5; Laser Sources 11R, 11G and 11B) based on an image signal (see Paragraph [0045]; wherein it is disclosed that the reflection liquid crystal device 21 is a light modulation device which reflects the illumination light derived from the illumination device 1 while modulating the same based on picture signals supplied from an unillustrated displaying control section to allow the picture light to be exit therefrom);
a polarizer (Figure 5; Polarization Beam Splitter 22) reflecting a first light as a first polarization component generating an image light of the light emitted from the liquid crystal panel (see Paragraphs [0044] and [0045]; wherein the polarization beam splitter 22 selectively allows p-polarized light to transmit therethrough as well as selectively allows s-polarized light to be reflected therefrom), and transmitting a second light as a second polarization component different from the first polarization component of the light emitted from the liquid crystal panel (see Paragraphs [0044] and [0045]; wherein the polarization beam splitter 22 selectively allows p-polarized light to transmit therethrough as well as selectively allows s-polarized light to be reflected therefrom); and
a first solar cell (Figure 5; Front Monitor 24).
Oiwa does not expressly disclose the first solar cell entered by the second light as the second polarization component transmitted through the polarizer, wherein the first solar cell generates electricity from the second light as the second polarization component entering from the polarizer, and the generated electricity is used as a drive power for the projector.
Tang discloses a projector (Figure 3) comprising: a light source (Figure 3; Light Source 10) emitting a light (see Figure 3 and Paragraph [0038]); one liquid crystal panel (Figure 3; Imager 20) modulating the light emitted from the light source (Figure 3; Light Source 10) based on an image signal (see Paragraph [0038]); a polarizer (Figure 3; Film 150) reflecting a first light (Figure 3; First Portion 211) as a first polarization component (see Figure 3 and Paragraph [0040]), and transmitting a second light (Figure 3; Second Portion 212) as a second polarization component different from the first polarization component (see Figure 3 and Paragraph [0040]); and
a first solar cell (Figure 3; Photovoltaic Cell 180) entered by the second light (Figure 3; Second Portion 212) as the second polarization component transmitted through the polarizer (see Figure 3), wherein the first solar cell (Figure 3; Photovoltaic Cell 180) generates electricity from the second light (Figure 3; Second Portion 212) as the second polarization component entering from the polarizer (see Paragraph [0040]), and the generated electricity is used as a drive power for the projector (see Paragraphs [0026] and [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projector of Oiwa such that a first solar cell entered by the second light as the second polarization component transmitted through the polarizer, wherein the first solar cell generates electricity from the second light as the second polarization component entering from the polarizer, and the generated electricity is used as a drive power for the projector, as taught by Tang, because doing so would allow for the opto-electrical energy received and restored into the energy storage device (rechargeable battery) to be reused for powering any electronic or opto-electrical component, including the reflective microdisplay imager, the voltage converter and battery charger and even the light source in a portable reflective projection system (see Tang Paragraph [0026]).
Regarding Claim 3, Oiwa as modified by Tang discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Oiwa further discloses the first light as the first polarization component is an S-polarized light for a light incident surface of the polarizer (see Paragraph [0044]; wherein it is disclosed that the polarization beam splitter 22 selectively allows p-polarized light to transmit therethrough as well as selectively allows s-polarized light to be reflected therefrom), and the second light as the second polarization component is a P-polarized light for the light incident surface of the polarizer (see Paragraph [0044]; wherein it is disclosed that the polarization beam splitter 22 selectively allows p-polarized light to transmit therethrough as well as selectively allows s-polarized light to be reflected therefrom).
Regarding Claim 5, Oiwa as modified by Tang discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Oiwa does not expressly disclose a first collection system placed between the polarizer and the first solar cell and collecting the second light as the second polarization component transmitted through the polarizer on the first solar cell.
Tang discloses a first collection system (Figure 6a; Contact Lines 184a) placed between the polarizer (Figure 6a; Film 150) and the first solar cell (Figure 6a; Photovoltaic Cell 180) and collecting the second light as the second polarization component transmitted through the polarizer (Figure 6a; Film 150) on the first solar cell (see Figure 6a and Paragraph [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projector of Oiwa to include a first collection system placed between the polarizer and the first solar cell and collecting the second light as the second polarization component transmitted through the polarizer on the first solar cell, as taught by Tang, because doing so would predictably improve light use efficiency.
Regarding Claim 7, Oiwa as modified by Tang discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Tang further teaches the first solar cell (Figure 3; Photovoltaic Cell 180) has a light incident surface entered by the second light (Figure 3; Second Portion 212) as the second polarization component transmitted through the polarizer (see Figure 3 and Paragraph [0040])), the second light (Figure 3; Second Portion 212) as the second polarization component is a S-polarized light for the light incident surface of the first solar cell (see Paragraph [0040]), and the first solar cell (Figure 3; Photovoltaic Cell 180) is placed so that an angle formed by an optical axis of the second light (Figure 3; Second Portion 212) as the second polarization component and the light incident surface is a Brewster angle (see Figure 3).
Oiwa as modified by Tang does not expressly disclose that the second light as the second polarization component is a P-polarized light.
However, the applicant has not stated that any long standing or stated problem in the art is solved by providing P-polarized light for the light incident surface of the first solar cell. Therefore, absent any showing of criticality, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide either S polarization or P polarization light for the light incident surface of the first solar cell as it appears the invention would perform equally well (functionally equivalent).
Claims 2, 4, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi (US 2013/0070208) in view of Tang (US 2009/0244488).
Regarding Claim 2, Nakanishi discloses a projector (Figure 1; Projection Display Device 1001) comprising:
a light source (Figure 1; Light Sources 1010R, 1010G and 1010B) emitting a light (see Paragraph [0018]; wherein it is disclosed that light sources 1010R, 1010G, 1010B and light modulator 1014 are controlled by controller 1100. R color light source 1010R, G color light source 1010G, and B color light source 1010B that incorporate light-emitting elements therein emit monochromatic lights);
one liquid crystal panel (Figure 1; Light Modulator 1014) modulating the light emitted from the light source (Figure 1; Light Sources 1010R, 1010G and 1010B) based on an image signal (see Paragraph [0019]; wherein it is disclosed that lights in three primaries of red, blue, and green are successively emitted and modulated by light modulator 1014);
a polarizer (Figure 1; Polarization Splitting Means 1015) transmitting a first light as a first polarization component generating an image light of the light emitted from the liquid crystal panel (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0021]; wherein the polarization splitting means 1015 passes a linearly polarized light beam in the P-polarized direction), and reflecting a second light as a second polarization component different from the first polarization component of the light emitted from the liquid crystal panel (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0021]; wherein the polarization splitting means 1015 reflects a linearly polarized light beam in the S-polarized direction); and
a first solar cell (Figure 1; Photodetector 1017)
Tang discloses a projector (Figure 3) comprising: a light source (Figure 3; Light Source 10) emitting a light (see Figure 3 and Paragraph [0038]); one liquid crystal panel (Figure 3; Imager 20) modulating the light emitted from the light source (Figure 3; Light Source 10) based on an image signal (see Paragraph [0038]); a polarizer (Figure 3; Film 150) reflecting a first light (Figure 3; First Portion 211) as a first polarization component (see Figure 3 and Paragraph [0040]), and transmitting a second light (Figure 3; Second Portion 212) as a second polarization component different from the first polarization component (see Figure 3 and Paragraph [0040]); and
a first solar cell (Figure 3; Photovoltaic Cell 180) entered by the second light (Figure 3; Second Portion 212) as the second polarization component transmitted through the polarizer (see Figure 3), wherein the first solar cell (Figure 3; Photovoltaic Cell 180) generates electricity from the second light (Figure 3; Second Portion 212) as the second polarization component entering from the polarizer (see Paragraph [0040]), and the generated electricity is used as a drive power for the projector (see Paragraphs [0026] and [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projector of Nakanishi such that a first solar cell entered by the second light as the second polarization component reflected the polarizer, wherein the first solar cell generates electricity from the second light as the second polarization component entering from the polarizer, and the generated electricity is used as a drive power for the projector, as taught by Tang, because doing so would allow for the opto-electrical energy received and restored into the energy storage device (rechargeable battery) to be reused for powering any electronic or opto-electrical component, including the reflective microdisplay imager, the voltage converter and battery charger and even the light source in a portable reflective projection system (see Tang Paragraph [0026]).
Regarding Claim 4, Nakanishi as modified by Tang discloses the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
Nakanishi further discloses the first light as the first polarization component is a P-polarized light for a light incident surface of the polarizer (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0021]; wherein the polarization splitting means 1015 passes a linearly polarized light beam in the P-polarized direction), and the second light as the second polarization component is an S-polarized light for the light incident surface of the polarizer (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0021]; wherein it is disclosed that the S-polarized light beam which represents reflected light 1020B reflected by polarization splitting surface 1030 of polarization splitting means 1015 is applied to photodetector 1017).
Regarding Claim 6, Nakanishi as modified by Tang discloses the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
Nakanishi does not expressly disclose a first collection system placed between the polarizer and the first solar cell and collecting the second light as the second polarization component transmitted through the polarizer on the first solar cell.
Tang discloses a first collection system (Figure 6a; Contact Lines 184a) placed between the polarizer (Figure 6a; Film 150) and the first solar cell (Figure 6a; Photovoltaic Cell 180) and collecting the second light as the second polarization component transmitted through the polarizer (Figure 6a; Film 150) on the first solar cell (see Figure 6a and Paragraph [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projector of Nakanishi to include a first collection system placed between the polarizer and the first solar cell and collecting the second light as the second polarization component transmitted through the polarizer on the first solar cell, as taught by Tang, because doing so would predictably improve light use efficiency.
Regarding Claim 8, Nakanishi as modified by Tang discloses the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
Nakanishi further discloses the first solar cell (Figure 1; Photodetector 1017) has a light incident surface entered by the second light as the second polarization component reflected by the polarizer (see Paragraph [0021]; wherein it is disclosed that the S-polarized light beam which represents reflected light 1020B reflected by polarization splitting surface 1030 of polarization splitting means 1015 is applied to photodetector 1017), the second light as the second polarization component is a S-polarized light for the light incident surface of the first solar cell (see Paragraph [0021]; wherein it is disclosed that the S-polarized light beam which represents reflected light 1020B reflected by polarization splitting surface 1030 of polarization splitting means 1015 is applied to photodetector 1017), and the first solar cell (Figure 1; Photodetector 1017) is placed so that an angle formed by an optical axis of the second light as the second polarization component and the light incident surface is a Brewster angle (see Figure 1).
Nakanishi as modified by Tang does not expressly disclose that the second light as the second polarization component is a P-polarized light for the light incident surface of the first solar cell.
However, the applicant has not stated that any long standing or stated problem in the art is solved by providing P-polarized light for the light incident surface of the first solar cell. Therefore, absent any showing of criticality, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide either S polarization or P polarization light for the light incident surface of the first solar cell as it appears the invention would perform equally well (functionally equivalent).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oiwa et al (US 2012/0092624; hereinafter referred to as Oiwa) as modified by Tang (US 2009/0244488) as applied to claim 5, in view of Yasui (US 2019/0132499).
Regarding Claim 11, Oiwa as modified by Tang discloses the limitations of claim 5 as detailed above.
Oiwa as modified by Tang does not expressly disclose an aperture placed between the first collection system and the first solar cell and having an opening through which the second light as the second polarization component collected by the first collection system passes, wherein the aperture blocks a light reflected by the light incident surface of the first solar cell.
Yasui discloses an aperture (Figure 1; Light-Shielding Member 24M) placed between a first collection system (Figure 1; First Relay Lens Group 51) and a first solar cell (Figure 1; Imaging Device 22) and having an opening through which a second light as the second polarization component collected by the first collection system (Figure 1; First Relay Lens Group 51) passes, wherein the aperture (Figure 1; Light-Shielding Member 24M) blocks a light reflected by the light incident surface of the first solar cell (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projector of Oiwa as modified by Tang such that the aperture placed between the first collection system and the first solar cell and having an opening through which the second light as the second polarization component collected by the first collection system passes, wherein the aperture blocks a light reflected by the light incident surface of the first solar cell, as taught by Yasui, because doing so would block light leaked into the light-receiving section from the illumination section, thus inhibiting the leaked light from reaching the imaging device (see Yasui Paragraph [0082]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oiwa et al (US 2012/0092624; hereinafter referred to as Oiwa) as modified by Tang (US 2009/0244488) as applied to claim 1, in view of Xiao et al (US 2020/0371362; hereinafter referred to as Xiao).
Regarding Claim 12, Oiwa as modified by Tang discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Oiwa as modified by Tang does not expressly disclose a second collection system placed between the liquid crystal panel and the polarizer and collecting a light output from the liquid crystal panel, wherein the second collection system is a Fresnel lens.
Xiao discloses a second collection system (Figure 15; First Beam Shaping Element 142) placed between the liquid crystal panel (Figure 15; Image Source 122) and the polarizer (Figure 15; Beamsplitter 20) and collecting a light output from the liquid crystal panel (see Figure 15), wherein the second collection system (Figure 15; First Beam Shaping Element 142) is a Fresnel lens (see Paragraph [0139]; wherein it is disclosed that the beam shaping element 142 is a Fresnel lens).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projector of Oiwa as modified by Tang to incorporate a second collection system placed between the liquid crystal panel and the polarizer and collecting a light output from the liquid crystal panel, wherein the second collection system is a Fresnel lens, as taught by Xiao, because doing so would allow for the image light emitted from the image source to be shaped and integrated by the beam shaping element (see Xiao Paragraph [0142]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding Claim 9, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious the limitation which requires a reflector entered by the second light as the second polarization component transmitted through the polarizer; and a second solar cell entered by a part of the second light as the second polarization component reflected by the reflector, wherein the reflector reflects a light in a first wavelength range of the second light as the second polarization component transmitted through the polarizer toward the first solar cell, and reflects a light in a second wavelength range different from the first wavelength range of the second light as the second polarization component transmitted through the polarizer toward the second solar cell, first photoelectric conversion efficiency for the light in the first wavelength range of the first solar cell is higher than second photoelectric conversion efficiency for the light in the second wavelength range of the first solar cell, and third photoelectric conversion efficiency for the light in the second wavelength range of the second solar cell is higher than fourth photoelectric conversion efficiency for the light in the first wavelength range of the second solar cell.
This limitation in combination with the other limitations of claim 1 would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form.
Regarding Claim 10, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious the limitation which requires a reflector entered by the second light as the second polarization component reflected by the polarizer; and a second solar cell entered by a part of the second light as the second polarization component reflected by the reflector, wherein the reflector reflects a light in a first wavelength range of the second light as the second polarization component reflected by the polarizer toward the first solar cell, and reflects a light in a second wavelength range different from the first wavelength range of the second light as the second polarization component reflected by the polarizer toward the second solar cell, first photoelectric conversion efficiency for the light in the first wavelength range of the first solar cell is higher than second photoelectric conversion efficiency for the light in the second wavelength range of the first solar cell, and third photoelectric conversion efficiency for the light in the second wavelength range of the second solar cell is higher than fourth photoelectric conversion efficiency for the light in the first wavelength range of the second solar cell.
This limitation in combination with the other limitations of claim 1 would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882