Prosecution History Summary
Claims 19, 21-22, and 24-32 are cancelled.
Claims 20 and 23 are withdrawn
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-18) in the reply filed on 6/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 20 and 23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/27/2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be amended in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(b) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. Any amendment of inventorship must be accompanied by a request under 37 CFR 1.48(b) and by the fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. A complete reply to the final rejection must include cancellation of nonelected claims or other appropriate action (37 CFR 1.144) See MPEP § 821.01.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “104” (figure 1). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “102” in figure 1B, 3 is shown to be replacing reference character “104” from figure 1A. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cermelli et al. (BRPI 0911567 B1).
As per claim 1, Cermelli teaches a floating wind power platform for deep sea deployment, comprising:
-a base support structure comprising:
-a tower base support (Cermelli: 115);
-a pair of forward stabilizers (Cermelli: 103);
-a pair of forward struts coupled between the pair of forward stabilizers and the tower base support (Cermelli: 115);
-an aft stabilizer (Cermelli: 102);
-an aft strut coupled between aft stabilizer and the tower base support (Cermelli: 115);
-a set of floats comprising:
-a pair of forward floats respectively coupled to the pair of forward stabilizers via respective forward tension members (Carmelli: para. 12; Floatation modules can be attached to the one or more columns i.e. struts);
-an aft float coupled to the aft stabilizer via an aft tension member (Carmelli: para. 12; Floatation modules can be attached to the one or more columns i.e. struts);
-a tower extending from the tower base support (Cermelli: 111); and
-a wind turbine attached to the tower (Cermelli [brpi0911567b1]: 101). Examiner notes that the prior art contains multiple drawing reference discrepancies, but based on the present specification and drawings description of the structure, Examiner points to the proper elements.
As per claim 2, the wind power platform of claim 1 is as described. Cermelli teaches wherein the aft strut extends substantially parallel to an axis rotation of the wind turbine (Cermelli: figure 6).
As per claim 3, the wind power platform of claim 2 is as described. Cermelli teaches wherein the pair of forward struts extend in substantially opposite lateral directions from the tower base support and are substantially perpendicular to the aft strut (Cermelli: figure 6).
As per claim 4, the wind power platform of claim 1 is as described. Cermelli teaches wherein the pair of forward stabilizers and the aft stabilizer comprise drag plates that interact with surrounding sea water to provide stabilization (Cermelli: 107; pg. 8; Using water trap places reduces movement of rolling to dampen the roll and pitch movements of the platform.).
As per claim 5, the wind power platform of claim 1 is as described. Cermelli teaches
-wherein the pair of forward tension members couple to the pair of forward stabilizers via respective forward flexible joints that enable lateral motion of the pair of forward floats relative to the pair of forward stabilizers (Cermelli: para. 9; Other columns work to stabilize the platform and keep the tower in vertical alignment.), and
-wherein the aft tension member couples to the aft stabilizer via an aft flexible joint that enables lateral motion of aft float relative to the aft stabilizer (Cermelli: para. 17; The floating platform includes an internal ballast system to align the wind turbine and reduce fluctuation.).
As per claim 6, the wind power platform of claim 1 is as described. Cermelli teaches further comprising: an orientation control system to sense an orientation of the wind turbine relative to a wind direction and orient the floating wind power platform such that the wind turbine is directed into the wind direction (Cermelli: pg. 5; Wind direction system includes a wind direction sensor to detect misalignment and yaw control system.).
As per claim 7, the wind power platform of claim 6 is as described. Cermelli wherein the orientation control system comprises:
-one or more sensors to generate sensor data indicative of the wind direction (Cermelli: pg. 5; Wind direction sensor detects any misalignment);
-one or more propellers (Cermelli: 101); and
-control electronics to control the one or more propellers based on the sensor data (Cermelli: pg. 5-6; Turbine blades are coupled to the hub and the controller based on wind direction sensor can drive a yaw motor that turns the nacelle, hub, and turbine blades.).
As per claim 8, the wind power platform of claim 7 is as described. Cermelli teaches wherein the one or more propellers comprises: a pair of aft-facing propellers positioned laterally on either side of the tower (Cermelli: figure 6).
As per claim 10, the wind power platform of claim 1 is as described. Cermelli teaches further comprising: a diagonal support coupled between the tower and the aft strut (Cermelli: figure 6).
As per claim 11, the wind power platform of claim 1 is as described. Cermelli teaches wherein at least one of the pair of forward struts, the aft strut, and the tower comprise post-tensioned concrete (Cermelli: pg. 2, para. 3).
As per claim 12, the wind power platform of claim 1 is as described. Cermelli teaches wherein at least one of the pair of forward struts, the aft strut, and the tower comprise tubular structures (Cermelli: para. 43).
As per claim 13, the wind power platform of claim 1 is as described. Cermelli teaches wherein the floating wind power platform is configured to be deployed in an unmoored free floating environment (Cermelli: pg. 2, para. 3; Seabed).
As per claim 14, the wind power platform of claim 1 is as described. Cermelli teaches wherein the pair of forward floats and the aft float are configured to float at sea level surface, wherein the forward stabilizers, the aft stabilizer, the pair of forward struts, and the aft strut are submerged at a depth between 40-120 meters below the sea level surface (Cermelli: pg. 2, para. 3), and wherein the wind turbine is attached to the tower at a height between 100-250 meters above the sea level surface (Cermelli: para. 85; Table 2).
As per claim 15, the wind power platform of claim 1 is as described. Cermelli teaches wherein the pair of forward stabilizers and the aft stabilizer each comprise disks having diameters between 30-50 meters and heights between 2-10 meters (Carmelli: para. 85; Table 2).
As per claim 16, the wind power platform of claim 1 is as described. Cermelli teaches wherein a distance between centroids of the forward stabilizers is between 70-150 meters (Cermelli: para. 85; Table 2).
As per claim 17, the wind power platform of claim 1 is as described. Cermelli teaches wherein a length of the aft strut is between 80-200 meters (Cermelli: para. 85; Table 2).
As per claim 18, the wind power platform of claim 1 is as described. Cermelli teaches wherein the wind turbine has a diameter between 200-300 meters (Cermelli: para. 85; Table 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bussemaker et al. – WO 2023/170224 A1 – Teaches a marine structure with a sub structure to provide wind turbine power generation.
Richard Stewart et al. – GB 2613228 A – Teaches a floating structure with a wind turbine tower mount and buoyant body.
/SHEETAL R PAULSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615