Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-12, 14-16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140247802 A1 (hereinafter Wijting), in view of US 20230309116 A1 (hereinafter Pan) (priority doc us-provisional-application US 63062704 20200807, hereinafter prov2704), and WO 2021071400 A1 (hereinafter Okvist).
Regarding claim 14, Wijting teaches An apparatus for wireless communication at a first user
equipment (UE), comprising (Wijting [0025] FIG. 1 illustrates a block diagram of a system 100 for facilitating use of carrier aggregation for device-to-device communications according to some example embodiments.
[0026] The system 100 may include a plurality of communication apparatuses 102 and a serving network apparatus 104. The system 100 may further comprise a network 106. The network 106 may comprise one or more wireline networks, one or more wireless networks, or some combination thereof.
[0027] the serving network apparatus 104 may, for example, be at least partially embodied on one or more access points of the network 106 (for example, a base station, base transceiver station (BTS), node B, evolved node B (eNB), and/or the like), which may, for example be configured to provide access to the network 106 (e.g., via a radio uplink) to one or more of the communication apparatuses 102.
[0029] A communication apparatus 102 may be configured to establish a D2D connection (also referred to as a D2D link) with another device, such as another communication apparatus 102, and engage in D2D communication over the D2D connection.
[0032] A communication apparatus 102 may be embodied as mobile terminal. a communication apparatus 102 may comprise cellular communication device configured to operate on a serving cellular network.
[0039] FIG. 3 illustrates a block diagram of a communication apparatus 102.):
a memory (Wijting Memory 112 in Fig. 3); and
one or more processors (Wijting Processor 110 in Fig. 3 ), the memory and the one or more processors being configured to (Wijting [0042]The memory 112 may be configured to store information, data, applications, instructions, or the like for enabling the communication apparatus 102 to carry out various functions in accordance with various example embodiments.
[0041] the processor 110 is configured to execute instructions stored in the memory 112 or otherwise accessible to the processor 110. These instructions, when executed by the processor 110, may cause the communication apparatus 102 to perform one or more of the functionalities of the communication apparatus 102 as described herein. ):
Wijting does not explicitly teach receive, from a network entity, a configuration message indicating multiple sidelink component carriers for the first UE and a second UE.
Pan in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches receive, from a network entity, a configuration message indicating multiple sidelink component carriers for the first UE and a second UE (Pan [0133] Sidelink multi-carrier, carrier aggregation (CA), CCs and/or CCGs may be configured for UEs for sidelink via RRC signaling by network (NW) and/or gNB (prov2704 [00126]).);
Wijting teaches receive an indication to at least one of activate or deactivate multiple sidelink component carriers (Wijting Fig. 5, [0067] Operation 535 may comprise D[1] 502 and/or D[2] 504 performing activation and/or deactivation of one or more of the component carriers configured for use in D2D communication between D[1] 502 and D[2] 504.
[0069] D2D control circuitry 118 associated with D1 may be configured to format a message indicating that one or more component carriers should be activated and/or that one or more component carriers should be deactivated, and may cause the formatted message to be sent via the D2D communication link to D2. D2D control circuitry 118 associated with D2 may be configured to receive the message. Note D2 is the first UE. );
Wijting does not explicitly teach establish a sidelink beam pairing with the second UE on a designated sidelink component carrier.
Okvist in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches establish a sidelink beam pairing with the second UE on a designated sidelink component carrier (Okvist page 2-3, the network indicates to the wireless devices which time and frequency resources and what transmit power levels they should use for the direct communication. The network may subsequently send periodic commands to the D2D pair regarding the resources that they should use for the direct D2D link.
Fig. 5, page 18-19 Action 502. the radio base station/eNB 110 may indicate transmission resource allocations for the first wireless device 121 and the at least one second wireless device 122, 123, 124.
Action 506. Upon receiving the first SideLink measurement report, the first wireless device 121 may configure the beamforming for the SideLink by adjusting its SideLink Tx wide beam according to the received first SideLink measurement report.
Action 507. The first wireless device 121 may establish and perform beamforming transmissions over the SideLink towards the at least one second wireless device 122, 123, 124. Note: frequency resource is the designated sidelink component carrier.); and
Although Wijting teaches activate one or more sidelink component carriers of the multiple sidelink component carriers in response to the indication indicating activation (Wijting [0069] D2D control circuitry 118 associated with D2 may be configured to receive the message and manage activation of one or more component carriers based at least in part on the received message. In this regard, the D2D control circuitry 118 associated with D2 may activate component carriers as indicated in the message. ); Wijting does not explicitly teach wherein the indication comprises a sidelink control information (SCI) message received from a second UE on a sidelink component carrier, the SCI including information to at least one of activate or deactivate the one or more sidelink component carriers.
Pan teaches wherein the indication comprises a sidelink control information (SCI) message received from a second UE on a sidelink component carrier, the SCI including information to at least one of activate or deactivate the one or more sidelink component carriers (Pan [0134] Inter-UE coordination for multi-carrier operation may also be possible via assistance signaling or assistance information from another sidelink UE. Assistance signaling or assistance information may also be conveyed and communicated for carrier activation/deactivation for SL multi-carrier operation between UEs, e.g., between transmitting UE and receiving UEs. Carriers may be activated or deactivated via sidelink PSCCH and/or PSSCH (e.g., 1.sup.st stage SCI, 2.sup.nd stage SCI). (prov2704 [00127])
Table 1, [0143] SCI Format is carried in PSCCH in Primary Carrier. The example shows eight CCs via Carrier Index Field. (prov2704 [00136]) ).
By modifying Wijting’s teachings of activate one or more sidelink component carriers of the multiple sidelink component carriers in response to the indication indicating activation with Pan’s teachings of wherein the indication comprises a sidelink control information (SCI) message received from a second UE on a sidelink component carrier, the SCI including information to at least one of activate or deactivate the one or more sidelink component carriers, the modification results in activate one or more sidelink component carriers of the multiple sidelink component carriers of the multiple sidelink component carriers in response to the indication indicating activation, wherein the indication comprises a sidelink control information (SCI) message received from a second UE on a sidelink component carrier, the SCI including information to at least one of activate or deactivate the one or more sidelink component carriers.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wijting with Pan’s above teachings. The motivation is providing efficient sidelink muli-carrier operation (Pan [0003] (prov2704 [0002])). Known work in one field of endeavor (Pan prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Wijting prior art) based on design incentives (efficient sidelink muli-carrier operation) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wijting as modified by Pan with Okvist’s above teachings. The motivation is improving the use of direct V2x/D2D communication links (Okvist page 3). Known work in one field of endeavor (Okvist prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Wijting and Pan prior art) based on design incentives (improving the use of direct V2x/D2D communication links) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 1 recites similar limitations of claim 14, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 10, Wijting teaches A method of wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising (Wijting [0025] FIG. 1 illustrates a block diagram of a system 100 for facilitating use of carrier aggregation for device-to-device communications according to some example embodiments.
[0026] The system 100 may include a plurality of communication apparatuses 102 and a serving network apparatus 104. The system 100 may further comprise a network 106. The network 106 may comprise one or more wireline networks, one or more wireless networks, or some combination thereof.
[0027] the serving network apparatus 104 may, for example, be at least partially embodied on one or more access points of the network 106 (for example, a base station, base transceiver station (BTS), node B, evolved node B (eNB), and/or the like), which may, for example be configured to provide access to the network 106 (e.g., via a radio uplink) to one or more of the communication apparatuses 102.
[0029] A communication apparatus 102 may be configured to establish a D2D connection (also referred to as a D2D link) with another device, such as another communication apparatus 102, and engage in D2D communication over the D2D connection.
[0032] A communication apparatus 102 may be embodied as mobile terminal. a communication apparatus 102 may comprise cellular communication device configured to operate on a serving cellular network. ):
Wijting does not explicitly teach receiving, from a network entity, a configuration message indicating multiple sidelink component carriers for the first UE and a second UE.
Pan in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches receiving, from a network entity, a configuration message indicating multiple sidelink component carriers for the first UE and a second UE (Pan [0133] Sidelink multi-carrier, carrier aggregation (CA), CCs and/or CCGs may be configured for UEs for sidelink via RRC signaling by network (NW) and/or gNB (prov2704 [00126]));
Wijting teaches transmitting an indication to at least one of activate or deactivate multiple sidelink component carriers (Wijting Fig. 5, [0067] Operation 535 may comprise D[1] 502 and/or D[2] 504 performing activation and/or deactivation of one or more of the component carriers configured for use in D2D communication between D[1] 502 and D[2] 504.
[0069] D2D control circuitry 118 associated with D1 may be configured to format a message indicating that one or more component carriers should be activated and/or that one or more component carriers should be deactivated, and may cause the formatted message to be sent via the D2D communication link to D2. );
Wijting does not explicitly teach establishing a sidelink beam pairing with the second UE on a designated sidelink component carrier.
Okvist in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches establishing a sidelink beam pairing with the second UE on a designated sidelink component carrier (Okvist page 2-3, the network indicates to the wireless devices which time and frequency resources and what transmit power levels they should use for the direct communication. The network may subsequently send periodic commands to the D2D pair regarding the resources that they should use for the direct D2D link.
Fig. 5, page 18-19 Action 502. the radio base station/eNB 110 may indicate transmission resource allocations for the first wireless device 121 and the at least one second wireless device 122, 123, 124.
Action 506. Upon receiving the first SideLink measurement report, the first wireless device 121 may configure the beamforming for the SideLink by adjusting its SideLink Tx wide beam according to the received first SideLink measurement report.
Action 507. The first wireless device 121 may establish and perform beamforming transmissions over the SideLink towards the at least one second wireless device 122, 123, 124. Note: frequency resource is the designated sidelink component carrier); and
Although Wijting teaches activating one or more sidelink component carriers of the multiple sidelink component carriers in response to the indication indicating activation (Wijting [0069] D2D control circuitry 118 associated with D2 may be configured to receive the message and manage activation of one or more component carriers based at least in part on the received message. In this regard, the D2D control circuitry 118 associated with D2 may activate component carriers as indicated in the message. ); Wijting does not explicitly teach wherein transmitting the indication comprises transmitting a sidelink control information (SCI) message on a sidelink component carrier to a second UE, the SCI including information to at least one of activate or deactivate the one or more sidelink component carriers.
Pan teaches wherein transmitting the indication comprises transmitting a sidelink control information (SCI) message on a sidelink component carrier to a second UE, the SCI including information to at least one of activate or deactivate the one or more sidelink component carriers (Pan [0134] Inter-UE coordination for multi-carrier operation may also be possible via assistance signaling or assistance information from another sidelink UE. Assistance signaling or assistance information may also be conveyed and communicated for carrier activation/deactivation for SL multi-carrier operation between UEs, e.g., between transmitting UE and receiving UEs. Carriers may be activated or deactivated via sidelink PSCCH and/or PSSCH (e.g., 1.sup.st stage SCI, 2.sup.nd stage SCI). (prov2704 [00127])
Table 1, [0143] SCI Format is carried in PSCCH in Primary Carrier. The example shows eight CCs via Carrier Index Field. (prov2704 [00136]) ).
By modifying Wijting’s teachings of activating one or more sidelink component carriers of the multiple sidelink component carriers in response to the indication indicating activation with Pan’s teachings of wherein transmitting the indication comprises transmitting a sidelink control information (SCI) message on a sidelink component carrier to a second UE, the SCI including information to at least one of activate or deactivate the one or more sidelink component carriers, the modification results in activating one or more sidelink component carriers of the multiple sidelink component carriers in response to the indication indicating activation; wherein transmitting the indication comprises transmitting a sidelink control information (SCI) message on a sidelink component carrier to a second UE, the SCI including information to at least one of activate or deactivate the one or more sidelink component carriers.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wijting with Pan’s above teachings. The motivation is providing efficient sidelink muli-carrier operation (Pan [0003] (prov2704 [0002])). Known work in one field of endeavor (Pan prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Wijting prior art) based on design incentives (efficient sidelink muli-carrier operation) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wijting as modified by Pan with Okvist’s above teachings. The motivation is improving the use of direct V2x/D2D communication links (Okvist page 3). Known work in one field of endeavor (Okvist prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Wijting and Pan prior art) based on design incentives (improving the use of direct V2x/D2D communication links) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Wijting in view of Pan and Okvist (hereinafter combination) teaches The
method of claim 1.
Wijting teaches further comprising deactivating the one or more sidelink component carriers in
response to the indication indicating deactivation (Wijting [0069] D2D control circuitry 118 associated with D1 may be configured to format a message indicating that one or more component carriers should be activated and/or that one or more component carriers should be deactivated, and may cause the formatted message to be sent via the D2D communication link to D2. D2D control circuitry 118 associated with D2 may be configured to receive the message and manage activation of one or more component carriers based at least in part on the received message. In this regard, the D2D control circuitry 118 associated with D2 may deactivate component carriers as indicated in the message. ).
Claims 11 and 15 recite similar limitations of claim 2, are thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches The method of claim 1.
Wijting teaches wherein the indication corresponds to at least one of a media access control
(MAC) control element (CE) and a downlink control information (DCI) (Wijting [0071] a message that may be exchanged between communication apparatuses for managing activation of component carriers may comprise a Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (MAC CE). ).
Claims 12 and 16 recite similar limitations of claim 3, are thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches The method of claim 3.
Wijting teaches wherein receiving the indication to at least one of activate or deactivate the
multiple sidelink component carriers further comprises receiving the at least one of the MAC CE or the SCI on the sidelink component carrier from a second UE (Wijting [0073] FIG. 6B illustrates an example MAC CE that may be used for activation/deactivation of component carriers for D2D links.
[0069] D2D control circuitry 118 associated with D1 may be configured to format a message indicating that one or more component carriers should be activated and/or that one or more component carriers should be deactivated, and may cause the formatted message to be sent via the D2D communication link to D2.
[0081] an example MAC CE 606 is illustrated that may be sent from D1 to D2 to activate component carriers C9, C4, C3, C2, C1 for transmission. ).
Claim 18 recites similar limitations of claim 5, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches The method of claim 3.
Wijting teaches wherein the at least one of the MAC CE, the DCI or the SCI include a payload for
indicating the one or more sidelink component carriers to be at least one of activated or deactivated (Wijting [0073] FIG. 6B illustrates an example MAC CE that may be used for activation/deactivation of component carriers for D2D links.
[0075] The payload may include a bit for every component carrier present in the carrier aggregation configuration, which may be selectively set to indicate whether the respective component carrier should be activated or deactivated. ).
Claim 19 recites similar limitations of claim 6, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches The method of claim 1,
Wijting teaches wherein activating the one or more sidelink component carriers further
comprises enabling sidelink communications with a second UE on the one or more sidelink component carriers (Wijting [0059] D1 and D2 may negotiate a carrier aggregation configuration for D2D communication between D1 and D2 in which component carriers #3, #4, and #5 are usable for D2D communication from D1 to D2 and component carriers #3 and #4 are usable for D2D communication from D2 to D1. At least momentarily, component carriers #3, #4, and #5 may be active for D2D transmissions from D1 to D2, meaning that D2 may receive Transport Blocks on any of component carriers #3, #4, and #5. ).
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches The method of claim 1.
Wijting teaches wherein activating the one or more sidelink component carriers further
comprises disabling sidelink communications with a second UE on the one or more sidelink component carriers (Wijting [0059] D1 and D2 may negotiate a carrier aggregation configuration for D2D communication between D1 and D2 in which component carriers #3, #4, and #5 are usable for D2D communication from D1 to D2 and component carriers #3 and #4 are usable for D2D communication from D2 to D1. For purposes of this example, only component carrier #3 may be active for use in the opposite link direction from D2 to D1 (for example, component carrier #4 may be momentarily deactivated for transmissions from D2 to D1), meaning that D2 transmits on component carrier #3 only and D1 receives Transport Blocks on component carrier #3 only. ).
Claim(s) 4, 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wijting in view of Pan and Okvist as applied to claim 3, 12 and 16 above, and further in view of WO 2018228127 A1 by Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches The method of claim 3.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein receiving the indication to at least one of
activate or deactivate the multiple sidelink component carriers further comprises receiving the at least one of the MAC CE or the DCI on a downlink channel from a network entity.
Wang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein receiving the indication to at least one of activate or deactivate the multiple sidelink component carriers further comprises receiving the at least one of the MAC CE or the DCI on a downlink channel from a network entity ( Wang page 14-15, Sidelink carrier aggregation is a direct and effective method to improve the V2X communication data rate of a UE on a sidechain link. As shown in Figure 2,..UE1 and UE2 can perform V2X sidelink communication on carrier frequencies f1 and f4 through side chain carrier aggregation; UE1 and UE3 can perform V2X sidelink communication on carrier frequencies f2 and f1 through side chain carrier aggregation. Taking the UE2 and UE3 sideband carrier aggregation V2X sidelink communication as an example, it is assumed that the sidelink link established on f1 is the main sidelink link (Sidelink Primary link, SL Plink for short), and the other carrier frequency sidelink links added by SL Plink are supplemented. Sidelink Secondary link (SL Slink).
page 31, the UE1 and the UE2 are configured with sideband carrier aggregation, and the eNB controls the activation/deactivation of the SL Slink. As shown in FIG. 7, the specific includes:
Step 701, the eNB configures the SL Slink activation status indication information to the UE1;
the eNB activates/deactivates the MAC control unit (sidelink activation/deactivation) through a sidelink in a MAC PDU (Protocol Data Unit) of a Downlink Shared Channel (DL-SCH). ).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Wang’s above teachings. The motivation is improving the data transmission rate of the V2X communication of the sidechain interface (Wang page 13).
Claims 13 and 17 recite similar limitations of claim 4, are thus rejected under similar rational.
Claim(s) 7 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wijting in view of Pan and Okvist as applied to claim 3 and 16 above, and further in view of US 20140016506 A1 by Gauvreau et al. (hereinafter Gauvreau).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches The method of claim 3.
Although Wijting teaches MAC CE and sidelink component carriers ( Wijting [0071]
cited above in claim 3 rejection. ), Wijting does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one of the MAC CE, the DCI or the SCI implicitly indicate the one or more component carriers to be at least one of activated or deactivated.
Gauvreau in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the at least one of the MAC CE, the DCI or the SCI implicitly indicate the one or more component carriers to be at least one of activated or deactivated (Gauvreau [0033] The indication of whether the command corresponds to activation or deactivation may be performed by setting a bit or it may be implicit based on the current activation or deactivation state of the carrier. Alternatively, it may be based on the carrier the MAC PDU was received on. For example, if the MAC CE was contained in a MAC PDU received in a given carrier, (e.g., an "anchor carrier" or a "serving cell"), then the command is understood to be for activation of the carrier indicated in the MAC CE. If the MAC CE was contained in a MAC PDU received in a carrier, (possibly without explicit indication of a carrier within the MAC CE itself), then the command is understood to be a deactivation for the carrier the MAC PDU was received from, or alternatively a deactivation for a pre-defined set of carriers. ).
Therefore Wijting in combination with Gauvreau teaches wherein the at least one of the MAC CE, the DCI or the SCI implicitly indicate the one or more sidelink component carriers to be at least one of activated or deactivated.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Gauvreau’s above teachings. The motivation is providing savings of power consumption (Gauvreau [0004]).
Claim 20 recites similar limitations of claim 7, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Conclusion
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476