DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al (12,430,919).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15 Lin discloses,
Receive an image depicting multiple objects belonging to different classes (note col. 7 lines 21-24, cites machine learning recognize object for classification);
Generate preliminary bounding boxes for the multiple objects, wherein each of the preliminary bounding boxes comprises a size, a location, a class, and a confidence score (note col. 3 lines 13-30);
Select a first subset of bounding boxes by performing a per-class suppression of the preliminary bounding boxes (note col. 3 lines 13-30;
Select a second subset of bounding boxes by performing a class-agnostic suppression of the first subset of bounding boxes (note col. 3 lines 13-30); and
Based on the second subset of bounding boxes, generate at least one of an enriched image or a video index (note col. 3 lines 13-30).
Regarding claims 2 and 16 Lin discloses,
Wherein performing the per-class suppression comprises: grouping the preliminary bounding boxes by class (note col. 3 lines 32- col. 4 lines 9, bounding box similarity determined); and separately performing Non-Maximum Suppression (NMS) on each of the groups of preliminary bounding boxes (note col. 4 lines 33-43, bounding box suppressed if it is determined that the newly-detected bounding box is sufficiently similar to a region of merged bounding boxes)
Regarding claim 3 Lin disclose
Wherein performing the class-agnostic suppression comprises performing NMS on the first subset of bounding boxes without regard to class (note col. 10 lines 30-35, suppression of bounding boxes).
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 20 Lin discloses
Wherein: the per-class suppression utilizes a per-class intersection-over-union (IoU) threshold (note col. 3 lines 17-26 and col. 10 lines 25-34, suppression utilizes filter); the class-agnostic suppression utilizes a class-agnostic IoU threshold (note col. 10 lines 25-34, suppression utilizes filter); and the class-agnostic IoU threshold is greater than the per-class IoU threshold (note col. 10 lines 25-34, suppression utilizes filter);
Regarding claim 5 Lin discloses
Wherein the class-agnostic IoU threshold is at least twice the per-class IoU threshold (note col. 10 lines 25-34, suppression utilizes filter).
Regarding claims 6, 13, 17 and 19 Lin discloses,
Wherein the class-agnostic IoU threshold is greater than 0.8, and the per-class IoU threshold is within a range of 0.3-0.45 (note col. 10 lines 25-34, suppression utilizes filter);
Regarding claims 7, 9 and 14 Lin discloses,
Wherein the image is part of video data, and the operations comprise generating the video index (note col. 2 lines 9-19, streaming video as image data).
Regarding claims 10 and 18 Lin discloses,
Wherein the first object at least partially occludes the second object in the image (note col. 3 lines 27-32, overlap).
Regarding claim 11 Lin discloses,
Wherein the second subset of bounding boxes includes a single bounding box for the first object and a single bounding box for the second object (note col. 12 lines 1-15, second bounding box).
Related Prior Art
Tang et al (10,565,473) Generate preliminary bounding boxes for the multiple objects, wherein each of the preliminary bounding boxes comprises a size, a location, a class, and a confidence score (note fig. 6 block 605 and 607 and col. 11 lines – col. 12 lines 10).
Wang et al (10,755,114) Receive an image depicting multiple objects belonging to different classes (note fig. 7 and col. 10 lines 27-50, input image and tree classifier).
Conclusion
G.D.
June 25, 2026
/GREGORY M DESIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2676