DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species I, Fig. 2, claims 1-20 in the reply filed on 3/10/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “access point”, the “lid”, the “hinge”, the “retainer mechanism”, the “snap-fit feature”, and the “open fuse indicator”, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 6, 8, 15, 18, and 20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The aforementioned claims recite limitations: the “lid that is connected to a hinge” (claims 3 and 15), the “retainer mechanism” (claims 6 and 18), and the “open fuse indicator” (claims 8 and 20).
The specification does not provide an adequate support for the aforementioned limitations. After considering all of the Wands factors (and specifically, that there is no adequate direction provided by the Inventor/Applicant, no existence of the working examples (as per the current record), and that there is low predictability of the claimed functions in the relevant arts), the Office has concluded that the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the instant disclosure will be high and undue to a person of the ordinary skill, and therefore, such a person will not be able to make and use the claimed invention without resorting to undue experimentation. See In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988); In re Brown, 477 F.2d 946, 177 USPQ 691 (CCPA 1973), and In re Ghiron, 442 F.2d 985, 169 USPQ 723 (CCPA 1971).
Claims 12 and 13, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “particular direction” and claim 13 recites the limitations “front of the main housing”. These limitations render the claims indefinite, since they are relative terms which depend on the general orientation of the claimed apparatus. Any “direction” can be a “particular” one and any side of the main housing can be a “front” thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-15, and 17-19, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by KR 1996-0002143 to Hong Soon-Chang (hereafter “Hong”).
Regarding claim 1 Hong discloses (Figs. 1-5 and English translation of record) a cover (1) for a fuse holder assembly (7, 901) that is configured for one or more working fuses (6) connected in an electrical circuitry (via (8)), the cover comprising: a cover housing (4) comprising one or more slots (3) configured to house one or more spare fuses (601), wherein the one or more spare fuses (601) are disconnected from the electrical circuitry (Fig. 4); and a mounting mechanism (5, 8, 9, 702) that is coupled to the cover housing (4), wherein the mounting mechanism (5) is configured to secure the cover housing (4) to the fuse holder assembly (7, 901).
Regarding claim 10, Hong discloses (Figs. 1-5) a fuse holder assembly (7, 901), comprising: a main housing (7) configured to house one or more working fuses (6) connected in an electrical circuitry (via (8)); and a cover (1) for the main housing (7), the cover comprising: a cover housing (4) comprising one or more slots (3) configured to house one or more spare fuses (601), wherein the one or more spare fuses (601) are disconnected from the electrical circuitry (Fig. 4); and a mounting mechanism (5, 8, 9, 702) that is coupled to the cover housing (4), wherein the mounting mechanism (5) is configured to secure the cover housing (4) to the main housing (7).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Hong discloses (Figs. 1 and 2) that at least a portion of the cover housing (4) is configured with an access point to the one or more slots (3).
Regarding claims 5, 6, 17, and 18, as best understood, Hong discloses a panel (formed by portions (301, 302) and not-numbered portion between them) that separates the one or more spare fuses (601) from the one or more working fuses (6), wherein said panel (301, 302) serves as a retainer mechanism configured to secure the one or more spare fuses (601) in the one or more slots (3) (p. 3, par. 3).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, as best understood, Hong discloses that the mounting mechanism (5, 8, 9, 702) comprises a snap-fit feature (formed by fuse clips (8)).
Regarding claim 9, Hong discloses that the one or more slots (3) are configured with a dimension to fit a fuse (601) of a particular size or shape (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claims 11-13, as best understood, Hong discloses (Figs. 3 and 4) that a major axis of the cover housing (4) is parallel to a major axis of the main housing (7), wherein the cover housing (4) is positioned in a particular direction relative to the main housing (7), wherein the cover housing (4) is positioned in front of the main housing (7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 8, 16, and 20, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of US 2, 783, 331 to Sundt.
Regarding claims 4, 8, 16, and 20, Hong does not disclose that at least a portion of the cover is transparent and an open fuse indicator that indicates whether one or more of the working fuses are opened.
Sundt discloses (Figs. 1-5) a fuse holder (10) comprising: a transparent cover (12) (col. 2, ll. 2-5; col. 3, ll. 35-37) and an open fuse indicator (42) that indicates whether one or more of the working fuses (48) are opened.
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified to Hong according to the teaching of Sundt, so the combination would have at least a portion of the cover that is transparent and an open fuse indicator that indicates whether one or more of the working fuses are opened, in order to predictably provide fuse status indication to a user/maintenance personnel. Also, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined / modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 3 and 15, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of US 4,178,061 to Ahroni.
Regarding claims 3 and 15 Hong does not disclose the access point to the one or more slots is covered by a lid that is connected to a hinge.
Ahroni discloses a fuse holder (10) having a fuse compartment covered by a lid (22) that is connected to a hinge (80, 82).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified to Hong according to the teaching of Ahroni, so the combination would have the access point to the one or more slots that is covered by a lid that is connected to a hinge, in order to predictably provide protection to fuses from the environment and improve safety. Also, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined / modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
The additional prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, because of the teachings of various fuse holders with provisions to accommodate spare fuses. Furter, the US 988891, 2074921, 6144284, 5701118, 50002505, and 4475283 teach fuse status indicating arrangements.
Furthermore, the Office directs the Applicant’s attention to the following references which could have been also used for statutory rejection of the at least independent claims 1 and 10: US 3813626 (Fig. 4 and 5), US 2007/0141923 (Figs. 2, 3, 5), UK 2153163 (Figs. 3 and 5).
/Anatoly Vortman/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2835