Continued Prosecution Application
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nishikiori et al. (5,704,494; hereinafter Nishikiori). Nishikiori discloses a process carrier (10) comprising a first side wall (16) including a first plurality of teeth (Figs. 1, 3 & 5-6; the teeth 16i disposed on the lower beam 16c), and a second side wall (18) including a second plurality of teeth (Figs. 1, 3 & 5-6; the teeth 18i disposed on the lower beam 18c), and the second side wall opposite the first side wall. Nishikiori discloses adjacent teeth of the first plurality of teeth are separated by a gap (d; Fig. 6) at an inner surface of the first side wall, and adjacent teeth of the second plurality of teeth are separated by the gap at an inner surface of the second side wall. The first plurality of teeth (16i) extends along a height direction of the first side wall by half or less of the height direction of the first side wall and the second plurality of teeth (18i) extends along a height direction of the second side wall by half or less of the height direction of the second side wall (Figs. 1 & 5).
As to claims 9-10, Nishikiori discloses a thickness of the gap (d) is at least a thickness of the substrate, and the teeth of each of the first plurality of teeth and the second plurality of teeth each include a first side, a second side, and a tip between the first side and the second side (Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikiori et al. (5,704,494; hereinafter Nishikiori) in view of Buitron (7,600,359) and/or Dressen (5,348,151).
As to claims 1 and 5, Nishikiori discloses a process carrier (10) comprising a first side wall (16) including a first plurality of teeth (Figs. 1, 3 & 5-6; the teeth 16i disposed on the lower beam 16c), and a second side wall (18) including a second plurality of teeth (Figs. 1, 3 & 5-6; the teeth 18i disposed on the lower beam 18c), and the second side wall opposite the first side wall. Nishikiori discloses adjacent teeth of the first plurality of teeth are separated by a gap (d; Fig. 6) at an inner surface of the first side wall, and adjacent teeth of the second plurality of teeth are separated by the gap at an inner surface of the second side wall. The first plurality of teeth (16i) and corresponding teeth (18i) of the second plurality of teeth define a plurality of slot with each slot of the plurality of slots configured to receive one substrate (t; Fig. 6); and when the substrate is seated in one of the plurality of slots, a center of the substrate is positioned towards a tooth end of the process carrier (Fig. 3) with respect to a height direction of the first side wall and the second side wall. Nishikiori also discloses each of the slots having a slot angle (see Fig. 6) and other claimed limitations. However, Nishikiori fails to show each of the slots having a slot angle in a range from 47° to 76° or 50° to 54° as claimed. Buitron discloses a process carrier (10; Figs. 5-10; Figs. 20-31) comprising a first side wall (92) including a first plurality of teeth (96), a second side wall (92) including a second plurality of teeth (96), the second side wall opposite the first side wall; and adjacent teeth of the first plurality of teeth are separated by a gap (102) at an inner surface (108; Fig. 28) of the first side wall, and adjacent teeth of the second plurality of teeth are separated by the gap (102) at an inner surface (108; Fig. 28) of the second side wall. Buitron further discloses the first plurality of teeth and corresponding teeth of the second plurality of teeth define a plurality of slots (102; Fig. 30) with each slot of the plurality of slots configured to receive at least a substrate (D) and each of the slots having a slot angle of 60° (the angle between two sidewalls 100, 100; Fig. 28 & 30) which is equivalent to a slot angle in a range from 47° to 76°. Dressen discloses a process carrier comprising a first side wall (10) including a first plurality of teeth (20), and a second side wall (10’) including a second plurality of teeth (20), the second side wall opposite the first side wall. Dressen further discloses the first plurality of teeth and corresponding teeth of the second plurality of teeth define a plurality of slots (34, 36; Fig. 7) with each slot of the plurality of slots configured to receive a substrate, each of the slots having a slot angle of approximately 60° (column 4, lines 1-4) which is equivalent from 47° to 76°. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of Buitron and/or Dressen to modify the process carrier of Nishikiori so the process carrier is constructed with each of the slots having a slot angle in a range from 47° to 76° or 50° to 54° as claimed because the selection of the specific slot angle such as the slot angle as taught by Buitron or Dressen or Nishikiori or as claimed would have been an obvious matter of design choice inasmuch as the resultant structures will work equally well and/or to provide more convenience for a user to insert the substrate into the slot.
As to claim 2, Nishikiori further discloses the first plurality of teeth (16i) extends along a height direction of the first side wall by half or less of the height direction of the first side wall and the second plurality of teeth (18i) extends along a height direction of the second side wall by half or less of the height direction of the second side wall (Figs. 1 & 5).
As to claims 3 and 4, see Fig. 6 of Nishikiori.
As to claim 6, Nishikiori discloses the process carrier as above having all the limitations as claimed.
As to claims 7 and 8, see claims 1 and 5 above.
As to claims 9 and 10, see Fig. 6 of Nishikiori.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to all rejected claims have been considered but are deemed to be moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/LUAN K BUI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736