DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 22-23, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230179332 A1), hereinafter Hu, in view of Liu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20170104553 A1), hereinafter Liu.
With respect to claim 1, Hu teaches An apparatus for wireless communication ([0007], apparatus), comprising:
a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the apparatus to ([0007], memory coupled to processor and capable of being accessed by processor and storing data): obtain an indication of a resource unit and an indication of a bandwidth ([0007], indication of a resource unit and bandwidth), wherein a first subset of resource units associated with the bandwidth comprises the indicated resource unit ([0030], a transmission bandwidth of 20 MHz, 40 MHz or 80 MHz, bit B56 indicates the RU type as rRU or dRU for a 20 MHz, 40 MHz or 80 MHz bandwidth), the bandwidth being associated with the first subset and a second subset of resource units ([0030], bandwidth being associated with the first subset and a second subset of resource units), wherein each of the resource units of the first subset includes a quantity of tones that is smaller than a quantity of tones of each of the resource units of the second subset ([0030], bandwidth of 20 MHz, 40 MHz or 80 MHz, bit B56 indicates the RU, bandwidth of 160 MHz, each of bits B56 and B57 indicates the RU), and wherein the indicated resource unit comprises a first pair of consecutively populated tones ([0024], a RU with tones that are continuous), a second pair of consecutively populated tones ([0024], a RU with tones that are continuous), and a third pair of consecutively populated tones ([0024], a RU with tones that are continuous); and
output a frame for transmission via the bandwidth and in accordance with the indicated resource unit (fig. 11, [0062-0064], transmit a frame for transmission via the bandwidth and in accordance with the indicated resource unit).
Hu does not explicitly teach a first tone spacing, a second tone spacing, and a third tone spacing between.
However, Liu teaches a first tone spacing, a second tone spacing, and a third tone spacing between ([0038], RU size 26 with tone spacing between).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, a first tone spacing, a second tone spacing, and a third tone spacing between, into the teachings of Hu, in order to LDPC tone mapping for dual subcarrier modulation (DCM) in wireless communications systems (Liu, [0002]).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Hu and Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Hu teaches obtain a trigger frame soliciting the frame, wherein the trigger frame includes the indication of the resource unit and the indication of the bandwidth ([0029], trigger frame indicates the resource unit and indicates the bandwidth), and wherein the frame is output for transmission after obtaining the trigger frame (fig. 11, [0062-0064], the frame is output for transmission after obtaining the trigger frame).
With respect to claim 22, the combination of Hu and Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Hu teaches receive the indication of the resource unit and the indication of the bandwidth ([0007], indication of a resource unit and bandwidth); and transmit the frame via the bandwidth and in accordance with the indicated resource unit (fig. 11, [0062-0064], transmit a frame for transmission via the bandwidth and in accordance with the indicated resource unit) wherein: the apparatus is configured as a wireless station (STA) (fig. 1, [0007, 0027], STA).
With respect to claim 23, Hu teaches An apparatus for wireless communication ([0007], apparatus), comprising:
a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the apparatus to ([0007], memory coupled to processor and capable of being accessed by processor and storing data): output, for transmission, an indication of a resource unit and an indication of a bandwidth ([0007], indication of a resource unit and bandwidth), wherein a first subset of resource units associated with the bandwidth comprises the indicated resource unit ([0030], a transmission bandwidth of 20 MHz, 40 MHz or 80 MHz, bit B56 indicates the RU type as rRU or dRU for a 20 MHz, 40 MHz or 80 MHz bandwidth), the bandwidth being associated with the first subset and a second subset of resource units ([0030], bandwidth being associated with the first subset and a second subset of resource units), wherein each of the resource units of the first subset includes a quantity of tones that is smaller than a quantity of tones of each of the resource units of the second subset ([0030], bandwidth of 20 MHz, 40 MHz or 80 MHz, bit B56 indicates the RU, bandwidth of 160 MHz, each of bits B56 and B57 indicates the RU), and wherein the indicated resource unit comprises a first pair of consecutively populated tones ([0024], a RU with tones that are continuous), a second pair of consecutively populated tones ([0024], a RU with tones that are continuous), and a third pair of consecutively populated tones ([0024], a RU with tones that are continuous); and
obtain a frame via the bandwidth and in accordance with the indicated resource unit (fig. 11, [0062-0064], transmit a frame for transmission via the bandwidth and in accordance with the indicated resource unit).
Hu does not explicitly teach a first tone spacing, a second tone spacing, and a third tone spacing between.
However, Liu teaches a first tone spacing, a second tone spacing, and a third tone spacing between ([0038], RU size 26 with tone spacing between).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, a first tone spacing, a second tone spacing, and a third tone spacing between, into the teachings of Hu, in order to LDPC tone mapping for dual subcarrier modulation (DCM) in wireless communications systems (Liu, [0002]).
With respect to claim 28, this claim recites the apparatus of claim 22, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 29, Hu teaches A method for wireless communication at a wireless node ([0007], a method), comprising:
obtaining an indication of a resource unit and an indication of a bandwidth ([0007], indication of a resource unit and bandwidth), wherein a first subset of resource units associated with the bandwidth comprises the indicated resource unit ([0030], a transmission bandwidth of 20 MHz, 40 MHz or 80 MHz, bit B56 indicates the RU type as rRU or dRU for a 20 MHz, 40 MHz or 80 MHz bandwidth), the bandwidth being associated with the first subset and a second subset of resource units ([0030], bandwidth being associated with the first subset and a second subset of resource units), wherein each of the resource units of the first subset includes a quantity of tones that is smaller than a quantity of tones of each of the resource units of the second subset ([0030], bandwidth of 20 MHz, 40 MHz or 80 MHz, bit B56 indicates the RU, bandwidth of 160 MHz, each of bits B56 and B57 indicates the RU), and wherein the indicated resource unit comprises a first pair of consecutively populated tones ([0024], a RU with tones that are continuous), a second pair of consecutively populated tones ([0024], a RU with tones that are continuous), and a third pair of consecutively populated tones ([0024], a RU with tones that are continuous); and
outputting a frame for transmission via the bandwidth and in accordance with the indicated resource unit (fig. 11, [0062-0064], transmit a frame for transmission via the bandwidth and in accordance with the indicated resource unit).
Hu does not explicitly teach a first tone spacing, a second tone spacing, and a third tone spacing between.
However, Liu teaches a first tone spacing, a second tone spacing, and a third tone spacing between ([0038], RU size 26 with tone spacing between).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, a first tone spacing, a second tone spacing, and a third tone spacing between, into the teachings of Hu, in order to LDPC tone mapping for dual subcarrier modulation (DCM) in wireless communications systems (Liu, [0002]).
With respect to claim 30, Hu teaches A method for wireless communication at a wireless node, comprising ([0007], a method):
outputting, for transmission, an indication of a resource unit and an indication of a bandwidth ([0007], indication of a resource unit and bandwidth), wherein a first subset of resource units associated with the bandwidth comprises the indicated resource unit ([0030], a transmission bandwidth of 20 MHz, 40 MHz or 80 MHz, bit B56 indicates the RU type as rRU or dRU for a 20 MHz, 40 MHz or 80 MHz bandwidth), the bandwidth being associated with the first subset and a second subset of resource units ([0030], bandwidth being associated with the first subset and a second subset of resource units), wherein each of the resource units of the first subset includes a quantity of tones that is smaller than a quantity of tones of each of the resource units of the second subset ([0030], bandwidth of 20 MHz, 40 MHz or 80 MHz, bit B56 indicates the RU, bandwidth of 160 MHz, each of bits B56 and B57 indicates the RU), and wherein the indicated resource unit comprises a first pair of consecutively populated tones ([0024], a RU with tones that are continuous), a second pair of consecutively populated tones ([0024], a RU with tones that are continuous), and a third pair of consecutively populated tones ([0024], a RU with tones that are continuous); and
obtaining a frame via the bandwidth and in accordance with the indicated resource unit (fig. 11, [0062-0064], transmit a frame for transmission via the bandwidth and in accordance with the indicated resource unit).
Hu does not explicitly teach a first tone spacing, a second tone spacing, and a third tone spacing between.
However, Liu teaches a first tone spacing, a second tone spacing, and a third tone spacing between ([0038], RU size 26 with tone spacing between).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, a first tone spacing, a second tone spacing, and a third tone spacing between, into the teachings of Hu, in order to LDPC tone mapping for dual subcarrier modulation (DCM) in wireless communications systems (Liu, [0002]).
Claims 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu, in view of Liu, and further in view of LIM et al. (Pub. No.: US 20250080289 A1), hereinafter LIM.
With respect to claim 13, the combination of Hu and Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Hu wherein the bandwidth is 20 megahertz (MHz), the first subset of resource units including ([0030], bandwidth of 20 MHz).
The combination of Hu and Liu does not explicitly teach a first resource unit having x tones; and a second resource unit having y tones.
However, LIM teaches a first resource unit having x tones; and a second resource unit having y tones ([0224-0225], X-tone RU, and Y-tone RU).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LIM, a first resource unit having x tones; and a second resource unit having y tones, into the teachings of Hu and Liu, in order to provide a method and a device for distributing and allocating multiple resource units in a WLAN system (LIM, [0005]).
With respect to claim 19 the combination of Hu and Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Hu wherein the bandwidth is 80 megahertz (MHz), the first subset of resource units including ([0030], bandwidth of 80 MHz).
The combination of Hu and Liu does not explicitly teach a first resource unit having x tones; and a second resource unit having y tones.
However, LIM teaches a first resource unit having x tones; and a second resource unit having y tones ([0224-0225], X-tone RU, and Y-tone RU).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LIM, a first resource unit having x tones; and a second resource unit having y tones, into the teachings of Hu and Liu, in order to provide a method and a device for distributing and allocating multiple resource units in a WLAN system (LIM, [0005]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu, in view of Liu, in view of LIM, and further in view of Hu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240114462 A1), hereinafter ‘462.
With respect to claim 16, the combination of Hu and Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Hu wherein the bandwidth is 40 megahertz (MHz), the first subset of resource units including ([0030], bandwidth of 40 MHz).
The combination of Hu and Liu does not explicitly teach a first resource unit having x tones; and a second resource unit having y tones.
However, LIM teaches a first resource unit having x tones; and a second resource unit having y tones ([0024-0025], X-tone RU, and Y-tone RU).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LIM, a first resource unit having x tones; and a second resource unit having y tones, into the teachings of Hu and Liu, in order to provide a method and a device for distributing and allocating multiple resource units in a WLAN system (LIM, [0005]).
The combination of Hu and Liu and LIM does not explicitly teach a third resource unit having z tones.
However, ‘462 teaches a third resource unit having z tones ([0024-0025], X-tone RU, and Y-tone RU).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ‘462, a third resource unit having z tones, into the teachings of Hu and Liu and LIM, in order for determining transmit power in a wireless local area network and a related apparatus (‘462, [0002]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-12, 14-15, 17-18, 20-21, and 24-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pub. No.: US 20240195582 A1; “Gong”, ([0011])
/KIET TANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469