DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geber et al. (US 2014/0002020 A1) in view of Blatchley et al. (US 2017/0008375 A1) further in view of Chou et al. (US 2019/0291588 A1).
Re Claim 1; Geber teaches a charging connector (see 110, 105, fig.1 para 0016-0019) comprising: a connector housing [see (330, 335; Fig. 3; para. 0020) Geber discloses a connector housing that encloses and supports conductive elements of the charging connector]; an auxiliary conductor within the connector housing [see (430, 440; Fig. 4; para. 0020-0023) Geber discloses auxiliary conductors such as pilot and proximity contacts disposed within the connector housing, used for signaling and control related to charging]; a primary conductor within the connector housing configured for charging the electric vehicle [see (410, 420; Fig. 4; para. 0019) Geber discloses primary power conductors configured to deliver electrical power to charge the electric vehicle]; wherein the auxiliary conductor is independent of the primary conductor within the connector housing [see (430, 440 vs. 410, 420; Fig. 4; para. 0020-0023) Geber discloses auxiliary conductors that are structurally separate from the primary power conductors]
Geber does not expressly teach that the auxiliary conductor is configured for coupling a port for a power source external to an electric vehicle to an auxiliary component of the electric vehicle while the vehicle is stationary.
In an analogous art Blatchley teaches coupling a port for a power source external to an electric vehicle to an auxiliary component of the electric vehicle while the vehicle is stationary [see (Figs. 1-6; para. 0029-0035) Blatchley discloses supplying power from an external charging source to auxiliary vehicle components such as HVAC and battery conditioning systems while the vehicle remains stationary].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the auxiliary power supply to vehicle components while stationary of Blatchley in the invention of Geber to enable operation of auxiliary vehicle systems during charging, thereby improving vehicle functionality and user convenience with predictable results.
The combination of Geber and Blatchley doesn’t expressly teach a cooling channel within the connector housing, wherein the primary conductor is disposed coaxially within the cooling channel.
In an analogous art Chou teaches: a cooling channel within the connector housing [see (manifold assembly, inlet conduit, outlet conduit; Figs. 4-8; Abstract; para. 0020-0025) Chou discloses a fluid flow path within the connector housing forming a cooling channel]; wherein the primary conductor is disposed coaxially within the cooling channel [see (electrical sockets 404, 406; sleeves 410, 412; coolant space 416; Figs. 5-7; para. 0022-0024) Chou discloses conductors arranged concentrically within surrounding sleeve structures with coolant flowing around them, corresponding to a coaxial arrangement within a cooling channel].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further use the cooling channel with concentric conductor arrangement in the EV charging context of Chou in the combination of Geber and Blatchley to dissipate heat generated by high-current charging conductors, thereby improving thermal management and enabling higher current operation with predictable results.
Re Claim 8; Geber teaches a method comprising: coupling a port for a power source to an auxiliary component of an electric vehicle through an auxiliary conductor (via a “charging connector”)
[see (110, 105; Fig. 1; para. 0016-0019) Geber discloses coupling an external power source to an electric vehicle through a “charging connector”; (430, 440; Fig. 4; para. 0020-0023) discloses auxiliary conductors within the connector housing; however, Geber does not disclose supplying power to an auxiliary component through a charging connector not auxiliary conductor]; wherein the auxiliary conductor is within a connector housing [see (430, 440; Fig. 4; para. 0020-0023) Geber discloses auxiliary conductors disposed within the connector housing] and independent of a primary conductor within the connector housing [see (430, 440 vs. 410, 420; Fig. 4; para. 0020-0023) Geber discloses auxiliary conductors structurally separate from the primary power conductors]; the primary conductor being configured to charge the electric vehicle [see (410, 420; Fig. 4; para. 0019) - Geber discloses primary power conductors configured to deliver charging current to the electric vehicle].
Geber does not expressly teach: supplying power to an auxiliary component of an electric vehicle through the auxiliary conductor; and transmitting power from the port of the power source to the auxiliary component through the auxiliary connector.
In an analogous art Blatchley teaches coupling a port for a power source to an auxiliary component of an electric vehicle through an auxiliary conductor [see (Figs. 1-6; para. 0029-0035) Blatchley discloses supplying electrical power from an external charging source to auxiliary vehicle components such as HVAC and battery conditioning systems while the vehicle is stationary]; and transmitting power from the port of the power source to the auxiliary component through the auxiliary connector [see (Figs. 1-6; para. 0029-0035) Blatchley discloses delivery of electrical power from the charging connection to auxiliary vehicle systems].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the auxiliary power supply to vehicle components of Blatchley in the method of Geber to enable operation of auxiliary vehicle systems during charging, thereby improving vehicle functionality with predictable results.
The combination of Geber and Blatchley doesn’t expressly teach wherein a cooling channel is within the connector housing, and the primary conductor is disposed coaxially within the cooling channel.
In an analogous art Chou teaches wherein a cooling channel is within the connector housing [see (manifold assembly, inlet conduit, outlet conduit; Figs. 4-8; Abstract; para. 0020-0025) - Chou discloses a fluid flow path within the connector housing forming a cooling channel]; and the primary conductor is disposed coaxially within the cooling channel [see (electrical sockets 404, 406; sleeves 410, 412; coolant space 416; Figs. 5-7; para. 0022-0024) Chou discloses conductors arranged concentrically within surrounding sleeve structures with coolant flowing around them, corresponding to a coaxial arrangement].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further use the cooling channel with concentric conductor arrangement in the EV charging context of Chou in the combination of Geber and Blatchley to dissipate heat generated during charging, thereby improving thermal performance with predictable results.
Re Claim 2 and 9; Combination of Geber, Blatchley and Chou teaches invention set forth above, Blatchley further teaches wherein the auxiliary component comprises a recharge controller of the electric vehicle (see 33, 32, 51, para 0018-0023, 0031-0035).
Re Claim 3 and 10; Combination of Geber and Blatchley teaches invention set forth above, Geber further teaches wherein the primary conductor is configured to transmit a different voltage from the auxiliary conductor (see 40/420, 430/440 para 0018-0021, 0024-0027).
Re Claim 5 and 12; Combination of Geber, Blatchley and Chou teaches invention set forth above, Geber further teaches wherein the auxiliary conductor transmits a proximity signal indicating a location of the charging connector (see 140, 315, 430, 440 fig.3-4 para 0019-0021, 0026-0027).
Re Claim 6; Combination of Geber, Blatchley and Chou teaches invention set forth above, Geber further teaches wherein the auxiliary conductor is further configured to transmit communication between the electric vehicle and the power source (see 440 fig.3-4 para 0016-0021, 0026-0027).
Re Claim 7 and 14; Combination of Geber, Blatchley and Chou teaches invention set forth above, Blatchley further teaches wherein the auxiliary conductor is coupled to a power conditioner within the port for the power source (see 32, 34, para 0020-0023).
Re Claim 13; Combination of Geber, Blatchley and Chou teaches invention set forth above, Geber further teaches further comprising transmitting a communication between the power source and the electric vehicle through the auxiliary conductor (see 440 fig.3-4 para 0016-0021, 0026-0027).
Claim(s) 15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blatchley et al. (US 2017/0008375 A1) in view of Geber et al. (US 2014/0002020 A1) in view of Chou et al. (US 2019/0291588 A1) further in view of Muller (US 2011/0144823 A1).
Re Claim 15; Geber teaches a system comprising: a charging connector including: [see (110, 105; Fig. 1; para. 0016-0019) Geber discloses a charging connector for coupling an external power source to an electric vehicle]; a connector housing; [see (330, 335; Fig. 3; para. 0020) - Geber discloses a connector housing enclosing conductive elements]; an auxiliary conductor within the connector housing [see (430, 440; Fig. 4; para. 0020-0023) - Geber discloses auxiliary conductors within the connector housing; however, Geber does not disclose that the auxiliary conductor supplies power to an auxiliary component of the electric vehicle while the vehicle is stationary]; and a primary conductor within the connector housing configured for charging the electric vehicle, wherein the auxiliary conductor is independent of the primary conductor within the connector housing; [see (410, 420; Fig. 4; para. 0019) Geber discloses primary conductors for charging; (430, 440 vs. 410, 420; Fig. 4; para. 0020-0023) Geber discloses auxiliary conductors structurally separate from primary conductors].
Geber does not expressly teach the auxiliary conductor configured for coupling a port for a power source external to an electric vehicle to an auxiliary component of the electric vehicle while the vehicle is stationary.
In an analogous art Blatchley teaches the auxiliary conductor configured for coupling a port for a power source external to an electric vehicle to an auxiliary component of the electric vehicle while the vehicle is stationary [see (Figs. 1-6; para. 0029-0035) - Blatchley discloses supplying electrical power from an external charging source to auxiliary vehicle components such as HVAC and battery conditioning systems while the vehicle is stationary].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the auxiliary power supply to vehicle components while stationary of Blatchley in the system of Geber to enable operation of auxiliary vehicle systems during charging, thereby improving vehicle functionality with predictable results.
Combination of Geber and Blatchley doesn’t expressly teach a cooling channel within the connector housing, wherein the primary conductor is disposed coaxially within the cooling channel;
In an analogous art Chou teaches a cooling channel within the connector housing [see (manifold assembly, inlet conduit, outlet conduit; Figs. 4-8; Abstract; para. 0020-0025) Chou discloses a fluid flow path within the connector housing forming a cooling channel]; wherein the primary conductor is disposed coaxially within the cooling channel [see (electrical sockets 404, 406; sleeves 410, 412; coolant space 416; Figs. 5-7; para. 0022-0024) Chou discloses conductors arranged concentrically within surrounding sleeve structures with coolant flowing around them, corresponding to a coaxial arrangement within a cooling channel].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further use the cooling channel with concentric conductor arrangement in the EV charging context of Chou in the combination of Geber and Blatchley to dissipate heat generated during charging, thereby improving thermal performance with predictable results.
Combination of Geber, Blatchley and Chou doesn’t expressly teach a battery sensor signal coupled to the charging connector; a charging controller coupled to the sensor of the connector housing; wherein the controller is configured to control electrical currents within the primary conductor and the auxiliary conductor based on the battery sensor signal.
In an analogous art Muller teaches: a battery sensor signal coupled to the charging connector [see (Fig. 6; para. 0012, 0078) Muller discloses detecting vehicle/battery information and monitoring battery charge level via EVSE, corresponding to receiving battery-related signals from the connected vehicle]; a charging controller coupled to the sensor of the connector housing [see (processor 38, control circuit 56; Fig. 1-2; para. 0027, 0043) Muller discloses a controller/processor receiving signals corresponding to electrical and battery conditions]; wherein the controller is configured to control electrical currents within the primary conductor and the auxiliary conductor based on the battery sensor signal [see (relay 42, control circuit 56; Fig. 2A-2B; para. 0043-0044, 0056) - Muller discloses controlling current flow to the vehicle based on detected battery conditions, thereby teaching regulation of charging current in response to battery sensor signals].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was claimed to further use the battery sensing and control functionality of Muller in the combination of Geber, Blatchley, and Chou to control charging currents based on battery conditions, thereby improving charging efficiency, safety, and battery management with predictable results.
Re Claim 19; Combination of Geber, Blatchley, Chou and Muller teaches invention set forth above, Geber further teaches wherein the auxiliary conductor transmits a proximity signal indicating a location of the charging connector (see 140, 315, 430, 440 fig.3-4 para 0019-0021, 0026-0027).
Re Claim 20; Combination of Geber, Blatchley, Chou and Muller teaches invention set forth above, Geber further teaches wherein the auxiliary conductor is further configured to transmit communication between the electric vehicle and the power source (see 440 fig.3-4 para 0016-0021, 0026-0027).
Claim(s) 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blatchley et al. (US 2017/0008375 A1) in view of Geber et al. (US 2014/0002020 A1) in view of Chou et al. (US 2019/0291588 A1) further in view of Gentry (US Patent. 9527605 B1).
Re Claim 4 and 11; Combination of Geber, Blatchley and Chou teaches invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach wherein the electric vehicle is an electric aircraft.
In an analogous art Gentry teaches wherein the electric vehicle is an electric aircraft (see 102, 205, 215 fig.2A-C, Col. 4 lines 37-54, col.5 lines 1-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was claimed to apply the apparatus and logic control of Geber, Blatchley, Chou to electrical aircraft as taught by Gentry where similar power distribution, charging and control constrains exists, thereby enabling application of known charging and control techniques to aircraft systems.
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geber et al. (US 2014/0002020 A1), in view of Blatchley et al. (US 2017/0008375 A1), in view of Chou et al. (US 2019/0291588 A1), in view of Muller (US 2011/0144823 A1) further in view of King (US 2018/0086224 A1).
Re Claim 16; Combination of Geber Blatchley and Muller teaches invention set forth above, Blatchley further teaches connector housing (see 34, 38 para 0018-0020); combination doesn’t expressly teach wherein the connector housing further includes a coolant line for exchanging a coolant with the electric vehicle.
In an analogous art King teaches wherein a coolant line for exchanging a coolant with the electric vehicle. (see 150, 152, 124, 118 fig.1 Para 0031)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the coolant line for exchanging coolant with the electric vehicle of King in the combination of Geber, Blatchley, Chou and Muller to enable thermal management of charging components, thereby improving temperature regulation during charging with predictable results.
Re Claim 17; Combination of Geber Blatchley, Muller and King teaches invention set forth above, King further teaches wherein the charging controller further controls a flow of the coolant within the coolant line based on the battery sensor signal (see 100, 124, 150, fig.1 Para 0029- 0031).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the control of coolant flow based on operating conditions of King in the combination of Geber, Blatchley, Chou and Muller to coordinate thermal management with battery-dependent control, thereby improving system safety and efficiency with predictable results.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geber et al. (US 2014/0002020 A1), in view of Blatchley et al. (US 2017/0008375 A1), in view of Chou et al. (US 2019/0291588 A1), in view of Muller (US 2011/0144823 A1) further in view of Gentry (US Patent. 9527605 B1).
Re Claim 18; Combination of Geber, Blatchley, Chou and Muller teach invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach further teaches wherein the electric vehicle is an electric aircraft.
In an analogous art Gentry teaches wherein the electric vehicle is an electric aircraft (see 102, 205, 215 fig.2A-C, Col. 4 lines 37-54, col.5 lines 1-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention claimed to apply the apparatus and logic control of Geber, Blatchley, Chou and Mullers to electrical aircraft as taught by Gentry where similar power distribution, charging and control constrains exists, thereby enabling application of known charging and control techniques to aircraft systems.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2849
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2849