DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
In response to the Election/Restriction mailed to applicant on 02/12/2026, applicant has made an election of Invention I in the reply filed on 04/27/2026. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
As a result of applicant’s election, claims 1-8 and 10-12 are examined in the present office action, and claim 9 has been withdrawn from further consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. Applicant should not that the non-elected claim 9 will be rejoined if the linking claim 7 is later found as an allowable claim.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings contain seven sheets of figures 1-7 were received on 03/12/2024. These drawings are approved by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it longs more than 150 words and it contains phrase thereof “The present disclosure provides”, see Abstract on line 1. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation is “a light-emitting unit” as recited in each of claims 1 and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
13. Claims 1-8 and 01-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the following reasons.
a) Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite because each of the features thereof “the roughness” (line 16), “the reflectivity” (lines 16-17) and “the transmittance” (lines 17-18) lacks a proper antecedent basis. Should the term of “the” in each of the mentioned features be changed to --a--?
b) Claim 7 is under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite, for the similar reason as set forth in element a) above.
c) The remaining claims are dependent upon the rejected base claims and thus inherit the deficiencies thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
16. Claims 1-8 and 10-12, as best as understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Je et al (Korean reference No. 10-2006-0122415, submitted by applicant) in view of Kusama et al (US Patent No. 11,328,631).
Je et al discloses a projection display device.
a) Regarding present claim 7, the projection display device (100) as described in pages 3-6 and shown in figs. 1-6 comprises the following features:
a1) a digital micromirror device (111) comprises a substrate (111b) and a plurality of micro mirrors (111a) wherein the micro mirrors (111a) form a first area on the substrate and a second area being formed on the substrate wherein the micro mirrors are not disposed/presented, see pages 4-5 and figs. 1, 3-4 and 6;
a2) a light-emitting unit (130) configured to emit an incident light to the digital micromirror device (111) wherein the micro mirrors in the first area reflect the incident light to project image, see pages 4-5 and fig. 5;
a3) an optical shielding element (151) disposed on the digital micromirror device (111) wherein the shield comprises a frame having a hollow portion (151a) and a main body (151b, 151c) surrounding the hollow portion (151a). It is noted that the frame having a L-shaped configuration which comprises a first outer/exterior surface, a second surface opposite the first outer/exterior surface, an inner surface connected the first and second surfaces which inner surface defines/corresponds to the boundary surface of the hollow portion (151a), and a notch, i.e., the recess defined by the interior surfaces of the sections (151b and 151c) of the frame (151) wherein the notch faces toward a direction away from the hollow portion (151a). It is also noted that the second surface of the frame (111b) is attached or in contact to the digital micromirror device (111), see fig. 6.
a4) the outer/exterior surface of the shielding element has a matt-treated coating/layer, see pages 5-6.
The only feature missing from the shielding element (151) provided by Je et al is that Je et al does not positively disclose that the black matt-treated coating/layer has a roughness less than 500 nm. However, an optical element having a plurality of layer wherein the surface of the outer protective layer is a matt-treated coating/layer having a roughness less than 500 nm is known to one skill in the art as can be seen in the optical element provided by Kusama et al.
In particular, Kusama et al discloses a display device (50) having a plurality of layers (23) and teaches that the outer surface of the layer (23h), i.e., the outer layer used to protect the display, is a matt-treated layer with a roughness in the range of (50 nm, 100nm), see column 13, lines 62-65. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shielding element provided by Je et al by making the roughness of the matt-treated layer on the exterior surface of the frame (151) with a level less than 500 nm as suggested by Kusama et al for the purpose of controlling the light distribution of incident light reflected/absorbed by the shielding element.
Regarding the features regarding the reflectivity and the transmittance of the coating layer as recited in the claim on lines 21-22, such features are met/satisfied based on the same structure of the shielding element with a matt-treated layer on the exterior surface of the frame (151b, 151c) which matt-treated layer has a roughness less than 500 nm in the combined product provided by Je et al and Kusama et al.
b) Regarding present claim 1, the method steps are implicitly met by the structure of the combined product resulted from the projection display device provided by Je et al and Kusama et al.
c) Regarding present claims 2 and 8, the matter-treated layer as disclosed by Je et al is a black coating layer, see page 5 of the Je et al art.
d) Regarding present claims 3-4 and 10-11, the frame (151) provided by Je et al is made of SUS, Cu or the like, see Je et al in page 5. It would have been obvious to one skill in the art to utilize any suitable metal material including aluminum to make the frame of the shielding element to meet a particular design.
e) Regarding present claims 5 and 12, the notch, a notch, i.e., the recess defined by the interior surfaces of the sections (151b and 151c) wherein the notch faces toward a direction away from the hollow portion (151a) is in the form of a sectoral cross-section notch/recess.
f) Regarding present claim 6, the frame (151) as provided by Je et al which frame (151b) as shown in figs. 1 and 3-4 comprises lateral first, second, third and fourth plates surround the hollow portion (151a) wherein the first plate, i.e., the left side plate, and the second plate, i.e., the right side plate, disposed opposite the first place with respect to the hollow portion and the third plate, i.e., the upper/top side plate, and the fourth plate, i.e., the lower/bottom plate, disposed opposite the third place with respect to the hollow portion. It is noted that the ends of each of the third and fourth plates are connected to the first and second plates.
Conclusion
17. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The US Patent No. 10,466,389 is cited as of interest in that it discloses an optical shielding element for protecting an optical element wherein the outer surface of the shielding element has a matt-treated layer with roughness less than 50 nm
/THONG Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872