DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the communication filed on 12/22/2025. Claims 1-20 were pending in the application. Claims 12-20 are allowed. Claims 5-6 are objected. Claims 1-4 and 7-11 have been rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8 of remarks filed on 12/22/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-4, 7-8 and 10 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of BENNETT et al. reference. Upon further examination and consideration, previous 35 USC 102(a)(1) type rejections of claims 12-19 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0319781 A1 (hereinafter Chhabra et al.) in view of US 2022/0123940 A1 (hereinafter BENNETT et al.)
Regarding claim 1, Chhabra et al. teaches a device (note figure 3.300: CPU; para. [0059]: multicore processor; SoC) comprising:
a processor (note figure 3.310: processor core; para. [0059], [0060]: processor); and
a replay protection circuit (note figure 3.346: replay protection logic; figure 3.340: TPM module) coupled to the processor (note figure 3.310: processor core; para. [0060]) and including a memory interface circuit (note figure 3.330: shared cache; figure 3.345: TPM cache; note para. [0042]), wherein the replay protection circuit is configured to generate a message authentication code (MAC) from at least one block of data and too access the at least one of the data via the memory interface circuit (note figure 1.130: memory controller; para. [0063], [0064], [0068]: generation of MAC by integrity validation module inside the TPM module) using ciphertext that is generated by the replay protection circuit in response to a plaintext memory address received from the processor (note para. [0066], [0069]: generating MAC based on encrypted data), wherein the ciphertext comprises a ciphertext memory address that is generated from the plaintext memory address (note para. [0066], [0071]: accessing encrypted memory address)
Chhabra et al. fails to teach expressly wherein the at least one block of data accessed from an external memory at the ciphertext memory address.
However, BENNETT et al. teaches wherein the at least one block of data accessed from an external memory at the ciphertext memory address (note para. [0021], [0045], [0052]: accessing watermarked data from specified/ encrypted memory address)
BENNETT et al. and Chhabra et al. analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of preventing unauthorized access to a secure memory region/ element. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art to modify Chhabra et al device to further include the features of wherein the at least one block of data accessed from an external memory at the ciphertext memory address since such arrangement would provide users with an improved data protection mechanism against side channel/ replay attacks (note BENNETT et al., para. [0021], [0035])
Regarding claim 2, it is rejected applying as same motivation and rationale applied above rejecting claim 1, furthermore, Chhabra et al. teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the replay protection circuit includes a cipher circuit that is configured to generate the ciphertext memory address from the plaintext memory address (note para. [0066], [0071]: generating encrypted memory address)
Regarding claim 3, it is rejected applying as same motivation and rationale applied above rejecting claim 2, furthermore, Chhabra et al. teaches the device wherein the cipher circuit is configured to generate the ciphertext memory address from the plaintext memory address and key that is held in the cipher circuit (note para. [0066], [0071]: storing encrypted memory address)
Regarding claim 4, it is rejected applying as same motivation and rationale applied above rejecting claim 3, furthermore, Chhabra et al. teaches the device wherein the key is hanged upon each power up of the device (note para. [0066], [0071], [0100]: key storage; MAC computation at initialization)
Regarding claim 7, it is rejected applying as same motivation and rationale applied above rejecting claim 1, furthermore, Chhabra et al. teaches the device wherein the replay protection circuit includes a ciphertext circuit that is configured to generate the ciphertext from the plaintext memory address (note para. [0066], [0071]: encrypted memory address)
Regarding claim 8, it is rejected applying as same motivation and rationale applied above rejecting claim 7, furthermore, Chhabra et al. teaches the device wherein the cipher circuit is configured to use a key that is held in the cipher circuit to generate the ciphertext from the plaintext memory address (note para. [0066], [0071]: key storage; encrypted memory address)
Regarding claim 9, it is rejected applying as same motivation and rationale applied above rejecting claim 7, furthermore, Chhabra et al. teaches the device of claim 8, wherein the key is changed upon each power up of the device (note para. [0066], [0071], [0100]: computations of keys and MAC at initialization)
Regarding claim 10, it is rejected applying as same motivation and rationale applied above rejecting claim 7, furthermore, Chhabra et al. teaches the device wherein the replay protection circuit is configured to:
generate multiple ciphertext memory addresses from the plaintext memory addresses (note para. [0066], [0071]: generating encrypted memory address);
access multiple data blocks via the memory interface circuit using the multiple ciphertext memory address (note figure 1.130: memory controller for accessing data); and
generate the MAC using the multiple data blocks (note para. [0066], [0069]: generating MAC based on encrypted data)
Regarding claim 11, it is rejected applying as same motivation and rationale applied above rejecting claim 1, furthermore, BENNETT et al., teaches the device wherein the cipher circuit is configured to use a multiple keys, wherein a key is selected in response to a watermark (note para. [0045], [0048]: using keys and address information to generate watermarked data)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-20 are allowed.
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SHANTO ABEDIN whose telephone number is 571-272-3551. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F from 10:00 AM to 6:30 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http:// www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jung (Jay) Kim, can be reached on 571-272-3804. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-872-9306. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/SHANTO ABEDIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494