DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The present office action is made in response to the amendment filed by applicant on 08/10/2026. It is noted that in the amendment, applicant has made changes to the abstract and the claims. There was not any change being made to the drawings and the specification.
A) Regarding the abstract, applicant has submitted an amended abstract in a separated sheet; and
B) Regarding the claims, applicant has amended claims 1 and 7.
Response to Arguments
3. The amendments to the abstract and the claims as provided in the amendment of 08/10/2026 and applicant's arguments provided in the mentioned amendment, pages 6-9, have been fully considered and resulted the following conclusions.
A) Regarding the claims, because applicant has not added/canceled any claim into/from the application, thus the pending claims are still claims 1-12 in which claims 1-8 and 10-12 are examined in the present office action, and claim 9 has been withdrawn from further consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention.
Applicant should not that the non-elected claim 9 will be rejoined if the linking claim 7 is later found as an allowable claim.
B) Regarding the objection to the abstract set forth in the office action of 05/21/2026, the amendments to the abstract as provided in the amendment of 08/10/2026, and applicant’s arguments provided in the mentioned amendment, page 6, have been fully considered and are sufficient to overcome the objection to the abstract set forth in the mentioned office action.
C) Regarding the Claim Interpretation set forth in the office action of 05/21/2026, because applicant has not amended the claim(s) and/or provided any argument to overcome the Claim Interpretation, thus the claim Interpretation set forth in the mentioned office action is repeated in the present office action.
D) Regarding the rejections of claims 1-8 and 10-12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, set forth in the office action of 05/21/2026, the amendments to the claims as provided in the amendment of 08/10/2026, and applicant’s arguments provided in the mentioned amendment, page 6, have been fully considered and are sufficient to overcome the rejections of claims 1-8 and 10-12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, set forth in the mentioned office action.
E) Regarding the rejection of claims 1-8 and 10-12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Je et al (Korean reference No. 10-2006-0122415) in view of Kusama et al (US Patent No. 11,328,631) set forth in the office action of 05/21/2026, the amendments to the claims as provided in the amendment of 08/10/2026 are not sufficient to over the mentioned rejection to the claims, and applicant’s arguments provided in the mentioned amendment, pages 6-9, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Thus, claims 1-8 and 10-12 are still rejected by the same arts as provided in the present office action.
E1) Applicant’s argued that the combined arts provided by Je et al and Kusama et al does not disclose the feature that “the notch being recessed from the inner surface toward a direction away from the hollow portion” as recited in present claims 1 and 7, see amendment in page 6. The examiner respectfully disagree with applicant’s viewpoint and respectfully invited the applicant to review the arts and the rejection to the claims set forth in the office action of 05/21/2026.
In particular, Je et al in the combined arts provided by Je et al and Kusama et al discloses
an optical shielding element (151) disposed on the digital micromirror device (111) wherein the shield comprises a frame having a hollow portion (151a) and a main body (151b, 151c) surrounding the hollow portion (151a). It is noted that the frame having a L-shaped configuration which comprises a first outer/exterior surface, a second surface opposite the first outer/exterior surface, an inner surface connected the first and second surfaces which inner surface defines/corresponds to the boundary surface of the hollow portion (151a), and a notch, i.e., the recess defined by the interior surfaces of the sections (151b and 151c) of the frame (151) wherein the notch faces toward a direction away from the hollow portion (151a).
E2) Applicant’s argued that the recess formed/defined by the interior surfaces of the sections (151b and 151c) of the frame (151) wherein the notch faces toward a direction away from the hollow portion (151a) as provided by Je et al is “not configured for reducing the reflection area. In other words, … claimed invention”, see amendment in page 8. While applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant is respectfully invited to review the claims, in particular, claims 1 and 7, with claimed language as being recited/provided. Applicant should note that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the recess is configured for reducing the reflection area) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
E3) Applicant’s argued that the shielding part (151b) of Je et al should be considered as a main body as that of the present claimed invention, not the connection 151c thus the recess of Je et al is not disposed in the light shielding part 151b, see amendment in pages 8-9. The examiner respectfully disagree with applicant’s view for the following reason(s).
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Applicant is respectfully invited the applicant to review the claim(s) with claimed language as being recited/provided. In particular, the shield as claimed comprises “a frame comprising … the hollow portion” see claim 1 on lines 6-20 or claim 7 on lines 9-14. With the claimed language of the shield as claimed then the section having parts (151b, 151c) form the main body of the frame which main body (151b, 151c) defined/surrounded the hollow portion (151a). It is noted that the main body (151b, 151c) of the frame has a L-shaped configuration which comprises a first outer/exterior surface, a second surface opposite the first outer/exterior surface, an inner surface connected the first and second surfaces which inner surface defines/corresponds to the boundary surface of the hollow portion (151a), and a notch, i.e., the recess defined by the interior surfaces of the sections (151b and 151c) of the frame (151) wherein the notch faces toward a direction away from the hollow portion (151a), i.e., the notch expands from the inner surface defines/corresponds to the boundary surface of the hollow portion (151a) to the inner wall of the part/section (151c).
E4) Thus, the features regarding to the shield as claimed in each of claims 1 and 7 is read from the art of Je et al. The art of Kusama et al is used as a secondary reference in combination with the primary reference, i.e., Je et al, for the purpose of showing to one skilled in the art that the black matt-treated coating/layer has a roughness less than 500 nm is known/used in an optical element having a plurality of layer wherein the surface of the outer protective layer is a matt-treated coating/layer having a roughness less than 500 nm.
Claim Interpretation
6. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation is “a light-emitting unit” as recited in each of claims 1 and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Je et al (Korean reference No. 10-2006-0122415) in view of Kusama et al (US Patent No. 11,328,631) (both of record).
Je et al discloses a projection display device.
a) Regarding present claim 7, the projection display device (100) as described in pages 3-6 and shown in figs. 1-6 comprises the following features:
a1) a digital micromirror device (111) comprises a substrate (111b) and a plurality of micro mirrors (111a) wherein the micro mirrors (111a) form a first area on the substrate and a second area being formed on the substrate wherein the micro mirrors are not disposed/presented, see pages 4-5 and figs. 1, 3-4 and 6;
a2) a light-emitting unit (130) configured to emit an incident light to the digital micromirror device (111) wherein the micro mirrors in the first area reflect the incident light to project image, see pages 4-5 and fig. 5;
a3) an optical shielding element (151) disposed on the digital micromirror device (111) wherein the shield comprises a frame having a hollow portion (151a) and a main body (151b, 151c) surrounding the hollow portion (151a). It is noted that the frame having a L-shaped configuration which comprises a first outer/exterior surface, a second surface opposite the first outer/exterior surface, an inner surface connected the first and second surfaces which inner surface defines/corresponds to the boundary surface of the hollow portion (151a), and a notch, i.e., the recess defined by the interior surfaces of the sections (151b and 151c) of the frame (151) wherein the notch faces toward a direction away from the hollow portion (151a). It is also noted that the second surface of the frame (111b) is attached or in contact to the digital micromirror device (111), see fig. 6.
a4) the outer/exterior surface of the shielding element has a matt-treated coating/layer, see pages 5-6.
The only feature missing from the shielding element (151) provided by Je et al is that Je et al does not positively disclose that the black matt-treated coating/layer has a roughness less than 500 nm. However, an optical element having a plurality of layer wherein the surface of the outer protective layer is a matt-treated coating/layer having a roughness less than 500 nm is known to one skill in the art as can be seen in the optical element provided by Kusama et al.
In particular, Kusama et al discloses a display device (50) having a plurality of layers (23) and teaches that the outer surface of the layer (23h), i.e., the outer layer used to protect the display, is a matt-treated layer with a roughness in the range of (50 nm, 100nm), see column 13, lines 62-65. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shielding element provided by Je et al by making the roughness of the matt-treated layer on the exterior surface of the frame (151) with a level less than 500 nm as suggested by Kusama et al for the purpose of controlling the light distribution of incident light reflected/absorbed by the shielding element.
Regarding the features regarding the reflectivity and the transmittance of the coating layer as recited in the claim on lines 21-22, such features are met/satisfied based on the same structure of the shielding element with a matt-treated layer on the exterior surface of the frame (151b, 151c) which matt-treated layer has a roughness less than 500 nm in the combined product provided by Je et al and Kusama et al.
b) Regarding present claim 1, the method steps are implicitly met by the structure of the combined product resulted from the projection display device provided by Je et al and Kusama et al.
c) Regarding present claims 2 and 8, the matter-treated layer as disclosed by Je et al is a black coating layer, see page 5 of the Je et al art.
d) Regarding present claims 3-4 and 10-11, the frame (151) provided by Je et al is made of SUS, Cu or the like, see Je et al in page 5. It would have been obvious to one skill in the art to utilize any suitable metal material including aluminum to make the frame of the shielding element to meet a particular design.
e) Regarding present claims 5 and 12, the notch, a notch, i.e., the recess defined by the interior surfaces of the sections (151b and 151c) wherein the notch faces toward a direction away from the hollow portion (151a) is in the form of a sectoral cross-section notch/recess.
f) Regarding present claim 6, the frame (151) as provided by Je et al which frame (151b) as shown in figs. 1 and 3-4 comprises lateral first, second, third and fourth plates surround the hollow portion (151a) wherein the first plate, i.e., the left side plate, and the second plate, i.e., the right side plate, disposed opposite the first place with respect to the hollow portion and the third plate, i.e., the upper/top side plate, and the fourth plate, i.e., the lower/bottom plate, disposed opposite the third place with respect to the hollow portion. It is noted that the ends of each of the third and fourth plates are connected to the first and second plates.
Conclusion
10. The US Patent No. 8,857,088 and the US Publication No. 2013/0232839 each is cited as of interest in that it discloses a frame for supporting a picture wherein the frame comprises a recess projecting into the interior wall of the frame away from an opening/aperture defined by the interior wall of the frame.
11. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THONG Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872