DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Original Filing filed on 3/12/2024.
3. This Office Action is made Non-Final.
4. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/12/2024, 8/5/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated Kim et al. US 20250261064 hereafter Kim (Note: Provisional Application No. 63/422,377 filed 11/03/2022 includes support throughout the pages 1-106 and is similar to the filed publication).
As to Claim 1. Kim discloses a user equipment (UE) [i.e. Wireless Device or UE] in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising [Fig. 15 (Diagram of Wireless Device-1502), Title, Sections 0055: Early Timing Advance Acquisition. The term wireless device refer to and encompass any mobile device for which wireless communication is needed or usable and may be a including user equipment (UE)]:
a transceiver [TX/RX System-1520/1522 or Antenna] configured to [Fig. 15, Sections 0217, 0378: A wireless device-1502 include multiple antennas. A radio transmitter of the wireless device may be an antenna; and a transmitter/receiver combined in one unit called a transceiver]:
receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including a set of configurations [Section 0262, 0274: An RRC reestablish/reconfig includes multiple configurations and parameters. Also includes cell group configurations and parameters] of candidate cells for layer 1/layer 2-triggered mobility (LTM) [Figs. 28, 32, Sections 0487, 0493: FIG. 28 illustrates L1/L2 triggered mobility, in which the base station determine cells as candidates for LTM and the base station transmit to the wireless device an RRC reconfiguration message including the configuration of a candidate target cell for LTM. The RRC reconfiguration message for configuring the candidate target cells for LTM],
and receive an early timing advance (TA) command for acquisition [Early TA Acquisition Command-3421/3422] of an early TA, the early TA command indicating a candidate cell configuration index [Figs. 28, 32 (Diagram of early TA acquisition for L1/L2 triggered), 34-36, Sections 0557, 0559: The BS send to UE an early TA (timing advance) acquisition command for early TA acquisition; the early TA acquisition command-3421 indicate a candidate target cell for LTM comprise an indicator, identifier, and/or index of the cell. The BS send to UE an early TA acquisition command that indicate candidate cell and comprise an indicator, identifier, and/or index of the cell];
and a processor [Processing System-1518] operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to [Fig. 15 (Diagram of Wireless Device-1502), Section 0218: The processing system-1518 associated with a memory-1524, and transmission processing system-1520, coupled to processing system]:
identify, based on the RRC reconfiguration message, a configuration from the set of configurations [Section 0262, 0274: An RRC reestablish/reconfig includes multiple configurations and parameters. Also includes cell group configurations and parameters] associated with the candidate cell configuration index [Sections 0487, 0494, 0497: The base station transmit to the wireless device an RRC reconfiguration message including the configuration of a candidate target cell for LTM. For example, the LTM configuration in the RRC reconfiguration that the wireless device receives comprise configuration parameters and indicate identifier (i.e. index) of the target cell; the L1/L2 signaling indicate a target cell and/or a configuration parameters to be used by the wireless device for the LTM to the target/candidate cell associated with the target cell, among the configuration for LTM. The message may indicate an identity and/or identifier (ID) of the target cell],
and wherein the transceiver [Fig. 15, Sections 0217, 0378] is further configured to transmit, based on the configuration, a random access (RA) preamble for the acquisition of the early TA for a candidate cell associated with the candidate cell configuration index [Sections 0506, 0528, 0559: To further reduce HO latency, a wireless device perform an early TA acquisition or early random access (Early RACH) procedure. For early TA acquisition (or ETA), receiving the preamble from the wireless device, the candidate DU (base station) transmit to the wireless device a response (e.g., RA response, RAR); wireless device transmitting the preamble to the candidate target cell. An early TA acquisition command that indicate candidate cell and comprise an indicator, identifier, and/or index of the cell].
As to Claim 2. Kim discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein: the configuration associated with the candidate cell configuration index includes a first configuration for the acquisition of the early TA and a second configuration for a cell switch [Figs. 35-36 (Illustrates an example of early TA acquisition and cell switching), Sections 0506, 0557, 0586: The ETA (early TA) refer to a procedure comprising a wireless device that is configured with an LTM receives a first indication from the base station and the wireless device receive a second indication indicating a cell switch to a target cell or the candidate target cell. The BS send to UE an early TA (timing advance) acquisition command that indicate a candidate target cell comprise an index of the cell. The DU sends, to UE, a cell switch command comprise an indicator, identifier, and/or index of cell];
and the first configuration for the acquisition of the early TA is included in an information element (IE) that is different from an IE carrying the second configuration for the cell switch [Sections 0049, 0528, 0547: In this disclosure, parameters equally called, fields, or Information elements: IEs comprise one or more information objects. The wireless device receive the second L1/L2 signal/command, for cell switch, indicating the candidate target cell based on the TA. A base station transmit to a wireless device reconfiguration with sync (information element (IE) and configuration parameters].
As to Claim 3. Kim discloses the UE of claim 2, wherein the configuration associated with the candidate cell configuration index includes at least one of a configuration for the acquisition of the early TA for a supplementary uplink carrier and a configuration for acquisition of the early TA for a normal uplink carrier [Sections 0189, 0278, 0528: The UE may be configured with a supplementary uplink (SUL) carrier and a normal uplink (NUL) carrier. Cell configuration parameters comprises Uplink configuration parameters for supplement uplink carrier (SUL). An ETA (early TA) comprise a procedure to transmit, by a wireless device over one or more carriers].
As to Claim 4. Kim discloses the UE of claim 2, wherein the configuration for the acquisition of the early TA for an uplink carrier includes (i) uplink bandwidth part (UL BWP) information, (ii) a RA configuration, and (iii) an absoluteFrequencyPointA [Sections 0138, 0281, 0416, 0526: Carriers use frequency band (frequency band A). In an example, the uplink configuration parameters may be used to configure dedicated (UE specific) parameters of one or more uplink BWPs (UL BWP). The wireless device, performing UL transmitting a preamble via an active uplink BWP related to TA. An ETA (early TA) may be referred to as early RA procedure comprise frequency resources for transmissions].
As to Claim 5. Kim discloses the UE of claim 2, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message further includes uplink bandwidth part (UL BWP) information of the candidate cell for the acquisition of the early TA [Sections 0281, 0415, 0416: In an example, the uplink configuration parameters may be used to configure dedicated (UE specific) parameters of one or more uplink BWPs (UL BWP). The wireless device may activate the uplink BWP configured with firstActiveUplinkBWP-id on the target PCell upon performing HO to the target PCell. The wireless device, performing UL transmitting a preamble via an active uplink BWP related to TA].
As to Claim 6. Kim discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the early TA command indicates (i) a non-zero RA preamble index, (ii) an index of SSB, and (iii) an uplink carrier for the acquisition of the early TA [Sections 0419, 0425, 0500, 0506, 0528: The wireless device may transmit a preamble to the target base station configured in rach-ConfigDedicated IE based on SSBs. The ssb IE comprises a list of CFRA SSB resources and an indication of a SSB index, a RA preamble index and etc. The wireless device monitors target PCell for receiving a RAR (random access response) corresponding to the preamble index and/or a TA command. The first indication of the ETA (early TA) indicate preamble to a candidate target cell configured in the LTM configuration. An ETA (early TA) comprise a procedure to transmit, by a wireless device over one or more carriers].
As to Claim 7. Kim discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to select a type of a RA procedure as 4-step RA [Figs. 13A, 15, Sections 0179, 0218: FIG. 13A illustrates a four-step contention-based random access (RA) procedure between a base station and UE; base station transmit a configuration message to the UE. The UE includes a processing system-1518].
As to Claim 8. Kim discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein: the transceiver [TX/RX System-1520/1522 or Antenna] is further configured to [Fig. 15, Sections 0217, 0378] receive a TA of the candidate cell, the TA of the candidate cell is identified based on the RA preamble, and the TA of the candidate cell is included in a cell switch command medium access control-element (MAC CE) [Sections 0473, 0506, 0557: A wireless device initiates, triggers, execute, performs, e.g., in response to receiving an L1 control signaling/L2 control signaling from MAC CE. The first indication of the ETA may indicate a uplink reference signal preamble to a candidate target cell. The BS send to UE an early TA (timing advance) acquisition command for early TA acquisition; the early TA acquisition command-3421 indicate a candidate target cell for LTM comprise an indicator, identifier, and/or index of the cell].
As to Claim 9. Kim discloses a method of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising [Title, Sections 0055: Early Timing Advance Acquisition. The term wireless device refer to and encompass any mobile device for which wireless communication is needed or usable and may be a including user equipment (UE)]:
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including a set of configurations [Section 0262, 0274: An RRC reestablish/reconfig includes multiple configurations and parameters. Also includes cell group configurations and parameters] of candidate cells for layer 1/layer 2-triggered mobility (LTM) [Figs. 28, 32, Sections 0487, 0493: FIG. 28 illustrates L1/L2 triggered mobility, in which the base station determine cells as candidates for LTM and the base station transmit to the wireless device an RRC reconfiguration message including the configuration of a candidate target cell for LTM. The RRC reconfiguration message for configuring the candidate target cells for LTM];
receiving an early timing advance (TA) command for acquisition [Early TA Acquisition Command-3421/3422] of an early TA, the early TA command indicating a candidate cell configuration index [Figs. 28, 32 (Diagram of early TA acquisition for L1/L2 triggered), 34-36, Sections 0557, 0559: The BS send to UE an early TA (timing advance) acquisition command for early TA acquisition; the early TA acquisition command-3421 indicate a candidate target cell for LTM comprise an indicator, identifier, and/or index of the cell. The BS send to UE an early TA acquisition command that indicate candidate cell and comprise an indicator, identifier, and/or index of the cell];
identifying, based on the RRC reconfiguration message, a configuration from the set of configurations [Section 0262, 0274: An RRC reestablish/reconfig includes multiple configurations and parameters. Also includes cell group configurations and parameters] associated with the candidate cell configuration index [Sections 0487, 0494, 0497: The base station transmit to the wireless device an RRC reconfiguration message including the configuration of a candidate target cell for LTM. For example, the LTM configuration in the RRC reconfiguration that the wireless device receives comprise configuration parameters and indicate identifier (i.e. index) of the target cell; the L1/L2 signaling indicate a target cell and/or a configuration parameters to be used by the wireless device for the LTM to the target/candidate cell associated with the target cell, among the configuration for LTM. The message may indicate an identity and/or identifier (ID) of the target cell];
and transmitting, based on the configuration, a random access (RA) preamble for the acquisition of the early TA for a candidate cell associated with the candidate cell configuration index [Sections 0506, 0528, 0559: To further reduce HO latency, a wireless device perform an early TA acquisition or early random access (Early RACH) procedure. For early TA acquisition (or ETA), receiving the preamble from the wireless device, the candidate DU (base station) transmit to the wireless device a response (e.g., RA response, RAR); wireless device transmitting the preamble to the candidate target cell. An early TA acquisition command that indicate candidate cell and comprise an indicator, identifier, and/or index of the cell].
As to Claim 10. The method of claim 9, wherein: the configuration associated with the candidate cell configuration index includes a first configuration for the acquisition of the early TA and a second configuration for a cell switch; and the first configuration for the acquisition of the early TA is included in an information element (IE) that is different from an IE carrying the second configuration for the cell switch [See Claim 2 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 11. The method of claim 10, wherein the configuration associated with the candidate cell configuration index includes at least one of a configuration for the acquisition of the early TA for a supplementary uplink carrier and a configuration for acquisition of the early TA for a normal uplink carrier [See Claim 3 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 12. The method of claim 10, wherein the configuration for the acquisition of the early TA for an uplink carrier includes (i) uplink bandwidth part (UL BWP) information, (ii) a RA configuration, and (iii) an absoluteFrequencyPointA [See Claim 4 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 13. The method of claim 10, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message further includes uplink bandwidth part (UL BWP) information of the candidate cell for the acquisition of the early TA [See Claim 5 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 14. The method of claim 9, wherein the early TA command indicates (i) a non-zero RA preamble index, (ii) an index of SSB, and (iii) an uplink carrier for the acquisition of the early TA [See Claim 6 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 15. The method of claim 9, further comprising selecting a type of a RA procedure as 4-step RA [See Claim 7 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 16. The method of claim 9, further comprising receiving a TA of the candidate cell, wherein the TA of the candidate cell is identified based on the RA preamble, and wherein the TA of the candidate cell is included in a cell switch command medium access control-element (MAC CE) [See Claim 8 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 17. Kim discloses a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system, the BS comprising: a processor; and a transceiver operably coupled to the processor, the transceiver configured to [Fig. 15 (Base Station-1504), Sections 0214, 0218: The base station 1504 may be provided a processing system 1508. The processing system-1508 associated with a memory-1514, and transmission processing system-1510, coupled to processing system]:
transmit, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including a set of configurations [Section 0262, 0274: An RRC reestablish/reconfig includes multiple configurations and parameters. Also includes cell group configurations and parameters] of candidate cells for layer 1/layer 2-triggered mobility (LTM) [Figs. 28, 32, Sections 0487, 0493: FIG. 28 illustrates L1/L2 triggered mobility, in which the base station determine cells as candidates for LTM and the base station transmit to the wireless device an RRC reconfiguration message including the configuration of a candidate target cell for LTM. The RRC reconfiguration message for configuring the candidate target cells for LTM],
transmit an early timing advance (TA) command for acquisition [Early TA Acquisition Command-3421/3422] of an early TA, the early TA command indicating a candidate cell configuration index [Figs. 28, 32 (Diagram of early TA acquisition for L1/L2 triggered), 34-36, Sections 0557, 0559: The BS send to UE an early TA (timing advance) acquisition command for early TA acquisition; the early TA acquisition command-3421 indicate a candidate target cell for LTM comprise an indicator, identifier, and/or index of the cell. The BS send to UE an early TA acquisition command that indicate candidate cell and comprise an indicator, identifier, and/or index of the cell],
wherein a configuration from the set of configurations [Section 0262, 0274: An RRC reestablish/reconfig includes multiple configurations and parameters. Also includes cell group configurations and parameters] associated with the candidate cell configuration index is identified based on the RRC reconfiguration message [Sections 0487, 0494, 0497: The base station transmit to the wireless device an RRC reconfiguration message including the configuration of a candidate target cell for LTM. For example, the LTM configuration in the RRC reconfiguration that the wireless device receives comprise configuration parameters and indicate identifier (i.e. index) of the target cell; the L1/L2 signaling indicate a target cell and/or a configuration parameters to be used by the wireless device for the LTM to the target/candidate cell associated with the target cell, among the configuration for LTM. The message may indicate an identity and/or identifier (ID) of the target cell],
and receive, based on the configuration, a random access (RA) preamble for the acquisition of the early TA for a candidate cell associated with the candidate cell configuration index [Sections 0506, 0528, 0559: To further reduce HO latency, a wireless device perform an early TA acquisition or early random access (Early RACH) procedure. For early TA acquisition (or ETA), receiving the preamble from the wireless device, the candidate DU (base station) transmit to the wireless device a response (e.g., RA response, RAR); wireless device transmitting the preamble to the candidate target cell. An early TA acquisition command that indicate candidate cell and comprise an indicator, identifier, and/or index of the cell].
As to Claim 18. The BS of claim 17, wherein: the configuration associated with the candidate cell configuration index includes a first configuration for the acquisition of the early TA and a second configuration for a cell switch; and the first configuration for the acquisition of the early TA is included in an information element (IE) that is different from an IE carrying the second configuration for the cell switch [See Claim 2 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 19. The BS of claim 18, wherein: the configuration associated with the candidate cell configuration index includes at least one of a configuration for acquisition of the early TA for a supplementary uplink carrier and a configuration for acquisition of the early TA for a normal uplink carrier [See Claim 3 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein],
the configuration for acquisition of the early TA for an uplink carrier includes (i) uplink bandwidth part (UL BWP) information, (ii) a RA configuration, and (iii) an absoluteFrequencyPointA [See Claim 4 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
and the RRC reconfiguration message further includes uplink bandwidth part (UL BWP) information of the candidate cell for the acquisition of the early TA [See Claim 5 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 20. The BS of claim 17, wherein: the transceiver is further configured to transmit a TA of the candidate cell, the TA of the candidate cell is identified based on the RA preamble, and the TA of the candidate cell is included in a cell switch command medium access control-control element (MAC CE) [See Claim 8 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: CHANDRASHEK US 20250081052 in particular title “ENHANCED LAYER 1-LAYER 2 (L1/L2) TRIGGERED MOBILITY (LTM) HANDOVER (HO) PROCEDURE”
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
February 16, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477