DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on March 12, 2024 (3/12/2024) and May 16, 2025 (5/16/2025) are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected method for processing at least one signal with at least two duplexers. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 28, 2026 (5/28/2026).
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the amendment filed on May 28, 2026 (5/28/2026).
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claims 19-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 17 and 18 are being treated under 112(f) as they disclose “first means for coupling,” “second means for coupling,” and “means for splitting and phase shifting”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 9-10, 12, and 16-18 ] are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ella et al. (US 2016/0056945).
Regarding Claim 1, Ella teaches an apparatus comprising: (Par. [0044] “The first transmission port 2, the second transmission port 4, the first receiving port 3 and the second receiving port 5 are configured to be connected with a front-end circuit, e.g., a front-end circuit of a mobile communication device”),
at least one duplexer circuit arrangement comprising: (Fig. 1, Par. [0044] “FIG. 1 shows a circuit arrangement 1 according to a first embodiment”),
a first port, a second port, and a third port; (Fig. 1, Par. [0044] “The circuit arrangement 1 comprises an antenna port 6, a first transmission port 2, a second transmission port 4, a first receiving port 3 and a second receiving port 5”),
a first duplexer and a second duplexer; (Fig. 1, Par. [0053] “Furthermore, the circuit arrangement 1 comprises two quadplexers 12, 13. Each quadplexer 12, 13 comprises a first duplexer 14 and a second duplexer 15”),
a first hybrid coupled between the first port and the first duplexer and between the first port and the second duplexer; (Fig. 1, See 8, Par. [0054] “In particular, the first duplexer 14 of each of the quadplexers 12, 13 is connected to the 90 degree hybrid 8 being connected to the first transmission port 2 and to the 90 degree hybrid 9 being connected to the first receiving port 3”),
a second hybrid coupled between the second port and the second duplexer and between the second port and the first duplexer; (Fig. 1, See 10, Par. [0058] “In particular, the second duplexers 15 of each of the quadplexers 12, 13 are connected to the 90 degree hybrid 10 being connected to the second transmission port 4 and to the 90 degree hybrid 11 being connected to the second receiving port 5”),
and a splitter and phase shifter circuit coupled between the third port and the first duplexer and the second duplexer (Fig. 1, See 7, III, and IV, Par. [0049] “Each of the 90 degree hybrid 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 is configured to split an input signal into two output signals that are phase shifted relative to each other”).
Regarding Claim 2, Ella teaches the invention of Claim 1, further teaching the splitter and phase shifter circuit comprises a first path and a second path; (Fig. 1, See 7, III, and IV, Par. [0049] “Each of the 90 degree hybrid 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 is configured to split an input signal into two output signals that are phase shifted relative to each other” and Par. [0050] “An input signal entering one of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 at port I is split up into two output signals that are outputted at ports III and IV”),
and the splitter and phase shifter circuit is configured to shift a relative phase between a first signal propagating on the first path and a second signal propagating on the second path (Fig. 1, See 7, III, and IV, Par. [0050] “An input signal entering one of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 at port I is split up into two output signals that are outputted at ports III and IV and that are phase shifted relative to each other by 90 degrees”).
Regarding Claim 4, Ella teaches the invention of Claim 1, further teaching wherein the splitter and phase shifter circuit comprises: a signal splitter coupled to the third port; (Fig. 1, See 6, 7, and I, Par. [0052] Moreover, each of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 is connected to one of the antenna port 6, the first transmission port 2, the second transmission port 4, the first receiving port 3 and the second receiving port 5”),
a first path coupled between the signal splitter and the first duplexer; (Fig. 1, See III, Par. [0065] “The circuit arrangement 1 is configured such that a signal received at the antenna port 6 is split up into two sub-signals by the 90 degree hybrid 7. The 90 degree hybrid 7 provides two output signals which travel along two different paths”),
a second path coupled between the signal splitter and the second duplexer; (Fig. 1, See IV, Par. [0065] “The circuit arrangement 1 is configured such that a signal received at the antenna port 6 is split up into two sub-signals by the 90 degree hybrid 7. The 90 degree hybrid 7 provides two output signals which travel along two different paths”),
and at least one signal phase shifter coupled along at least one of the first path or the second path (Fig. 1, 2a, See 21 and 22 Par. [0049] “Each of the 90 degree hybrid 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 is configured to split an input signal into two output signals that are phase shifted relative to each other. Preferably, the two output signals are phase shifted by roughly 90 degrees relative to each other”).
Regarding Claim 5, Ella teaches the invention of Claim 1, where Ella further teaches the at least one signal phase shifter comprises a first signal phase shifter and a second signal phase shifter; (Fig. 1, Par. [0050] “Each of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 comprises a port I, a port II, a port III and a port IV. An input signal entering one of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 at port I is split up into two output signals that are outputted at ports III and IV and that are phase shifted relative to each other by 90 degrees”),
the first path comprises the first signal phase shifter; (Fig. 1, See III, Par. [0050] “An input signal entering one of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 at port I is split up into two output signals that are outputted at ports III and IV and that are phase shifted relative to each other by 90 degrees”),
and the second path comprises the second signal phase shifter. (Fig. 1, See IV, Par. [0050] “An input signal entering one of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 at port I is split up into two output signals that are outputted at ports III and IV and that are phase shifted relative to each other by 90 degrees”).
Regarding Claim 9, Ella teaches the invention of Claim 1, further teaching the first hybrid is configured to couple a signal, a first signal component, and a second signal component; (Par. [0049] “Each of the 90 degree hybrid 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 is configured to split an input signal into two output signals that are phase shifted relative to each other. Preferably, the two output signals are phase shifted by roughly 90 degrees relative to each other. Further, each of the 90 degree hybrid 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 is configured to combine two input signals to a single output signal wherein one of the input signals is phase shifted before the two signals are combined”),
the signal has a phase; (Par. [0050] “Further, two signals that enter one of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 at the ports III and IV are combined wherein one of the signals is phase shifted by 90 degrees and the combined signal is outputted at port I”),
the first signal component has a first phase; (Par. [0050] Each of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 comprises a port I, a port II, a port III and a port IV. An input signal entering one of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 at port I is split up into two output signals that are outputted at ports III and IV and that are phase shifted relative to each other by 90 degrees. Further, two signals that enter one of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 at the ports III and IV are combined wherein one of the signals is phase shifted by 90 degrees and the combined signal is outputted at port I”),
the second signal component has a second phase; (Par. [0050] “Each of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 comprises a port I, a port II, a port III and a port IV. An input signal entering one of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 at port I is split up into two output signals that are outputted at ports III and IV and that are phase shifted relative to each other by 90 degrees. Further, two signals that enter one of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 at the ports III and IV are combined wherein one of the signals is phase shifted by 90 degrees and the combined signal is outputted at port I”),
and the first phase and the second phase are each substantially different from the phase (Par. [0050] “Each of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 comprises a port I, a port II, a port III and a port IV. An input signal entering one of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 at port I is split up into two output signals that are outputted at ports III and IV and that are phase shifted relative to each other by 90 degrees. Further, two signals that enter one of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 at the ports III and IV are combined wherein one of the signals is phase shifted by 90 degrees and the combined signal is outputted at port I”).
Regarding Claim 10, Ella teaches the invention of Claim 9, further teaching the second hybrid is configured to couple a signal, a first signal component, and a second signal component; (Par. [0049] “Each of the 90 degree hybrid 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 is configured to split an input signal into two output signals that are phase shifted relative to each other. Preferably, the two output signals are phase shifted by roughly 90 degrees relative to each other. Further, each of the 90 degree hybrid 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 is configured to combine two input signals to a single output signal wherein one of the input signals is phase shifted before the two signals are combined”),
the signal of the second hybrid has a phase; (Par. [0050] “Each of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 comprises a port I, a port II, a port III and a port IV. An input signal entering one of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 at port I is split up into two output signals that are outputted at ports III and IV and that are phase shifted relative to each other by 90 degrees. Further, two signals that enter one of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 at the ports III and IV are combined wherein one of the signals is phase shifted by 90 degrees and the combined signal is outputted at port I”),
the first signal component of the second hybrid has a first phase; (Par. [0050] “Each of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 comprises a port I, a port II, a port III and a port IV. An input signal entering one of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 at port I is split up into two output signals that are outputted at ports III and IV and that are phase shifted relative to each other by 90 degrees. Further, two signals that enter one of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 at the ports III and IV are combined wherein one of the signals is phase shifted by 90 degrees and the combined signal is outputted at port I”),
the second signal component of the second hybrid has a second phase; (Par. [0050] “Each of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 comprises a port I, a port II, a port III and a port IV. An input signal entering one of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 at port I is split up into two output signals that are outputted at ports III and IV and that are phase shifted relative to each other by 90 degrees. Further, two signals that enter one of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 at the ports III and IV are combined wherein one of the signals is phase shifted by 90 degrees and the combined signal is outputted at port I”),
and the first phase and the second phase of the second hybrid are each substantially different from the phase of the second hybrid by an amount that is approximately equivalent to how much the first phase and the second phase of the first hybrid are each substantially different from the phase of the first hybrid (Par. [0050] “Each of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 comprises a port I, a port II, a port III and a port IV. An input signal entering one of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 at port I is split up into two output signals that are outputted at ports III and IV and that are phase shifted relative to each other by 90 degrees. Further, two signals that enter one of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 at the ports III and IV are combined wherein one of the signals is phase shifted by 90 degrees and the combined signal is outputted at port I”).
Regarding Claim 12, Ella teaches the invention of Claim 1, further teaching the first hybrid and the second hybrid are configured to operate with a global phase offset (Par. [0049] “Each of the 90 degree hybrid 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 is configured to split an input signal into two output signals that are phase shifted relative to each other. Preferably, the two output signals are phase shifted by roughly 90 degrees relative to each other”).
Regarding Claim 16, Ella teaches the invention of Claim 1, further teaching a radio-frequency front-end comprising the at least one duplexer circuit arrangement (Par. [0044] “The first transmission port 2, the second transmission port 4, the first receiving port 3 and the second receiving port 5 are configured to be connected with a front-end circuit, e.g., a front-end circuit of a mobile communication device”).
Regarding Claim 17, Ella teaches an apparatus comprising: (Par. [0044] “The first transmission port 2, the second transmission port 4, the first receiving port 3 and the second receiving port 5 are configured to be connected with a front-end circuit, e.g., a front-end circuit of a mobile communication device”),
at least one duplexer circuit arrangement comprising: (Fig. 1, Par. [0044] “FIG. 1 shows a circuit arrangement 1 according to a first embodiment”),
a first port, a second port, and a third port; (Fig. 1, Par. [0044] “The circuit arrangement 1 comprises an antenna port 6, a first transmission port 2, a second transmission port 4, a first receiving port 3 and a second receiving port 5”),
a first duplexer and a second duplexer; (Fig. 1, Par. [0053] “Furthermore, the circuit arrangement 1 comprises two quadplexers 12, 13. Each quadplexer 12, 13 comprises a first duplexer 14 and a second duplexer 15”),
a first means for coupling the first port to the first duplexer and the second duplexer; (Fig. 1, See 8, Par. [0054] “In particular, the first duplexer 14 of each of the quadplexers 12, 13 is connected to the 90 degree hybrid 8 being connected to the first transmission port 2 and to the 90 degree hybrid 9 being connected to the first receiving port 3”),
a second means for coupling the second port to the second duplexer and the first duplexer; (Fig. 1, See 10, Par. [0058] “In particular, the second duplexers 15 of each of the quadplexers 12, 13 are connected to the 90 degree hybrid 10 being connected to the second transmission port 4 and to the 90 degree hybrid 11 being connected to the second receiving port 5”),
and means for splitting and phase shifting at least one signal propagating between the third port and the first means for coupling and the second means for coupling (Fig. 1, See 7, III, and IV, Par. [0049] “Each of the 90 degree hybrid 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 is configured to split an input signal into two output signals that are phase shifted relative to each other”).
Regarding Claim 18, Ella teaches the invention of Claim 17, further teaching the means for splitting and phase shifting at least one signal comprises: means for phase shifting and means for combining at least two signal component components (Fig. 1, See 7, III, and IV, Par. [0049] “Each of the 90 degree hybrid 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 is configured to split an input signal into two output signals that are phase shifted relative to each other” and Par. [0050] “Further, two signals that enter one of the 90 degree hybrids 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 at the ports III and IV are combined wherein one of the signals is phase shifted by 90 degrees and the combined signal is outputted at port I”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ella et al. (US 2016/0056945) in view of Pehlke et al. (US 2022/0329269).
Regarding Claim 3, Ella teaches the invention of Claim 1, further teaching the third port is configured to be coupled to an antenna (Par. [0044] FIG. 1 shows a circuit arrangement 1 according to a first embodiment. The circuit arrangement 1 comprises an antenna port 6”).
Ella, however, does not explicitly teach the first port is configured to be coupled to an output of a power amplifier; and the second port is configured to be coupled to an input of a low-noise amplifier.
In the same field of endeavor, Pehlke teaches the first port is configured to be coupled to an output of a power amplifier; (Fig. 4, See 102, Par. [0090] “As shown in FIG. 4, the duplexer circuit 100 is connected between a transmit (Tx) port 102, a receive (Rx) port 104, and an antenna (ANT) port 106. The transmit port 102 includes one or more power amplifiers (PAs) 843 configured to amplify an RF signal and provide the amplified RF signal to an antenna connected to the antenna port 106”), and
the second port is configured to be coupled to an input of a low-noise amplifier; (Fig. 2, See 812, Fig. 4, see 104, Par. [0069] “The front end system 803 aids is conditioning signals transmitted to and/or received from the antennas 804. In the illustrated embodiment, the front end system 803 includes antenna tuning circuitry 810, power amplifiers (PAs) 811, low noise amplifiers (LNAs) 812” and Par. [0090] “Although not illustrated, the receive port 104 may include one or more LNAs (e.g., the LNAs 812 of FIG. 2)”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Pehlke’s power amplifiers with Ella’s circuit arrangement to reduce signal leakage during performance.
Regarding Claim 13 Ella teaches the invention of Claim 1, but does not teach an acoustic filter die comprising at least one acoustic filter, the first duplexer comprising the at least one acoustic filter; and a load coupled to the first hybrid, the load comprising a resistor incorporated into the acoustic filter die.
In the same field of endeavor, Pehlke teaches an acoustic filter die comprising at least one acoustic filter, the first duplexer comprising the at least one acoustic filter; (Par. [0091] “The duplexer circuit 100 includes a duplexer 108 including a transmit (Tx) filter 108a and a receive (Rx) filter 108b coupled together at a common node, such as an antenna node coupled to the antenna port 106… In some implementations, the duplexer 108 can be implemented as a surface acoustic wave (SAW) duplexer”),
and a load coupled to the first hybrid, the load comprising a resistor incorporated into the acoustic filter die (Fig. 7, See 136, 138, and 140 Par. [0103] “In addition, each of the transmit, antenna, and receive hybrid splitters 130-134 are connected to ground via a corresponding one of the first to third resistors 136-140”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Pehlke’s acoustic filter with Ella’s circuit arrangement to reduce signal leakage during performance.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ella et al. (US 2016/0056945) in view of Beaudin et al. (US 2022/0158686).
Regarding Claim 6, Ella teaches the invention of Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach a load; a first capacitor; and a second capacitor; the first hybrid comprises a first hybrid port, a second hybrid port, a third hybrid port, and a fourth hybrid port; the first hybrid port is coupled to the first duplexer; the second hybrid port is coupled to the second duplexer; the third hybrid port is coupled to the first port; the fourth hybrid port is coupled to the load; the first capacitor is coupled between the first hybrid port and the fourth hybrid port; and the second capacitor is coupled between the second hybrid port and the third hybrid port.
In the same field of endeavor, Beaudin teaches a load; (Fig. 3-1, See 310-4 and 308 “Load Component” and Par. [0064] “In some cases, the filter 130-1 includes a load component 308”),
a first capacitor; (Par. [0085] “In FIG. 5-1, at 500-1 generally, an example hybrid coupler 302 includes two inductors L1 and L2 and six capacitors C1, C2, C3, C4, C5, and C6”),
and a second capacitor; (Par. [0085] “In FIG. 5-1, at 500-1 generally, an example hybrid coupler 302 includes two inductors L1 and L2 and six capacitors C1, C2, C3, C4, C5, and C6”),
the first hybrid comprises a first hybrid port, a second hybrid port, a third hybrid port, and a fourth hybrid port; (Fig. 3-1, See 302 “Hybrid Coupler” and See 310-1, 310-2, 310-3, 310-4, Par. [0062] “The hybrid coupler 302 includes a first hybrid port 310-1, a second hybrid port 310-2, a third hybrid port 310-3, and a fourth hybrid port 310-4”),
the first hybrid port is coupled to the first duplexer; (Fig. 3-1, See 310-2, Par. [0061] “The filter 130 can also include multiple filters to facilitate bidirectional communication, and such a filter can be implemented as at least part of a duplexer” and Par. [0063] “The first filter unit 306-1 is coupled between the second hybrid port 310-2 and the signal combiner 304”)
the second hybrid port is coupled to the second duplexer; (Fig. 3-1, See 310-3, Par. [0061] “The filter 130 can also include multiple filters to facilitate bidirectional communication, and such a filter can be implemented as at least part of a duplexer” and Par. [0063] “The second filter unit 306-2 is coupled between the third hybrid port 310-3 and the signal combiner 304”),
the third hybrid port is coupled to the first port; (Fig. 3-1, See 310-1 Par. [0063] “In example implementations, the first hybrid port 310-1 is coupled to the first filter port 210-1”)
the fourth hybrid port is coupled to the load; (Fig. 3-1, See 310-4 and 308 “Load Component” and Par. [0064] “In some cases, the filter 130-1 includes a load component 308. The load component 308 is coupled between the fourth hybrid port 310-4 and a ground 314”)
the first capacitor is coupled between the first hybrid port and the fourth hybrid port;
(Fig. 5-1, See C5, Par. [0085] “The capacitor C5 is coupled between the second hybrid port 310-2 and the fourth hybrid port 310-4”),
and the second capacitor is coupled between the second hybrid port and the third hybrid port (Fig. 5-1, See C2, Par. [0085] “The capacitor C2 is coupled between the first hybrid port 310-1 and the third hybrid port 310-3”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Beaudin’s hybrid port structure with Ella’s hybrids to better allow operation at higher frequencies.
Claims 7-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ella et al. (US 2016/0056945) in view of Beaudin et al. (US 2022/0158686) and in further view of Choi et al. (US 2025/0253817).
Regarding Claim 7, Ella in view of Beaudin teaches the invention of Claim 6, where Beaudin further teaches a third capacitor; (Par. [0085] “In FIG. 5-1, at 500-1 generally, an example hybrid coupler 302 includes two inductors L1 and L2 and six capacitors C1, C2, C3, C4, C5, and C6”),
and a fourth capacitor; (Par. [0085] “In FIG. 5-1, at 500-1 generally, an example hybrid coupler 302 includes two inductors L1 and L2 and six capacitors C1, C2, C3, C4, C5, and C6”).
Ella in view of Beaudin, however, does not explicitly teach the third capacitor is coupled between the first hybrid port and the third hybrid port; and the fourth capacitor is coupled between the second hybrid port and the fourth hybrid port.
In the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches the third capacitor is coupled between the first hybrid port and the third hybrid port; (Fig. 7, See HCC1 Par. [0058] “In addition, the hybrid coupler 400 may include a first coupler capacitor HCC1, a second coupler capacitor HCC2” and Par. [0064] “The capacitor HCC1 of the hybrid coupler 400 may be connected between the first port P1 and the third port P3”),
and the fourth capacitor is coupled between the second hybrid port and the fourth hybrid port (Fig. 7, See HCC2 Par. [0058] “In addition, the hybrid coupler 400 may include a first coupler capacitor HCC1, a second coupler capacitor HCC2” and Par. [0064] “The capacitor HCC2 may be connected between the second port P2 and the fourth port P4”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Choi’s hybrid structure with Beaudin’s hybrid structure and Ella’s duplexer circuit to maintain performance while allowing for a reduced overall duplexer circuit size.
Regarding Claim 8, Ella teaches the invention of Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach a load; a first capacitor; and a second capacitor; the first hybrid comprises a first hybrid port, a second hybrid port, a third hybrid port, and a fourth hybrid port; the first hybrid port is coupled to the first duplexer; the second hybrid port is coupled to the second duplexer; the third hybrid port is coupled to the first port; the fourth hybrid port is coupled to the load.
In the same field of endeavor, Beaudin teaches the at least one duplexer circuit arrangement further comprises: a load; (Fig. 3-1, See 310-4 and 308 “Load Component” and Par. [0064] “In some cases, the filter 130-1 includes a load component 308”)
a first capacitor; (Par. [0085] “In FIG. 5-1, at 500-1 generally, an example hybrid coupler 302 includes two inductors L1 and L2 and six capacitors C1, C2, C3, C4, C5, and C6”),
and a second capacitor; (Par. [0085] “In FIG. 5-1, at 500-1 generally, an example hybrid coupler 302 includes two inductors L1 and L2 and six capacitors C1, C2, C3, C4, C5, and C6”),
the first hybrid comprises a first hybrid port, a second hybrid port, a third hybrid port, and a fourth hybrid port; (Fig. 3-1, See 302 “Hybrid Coupler” and See 310-1, 310-2, 310-3, 310-4, Par. [0062] “The hybrid coupler 302 includes a first hybrid port 310-1, a second hybrid port 310-2, a third hybrid port 310-3, and a fourth hybrid port 310-4”),
the first hybrid port is coupled to the first duplexer; (Fig. 3-1, See 310-2, Par. [0061] “The filter 130 can also include multiple filters to facilitate bidirectional communication, and such a filter can be implemented as at least part of a duplexer” and Par. [0063] “The first filter unit 306-1 is coupled between the second hybrid port 310-2 and the signal combiner 304”),
the second hybrid port is coupled to the second duplexer; (Fig. 3-1, See 310-3, Par. [0061] “The filter 130 can also include multiple filters to facilitate bidirectional communication, and such a filter can be implemented as at least part of a duplexer” and Par. [0063] “The second filter unit 306-2 is coupled between the third hybrid port 310-3 and the signal combiner 304”),
the third hybrid port is coupled to the first port; (Fig. 3-1, See 310-1 Par. [0063] “In example implementations, the first hybrid port 310-1 is coupled to the first filter port 210-1”),
the fourth hybrid port is coupled to the load; (Fig. 3-1, See 310-4 and 308 “Load Component” and Par. [0064] “In some cases, the filter 130-1 includes a load component 308. The load component 308 is coupled between the fourth hybrid port 310-4 and a ground 314”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Beaudin’s hybrid structure with Ella’s hybrids to better allow operation at higher frequencies.
Ella in view of Beaudin, however, does not explicitly teach the first capacitor is coupled between the first hybrid port and the third hybrid port; and the second capacitor is coupled between the second hybrid port and the fourth hybrid port.
In the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches the first capacitor is coupled between the first hybrid port and the third hybrid port; (Fig. 7, See HCC1 Par. [0058] “In addition, the hybrid coupler 400 may include a first coupler capacitor HCC1, a second coupler capacitor HCC2” and Par. [0064] “The capacitor HCC1 of the hybrid coupler 400 may be connected between the first port P1 and the third port P3”),
and the second capacitor is coupled between the second hybrid port and the fourth hybrid port (Fig. 7, See HCC2 Par. [0058] “In addition, the hybrid coupler 400 may include a first coupler capacitor HCC1, a second coupler capacitor HCC2” and Par. [0064] “The capacitor HCC2 may be connected between the second port P2 and the fourth port P4”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Choi’s hybrid structure with Beaudin’s hybrid structure and Ella’s duplexer circuit to maintain performance while allowing for a reduced overall duplexer circuit size.
Regarding Claim 11, Ella in view of Beaudin and in further view of Choi teaches the invention of Claim 8, where Beaudin further teaches, a third capacitor; (Par. [0085] “In FIG. 5-1, at 500-1 generally, an example hybrid coupler 302 includes two inductors L1 and L2 and six capacitors C1, C2, C3, C4, C5, and C6”),
and a fourth capacitor; (Par. [0085] “In FIG. 5-1, at 500-1 generally, an example hybrid coupler 302 includes two inductors L1 and L2 and six capacitors C1, C2, C3, C4, C5, and C6”),
the third capacitor is coupled between the first hybrid port and the fourth hybrid port; (Fig. 5-1, See C5, Par. [0085] “The capacitor C5 is coupled between the second hybrid port 310-2 and the fourth hybrid port 310-4”),
and the fourth capacitor is coupled between the second hybrid port and the fourth third hybrid port (Fig. 5-1, See C2, Par. [0085] “The capacitor C2 is coupled between the first hybrid port 310-1 and the third hybrid port 310-3”).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ella et al. (US 2016/0056945) in view of Pehlke et al. (US 2022/0329269) in further view of Hsiao et al. (US 2022/0158624).
Regarding Claim 14, Ella in view of Pehlke teaches the invention of Claim 13, but does not teach wherein the resistor comprises a meandered line disposed at least one of in or on a laminate of the acoustic filter die.
In the same field of endeavor, Hsiao teaches the resistor comprises a meandered line disposed at least one of in or on a laminate of the acoustic filter die.
(Fig. 9-10, Par. [0058] “In some embodiments, the acoustic-wave ladder filter 270 is used for a diplexer 912, and further includes a piezoelectric substrate 278. The resistance value 42G ranges from 5 Ohms to 50 Ohms Each of the first series resonator 590, the shunt circuit 700 and the grounding terminal 710 is disposed on the piezoelectric substrate 278” and Par. [0059] “The functional circuit 400 is formed by a conductive line structure 450. For example, the conductive line structure 450 has a first physical structure 452 physically forming the resistor 420, and is one selected from a group consisting of a bifilar coil, an incorporated meander coil and a strip line coil”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hsiao’s meandered coil resistor with Ella’s duplexer circuit and Pehlke’s acoustic filter to improve the performance of an acoustic filter in a duplexer circuit.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ella et al. (US 2016/0056945) in view of Pehlke et al. (US 2022/0329269) in further view of Dutta et al. (US 2024/0039769).
Regarding Claim 15, Ella in view of Pehlke teaches the invention of Claim 13, but does not teach wherein the load comprises a capacitor coupled in parallel with the resistor.
In the same field of endeavor, Dutta teaches the load comprises a capacitor coupled in parallel with the resistor (Fig. 1B & 1D, Par. [0031] “FIGS. 1A-D illustrate four examples of such loads. In the example of FIG. 1A, the load is a resistor. In the example of FIG. 1B, the load includes an inductor and a resistor electrically coupled in series, and a capacitor electrically coupled in parallel with the inductor and the resistor… In the example of FIG. 1D, the load includes an inductor, a resistor, and a capacitor, all electrically coupled in parallel”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Dutta’s load with Ella’s duplexer circuit and Pehlke’s acoustic filter to improve the load performance in a duplexer circuit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wyville et al. (US 2017/0222687) discloses “The duplex filter 152 has a transmit port 160, a receive port 162, and an antenna port 164. The transmit port 160 of the duplex filter 152 corresponds to the first transmit port 136 of the duplexer system 128. The receive port 162 of the duplex filter 152 is coupled to a first port 166 of the hybrid coupler 158, and the antenna port 164 of the duplex filter 152 is coupled to a first port 168 of the hybrid coupler 156” (Par. [0055]).
/J.N.D./ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641