DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Office action based on application 18/602,910 in response to reply filed August 3, 2026. Claims 1, 4-7, 10-16, & 18-25 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 112(a) because applicant specification does not provide written description of the encapsulant being “elastic” as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 10-14, 21 & 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okura (Pre-Grant Publication 2015/0091027) in view of Li (US Patent 10,381,534) and Lin (Pre-Grant Publication 2013/0214298).
Regarding claim 1 & 4, Okura discloses an optoelectronic component comprising:
a light emitting diode (LED) chip (Fig. 1a-1d, 15) comprising a LED top surface and a LED bottom surface, wherein the LED bottom surface has been bonded, within a cavity formed by light reflective member (19) of the surface mountable package, to a lead frame (11/12) of the surface mountable package wherein exposed portions of the LED top surface have been exposed within the cavity prior to a light transmissive members/encapsulants (17 & 18) are deposited/formed and;
a first bump (16a) that has been bonded onto a bond pad/electrode (Paragraph [0046]) of the LED chip;
a wire (16) that has been ball bonded onto the lead frame;
a wire stitch (Paragraph [0053]) of the wire that has been formed on top of the first bump; and
a second bump (16c) that has been bonded on top of the wire stitch, wherein a bump top surface of the second bump has been exposed within the cavity.
Okura does not disclose a singular encapsulant material being elastic and being characterized by a hardness of less than Shore 70A, wherein the singular encapsulant material covers, within the cavity, the exposed portions of the LED top surface, the bump top surface of the second bump, and the wire to absorb an external force that has been applied to the surface mountable package during a surface- mount technology (SMT) pick-and-place operation and to prevent the wire from being damaged or broken by the external force during the SMT pick-and-place operation. However Li discloses an optoelectronic component comprising:
A LED (Fig. 1, 112) mounted in a cavity of a molding/housing (120) wherein a singular encapsulant (122) is formed to cover, within the cavity exposed portions of the LED top surface, a bump (117) top surface and a wire (116) to absorb an external force that can be applied to the surface mountable package to protect/prevent the wire form damage or broken by external force (Col. 4, Lines 34-43).
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form the singular encapsulant of Li to substitute the light transmissive members of Okura because the singular encapsulant can simultaneously provide multiple functions such as provide protection of the LED and components within the cavity, serve as a wavelength conversion material, improve thermal performance, cause/reduce light scattering, etc (Col. 4, Lines 34-41) while minimize manufacturing process and time needed to deposit a singular encapsulant material instead of multiple encapsulant materials.
Lin discloses an LED package comprising:
A LED chip (Fig. 2, 22) covered by an encapsulation material (28) having a softness comprises a shore hardness that is less than Shore A70 (Paragraph [0055]).
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form the encapsulation material having a Shore hardness of less than A70 because it will serve to from an encapsulant having high reliability performance such as conversion efficiency and improve light output (Paragraph [0055 & 0056]).
Further it should be known that the limitation of “during a surface mount technology (SMT) pick and place operation” is considered intended use/intended operation of the structure where it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 MPEP 2114 II.
Regarding claim 5 & 21, Okura further discloses:
the encapsulant material is translucent/transparent (Paragraph [0092]).
Regarding claim 6 & 23, Okura further discloses:
a light emitting surface of the encapsulant material facilitates a transmission, via the LED chip, of electromagnetic radiation comprising at least one of visible light or ultraviolet light (Paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claim 7, Okura further discloses:
the second bump facilitates an absorption, via the singular encapsulant material, of an external force that has been applied to the surface mountable package, and wherein the external force is less than or equal to a defined maximum applied force threshold (Paragraph [0041 & 0047]).
Regarding claim 10, Okura further discloses:
the absorption of the external force one or more portions of the wire that are located outside of the wire stitch (Paragraph [0041, 0053 & 0054]) from being damaged during the SMT pick and place operation.
Regarding claim 11, Okura further discloses:
the absorption of the external force prevents the wire stitch from being detached from the first bump (Paragraph [0041 & 0047]).
Regarding claim 12, Okura further discloses:
a first diameter of the first bump is equal to or greater than a second diameter of the second bump (Paragraph [0066]).
Regarding claim 13, Okura further discloses:
the first diameter of the first bump being equal to or greater than the second diameter of the second bump (Paragraph [0066]), although Okura does not explicitly disclose the first diameter of the first bump being equal to or greater than the second diameter of the second bump facilitates an enhancement of a visual inspection of anomalies of at least one of a connection of the wire stitch to the first bump or a formation of the wire stitch since it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, claimed properties/functions (such as facilitates an enhancement of a visual inspection of anomalies of at least one of a connection of the wire stitch to the first bump or a formation of the wire stitch) are presumed inherent and a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2112.01 I
Regarding claim 14, Okura further discloses:
a bump diameter of the first bump is greater than or equal to, within a defined percentage tolerance, 2.5 times a wire diameter of the wire (Paragraph [0046]), and
wherein the bump diameter/ bonded surface area of the first bump is equal to (i.e. one times the diameter of the ball), within the defined percentage tolerance, a bond pad/electrode diameter of the bond pad of the LED chip (Paragraph [0050]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okura (Pre-Grant Publication 2015/0091027) in view of Li (US Patent 10,381,534) and Lin (Pre-Grant Publication 2013/0214298) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Ismail (Pre-Grant Publication 2003/0230896).
Regarding claim 15, Okura, Li and Lin disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 (addressed above). Okura further discloses:
the bump diameter of the first bump (16a) is a first bump diameter, wherein the second bump diameter of the second bump (16c) is less than or equal to, within the defined percentage tolerance, the first bump diameter (Paragraph [0066]).
Okura does not explicitly discloses a second bump diameter of the second bump is greater than or equal to, within the defined percentage tolerance, 1.5 times the wire diameter of the wire. However Ismail discloses a semiconductor die structure:
Forming a first bump (Fig. 4 & 5, 62) on a pad (54) of a die (44) wherein a wire/stitch (60) is bonded to the first bump and a second bump (66) on the wire/stitch.
Ismail further discloses the second bump can be less than the diameter of the first bump and the second bump can have a diameter greater than 1.5 times the diameter of the wire (Paragraph [0028]).
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form the second bump having a diameter greater than 1.5 times the diameter of the wire because it will form a interconnection of bump-stitch-bump which will provide stronger bonds than a single stitch (Paragraph [0031]).
Claim(s) 16 & 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okura (Pre-Grant Publication 2015/0091027) in view of Li (US Patent 10,381,534), Lin (Pre-Grant Publication 2013/0214298), and Isono (Pre-Grant Publication 2019/0123247).
Regarding claim 16, Okura discloses an optoelectronic component comprising:
Bonding a bottom surface of a light emitting diode (LED) chip (Fig. 1a-1d, 15) within a cavity formed by light reflective member (19) of the surface mountable package, to a lead frame (11/12) of the surface mountable package, wherein exposed portions of an LED top surface of the LED chip have been exposed within the cavity;
Bonding a first bump (16a) onto a bond pad/electrode (Paragraph [0046]) of the LED chip;
Ball bonding a wire (16) onto the lead frame;
Forming a wire stitch (Paragraph [0053]) of the wire on top of the first bump; and
Bonding a second bump (16c) on top of the wire stitch, wherein a bump top surface of the second bump has been exposed within the cavity.
Okura does not explicitly disclose a singular encapsulant material being elastic and being characterized by a hardness of less than Shore 70A, wherein the singular encapsulant material covers, within the cavity, the exposed portions of the LED top surface, the bump top surface of the second bump, and the wire or singulating the optoelectronic components from a panel comprising a group of optoelectronic components.
However Li discloses a optoelectronic component comprising:
A LED (Fig. 1, 112) mounted in a cavity of a molding/housing (120) wherein a singular encapsulant (122) is formed to cover, within the cavity exposed portions of the LED top surface, a bump (117) top surface and a wire (116) to absorb an external force that can be applied to the surface mountable package to protect/prevent the wire form damage or broken by external force (Col. 4, Lines 34-43).
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form the singular encapsulant of Li to substitute the light transmissive members of Okura because the singular encapsulant can simultaneously provide multiple functions such as provide protection of the LED and components within the cavity, serve as a wavelength conversion material, improve thermal performance, cause/reduce light scattering, etc (Col. 4, Lines 34-41) while minimize manufacturing process and time needed to deposit a singular encapsulant material instead of multiple encapsulant materials.
Lin discloses a LED package comprising:
A LED chip (Fig. 2, 22) covered by an encapsulation material (28) having a softness comprises a shore hardness that is less than Shore A70 (Paragraph [0055]).
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form the encapsulation material having a Shore hardness of less than A70 because it will serve to from an encapsulant having high reliability performance such as conversion efficiency and improve light output (Paragraph [0055 & 0056]).
Isono disclose an optoelectronic structure comprising:
A plurality of light emitting devices (Fig. 7a & 7b, 101) wherein the plurality of light emitting devices undergo a singulation process to cutting and separate the plurality of light emitting device (Fig. 12a & 12b; Paragraph [0134]).
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to singulate the plurality of light emitting devices because it will allow for mass production of a plurality of individual light emitting devices at a lower manufacturing time and cost.
Regarding claim 18, Okura further discloses:
the first diameter of the first bump being equal to or greater than the second diameter of the second bump (Paragraph [0066]), although Okura does not explicitly disclose the first diameter of the first bump being equal to or greater than the second diameter of the second bump facilitates an enhancement of a visual inspection of anomalies of at least one of a connection of the wire stitch to the first bump or a formation of the wire stitch since it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, claimed properties/functions (such as facilitates an enhancement of a visual inspection of anomalies of at least one of a connection of the wire stitch to the first bump or a formation of the wire stitch) are presumed inherent and a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2112.01 I
Regarding claim 19, Okura further discloses:
a bump diameter of the first bump is greater than or equal to, within a defined percentage tolerance, 2.5 times a wire diameter of the wire (Paragraph [0046]), and
wherein the bump diameter/ bonded surface area of the first bump is equal to (i.e. one times the diameter of the ball), within the defined percentage tolerance, a bond pad/electrode diameter of the bond pad of the LED chip (Paragraph [0050]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okura (Pre-Grant Publication 2015/0091027) in view of Li (US Patent 10,381,534), Lin (Pre-Grant Publication 2013/0214298) and Isono (Pre-Grant Publication 2019/0123247) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Ismail (Pre-Grant Publication 2003/0230896).
Regarding claim 20, Okura, Li, Lin and Isono disclose all of the limitations of claim 16 (addressed above). Okura further discloses:
the bump diameter of the first bump (16a) is a first bump diameter, wherein the second bump diameter of the second bump (16c) is less than or equal to, within the defined percentage tolerance, the first bump diameter (Paragraph [0066]).
Okura does not explicitly discloses a second bump diameter of the second bump is greater than or equal to, within the defined percentage tolerance, 1.5 times the wire diameter of the wire. However Ismail discloses a semiconductor die structure:
Forming a first bump (Fig. 4 & 5, 62) on a pad (54) of a die (44) wherein a wire/stitch (60) is bonded to the first bump and a second bump (66) on the wire/stitch.
Ismail further discloses the second bump can be less than the diameter of the first bump and the second bump can have a diameter greater than 1.5 times the diameter of the wire (Paragraph [0028]).
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form the second bump having a diameter greater than 1.5 times the diameter of the wire because it will form a interconnection of bump-stitch-bump which will provide stronger bonds than a single stitch (Paragraph [0031]).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okura (Pre-Grant Publication 2015/0091027) in view of Li (US Patent 10,381,534) and Lin (Pre-Grant Publication 2013/0214298) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Niwa (Pre-Grant Publication 2021/0175399).
Regarding claim 22, Okura, Li, and Lin disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 (addressed above). Neither reference disclose LED transmitting infrared light. However Niwa disclose a LED package comprising:
LED device (Fig. 1c, 17) wherein the LED emits infrared light (Paragraph [0110]).
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form the LED to transmit infrared light because it will serve to form a LED package for use in authentication, night light source, or sensor applications (Paragraph [0003]).
Claim 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okura (Pre-Grant Publication 2015/0091027) in view of Li (US Patent 10,381,534), Lin (Pre-Grant Publication 2013/0214298) and Isono (Pre-Grant Publication 2019/0123247) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Li (Pre-Grant Publication 2019/0123250).
Regarding claim 24, Okura, Li, Lin and Isono disclose all of the limitations of claim 16 (addressed above). Neither reference disclose the singular encapsulant is formed by injecting into the cavity. However Li discloses a light emitting package comprising:
An encapsulant (Fig. 1b, 160) within a cavity of a reflector cup (140) covering a LED chip (150) wherein the encapsulant is injected into the cavity (Paragraph [0039]).
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to inject the encapsulant into reflector cup because it will serve to protect the LED from damage (Paragraph [0039]).
Claim 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okura (Pre-Grant Publication 2015/0091027) in view of Li (US Patent 10,381,534), Lin (Pre-Grant Publication 2013/0214298) and Isono (Pre-Grant Publication 2019/0123247) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Lee (Pre-Grant Publication 2011/0108866)
Regarding claim 25, Okura, Li, Lin and Isono disclose all of the limitations of claim 16 (addressed above). Neither reference disclose the singular encapsulant is formed by transfer molding into the cavity. However Lee discloses an LED package comprising:
An encapsulant (Fig. 2, 30) in a housing (20) to cover a LED chip (2) wherein the encapsulant is formed by transfer molding (Paragraph [0039] & [0040]).
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use transfer molding to form the encapsulant into the cavity of the housing because it will allow the encapsulation material to be formed to a desired shape such as having a planar surface (Paragraph [0039 & 0040]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 & 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON C FOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/DAVID VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818