tDETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Title Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: CONVERTING SIGNAL TRANSMISSION METHOD AND DEVICE.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-16 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 19 recite "/", for example and/or. For clarity and consistency, it is suggested to use the word “or” instead of a symbol slash “/” (e.g. at least one A or B).
Claim 19 recites “A communication device, being a first communication device and comprising a processor,”. Please insert a colon ":" after comprising so that a processor and memory are in the body of the claim.
Claims 2-16 are depending on claim 1 and therefore they are also objected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by XU et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220182265 A1), hereinafter XU.
With respect to claim 1, XU teaches A signal transmission method, comprising:
converting, by a first communication device, a first signal into a time-frequency domain to obtain a second signal (figure 1, [0025-0026, 0038], the ISFFT transmitting window 1011 in the OTFS transmitter 101 converts a first signal / delay-Doppler domain signal from delay-Doppler domain to the time-frequency domain to obtain a second signal / a signal after converting delay-Doppler domain to the time-frequency domain); and
performing, by the first communication device, windowing on the second signal in the time-frequency domain (figure 1, [0025-0026, 0038], the ISFFT transmitting window 1011 in the OTFS transmitter 101 performs a window function on the second signal in the time-frequency domain), wherein
the first communication device comprises a transmit end of the first signal (figure 1, [0025-0026, 0038], the OTFS transmitter 101 is a transmit end of the first signal);
in a case that the first communication device is the transmit end of the first signal, the first signal is a signal in a delay-Doppler domain (figure 1, [0025-0026, 0038], the OTFS transmitter 101 is the transmit end of the first signal, the first signal is a signal in a delay-Doppler domain), and the second signal obtained through windowing is used for being converted from the time-frequency domain to a time domain (figure 1, [0038-0039], the second signal obtained through windowing / window function is used for being converted from the time-frequency domain to a time domain); and
in a case that the first communication device is the receive end of the first signal (figure 1, [0040], OTFS receiver 102 is the receive end of the first signal), the first signal is a signal in the time domain (figure 1, [0039-0040], OFDM modulator 1012 in the OTFS transmitter 101 performs an OFDM modulation on the time-frequency domain modulated signal to obtain the first signal is a signal / time domain transmitting signal, the time domain transmitting signal passes through an LTV channel 103 and be received by the OTFS receiver 102), and the second signal obtained through windowing is used for being converted from the time-frequency domain to the delay-Doppler domain (figure 1, [0025-0026, 0038-0039], the SFFT receiving window 1022 in OTFS receiver 102 is being used to convert the signal from the time-frequency domain to the delay-Doppler domain to obtain the second signal).
With respect to claim 18, XU teaches A signal transmission method (figure 1, [0024-0025], a signal transmission method), comprising:
receiving, by a second communication device in a time domain, a third signal sent by a first communication device (figure 1, [0040], OTFS receiver 102 receives a third signal / the time domain transmitting signal sent by a first communication device / OTFS transmitter 101),
wherein the third signal is sent in the time domain after (figure 1, [0039], the OTFS transmitter 101 performs an OFDM modulation on the time-frequency domain modulated signal to obtain a time domain transmitting signal), the first communication device converts a first signal from a delay-Doppler domain to a time-frequency domain to obtain a second signal and performs windowing on the second signal (figure 1, [0025-0026, 0038], the ISFFT transmitting window 1011 in the OTFS transmitter 101 converts a first signal / delay-Doppler domain signal from delay-Doppler domain to the time-frequency domain to obtain a second signal / a signal after converting delay-Doppler domain to the time-frequency domain, and performs a window function on the second signal).
With respect to claim 19, XU teaches A communication device (figure 1, [0025-0026, 0038], a OTFS transmitter 101), being a first communication device and comprising a processor ([0008], processor), a memory ([0008], memory), and programs or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the programs or the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the first communication device to perform ([0008], computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor):
converting a first signal into a time-frequency domain to obtain a second signal (figure 1, [0025-0026, 0038], the ISFFT transmitting window 1011 in the OTFS transmitter 101 converts a first signal / delay-Doppler domain signal from delay-Doppler domain to the time-frequency domain to obtain a second signal / a signal after converting delay-Doppler domain to the time-frequency domain); and
performing windowing on the second signal in the time-frequency domain (figure 1, [0025-0026, 0038], the ISFFT transmitting window 1011 in the OTFS transmitter 101 performs a window function on the second signal in the time-frequency domain), wherein
the first communication device comprises a transmit end of the first signal (figure 1, [0025-0026, 0038], the OTFS transmitter 101 is a transmit end of the first signal);
in a case that the first communication device is the transmit end of the first signal, the first signal is a signal in a delay-Doppler domain (figure 1, [0025-0026, 0038], the OTFS transmitter 101 is the transmit end of the first signal, the first signal is a signal in a delay-Doppler domain), and the second signal obtained through windowing is used for being converted from the time-frequency domain to a time domain (figure 1, [0038-0039], the second signal obtained through windowing / window function is used for being converted from the time-frequency domain to a time domain); and
in a case that the first communication device is the receive end of the first signal (figure 1, [0040], OTFS receiver 102 is the receive end of the first signal), the first signal is a signal in the time domain (figure 1, [0039-0040], OFDM modulator 1012 in the OTFS transmitter 101 performs an OFDM modulation on the time-frequency domain modulated signal to obtain the first signal is a signal / time domain transmitting signal, the time domain transmitting signal passes through an LTV channel 103 and be received by the OTFS receiver 102), and the second signal obtained through windowing is used for being converted from the time-frequency domain to the delay-Doppler domain (figure 1, [0025-0026, 0038-0039], the SFFT receiving window 1022 in OTFS receiver 102 is being used to convert the signal from the time-frequency domain to the delay-Doppler domain to obtain the second signal).
With respect to claim 20, this claim recites the method of claim 18, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU, in view of Ban (Pub. No.: US 20070202913 A1), hereinafter Ban.
With respect to claim 2, XU teaches performing, by the first communication device, windowing on the second signal in the time-frequency domain based on the second signal in the delay-Doppler domain (figure 1, [0025-0026, 0038], the ISFFT transmitting window 1011 in the OTFS transmitter 101 performs windowing / window function on the second signal in the time-frequency domain based on the second signal in the delay-Doppler domain).
XU does not explicitly teach based on a type of a pilot signal.
However, Ban teaches based on a type of a pilot signal ([0064], based on the type of the pilot signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ban, based on a type of a pilot signal, into the teachings of XU, in order to successively generate time frames to be transmitted to the mobile stations (Ban, [0009]).
With respect to claim 3, XU teaches performing, by the first communication device, windowing on the second signal in the time-frequency domain (figure 1, [0025-0026, 0038], the ISFFT transmitting window 1011 in the OTFS transmitter 101 performs windowing / window function on the second signal in the time-frequency domain).
XU does not explicitly teach in a case that the pilot signal is a pilot signal used for demodulation.
However, Ban teaches in a case that the pilot signal is a pilot signal used for demodulation ([0062], demodulate the pilot signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ban, in a case that the pilot signal is a pilot signal used for demodulation, into the teachings of XU, in order to successively generate time frames to be transmitted to the mobile stations (Ban, [0009]).
With respect to claim 17, XU teaches sending, by the first communication device, second signaling to a communication peer end, wherein the second signaling is used for indicating (figure 1, [0025-0026, 0038], the OTFS transmitter 101 sends second signaling to a communication peer end, second signaling is used for indicating).
XU does not explicitly teach wherein the type of the pilot signal is predefined in a preset, and the type of the pilot signal.
However, Ban teaches wherein the type of the pilot signal is predefined in a preset ([0058], the base station generates M types of pilot signals corresponding to time frames with M types of electric power respectively and transmits the respective pilot signals as parts of the corresponding time frames), and the type of the pilot signal ([0064], the type of the pilot signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ban, wherein the type of the pilot signal is predefined in a preset, and the type of the pilot signal, into the teachings of XU, in order to successively generate time frames to be transmitted to the mobile stations (Ban, [0009]).
Claims 6-8 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU, in view of Hadani et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190081836 A1), hereinafter Hadani.
With respect to claim 6, XU teaches wherein the performing, by the first communication device, windowing on the second signal in the time-frequency domain comprises: performing, by the first communication device, windowing on the second signal in the time-frequency domain (figure 1, [0025-0026, 0038], the ISFFT transmitting window 1011 in the OTFS transmitter 101 performs windowing / window function on the second signal in the time-frequency domain).
XU does not explicitly teach two-dimensional windowing.
However, Hadani teaches performing two-dimensional windowing ([0107], performing two-dimensional windowing on a signal in the time-frequency domain).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hadani, performing two-dimensional windowing, into the teachings of XU, in order for the receiver-side to receive orthogonal time frequency and space (OTFS) modulated signals, and extracting information bits (Hadani, [0009]).
With respect to claim 7, the combination of XU and Hadani teaches the method of claim 6. XU teaches performing, by the first communication device, a window matrix in the time-frequency domain, wherein a dimension of the window matrix is same as a dimension of the second signal (figure 1, [0025-0026, 0038], the ISFFT transmitting window 1011 in the OTFS transmitter 101 performs window matrix / window function on the second signal in the time-frequency domain).
XU does not explicitly teach a point multiplication operation on the second signal.
However, Hadani teaches performing a point multiplication operation on the signal ([0045], performing multiplicative operation on a signal in the time-frequency domain).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hadani, performing a point multiplication operation on the signal, into the teachings of XU, in order for the receiver-side to receive orthogonal time frequency and space (OTFS) modulated signals, and extracting information bits (Hadani, [0009]).
With respect to claim 8, the combination of XU and Hadani teaches the method of claim 7. XU teaches wherein the window matrix is determined based on a window function (figure 1, [0025-0026, 0038], perform window function on the signal in the time-frequency domain).
With respect to claim 15, the combination of XU and Hadani teaches the method of claim 8. XU teaches wherein parameter information of the window function is predefined in a preset ([0107-0108], auxiliary parameters are defined and initialized of the window function), and the parameter information is used for at least one of the following: determining the window function([0107-0108], auxiliary parameters is used for window function).
With respect to claim 16, the combination of XU and Hadani teaches the method of claim 15. XU teaches sending, by the first communication device, first signaling to a communication peer end (figure 1, [0025-0026, 0038-0039], the OTFS transmitter 101 sends first signal to the ISFFT transmitting window 1011), wherein the first signaling is used for indicating the parameter information of the window function (figure 1, [0038-0039, 0107-0108], the first signaling is used for indicating the parameter information of the window function)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 9-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pub. No.: US 20100111231 A1; “Koorapaty”, ([0026])
/KIET TANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469