Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Buitron (7,600,359). Buitron discloses a process carrier (10; Figs. 5-10; Figs. 20-31) comprising a first side wall (92) including a first plurality of teeth (96), a second side wall (92) including a second plurality of teeth (96), the second side wall opposite the first side wall; and adjacent teeth of the first plurality of teeth are separated by a gap (102) at an inner surface (108; Fig. 28) of the first side wall, and adjacent teeth of the second plurality of teeth are separated by the gap (102) at an inner surface (108; Fig. 28) of the second side wall. Buitron further discloses the first plurality of teeth and corresponding teeth of the second plurality of teeth define a plurality of slots (102; Fig. 30) with each slot of the plurality of slots configured to receive at least a substrate (D) and each of the slots having a slot angle of 60° (the angle between two sidewalls 100, 100; Fig. 28 & 30) which is equivalent to a slot angle in a range from 47° to 76° as claimed.
As to claim 3, Buitron further discloses a thickness of the gap is at least a thickness of the substrate (Fig. 30).
As to claim 4, Buitron discloses the teeth of each of the first plurality of teeth and the second plurality of teeth each includes a first side (100; Fig. 28), a second side (100), and a tip (104) between the first side and the second side.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buitron in view of Nishikiori et al. (5,704,494; hereinafter Nishikiori) and/or Kudlich et al. (4,160,504; hereinafter Kudlich).
As to claims 2 and 6, Buitron discloses the process carrier as above having most of the limitations of the claims except for the first plurality of teeth extends along a height direction of the first side wall by half or less of the height direction of the first side wall and the second plurality of teeth extends along a height direction of the second side wall by half or less of the height direction of the second side wall. Nishikiori teaches a process carrier (10) comprising a first side wall (16) including a first plurality of teeth (16h), and a second side wall (18) including a second plurality of teeth (18h), the second side wall opposite the first side wall. Nishikiori further discloses the first plurality of teeth extends along a height direction of the first side wall by half or less of the height direction of the first side wall and the second plurality of teeth extends along a height direction of the second side wall by half or less of the height direction of the second side wall (Figs. 1 & 5). Kudlich discloses a process carrier comprising a first side wall (1a) including a first plurality of teeth (3), and a second side wall (1a) including a second plurality of teeth (3), the second side wall opposite the first side wall. Kudlich further discloses the first plurality of teeth extends along a height direction of the first side wall by half or less of the height direction of the first side wall and the second plurality of teeth extends along a height direction of the second side wall by half or less of the height direction of the second side wall (Figs. 1-2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of Nishikiori and/or Kudlich to modify the process carrier of Buitron so the process carrier is constructed with a first side wall and a second side wall, and the first plurality of teeth extends along a height direction of the first side wall by half or less of the height direction of the first side wall and the second plurality of teeth extends along a height direction of the second side wall by half or less of the height direction of the second side wall for better protecting the substrates by reducing the contact surface between the substrate and the first and second plurality of teeth and also because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
As to claims 5 and 8, Kudlich further teaches each of a plurality slots comprises a slot angle in a range from 45° to 75° which is equivalent to 50° to 54° as claimed.
As to claim 7, see claim 1 above.
As to claim 9, Buitron further discloses a thickness of the gap is at least a thickness of the substrate (Fig. 30).
As to claim 10, Buitron discloses the teeth of each of the first plurality of teeth and the second plurality of teeth each includes a first side (100; Fig. 28), a second side (100), and a tip (104) between the first side and the second side.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to all rejected claims have been considered but are deemed to be moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP ' 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/LUAN K BUI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736